Weight distribution hitches on rough/corrogated roads.

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 02, 2022 at 11:38
ThreadID: 144907 Views:8700 Replies:7 FollowUps:17
What is the general consensus - remove, loose or leave as usual? There seems to be a lot of differences of opinion.
Look forward to the replies

Reply By: Kazza055 - Sunday, Oct 02, 2022 at 12:28

Sunday, Oct 02, 2022 at 12:28
You really only need the WDH for high speed travel on the black top where you are travelling at 90-100k/h. If you are off road and driving at low speed the WDH is having very little effect but I can't see any problem with leaving it on for a gravel road.
AnswerID: 641763

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Sunday, Oct 02, 2022 at 14:45

Sunday, Oct 02, 2022 at 14:45
It is actually replacing some of the weight lost from the front wheels which will improve both braking and steering. I would have thought it was a good idea to do that at all speeds on the gravel.
For the same reasons, I prefer to be in 4WD at all times off the black top.
OKA196 motorhome
FollowupID: 921103

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 02, 2022 at 14:46

Sunday, Oct 02, 2022 at 14:46
But a WDH does shift some weight from the rear axle to the front, which may be an advantage for braking and steering, particularly if the towball weight is high.

EDIT: P&M beat me to it.

Also, if a lot of articulation is required, eg steep entry oe exit at a creek or gutter, the a disconnect would be required.

FollowupID: 921104

Follow Up By: Kazza055 - Sunday, Oct 02, 2022 at 18:06

Sunday, Oct 02, 2022 at 18:06
There is a big difference between travelling at 20 or 40kph compared to travelling at 90-100kph on a major highway, this is when the WDH is really needed.
FollowupID: 921105

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Sunday, Oct 02, 2022 at 20:33

Sunday, Oct 02, 2022 at 20:33
Even if that is true, there is no reason to remove the WDH to drive typical gravel or corrugated roads.
OKA196 motorhome
FollowupID: 921106

Follow Up By: Kazza055 - Sunday, Oct 02, 2022 at 20:57

Sunday, Oct 02, 2022 at 20:57
I have no idea where you think I said it MUST be removed to drive on gravel.
FollowupID: 921107

Follow Up By: Dian M - Wednesday, Oct 05, 2022 at 13:20

Wednesday, Oct 05, 2022 at 13:20
Thanks everyone - it is what we thought and only removed in extreme articulation, just some people said otherwise so just checking.
FollowupID: 921123

Reply By: Phil G - Sunday, Oct 02, 2022 at 20:42

Sunday, Oct 02, 2022 at 20:42
The issue is the huge stress that offroad travel (with WDH in place) has on the hitch itself and also on the rear of the vehicle.
Best to have an engineer explain why a WDH needs to be disconnected when offroad:
Cruisemaster WDH video
AnswerID: 641766

Follow Up By: Richard M29 - Monday, Oct 03, 2022 at 00:35

Monday, Oct 03, 2022 at 00:35
From going from that video, when the WDH places all that extra weight on your towball, does that not exceed your legal tow ball mass weight?. So my TBM is 140kg, and If I put on a 1400kg camper on the back, and as my car's suspension is for low weights, it is feasible, that using the wdh that I do own and put on the camper/van, I will exceed my legal tow ball mass, by putting too much load on the towball.
FollowupID: 921108

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Monday, Oct 03, 2022 at 08:02

Monday, Oct 03, 2022 at 08:02
EDIT: Introductory broad statement deleted. (See below)

Richard,

There is a load (better described as an internal stress, perhaps) applied by the bars to the ball or DO35 pin or whatever and thence to the towbar, but that's as far as it goes. There Is NO EXTRA *weight* applied to the vehicle as a whole, nor to the rear axle. What actually happens is some of the load on the rear axle imposed by the towball downforce is *removed* from the rear axle and transferred to the front axle. Your rear suspension is *relieved* of a certain amount of load; it doesn't have load added to it.

