Weather in Melbourne at the moment

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 15:00
ThreadID: 14655 Views:3507 Replies:13 FollowUps:31
Can someone tell me what the weather is like in Melbourne (other than cold). I am flying over tomorrow for work till Monday and just want to know what the bring in terms of clothes. I thought why not ask the locals.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Always working not enough travelling!

Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 15:04

Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 15:04
Is a balmy 33 Celcius and humidity about 98%

But bring a warm jumper and rain coat and warm pants etc! Have a good holiday!

AnswerID: 67752

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 15:50

Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 15:50
Holiday - I wish working at Somerton every day and all weekend on a corporate networking client is not my idea of holiday. I will be sure to have a good time anyway.

FollowupID: 328420

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 21:25

Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 21:25
even david must be schooled by now to know melb has sheit weather..always.... Andrew
FollowupID: 328476

Reply By: old_55 - Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 15:05

Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 15:05
k Victorian Weather and Warnings
AnswerID: 67753

Follow Up By: old_55 - Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 15:07

Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 15:07
Try again

link Victorian Weather and Warnings
FollowupID: 328418

Reply By: Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 16:05

Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 16:05
David,
It's typical Melbourne weather all year round. Crappy one minute, worse the next!!!
They are well known for having all 4 season's worth of weather there within the same day.
So pack a bit of everything.....but you could probably get away with leaving your SPEEDO'S at home.
Glad it's you and not me; that's for sure.
At least you'll have Andrew there to prescribe all the pills and potions you'll be needing to overcome the numerous deadly deseases you're likely to pick up.
Have Fun, won't you!!! LOLOLOL
AnswerID: 67756

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 16:45

Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 16:45
Roachie, we only get the weather you have after you guys have finished with it. I am sure David will not be making the sorts of visits that require pills and potions from Andrew to ward off deadly diseases you infer. LOL LOL I wouldn't know where you get those either.............
FollowupID: 328427

Follow Up By: Peter O - Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 16:46

Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 16:46
Funny we get all of our weather coming from the direction of Adelaide.

Sorry Roachie
FollowupID: 328429

Follow Up By: Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 17:18

Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 17:18
Sorry John and Peter,

We keep all the best of it and only send you the shyte!!! LOL But then again we get all our excellent weather from WA, so thanks for that David.

Perhaps you try and take some of your good stuff with you?

Also, if you've got any spare time, see if one of these well-informed blokes (Andrew, John or Peter) can show you where all the "nice" places are.....shouldn't take 'em long!!! hahaha
FollowupID: 328433

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 23:15

Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 23:15
John, don't be bluffed by Roachies outlook on Melbourne weather. I heard he hails from around Canberra. Now that's what I call putting upwith bad weather. I'm glad he doesn't drive a Yota as I'm sure you would be embare-assed by claiming him to be a fellow Nissan driver LOL
FollowupID: 328516

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 15, 2004 at 08:33

Thursday, Jul 15, 2004 at 08:33
Des, really think that Roachie and others really love the thought of rain but are just NIMBYs. The thought of Roachie from Canberra, really does put me off, you are right.

Canberra the porn capital. Hmmm. Wonder if they have some of the diseases Roachie was inferring from cities. That be the place where he knows Andrews pills and potions would be good for him...

I am not sure what you mean in regard to driving a Yota. I never claim a Nissan driver, they claim their own. I do note he pulls an Ultimate, are you inferring he is not an Ultimate person? Hahhhaha ( when we travelled the Eyre Peninsular we saw people with a Nissan and an Ultimate with Victorian plates several times, referred to them at "the Ultimate people") Yeh, reckon you may be right.
FollowupID: 328541

Follow Up By: Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jul 15, 2004 at 09:12

Thursday, Jul 15, 2004 at 09:12
Des,
At least Canberra's weather is consistent......crappy every day for about 4 months of the year and sweltering the rest of the year...LOL
John,
Yes mate, all of us Ultimate owners really are the "ultimate people"........the only thing that exceeds how bloody nice we are is our very high level of modesty.....hahahaha
FollowupID: 328547

Follow Up By: Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jul 15, 2004 at 09:13

Thursday, Jul 15, 2004 at 09:13
Oh yeh.......................and before anybody else jumps in and says it;

I know already................. so you don't have to remind me........

I've got a lot to be modest about!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! hahahahaha

FollowupID: 328548

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 16:22

Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 16:22
David,
Try this site as well. you can pick a zone anywhere in Australia and check the weather. Really quite handy!
AnswerID: 67757

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 17:45

Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 17:45
Great site Brian,just what I need for pigeon racing!!
FollowupID: 328436

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 17:49

Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 17:49
pigeon racing????????????
FollowupID: 328437

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 17:55

Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 17:55
Used to race pigeons when I was a squeaker. Still love the rotten birds and may get back into it again one day. They fly faster with da wind behind em
FollowupID: 328439

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 17:55

Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 17:55
We race from all points around Vic and it would be good to get an early indication of the weekends weather (over Bass Strait) to pick an appropriate team.
FollowupID: 328440

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 21:26

Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 21:26
i love pidgeons mmmmmmm
FollowupID: 328478

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 23:20

Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 23:20
Hmmm, economy over your way is that bad eh!
Racing ones are too skinny but when times are hard.....
FollowupID: 328518

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 15, 2004 at 08:39

Thursday, Jul 15, 2004 at 08:39
Pidgeons with best braised, nice white wine sauce and some grapes, roast potatoes, peas, baby carrots, and maybe fresh asparagus. Watcha reckon, Nudie?
FollowupID: 328542

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Jul 15, 2004 at 09:27

Thursday, Jul 15, 2004 at 09:27
mmm sounds nice...i'm hungry now
mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
you bring the red wine
nah make that 2 reds
FollowupID: 328549

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Jul 15, 2004 at 09:36

Thursday, Jul 15, 2004 at 09:36
hey john, got a shottie
we must hide somewhere close to where they let them go and blast a ferals out of the skies for the baking dish eh? hehehe
FollowupID: 328550

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Thursday, Jul 15, 2004 at 09:43

Thursday, Jul 15, 2004 at 09:43
There's a few around here that sit on my roof you can ping off.
FollowupID: 328551

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 15, 2004 at 15:14

Thursday, Jul 15, 2004 at 15:14
Nudie, need the shottie round here at the moment as the sea... urhh paddock gulls are a real bas***d messing on roofs and getting into the water supply. I know they are no substitute for pidgeon but they are readily available. Will provide the reds if we can get the pidgeons cooked mate.

