40 or 60 litre engle

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 18:51
ThreadID: 14878 Views:1948 Replies:11 FollowUps:14
i am buying a new fridge and would like to hear peoples opinions for and against a 40 or 60 litre engle and what prices people paid thanks in advance

Reply By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 18:59

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 18:59
Bob,

I think your first questions are how many people do you want to support, how long for, and do you want to sacrifice the room/weight for the 60lt.

We are a family of five who just came back from 14 days in the Simpson - meat every night, (and coke for lunch, beer at night!!), and had no problem with a 40lt..

I'm pretty sure the 60lt draws considerably (rather than a bit) more....

We paid a shade over 1100 for it, but verry happy ;-)

Ivan
2008 D4D Prado

AnswerID: 68857

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 19:42

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 19:42
Hello Ivan and family - glad you made it home safely to the VERY COLD country. Been freezing here the last four days. How are the boys - fighting fit, I bet. Still busy. Lovely to meet you.
FollowupID: 329356

Follow Up By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 19:52

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 19:52
Hi Ruth,

Yes, made it back!! - had a great trip -

I don't reckon much warmer here! - -5 last night ;-)

check out the site for great pictures and reports - even a Sheridan or two!

See you next time

(thanks for the coffee ;-)

Ivan
2008 D4D Prado

FollowupID: 329360

Reply By: waveslave - Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 19:01

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 19:01
Hey dude,

I was going to go for the Engel 80l combi, but after 2 wks from order, when it still hadn't arrived, I started to have 2nd thoughts. I'm big on cust. service, and when I can get a WAECO 80l combi for almost $1000 less, and it arrives 48hrs from arrival.....hey you do the math.

Oh yeah, and it works a treat.

Hope This Helps
AnswerID: 68859

Follow Up By: waveslave - Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 19:02

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 19:02
Sorry that's "It arrives 48hrs from ORDER". Also has a 5 yr warranty.
FollowupID: 329348

Follow Up By: Utemad - Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 19:05

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 19:05
We've got an Engel 80 Combi and it came within 48hrs. Maybe they are so good they can't keep up with demand :-)

Works great although the fridge section has funny dimensions.

Utemad.
FollowupID: 329350

Reply By: waveslave - Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 19:10

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 19:10
Yeah, that was another reason I went with the WAECO. Dimensions were 60/20------Fridge Freezer, where as like you say, Engel had a bigger Freezer. Don't get me wrong man, I was gonna get an Engel, but as for reasons stated...I didn't. They didn't become who they were for crap cust. service, but big co's who have become big, often forget what got them there, and focus more on cutting overheads to increase profits. Stainless steel too, would have liked that, but couldn't justify the wait, and even the extra $750
AnswerID: 68863

Reply By: pjd - Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 19:28

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 19:28
engel no longer stock the s/steel fridges some agents may have old stock.the 60 combo is a good fridge but like all engel products to dear. check out the trailblazer made in QLD i have had the 60ltr for 8 years & it has never missed a trick. very good on the battery to & the best thing it holds over 100 cans of VB & a dozen snags [good for a long weekend] try butting that in a 60ltr engel or 80 ltr waeco no hope . these days they have a 40ltr fridge so they are worth a look .if you have the space go big!
AnswerID: 68870

Follow Up By: waveslave - Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 19:38

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 19:38
I beg to differ. 100 cans and 12 sauso's WOULD fit in an 80 L WAECO.
FollowupID: 329355

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 22:00

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 22:00
yep 80 l waeco holds 103 cans and about 18 snags
FollowupID: 329381

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 23:04

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 23:04
Never tried it but I would bet I could get more cans and more snags in my waeco 110 ltr.
FollowupID: 329393

Follow Up By: pjd - Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 21:07

Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 21:07
for the record
waceo 80 ltr 103 cans $1299 plastic interior not australian
engel 60 ltr 80 cans $1445 plastic interior not australian
trailblazer 60ltr 114 cans $1342 aluminium interior aussie tough
yes 38 cans x 3 layers high & can rub on the fridge wall all day on a rough track not like the other 2 ! my mate has had a can rub through the gas line even in the basket & no gas no FRIDGE .
ITS A 60 LTR TRAILBLAZER FOR ME!
FollowupID: 329493

