New turbo diesel engine for hilux??????????

Submitted: Monday, Jul 12, 2004 at 17:08
ThreadID: 14597 Views:1859 Replies:3 FollowUps:1
Gday all I was told on a previous post of mine by a member that toyota will have a bigger turbo diesel engine for the hilux range in 6 months or so.Anyone else heard anything ? As I cant seem to find any info on the web regarding this.

Reply By: Member - Sparkie (QLD) - Monday, Jul 12, 2004 at 20:01

Monday, Jul 12, 2004 at 20:01
Don't know if it is true but if it is you can bet they won't say anything till the last minute so they can sell as much of their old stock as possible.

Sparkie(IE not Y) ;-)
AnswerID: 67514

Reply By: Member - Mark- Monday, Jul 12, 2004 at 20:16

Monday, Jul 12, 2004 at 20:16
I was talking to a mate who works for Toyota and he says the new engine is the old engine with an intercooler. The same motor that's in the Prado. This is due in September. Prado gets a new update soon.

AnswerID: 67518

Follow Up By: seb - Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 17:07

Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 17:07
Mark thanks for the info, Suppose it will be worth waiting for.
FollowupID: 328431

Reply By: time waster - Tuesday, Jul 13, 2004 at 20:11

Tuesday, Jul 13, 2004 at 20:11
Apparently there is a new model due out in March 05, a complete shape change with a new turbo diesel engine from the Toyota Dyna in Japan, also optional an auto box. I was told this by a dealer as I was looking to update to SR5 but advised to wait!
AnswerID: 67649