The gulls will probably do for Mad Dog I guess if he only gets skinny pidgeons...........
FollowupID: 328584

Reply By: GOB & denny vic member - Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 16:41

Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 16:41
goodday david
sitting in my study doing book work look out window its raining ( showers) and forecast the same for about 4 days not long john weather unless you are working out side .
will you have time to meet any members while here or is it real hard work (staying out of the board room fridge lol)

AnswerID: 67760

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 16:59

Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 16:59
I would love to try to catch up with people if interested however the only time I am currently sure that I will not be working is Sunday night. I am also trying to catch up with some other large clients so scheduling is a little difficult. I will post more if I know that I have some free time.

FollowupID: 328430

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 17:14

Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 17:14
A BBQ at Warrandyte Sunday night sounds the best idea. I'd love to come but will be entertaining Glenn and Co. Please accept my apologies.
FollowupID: 328432

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 19:18

Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 19:18
I am so upset!! Would love to have you guys here for dinner, maybe next time!!LOL Apologies accepted.
Enjoy your time with Glenn and Co. Hope all is well with the Lexic family.

David..Where are you staying in Melbourne?? It is pretty cold here, I would love to be going to the West right now.( I was born in Perth and love it! Tried to convince Andrew it would be a good place to live...still trying!) Enjoy your stay...let us know if you have spare time.

Jen
FollowupID: 328453

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 19:21

Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 19:21
Staying Novatel in the City. Arrive tomorrow afternoon - nothinig planned tomorrow night at this stage!

FollowupID: 328455

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 20:23

Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 20:23
Would be great to catch up - maybe a Bistro pub meal on either Thursday or Sunday night - or both. Could bring along our laptops and have all our IT problems sorted. lol...
FollowupID: 328467

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 20:28

Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 20:28
I will be in the city from about 5:30PM tomorrow - if you can make a dinner or drinks thing then lets do it. Give me a yell on the mobile after 5PM I will be in a cab from the airport towards the hotel. If not no worries I will eat and drink at the hotel or somewhere in the city. My mobile is 0417 677 275.

FollowupID: 328468

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 20:40

Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 20:40
On the basis of Des Lexic's prior commitments, we have decided to bring the meal with David forward to Thursday night.....start driving Mr Lexic!
FollowupID: 328470

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 21:36

Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 21:36
I'll come and pick you up tomorrow night David , we can go for a drink ,

Ill call you on the mobile after 5
FollowupID: 328482

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 22:04

Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 22:04
Thanks Eric,

Tomorrow is great thanks for the offer I look forward to catching up with anyone who can make it. I see Andrew has put a post in also about this trip. I am going to start packing and getting organised for the trip now. Can I leave it up to you guys to sort out what and where and I will speak to you tomorrow - again thanks very much.

I may have some other time free however I have a heavy work commitment over the weekend and I cannot guarantee any other time.

FollowupID: 328497

Follow Up By: GOB & denny vic member - Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 22:23

Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 22:23
goodday guys and girls
just got back from rehab and catching up .if you arrange somewhere let me know and we will try extremely hard to get there .plenty of good bistros around the city or in the casino or south melb

FollowupID: 328504

Reply By: andysgu - Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 17:14

Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 17:14
You got the cold part right about 13 over the next few days working up to a wet weekend .Good weather to stay inside working .
Andy.
AnswerID: 67767

Reply By: Member - Foxer - Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 18:11

Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 18:11
Hi David
weather via the long range forcast we use, cold with showers Sunday, sunny brakes and showers Mon. Id suggest dress for very cold
Foxer
AnswerID: 67780

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 18:35

Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 18:35
Melbourne weather:

If you don't like the weather, wait 5 minutes.....

The weather bureau is always right.....eventually.

35 degrees??? is that Farenheit or Celsius ?

Melbourne: melting one day, muddy the next.
AnswerID: 67785

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 19:48

Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 19:48
Freeze the walls off a Bark Humpy here David, bring lots of layers and fleecy

AnswerID: 67799

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 20:32

Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 20:32
As we supply the Mexicans with their weather, and they take it and stuff it up, then go prepared as they are forecasting possible snow in Adelaide hills on Friday and not much better Saturday.
Have a good trip.
AnswerID: 67805

Reply By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 21:32

Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 21:32
hahahahahahaha
suprising how many aussies (besides Vic's) know melb weather is crap!
AnswerID: 67821

Reply By: rolande- Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 21:36

Wednesday, Jul 14, 2004 at 21:36
Forget the weather, it could be 30 C and sunny and working at Somerton would still be b*&ch, there are better sides of Melbourne to see the sites
Rolande
AnswerID: 67826

Reply By: Member - Mick S (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 15, 2004 at 09:44

Thursday, Jul 15, 2004 at 09:44
As an ex Victorian I can say that the best way to determine the weather in melbourne in winter is to find an elevated position and look towards the Dandenong Ranges. If you can't see the hills, it's raining. If you can see them it's about to rain.
Mick.
AnswerID: 67868