Reply By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 19:40

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 19:40
Hello Bob, I have both sized Engles - bought the 60 litre first because I thought I needed all that fridge, but soon got sick of getting a bruised arm climbing in and out of the LC100 side door etc. and it takes up an enormous amount of room. Then I bought a Chuck Wagon for the back of the LC100 and had to decide about the fridge so bought the 39 litre to fit in the Chuck Wagon slider (wonderful, fantastic and brilliant). What happened to the 60 litre, well it lives in the shed and is full of gold stubbies (usually) but at the moment it is full of yellowbelly (from Diamantina Lakes) and is a freezer. I do not regret paying the money I did for the fridges at all and have no trouble fitting everything into the 39 litre (including my husband's daily supply of stubbies) as well as food. Good luck.
AnswerID: 68876

Reply By: Allan Mac (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 20:41

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 20:41
Hi Bob,
Check the Trader section under Engel 60 ltre Combi and give me a call if your interested
AnswerID: 68891

Follow Up By: Austravel - Saturday, Jul 31, 2004 at 15:12

Saturday, Jul 31, 2004 at 15:12

Is it still for sale??
FollowupID: 330766

Follow Up By: Allan Mac (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 31, 2004 at 18:51

Saturday, Jul 31, 2004 at 18:51
Aussie.. Yes It is still for sale. call me on 0407241191 if you interested
FollowupID: 330791

Follow Up By: Austravel - Monday, Aug 02, 2004 at 16:56

Monday, Aug 02, 2004 at 16:56

Am still thinking which way to go. How much do you have on the fridge??

FollowupID: 331173

Follow Up By: Allan Mac (VIC) - Monday, Aug 02, 2004 at 19:48

Monday, Aug 02, 2004 at 19:48
Aussie. Its brand new and not been used. My son wanted me to get him one so I did and in the meantime his wife went out and brought it for him. So I need to recover my costs which is $1500.00 and that included a genuine bag etc.
FollowupID: 331198

Follow Up By: Austravel - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 08:44

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 08:44
Hi Allan,

Thanks for the reply. I didn't realise it was new, I can see why you'd want to get as much as possible. I thought it was second hand and at a reduced price, thanks all the same.

FollowupID: 331224

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 21:37

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 21:37
Split the diff and go a waeco 50 litre. Cheaper,less draw etc etc etc
AnswerID: 68910

Reply By: Peter O - Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 01:26

Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 01:26
I would stick with the Engel 40 litre, from my experience I have an ordinary deep cycle battery for accessories and I tested the Engel in 30 Degree weather without starting the car. It ran for 4 days and nights with pirahna fluro in the evenings (approx 4 hrs a night). Checked the battery with a multi meter on the fifth day and it read 11.6 volts. I don't know if I have a great battery or a great fridge but I couldn't be happier with my set up. Paid approx $1100 including travel bag and small basket.
Don't be afraid to haggle.

AnswerID: 68949

Follow Up By: -OzyGuy- - Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 05:33

Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 05:33

Check out the Reefer 60 Ltr for only $899
with the Danfoss BD50 compressor

http://refrigerationresearch.com.au/DR%20portables.htm

has got to be good value for money
FollowupID: 329405

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 13:12

Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 13:12
The Engel 60L fridge is a bl$$dy big fridge and you'll need a fair swag of room.

I have the Engel 40L which is the newer model that only draws around 2.6 amps. Works a treat and fits quite nicely (and you can carry it full of food).

Not only cost, but size, power useage and weight should come into equation.
AnswerID: 69023

Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 15:50

Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 15:50
Bob,

I was also on the trip with Ivan and we had enough food/meat for 14 days to feed 2 adults and two 10 yo's. You just have to keep topping them up but with drinks etc and gain space all the time as supplies are used up than to have the spacve taken up by a big fridge used up all the time even though you might have an almost empty fridge at the end. Cryovac your meet and take some Long life products and just by some freshh milk as you come across it in your travels. You can get some good dividers and baskets for the engels which make it easy to store things like butter cheese etc at the top . It is really about utilising the space which bthen makes the fridge more economical on current draw.
AnswerID: 69045

Reply By: Coops (Pilbara) - Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 18:57

Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 18:57
I've answered this a hundred times before and if you want to see them responses just do a search.
Bottom line for me is I'd gladly trade my 60 for a 40 Litre any day and probably will do so soon. 60 is too bloody heavy and hard to move around.
AnswerID: 69077