$5000 4WD

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 17, 2004 at 17:17
ThreadID: 14733 Views:1976 Replies:9 FollowUps:0
hi all,

its been a while since i posed a question here, having just changed jobs and having fairly limited access to the internet now, but here is a bit of a reality check.

its all wonderful, these big toys worth upwards of $50k, but i have a young friend who wants to buy a 4wd as a first car. at the moment, his favourite is the old brumbys, but he is also considering a sierra.

what would you people recommend to your kids, if they had 5 grand and wanted to buy a fourby?

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 17, 2004 at 17:26

Saturday, Jul 17, 2004 at 17:26
Sierra, or Zook of some form.
AnswerID: 68163

Reply By: hoyks - Saturday, Jul 17, 2004 at 18:16

Saturday, Jul 17, 2004 at 18:16
I agree. Relatively cheap parts and easy to work on.
AnswerID: 68166

Reply By: Peter 2 - Saturday, Jul 17, 2004 at 18:23

Saturday, Jul 17, 2004 at 18:23
I agree too in fact we are looking for one for the youngest one now, but she only has around 2k so Dad will be doing some work on it ;-))
AnswerID: 68168

Reply By: Utemad - Saturday, Jul 17, 2004 at 18:26

Saturday, Jul 17, 2004 at 18:26
Went to Black Duck 4WD park once and a mate their took his sierra. Went more places than any other vehicle there. Although that also had a lot to do with him not caring if he damaged it. He has already rolled it on its side once and almost rolled it that weekend too. Took 4 hours to recover from its predicament. Cheap and go anywhere. I'd get the hard top for security.

Utemad
AnswerID: 68170

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Saturday, Jul 17, 2004 at 18:34

Saturday, Jul 17, 2004 at 18:34
What about early hilux ute or dual cab, with 18R petrol motor, easy to work on and cheap.
AnswerID: 68171

Reply By: Andrew - Saturday, Jul 17, 2004 at 19:08

Saturday, Jul 17, 2004 at 19:08
If he wants something bigger , I would suggest Daihatsu Rocky .
AnswerID: 68178

Reply By: Member - Spook (SA) - Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 14:44

Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 14:44
G'day

Agree with above. There isn't too many cheaper 4wd's that will go where these things go. The ride can be a little rough and a little noisy but if you don't mind that go for it.

There is lots of information and parts around on these trucks so start searching.

I'll give you a head start.

www.suzisport.com
www.suziwest.com.au
www.outerlimits4x4.com - forum under suzuki section.

Brad
AnswerID: 68436

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 16:47

Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 16:47
I have driven a few sierra's and found them noisy, rough, and terrbile at any kind of cruising.
I would recomend a Dahatsu Feroza, 1.6L EFI 16valve motor, very capable 4wd, good on road handling, quiet, come std with sunroof etc, heaps of poke about 79kw I think, power steering and aircon on most. Can pick them up for less than 5k for older ones. Tough as old boots too! I had one, my mate has got one. I also had a Rocky, brilliant, absolutally great, however unless you go for the later models (much more than $5k) the motors are probally tired and as a first car he's probally going to give it hell (no matter what we try to convince ourselves) and a diesel rebuild would not be a fun option. You can get recon feroza motors for about $1100. Even if it's cactus, $1100 his mates and some beers and he's back rolling again!
AnswerID: 68453

Reply By: Member - Royce- Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 19:30

Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 19:30
Good old Brumbys are hard to come by and still pricey. A station wagon of the same vintage is usually cheaper and chuck a roof rack on does nearly the same sort of job. Heavy on fuel, but I've rolled one twice!! and had no damage [to me the subie was done-in by the second roll]. Vintage early "80s models are only a couple of thousand $s and can go a lot of places.
AnswerID: 68483