Fuel requirements for Strzelecki Track

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 23, 2023 at 22:14
ThreadID: 145453 Views:3181 Replies:15 FollowUps:11
This Thread has been Archived
Hi All,
Planning to drive to Innamincka. 150 series Prado, towing a 2.75t van. Anyone got any idea how much fuel I am going to need on board. Also some clues on tyre pressures would be good. (Complete novice at towing c/van off road ....)
TIA,
Trek'N Teach.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Bazooka - Thursday, Mar 23, 2023 at 22:45

Thursday, Mar 23, 2023 at 22:45
From where TNT? Presumably diesel Prado?
AnswerID: 643144

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Friday, Mar 24, 2023 at 00:16

Friday, Mar 24, 2023 at 00:16
He said he wants to drive the Strzelecki Track toInnamincka. It would be reasonable to suspect he would start at the bottom end.

Petrol Spy indicates that the only fuel on that track is at its ends, He should be able to work out his fuel requirements by using his fuel consumption on outback roads.
PeterD
Retired radio and electronics technician

Lifetime Member
My Profile  Send Message

FollowupID: 922808

Reply By: Trek'n_Teach - Thursday, Mar 23, 2023 at 22:48

Thursday, Mar 23, 2023 at 22:48
Some good points there Bazooka. From Port Augusta, and yes, it's a diesel ...
AnswerID: 643145

Reply By: AlbyNSW - Friday, Mar 24, 2023 at 06:04

Friday, Mar 24, 2023 at 06:04
Fuel up at Leigh Creek, road conditions vary but in general the road is well maintained
AnswerID: 643148

Reply By: Stephen L (Clare) SA - Friday, Mar 24, 2023 at 07:09

Friday, Mar 24, 2023 at 07:09
Hi

Disregard the rely re fuel at Leigh Creek, it’s dearer there.

Your last and cheapest fuel is from the Lyndhurst Pup, and not the BP as you drive into the town.

The first 70 odd kilometres are bitumen from Lyndhurst and then you will get 5 sections of around 5 kilometres of bitumen along the way.