Mt Skene

Submitted: Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 10:38
ThreadID: 14791 Views:1697 Replies:10 FollowUps:12
Aug 8th is my next free weekend...

Anyone interested in a snow run up there? Few weeks away, hopefully there will still be some dandruff on the ground to play in...

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 12:13

Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 12:13
Coould be interested mate, a bit early to say just yet........
AnswerID: 68418

Reply By: mr diamond - Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 12:34

Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 12:34
we are there.
just remind me
AnswerID: 68423

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 15:09

Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 15:09
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
we would make it to the hut, but the track is closed LMAO
FollowupID: 329024

Reply By: cj - Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 12:45

Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 12:45
Are you going up just for the Sunday?
AnswerID: 68424

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 15:07

Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 15:07
Yea just sunday.. Probably meeting in Mansfield 9am.
but see who is interested first.
FollowupID: 329023

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 15:02

Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 15:02
I might be in if nothing else crops up.

AnswerID: 68441

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 17:39

Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 17:39
Do ya reckon i could come.

AnswerID: 68461

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 17:47

Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 17:47
Bring ya own
Electic Winch, chains, muddies, lockers, helicopter, MGBHRU, spare yota to help as needed when all else fails.
A spare Eric to help also could be handy.

By the way MGBHRD = Muddy Girl Bog Hole Recovery Unit

FollowupID: 329052

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 17:57

Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 17:57
I could be a starter too Bruce, what about chanins? Will we need them?

AnswerID: 68464

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 18:04

Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 18:04
Just borrow Baz's

FollowupID: 329063

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 19:31

Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 19:31
If i knew what chanins were i'd lend em to ya.
FollowupID: 329078

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 15:43

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 15:43
Na bollox to chains, we made it up top last few times no hassles, its all dirt road.

Early start should see us sweet.
FollowupID: 329321

Reply By: Member Eric - Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 20:48

Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 20:48
Whats the story mate ? head up from Saturday night ?
AnswerID: 68505

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 15:44

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 15:44
Na Just a 9am in Mansfield sunday...
too many people cry about camping in the snow, although I'd be in a camping night up at the hut on top of Mt Skene, lots of rum and firewood required.
FollowupID: 329322

Reply By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 21:34

Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 21:34
G'Day Men,

A bit of an update, me and a mate went up to Mt Skene yesterday, we went up from the Jamieson side and there is heaps of snow the road is "officially" closed according to a sign on the way up. We soon discoverd that a long handled shovel is your best freind in the snow, although we didn't get "really" stuck a guy we came across in his defender was well and truly stuck and after helping him for more than an hour we finaly snatched him out backwards only for him to drive of the side of the track and get stuck again after another 1/2 an hour or more and not much luck a few meters gained but still well and truly stuck some more 4by's arrived with huge muddys and lockers and so on, so we got out of there way and eventually another couple of hours later they had him out, by this time the poor fella (and girlfreind) was well and trully imbarrased and reluctant to have ago at reversing down for fear of slipping into the soft stuff again, eventually I convinced him to have ago if I walked him through the sticky section, only a couple hundred meters but seemed like a few K's with the sun setting and things becoming very icy, but eventually we got him down to a section where he could turn around and he was fine, by this time our day was buggerd so we did the same.

I learnt never to do a snow trip on your own, especially without decent shovels as the defender guy had done, he had plenty of recovery gear, snatch'ms and tow lines etc,etc, but not much good with out another vehicle? He would of spent a very cold and lonely night up there if other vehicles hadn't come along.

I've got a few digital picc's but not enough nouse to post'em!! if I can work it out I'll post'em.

Enjoy the trip and take a shovel.

Browny
AnswerID: 68519

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 15:47

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 15:47
email me the photos
fu_kew@hotmail.com

I know several of the rescuers.
Theres threads giong on everywhere, about people venturing out into the snow/bush with no idea, or no recovery kit.. How would Defender man be if nobody had come through cause the road was closed?.
FollowupID: 329324

Follow Up By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 22:03

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 22:03
Truckster
I've sent you some Pic's, Good fellas the guys who helped out, once we were able to get out of there way they kept on going, heading to woods point I think. Would be interested to see how they managed, we were still a little way from the summit when we got held up, so they still had a bit of climbing to do, on untouched snow!

Browny
FollowupID: 329382

Reply By: macandjen - Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 21:39

Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 21:39
I think the boss and I can get there - will let you know a bit closer but should be okay. Would like to meet some of you blokes (and ladies) finally.

Mac and Jen
AnswerID: 68520

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 15:45

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 15:45
Yea more the merrier..
FollowupID: 329323

Reply By: GRAEME - Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 17:39

Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 17:39
I may be a starter, won't know till a couple days beforehand probably.Any limit on numbers? And where about in Mansfield? I'll be coming from NSW.
AnswerID: 69422

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 22:02

Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 22:02
Probably the BP as you go out of Mansfield, more info and a new thread closer to the day
FollowupID: 329779

Follow Up By: GRAEME - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 17:43

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 17:43
Thanks for that Truckster, I'll keep my eye out for it.
FollowupID: 329849