Indoor/Outdoor thermometers

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 18:54
ThreadID: 14915 Views:2180 Replies:8 FollowUps:7
What brand of these do fellow formites use in there vehicles.There was one on the charity auction a few months ago but someone outbidded me on it and I carnt remember what brand it was.
Ive checked out the Road-Pro electronic compass and Thermometer which look good($60.00),anyone used one?
thanks All

Reply By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 19:09

Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 19:09
Hey Nick - I been using a $39 one I got from Tandy about 3 years ago and it has never let me down. Not much to go wrong with these things really. I've inststalled mine on the cargo barrier facing forward - this way I can keep an eye on the fridge temp all the time.
Pete
AnswerID: 69082

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 19:16

Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 19:16
Thanks Pete,thought there must have been cheaper ones about as I didnt really want an Electronic Compass,thats what the GPS is for.I'll check it out next time i'm in town.
FollowupID: 329472

Reply By: Member - W.Wallace - Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 19:23

Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 19:23
Have a look in a Dick Smiths store as well mate, they have a couple of different ones for not much.
AnswerID: 69089

Reply By: Ian(Qld) - Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 19:30

Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 19:30
$19.95 at jaycar. 1 reading at small self adhesive unit, 2nd reading from probe at the end of 2-3metre cord and digital time. 1 Allows ambient temp and 2 fridge temp display to be mounted just about whre you want
AnswerID: 69091

Follow Up By: Brian - Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 20:48

Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 20:48
the jaycar unit also has a battery monitor as well!!!

FollowupID: 329491

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 21:08

Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 21:08
I've got one of those useless Jaycar units. It kept beeping at me, so I cut the wires to the speaker.
The clock wouldn't keep the right time, so I've removed to batteries that operate it. The good feature is that it plugs into cigi socket for the 2 temp readouts and the battery monitor. It's supposed to havea permanent backlight (sexy blue) but mine only works when it wants to. The temp side seems okay, but although I only want it to display the fridge temp, it changes back to ambient temp all too often.
I would love a VDO unit, but am not sure if they have back lighting and power from 12v....I don't want to be changing those fiddly damn batteries; ever.
FollowupID: 329495

Follow Up By: Brian - Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 21:17

Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 21:17
Mine has never missed a beat!
Mounted it in the Glasses holder and cut the cig lighter of hard wired to the aux battery. Works fine

FollowupID: 329500

Follow Up By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 21:21

Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 21:21
I did one step further - shoved a switch in, so can keep an eye on either battery. Works well

Ivan
2008 D4D Prado

FollowupID: 329504

Follow Up By: Crackles - Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 21:59

Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 21:59
Like you Roachy I have a Jaycar Dud. Temp was up to 10 degrees out, Volts were often showing 2 volts low which set off the damm alarms. Off to the scrap heap with that one. Craig.............
FollowupID: 329520

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 20:03

Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 20:03
Thanks Guys, I'll check it out.
AnswerID: 69102

Reply By: Member - gimme (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 21:17

Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 21:17
I bought an indoor/outdoor unit from Woolworths for $3.00 about four years ago, still works well. It has sensor unit with 2metrres of lead to the readout. Dont laugh but it goes by the brand of ACME.
AnswerID: 69126

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 21:45

Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 21:45
Bloody hell.........lol............a Taswegion who wants to know when its cold enough to shiver lol lol lol
AnswerID: 69137

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 17:41

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 17:41
Hey Brew69,actually its so I can ring my mates up when Im on holiday to tell them how hot it is in the Kimberly's (next year) while their freezing their tits of in Tassie.
Gotto agree with your Happyness,go the Saints tonight.
FollowupID: 329617

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 22:06

Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 22:06
How's this....

I bought a small dual thermometer from DSE.

It's the type you use in aquariums for tropical fish, the sensor stays in the water, and the big bit with the numbers sits anywhere out of the tank. I went this way 'cause I figured if it works in water, then it won't be a problem in my fridge.

Here's the thing...... it's got this little alarm that sounds when the water temperature is under 24 deg. or over 28 deg. It makes this beepinf sound, cause the tropical fish will die or something if it's too hot or cold. Now, what we need to do is somehow reconfigure it so we can have a warning if the beers getting too hot, or if they are going to pop lids if they are too cold.......

We could call this device the Ocker Meter, or the ........ come on fella's........... throw me a bone here...........

Wolfie
AnswerID: 69145

Reply By: Nudenut - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 07:55

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 07:55
Was it me who outbid you?
have it in the office and with the outdoor sensor it works very well
office 22 C outside 6.3C 68% and forcasting rain (forecasted rain late yesterday arvo and is doing that as i type...about 12 hrs forward forecast i have experienced)
its the Speedtech Instruments
remote sensor is wireless type
all runs on batteries
AnswerID: 69167