Diesel & Premium Unleaded

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 13:42
ThreadID: 14964 Views:1921 Replies:7 FollowUps:7
I stand corrected, You is right. A Maverick LWB diesel tank holds 95 liters. I found out a hard way this morning. I went to the usual servo to fill up and was standing there putting premium unleaded in, oblivious to what I was doing. A bloke on the other pump was watching and smiling at me and all I could think was "what was his problem", he never sais a word. I went in to pay the attendant and saw on the docket Premium Unleaded @ $1.05cpl and S@#T me self. I had the truck towed to my place and drained the tank (sob) all that fuel and no car to use it. When I fixed it all up and and re-filled it took 94.4 liters allowing the return trip and a bit I put in to get me there I would definately say iy is a 95 litre tank. I wont take any notice of the handbook in future I might just ask you (LOL) The fuel budget was totaly blown for this week!!!

Reply By: Bilbo - Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 15:31

Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 15:31
Vinnie,

You have my sympathies but, without any malice intended, I really can't understand how someone could do that. What were you thinking of?

Bilbo
AnswerID: 69409

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 16:30

Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 16:30
Vinnie...........

........... the fact that you did this AND told us about it put's you very high in my book.

A lot of people would just try and forget it and hush it up.

I am sure you will be able to dine out on this one, as well as use it to entertain around the campfire!

Wolfie
AnswerID: 69414

Reply By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 16:50

Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 16:50
Since converting from a petrol car to the diesel in the Prado I am careful to double check what I am putting in. The Prado takes 180 litres and I typically fill up at 20 litres left so it would be a very expensive mistake.

You can usually tell though by the oily yuccky pump! If it is not covered in oily diesel then you probaly have the wrong one!!!!!!! I have yet to use a nice clean diesel pump. I also try and find the big chunky hi-flow pumps as well. That way it doesn't take 15 minutes to fill up!

Muddy
AnswerID: 69416

Follow Up By: locallaw - Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 18:11

Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 18:11
Gidday,The only trouble with diesel is that you have to wait for it stop frothing so you can finish filling.
Seeya Locallaw
FollowupID: 329742

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 19:13

Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 19:13
One thing I've learnt to do since having a diesel............ carry a BIG rag so I can clean my hands.

Chees

Fussy Wolf
FollowupID: 329753

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 20:19

Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 20:19
Hey Wolfie,

Unless I'm mistaken HRV's don't come with Diesel motors????????????

Muddy
FollowupID: 329757

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 21:37

Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 21:37
Yep! You're mistaken!!

Tracy's Delica............LOL!!!
FollowupID: 329765

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 21:50

Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 21:50
Oh.......... I nearly forgot..........

THE ONLY DELICA IN THE WHOLE WIDE WORLD WITH AN E O STICKER!!!

My son takes it out to Parafield Airport so he can attend his flying lessons, I am waiting for someone to write in on the forum............

Spotted .......... some sort of Moonbuggy thingy 4 x 4 testosterone vehicle spotted along Main North Road.

That'll be us mate!!

Diesel sniffing Wolf!!
FollowupID: 329775

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 22:08

Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 22:08
Yeah, I was just having a look at them on the net. Interesting looking bus!

Sort of what I was looking for when I bought the Prado. I took a near new Troopy for a drive and was impressed by the sheer space in the back but it was a bit agricultural for every day driving. Wanted the Turbo Diesel reliabilty and economy but a bit of comfort and maybe space to sleep inside if required.

They must do OK offroad as there is a 4WD tour company here in Adelaide that uses two of them as luxury "tour coaches". Have seen these things a few times as there office is right near mine and have wondered about them and how good they would be off road. I'll have to do one of their tag alongs and check them out for myself!

Steven
FollowupID: 329780

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 18:45

Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 18:45
If it makes u feel better i will admit to almost doing the same. As a 19yo green lad on the farm i pulled up to the unleaded tank in the FJ45 and my boss said "I don't think u should fill her up with that" Why not??????? i said. "Because its a diesel you stupid D@*%head!!!! And i was sober.
AnswerID: 69431

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 19:28

Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 19:28
G'day Vinnie,
Sorry you had to find out the capacity the hard (make that "REAL hard + Expensive") way mate. I guess I'm just very lucky or a real tight AR$E and that's why it's never happened to me. On the contrary, I've been using diesel only for so long that on a rare occasion recently when I had to use a company falcon and needed to fill it, I instinctively pulled up at a diesel bowser....but didn't fill up!!

As for the blokes who talk about the oily nozzles etc, I have taken a leaf out of the truckies' book......ever noticed that when they climb down out of their cab to get fuel, the first thing they do is put on a pair of riggers gloves. I keep mine under my seat and whack them on as i get out........no oily mess over my lovely soft pinkies!! LOLOL

CYA
AnswerID: 69435

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 05:49

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 05:49
Hi Roachie

Try putting the glove behind the filler flap, it leaves the diesel smell of the glove out of the vehicle.

FollowupID: 329788

Reply By: Savvas - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 15:43

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 15:43
Don't you just want to !@#$% the guy that was smiling at you all that time?

AnswerID: 69530

Reply By: Vinnie - Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 07:41

Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 07:41
Well one day of bad luck and another to match. On Sunday I was telling a few mates before leaving on a trip to Gloucester and they were having a good larf at my expense ( I expected it ) when a sparrow sitting on the wires above sh#i on me and that put "em all on the ground rolling in laughter. I did what was suggested and bought a scartchie on Monday and won $25.00, so as they say.........
Getting sh@t on does bring good luck!!?
AnswerID: 69822