However, to make this load transfer from rear to front happen there are significant stresses applied to the van's A frame, the hitch, towbar and towbar attachment points. Those are the loads the video was referring to, and poorly explained, leading to ready misinterpretation.

FollowupID: 921109

Follow Up By: Phil G - Monday, Oct 03, 2022 at 11:23

Monday, Oct 03, 2022 at 11:23
":There is so much misinformation and disinformation out there about towing and weights, put out there by well meaning people who just haven't got it quite right."

Frank, the video was made by the engineer who designed the DO35 hitch. Are you saying he is wrong?

And when I said rear of vehicle I was referring to the towbar and chassis not suspension and no mention of weight.
FollowupID: 921110

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Monday, Oct 03, 2022 at 13:24

Monday, Oct 03, 2022 at 13:24
Phil,

Based on what I have read in print and on line I stand by my statement: "There is so much misinformation and disinformation out there about towing and weights, put out there by well meaning people who just haven't got it quite right."

But you are right - on review I think it was unfair to that guy to preface my post with that remark. I will delete it from my Follow-up, but leave it here so people will know what we are talking about.

My follow-up was in response to Richard M29, to clarify that the vehicle is not carrying any additional weight, which Richard seemed to think it would after viewing the video. I agree with you about the loads placed on the vehicle's chassis by a WDH - the last paragraph in my follow-up above - so we're on the same page there. Any reference to suspension was in response to Richard.

The engineer is not wrong, but I think for the less technical viewer his discussion of the load on the towball/DO35 imposed by the WDH bars lent itself to misinterpretation, which Richard did.

FollowupID: 921111

Follow Up By: Phil G - Monday, Oct 03, 2022 at 14:01

Monday, Oct 03, 2022 at 14:01
Frank, all good!
FollowupID: 921112

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Monday, Oct 03, 2022 at 15:01

Monday, Oct 03, 2022 at 15:01
Thanks Phil.

But I'm afraid I disagree with the engineer's broad statement that a WDH should be disconnected when "off-road". Off road is many things to many people.

The engineer speaks of passing over washouts or watercourses, causing a significant pitching movement where the bars on a WDH should be removed. Agree 100%. It may also be appropriate when entering
some country town servos via steep and deep street gutters - I've seen some that are more like a full blown creek crossing than a street gutter.

But not all rough roads cause the pitching that would require disconnection of the WDH bars. You can go 100s of km on stony, rough, or corrugated roads that most folk would consider "off-road" without encountering a washout, gutter or steep creek crossing. On a road like that I suggest it would be better to leave the WDH connected so as to relieve the rear suspension and get a bit more weight on the front axle, so improving steering and braking in situations where they are likely needed most. Eg unexpected obstacles, livestock, roos, etc.

Not looking for an argument, it's just that I think his broad statement needs qualification, or needs consideration depending on circumstances.

FollowupID: 921113

Follow Up By: Phil G - Monday, Oct 03, 2022 at 16:26

Monday, Oct 03, 2022 at 16:26
Frank,
When all else fails we could read the instructions.
This is from Hayman Reese. I'm hoping you don't tell me that Hayman Reese as well as the Chief Engineer at Cruisemaster are both wrong!
FollowupID: 921114

Follow Up By: Kazza055 - Monday, Oct 03, 2022 at 16:51

Monday, Oct 03, 2022 at 16:51
The thing to remember is to use your common sense but it would seem that many people don't have any of that any more.
FollowupID: 921115

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Monday, Oct 03, 2022 at 17:37

Monday, Oct 03, 2022 at 17:37
#5 & #6 are pretty much aligned with what I wrote, Phil.

Sounds fair to me.

