best used 4x4 <$15k

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 22:58
ThreadID: 14465 Views:8267 Replies:12 FollowUps:17
Hi, I'm looking at upgrading and was wondering what people would recomend. I curently have an fj60 84 landcruiser 2f, petrol/lpg, raised after market suspension (maybe 3inch) and wide wheels. I get about 400km from 120Ltrs Lpg. This gets me pretty much everywhere i want to go but i want something newer.

I'm thinking about a hilux single cab. Mainly because there seem to be some nice ones in this price range and a ute would be handy. I'm still unsure between petrol or diesel. Or IFS or the older live axle set up.

Sorry i won't ramble on anymore as you can see by now i'm pretty confused at the moment. I'm just looking for something with decent fuel economy and power, about as cabable as my landcruiser. Doesn't have to be a ute but i don't really need a back seat.

Any help and sugestions would be greatly apreciated.

Hi, I'm looking at upgrading and was wondering what people would recomend. I curently have an fj60 84 landcruiser 2f, petrol/lpg, raised after market suspension (maybe 3inch) and wide wheels. I get about 400km from 120Ltrs Lpg. This gets me pretty much everywhere i want to go but i want something newer.

I'm thinking about a hilux single cab. Mainly because there seem to be some nice ones in this price range and a ute would be handy. I'm still unsure between petrol or diesel. Or IFS or the older live axle set up.

Sorry i won't ramble on anymore as you can see by now i'm pretty confused at the moment. I'm just looking for something with decent fuel economy and power, about as cabable as my landcruiser. Doesn't have to be a ute but i don't really need a back seat.

Any help and sugestions would be greatly apreciated.

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 23:15

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 23:15
Utes = PITA. Everyone is your friend instantly.. Moving crap, pickin up crap, you cant leave things in the back etc.

All depends on what you want from the car.
What do you want to do with it?\
Towing?
Weekend warrior?
Long Distance Touring?
etc etc..

Look for a good 4.2 GQ Diesel..
You get coils, which crap on leaves and IFS, and you also get the most bulletproof Diesel around.

YMMV
AnswerID: 66884

Follow Up By: Andrew - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 23:27

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 23:27
Thanks truckster

I don't really do any towing, mostly just weekends away. Would like to do some touring eventually.

Any idea what sort of economy you can get from a 4.2 D GQ? I've heard they have one of the most bulletproof drivelines around aswell is that true?
FollowupID: 327661

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 00:15

Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 00:15
Search few pages back, most average anywhere from 12-15l/100 ...

GQ diffs are strong.

How many people, you alone, family? etc/?
FollowupID: 327666

Follow Up By: Member - Dragan T (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 00:19

Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 00:19
Damn it Truckster, you're right once more. I have same situation, I drive Hilux aluminium tray (work car). People moving, bought new fridge, washing machine, trip to the tip, new engine from wreckers any crap of that sort, my mobile No. is on their speed dial, It usually starts like ... Eeeeeh mate if you're not busy etc. etc. UTE and anything similar SUCKS if not neccessary to you! And being a WOG imagine number of relatives I have, and I'm the only ute in the familly!!!!
FollowupID: 327668

Follow Up By: Andrew - Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 18:45

Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 18:45
If I go down the ute path i'd want a lockable canopy. I was just thinking a hilux would be more economical than a big wagon. I've also seen hilux diesel and petrol 97 models with 120k on the clock for $12-15k. Read on here that the 3.0D will give as good as 9L/100km.

I'm single and the trips i go on are with friends and other 4x4s.

FollowupID: 327760

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 23:36

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 23:36
Go with a deisel troopie great touring vehicle, and your gear is locked away as compared to a ute.
AnswerID: 66889

Reply By: Jayboy - Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 00:31

Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 00:31
It is definately a personel choice.I was in the same position as you 3 months ago and decided to go for a dualcab hilux 2.8 diesel. With the flexiglass conopy on the back ive got great versatility and still got room for the family and withe a lift and all the gear on it looksbleephot so make sure you really think about everything you want to do before you decide.By the way I get 28 miles per gallon in the old language witch is pretty good.
AnswerID: 66896

Follow Up By: Andrew - Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 19:00

Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 19:00
Thanks Jay
I think they look bleep hot too. They seem to be good value and have a good reputation. There aren't many 4x4s in my price range that u can get a 97 model with 120k on the clock. My brother actually just baught a 97 hilux 2.7 petrol tray top for $12k and i've seen a 3ltr diesel with the same milage and a few other extras for $15k.

The diesel economy is starting to look like the way to go. I've never owned or driven diesels much before. Have heard the newer diesels are getting better and better though.

