Hi-Lux or Rodeo diesel ?

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 12:39
ThreadID: 14760 Views:2919 Replies:8 FollowUps:3
G'day,

We thinking of getting rid of the disco and moving to a dual cab.

Been leaning towards a Rodeo 3.0 TD but have in the back of my mind a Hi-Lux of similar capacity. We'll be towing a camper trailer with an all up weight of around 1200 kgs.

There's some pretty good deals on the rodeo at the moment with up to 5 years unlimited warrany. Pretty hard to beat that.

Any owners care to forward their opinions ?

Pat & Cheryl

Reply By: Glenno - Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 17:47

Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 17:47
Call me biased, I own a TD Dual Cab Hilux. Good solid dependable truck. Not a single complaint. People complain about stiff suspension, but ive never found it uncomfortable.

At least with the hilux, I know several people in my street with different vintage Hilux's so help is not far away when working on the beast.

Plus it has "normal" looking headlights...

Glenn.
AnswerID: 68283

Reply By: Member - Brian (WA) - Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 18:20

Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 18:20
Patcher
Had 3.0td Rodeo 2yrs now. Got the rodeo because when I was looking around
I wanted a space cab, Hi-lux never did one in 3.0 diesel.and I could get the
Rodeo in the configeration I wanted. Glad i did because its great. I tow a
camper with up to 140lts water+4jerry cans. set the cruise on 95 and it will go
all day.
hope this help brian
AnswerID: 68291

Follow Up By: Patcher - Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 16:48

Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 16:48
Brian, thats a pretty smart looking "canopy" you have on the back. I was opting for a standard canopy with lift up windows on the sides. Who made yours and is it practical ?

Pat
FollowupID: 329039

Reply By: Dennis (Mackay) - Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 19:54

Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 19:54
My work car is a new 3.0TDi Rodeo, for power it out accelerates the (also new) 4.2TDi Nissan SINGLE cab ute I have on site and leaves the (17000 km old) 4.2D Toyota single cab like it is standing still.

It also uses under 11lt per 100km economy and I drive it like I stole it.

Not overly keen on the push button, dash mounted, 4WD selecter, but it has some real advantages, guess I am just old fashioned.

I have done 9000km in the last 5 weeks with it and so far so good.
AnswerID: 68303

Follow Up By: Savvas - Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 08:25

Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 08:25
Hi Dennis .... A neighbour across the road from us has the new 3.0TDi Rodeo cab chassis. It's an excellent little truck and has heaps of power.

However, the engine fan roar is really LOUD at cold start but seems to be ok once the engine has warmed up properly. Is yours like this too?
FollowupID: 328959

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 11:08

Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 11:08
Dennis, once you get used to push button 4wd, you wonder why your were playing around with those little sticks for all those years! LOL
And if you really miss it, you can just put it in low range everynow and then.
FollowupID: 328997

Reply By: Member - Koala - Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 22:13

Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 22:13
i looked at both a few months ago.i chose the rodeo 3.0itd over the hilux.i love it and have no complaints at all.
AnswerID: 68345

Reply By: Dion - Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 10:05

Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 10:05
My 3.0LITD Rodeo I am consistently getting 8.5L/100km, and with factory installed and warranted 120L fuel tank, gives a theoretical touring range of nearly 1400km per tank. Power is awesome. L4 gearing is excellent.

Dion.
AnswerID: 68393

Reply By: pathfinder - Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 13:13

Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 13:13
if you're currently driving a Disco you will have become accustomed to comfort/plush suspension. Rodeo is definitely more comfortable than Hilux...
AnswerID: 68425

Reply By: Member - Brian (WA) - Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 18:49

Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 18:49
patcher
Agree with others re power and fuel economy.
Canopy is a rosco trade mate, made in perth&melbourne dearer than the
fibreglass conopy but to me more secure. I got mine in a hurry we were going bush
and there was 2 month waiting list somewon cancelled a order which ready iwas offered it and grabbed it
cheers brian
AnswerID: 68474

Reply By: time waster - Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 20:46

Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 20:46
I guess if you like depreciation (losing cash) buy rodeo,but if you want a truck to do the stuff buy a hilux,and if you can wait till march 05 new model is out with complete shape change and new td with auto box.

If you go rodeo watch out for cracks on the rear chassis and also on the new models the have a bad habbit of rear axle steer
AnswerID: 68504