FollowupID: 921117

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2022 at 08:58

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2022 at 08:58
Kaazza055: The one thing w know about common sense is that it is not common.
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

FollowupID: 921119

Reply By: Phil G - Monday, Oct 03, 2022 at 20:04

Monday, Oct 03, 2022 at 20:04
On a rough/corrugated road the WDH is of no special benefit and can potentially damage your vehicle which is why Hayman Reece and others tell you to disconnect them.
The youtube video link I posted above was from an engineer who designs hitches including the most poular offroad hitch the DO35. Here is another video by another engineer who expresses the same thing.
WDH video

I tow a 2.5T offroad van and I like to take it offroad. There is no way I'd want a WDH. And in any case my Troopy/caravan sits level so doesn't need one. Photo taken in GVD last month.
AnswerID: 641770

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Monday, Oct 03, 2022 at 21:15

Monday, Oct 03, 2022 at 21:15
One of the problems is that people reckon that they are off road when they turn off the bitumen. That is far from reality. There are thousands of kilometres of gravel roads out there that are really not "off road." They are just the main and rural roads that the people out there use as their daily commute roads.

You are not off road until you get out there on tracks that are never maintained. These are the tracks that people have forced their way through or tracks that were rural roads and are no longer maintained. They are characterised by the deep jump ups and the tight turns around trees and mallee clumps. Generally, if you are on a gazetted road you are not off road. Some of these outback roads may be so poor that you should be removing your bars, but you are still not off road.

The main problem I see here is letting city slickers who have not grown up in the bush loose in the outback. They do not know what is really off road and attempt to remake the rules.

AnswerID: 641771

Reply By: Member - DOZER - Thursday, Oct 20, 2022 at 10:04

Thursday, Oct 20, 2022 at 10:04
Here goes my attempt, flame suit on....ive bent a caravan axle by having a WDH and a large load in the back of the tow vehicle (a landcruiser with coils). I did this because i left the hitch on and did some ask the Layland Brothers on a dirt highway with washouts. (example 1 of being in autopilot)
Van in tow, rounded a corner on the highway traffic at a standstill, doing 80km/hr, jammed on brakes, fronts locked up, van pushing me along...car in front wide eyed....(example 2) that was the last time i towed without the hitch!
Similar to trying to stop on dirt with ABS and having to throw poop out the window because the fronts keep on rolling, but steering is effected aswell, you either remove them and travel slowly, or keep them installed and steer clear of unexpected trip ending collisions...
AnswerID: 641878

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Thursday, Oct 20, 2022 at 12:27

Thursday, Oct 20, 2022 at 12:27
Dozer, you (and others) are scaring the hell outa me. Sharing the roads with other vehicle combinations running doubtful and mis-applied vehicle management systems. Especially if I am Tail-end-Charlie in a stationary vehicle queue.

FollowupID: 921247

Reply By: Member - McLaren3030 - Friday, Oct 21, 2022 at 09:19

Friday, Oct 21, 2022 at 09:19
Always best to follow the manufacturers recommendation. The vast majority of manufacturers do not recommend the use of a WDH on rough or corrugated roads for a reason. Of course, the definition of “rough and corrugated” roads is open to some interpretation, however, if you have left the WDH on when on a gravel road, and suddenly the road has a dip or bump or pothole, and you damage your vehicle chassis, or caravan chassis, it is likely to be deemed your fault as you did not follow the manufacturers recommendation.

Macca.
Macca.

AnswerID: 641885

Reply By: Happy Explorer - Friday, Oct 21, 2022 at 21:01

Friday, Oct 21, 2022 at 21:01
I am not buying in on the debate above but will say:
When I built my 1.7 ton hybrid van I opted for no weight distribution hitch at all. Even though a mate up the street with a similar size van has them when towing with a 79 series ute.
The reason I opted not to is because of exactly what is being said above.
My tow vehicle is a Prado 150 and even with the ball weight within legal limits it was weighing down the back of the Prado too much for my likings and was uncomfortable on less than perfect bitumen roads.
I upgraded the suspension on all four corners of the Prado and the result was amazing. Still no weight distribution hitch and I am very happy and comfortable with the result.
I am not saying this is the way everyone should go but for me the suspension upgrade was money well spent and now I don't need to be making any decision around on or off for off road travel etc.
Just another option to consider.
Roy
AnswerID: 641889