What's it like off road? I imagine with the lighter weight it'd more than match my 60 series.

FollowupID: 327764

Reply By: Member - Glen O (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 06:27

Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 06:27
Andrew, Same position not so long ago, took me 4-5 months to find the right one in that price range. In the end I found 94 Hilux dual Cab with only 48k on the new motor, 240k on the body lifted new shocks and new BFG's. Really pleased with it works well. Get whatever you want checked. I took a mechanic mate to about five that I thought were OK alas garbage. Don't rush like I nearly did. Good luck.
AnswerID: 66902

Follow Up By: Member - Glen O (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 07:01

Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 07:01
Sorry 2.8 ltr D

FollowupID: 327673

Follow Up By: Andrew - Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 19:13

Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 19:13
Thanks Glen, Do you get around the 9-10Ltrs economy that some people claim? I would've thought a diesel would last longer than 190K. The lowest km i've seen on a hilux in my price range is 120k and i really don't want to have to fork out to rebuild a dieslel in the next couple years.
FollowupID: 327767

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 09:04

Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 09:04
Hey Andrew, we recently purchased a GQ on gas. We get approx 450k's from 115 litres of gas in the city and up to 550k's on a trip. Also have 70 litres of ULP which adds about 300k's or so. For the money you want to spend you will have a great choice of diesel/petrol rigs. I love lpg for the price but like you would already know you can't get it everywhere.
AnswerID: 66914

Follow Up By: paul2.8d - Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 09:22

Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 09:22
What brand brew would that be, i put down a Morgans Aus Bitter with Hersbrucker Hops last night, not a bad drop at all. Cant wait till beer'o'clock Paul
FollowupID: 327684

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 09:36

Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 09:36
Ahhhhhh Morgans. There's a blast from the past. I used to do the amber ale. I have been really slack lately. I am going to set the beer fridge up in the shed with a keg system before next summer. My cousin has this set up, and it works better than "Rent a Crowd" lol
FollowupID: 327689

Follow Up By: paul2.8d - Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 12:54

Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 12:54
With the keg setup, do you ferment in fermenter until it is ready for bottling, then just sypher it to keg and then gas up?, ive been interested in this as well, just dont know the exact way of doing it..

Cheers Paul
FollowupID: 327707

Follow Up By: Andrew - Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 18:35

Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 18:35
Thanks for the figures brew. That's better economy than i get in my cruiser on gas. Still awfull petrol figures like mine though. I might see if i can find a local caryard with one to look at and take for a drive this weekend.

Interesting to see the homebrew keg system came up on this forum. It's also something i'm very interested in getting at the moment.

FollowupID: 327756

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 15:38

Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 15:38
Boy there are a lot of 4bies out there at the moment, and with the amount of new ones being sold the second hand market is just going to get more and more flooded. As said before don't rush into it. There are so many good alternatives, and sure the GQ's and the troopies are excellent and extremely capable vehicles, but don't get stuck looking at only one or two types of vehicles, there is just so so much out there.
Drive'em, check'em, get someone else to check'em and then decide which way is the best way for you. There should be no need to compromise with whats out there.
AnswerID: 66965

Follow Up By: Andrew - Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 18:13

Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 18:13
I think that's my main problem Jeff. Too many types of vehicles to choose from. I don't really need a big wagon or the bigger fuel bill that goes with them. Although i do want something strong and capable. I'm single an most trips are with friends and atleast one other 4x4.
FollowupID: 327748

Reply By: JamieMac - Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 18:10

Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 18:10
Andrew,

I agree with truckster Re Ute's and the GQ Patrol (they are bulletproof, reliable and popular)

Where are you at?

I know of a GQ TD42 Diesel 7 Seat, 5 Speed Manual that will be under $15k with 11 months rego! Located South of Sydney.

Absolute A1 Mechanical Condition, Service History, Air, Power Steer, 4 Speaker Stereo, Cargo Barrier, Winch Bull Bar, Side Steps, IPF Spotties, Tow Bar, OME Suspension, BFG All Terrains on 16 inch rims, Sheep Skin Seatcovers etc etc

give me a ring 02 4441 5213 for more details

Jamie

AnswerID: 66993

Follow Up By: Andrew - Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 18:27

Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 18:27
Thanks Jamie but i'm in SA. I'm also not sure if i want a GQ with a 4.2D. I really don't need a big wagon. All the room is nice but my back seat only gets used a few times a year anyway. I was thinking a hilux single or duel cab may be a smaller, more economical but still capable opion.

I've read they can get 9-10L / 100km

Still not sure at this stage. Thanks for the offer.

