Pedders springs and shocks GU Patrol

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 18:44
ThreadID: 14877 Views:6229 Replies:9 FollowUps:0
Need to upgrade the patrols (GU) suspension how do Pedders gear stack up? and if that`s no good what is the best? I do a moderate amount of off road work. Price is also a factor good mid range suspension is what I need and some feedback thanks in advance.

Reply By: waveslave - Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 19:23

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 19:23
Hey there,

Pedders, from what I've heard and expereinced, are a good bunch of peeps and provide a really good service. But, when it comes to 4wheelin' I'd go for a specialist. I have CONEY shocks which work a treat.Coney along with Co's like Tough Dog, Old Man Emu etc. are.....in MY OPINION the way to go.

Good Luck
AnswerID: 68866

Reply By: Pauly - Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 21:39

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 21:39
G'day pitboss

I have pedders springs and shocks in my GQ shorty and also do a lot off road work the only thing is that i installed a long range tank and the rear sagged a bit and it wasnt even a full tank and that was the heaviest spring they make i didnt want to get a heavier spring due to comfort reasons so i installed polyairs have not had a prob yet (touch wood) i reckon they are good for a average brand and are well priced.

cheers paul
AnswerID: 68911

Reply By: Big Trev - Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 21:54

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 21:54
Like Pauly, I have a full set of Pedders and rear Polyairs, I have no complaints at all.. It is good gear.

Ring Grant at Pedders Bendigo (Vic) for a quote (03) 5447 0009, and tell him I told you to ring, he should look after you.
AnswerID: 68915

Reply By: Member - Rick (S.A.) - Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 22:19

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 22:19
have a look at RidePro. value & performance is, IMHO, better than Pedders.

Don't forget to search this forum & you will see heaps of replies.
AnswerID: 68925

Reply By: Rob W. - Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 08:06

Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 08:06
Had Pedders shocks all round on my 4 Runner after about 6 months both front ones leaked, had them changed under warranty, one month later another front one leaked. Changed them for TJM XGS. Although Pedders honoured their warranty, I wasn't happy with the shocks. ( I viewd both the ones they replaced on the front initially, so yes they did put 2 new ones back on).

Rob
AnswerID: 68965

Reply By: Martyn (WA) - Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 17:46

Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 17:46
Pitboss,
I've replaced all my genuine Nissan stuff with heavy duty OME springs and LTR shocks. Had the OME suspension on my GQ also had good results. I would use them again they work for me. No experience with Pedders bits so I can't comment on them.
Keep the shiny side up

AnswerID: 69063

Reply By: brian - Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 18:00

Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 18:00
Had ome nitro shocks and 2 in coils fitted august 03 to gu first trip 2 weeks later over8000k found they faded after say approx 15 mins on graded dirt small corrogations,now have left rear leaking,ride nothing special,will try something else shortly.Other people reckon they are great,found the coils sagged quickly almost back to original height,in under 3 months.
AnswerID: 69067

Reply By: mattie - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 10:22

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 10:22
Hi pitboss

i am looking at doing the same job 4x4systems do a 2" lift and 3way adjustable shocks for $850, i spoke to bloke who had ome shocks and they used to fade on corragates and he fitted a set of shocks from 4x4systems and was very happy with them (they were the 41mm foam cell, they have only just started supplying the adjustable shock)

Mattie
AnswerID: 69496

Reply By: Patrick - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 16:55

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 16:55
The new IFS stystem from Carrols Springs comes highly recommended from Coopers Tyres rep in Brisbane. Friends have Koni Shocks matched with King coils which they have had in their last two Patrols.

Do a search of this site as there are a lot of threads on this subject.

Akso try the Patrol club on Yahoo as these boys know there stuff.

http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/Patrol4WD/

Irish
AnswerID: 69544