FollowupID: 327755

Reply By: Patroleum - Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 19:22

Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 19:22
Andrew,

Just adding my bit.
I have to agree with truckster, a GQ coil ute is the go. Petrol or Diesel your choice,
these are extremely capable and comfortable and much more pleasant in the rough than hilux.

Good Luck

AnswerID: 67016

Follow Up By: Andrew - Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 22:17

Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 22:17
Thanks Greg, When you say much more pleasant in the rough do you mean the coils give a better ride?

FollowupID: 327794

Reply By: Jimbo - Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 20:27

Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 20:27
There a stack of GQ's on the second hand market for less than 15 large. You'll probably find a respectable 4.2 on Gas with around 200,00 km. I've seen them in dealers yards with a warranty for this kind of dough.

Great machine, built tough to do it tough.

Good luck with your projects,

AnswerID: 67030

Reply By: Jayboy - Friday, Jul 09, 2004 at 00:13

Friday, Jul 09, 2004 at 00:13
Andrew Before The dual cab I had a V8 fj45 Landcruiser and that thing would go anywhere and beyond ,so when I bought the dual cab I was unsure of it's capabilities but I was pleasantly surprised.My dually is a 90 model 2.8 and on the highway it sits nicely on 100 anything more than that takes a bit more effort.As for offroad in low range it has balls of steel.I have taken on sand,rock,sloppy red clay ,BIG dunes you name it and there hasn't been another 4wd that could go where I couldn't.My rig has got a 2 1/2" exhaust with extractors and I put in a hiclone aswell so it's got a really good bottom end power range.The way I see it is When you have a dual cab withe a canopy you've got the same as a wagon but you can take off the canopy if need be and as you mentioned they are lighter.Good luck with your choice and feel free to contact me for any other info.
Cheers Jay
AnswerID: 67059

Follow Up By: Andrew - Friday, Jul 09, 2004 at 19:13

Friday, Jul 09, 2004 at 19:13
Thanks again Jay, Sounds nice will have to find a dealer with one to have a closer look at and drive. Do u know what 28 miles per gallon is in Lts/km? Did the extractors and exhaust improve it much or where they already on it? What is a hiclone? Do you have any problems with dust getting in the back?

The toyota vs landcruiser here seems to be as strong as the holden vs ford with the street racers
FollowupID: 327914

Follow Up By: Andrew - Friday, Jul 09, 2004 at 19:17

Friday, Jul 09, 2004 at 19:17
*toyota vs nissan
FollowupID: 327916

Follow Up By: Jayboy - Saturday, Jul 10, 2004 at 01:28

Saturday, Jul 10, 2004 at 01:28
Hi Andrew,
28 miles per gallon was worked on the fact I do 440 kms with 45ltrs of diesel. The extractors and system were already on it but it's a complete system with just a muffler and a hotdog, still sounds normal. Some people don't do the full system and therefor dont get the full result.The hyclone you will find advertised in most fourby mags it goes in the intake near the throttle boddy and it makes the air spyrell like a cyclone.It's supposed to give better fuel economy, more power down low and make the fuel burn better etc. I must say I havn't noticed too much difference in the economy but the bottom end power has really improved. They only cost a bit over $100 and are fitted literally in 5 minutes.As for the dust the conopy is fully sealed and as long as you have got good rubbers on the tail gate your right. If your conopy has a vent in the roof or at the front leave it open provided your not in the dust of another vehicle and that will pressurize the back and keep the dust out.
Cheers Jay
FollowupID: 327950

Reply By: Member - Glen O (NSW) - Friday, Jul 09, 2004 at 07:22

Friday, Jul 09, 2004 at 07:22
Andrew I expect a good 500 k from this motor the previous owner made the fatal error of not changing the oil and mucking around with water crossings. They are good motors if you want one that chugs along. sorry this is a bit late been using mine bouncing around in the bush :))
AnswerID: 67066

Reply By: rolande- Friday, Jul 09, 2004 at 09:10

Friday, Jul 09, 2004 at 09:10
Andrew,
One thing to consider, I am yet to sit an a ute for 5 - 6 hours that is anywhere near as comfortable as sitting in a wagon for the same time, (Patrol coil cab utes excluded). You may find the perfect vehicle but until you have driven one for considerable distances you don't have all the info. I am biased, but GQ's fit the bill better than almost anything else I have been in for the money you have. If you don't want a 5 door, look around for a good 3 door, lay the back seat down and you will have all the room to store stuff you need, without many of the dust / water problems, and the comfort as well.
Rolande
AnswerID: 67081