Catchcans

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 15, 2025 at 15:52
ThreadID: 149655 Views:4382 Replies:14 FollowUps:60
G'day everyone - just wondering about fitting a catchcan to my 2017 BT50. There seem to be various pros and cons for these attachments but the views are quite varied over different forums. What is the opinions on this site ?
TIA - bruce

Reply By: Kazza055 - Saturday, Feb 15, 2025 at 17:00

Saturday, Feb 15, 2025 at 17:00
If they were really needed, do you think that Mazda would have already fitted one?

I think they are just another Must Have, same as Turbo Timers were a few years ago.
AnswerID: 647400

Follow Up By: Member - Happy Explorer - Saturday, Feb 15, 2025 at 21:36

Saturday, Feb 15, 2025 at 21:36
Why would they Kazza055 when they can sell a new motor when it fails.
My experience (not opinion) is this. Last year I killed my Prado 3l diesel motor while towing. Two cracked pistons at 200,000km. When the old motor was removed it was found that there was hardly a big enough hole in the inlet manifold to poke one's finger in it. This was even though my mechanic had been spraying a can of cleaner down the intake at each service. Now that motor has a reputation for failure with cracked pistons but I cannot help feeling the choked intake could have contributed to the failure even if not the total cause. The fact is that this build up was right down where the manifold joins the head so was not able to be seen unless the entire manifold was removed from the head or a camera sent down.
Just saying carbon build up is definitely a real thing. It is possible though that some motors may be worse than others, not sure.
I will add that Toyota did not want to know about it claim wise, even though I bought a new motor from them. All up it cost me $20,000 to replace along with a new radiator and turbo etc. Mechanic's recommendation and probably wise on a new motor anyway.
Think about it, the problem is the mix of recirculated oil vapour and recirculated exhaust gas. A catch can will collect most but not all the oil even if it is a good expensive one. This means there will still be some build up occurring. If the catch can did remove all the oil then you would be left with dirty, gritty dry exhaust gas being sent back into your engine. Not a good scenario either.
The only benefit of a catch can is that they are a relatively cheap and simple add on and slow the problem.
Anything else that will correct the problem is more expensive and illegal. You choose.
Roy
FollowupID: 928383

Follow Up By: Briste - Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 08:48

Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 08:48
On Pradopoint there are a number of reports of people who have had varying levels of support from Toyota for cracked pistons.
FollowupID: 928384

Follow Up By: Member - Happy Explorer - Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 10:34

Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 10:34
Yes I know. That makes it an even bigger kick in the guts for me.
I got the repairs done interstate, maybe if I had freighted the vehicle back to my local dealer to repair, they may have had more will to go into bat for me. I don't know.
I tried twice through my local dealer where I bought the car new but even though they did submit a claim it was unsuccessful. Toyota deemed the cause was faulty injectors and somehow that exempted them from any liability or responsibility. I had been getting the injector pressures checked at each service and were within spec. There is also nothing in the service schedule to say that regular servicing of injectors is required so I am not sure how they can wipe their hands of any responsibility but they did.

FollowupID: 928385

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 16:19

Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 16:19
Maybe do a bit of research before you make a silly statement.
FollowupID: 928402

Follow Up By: Member - Happy Explorer - Monday, Feb 17, 2025 at 04:31

Monday, Feb 17, 2025 at 04:31
More info please Bigfish.
Who are you referring to, and what is the "silly statement".
FollowupID: 928420

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Monday, Feb 17, 2025 at 11:49

Monday, Feb 17, 2025 at 11:49
I was referring to b1b that they are just a gimmick like the turbo timer of years ago. Obviously he has done no research into catch cans.
FollowupID: 928422

Follow Up By: b1b - Monday, Feb 17, 2025 at 12:05

Monday, Feb 17, 2025 at 12:05
i have done some research into catch cans, but with a lot of differing views, i was after some "lived experience".
FollowupID: 928424

Follow Up By: Member - Happy Explorer - Monday, Feb 17, 2025 at 14:45

Monday, Feb 17, 2025 at 14:45
Thanks Bigfish
I thought you might have been referring to me and I was puzzled as to what bit of my statement you were referring to.
Roy
FollowupID: 928430

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Monday, Feb 17, 2025 at 15:50

Monday, Feb 17, 2025 at 15:50
Sorry b1b...my comment was aimed at Kazza055..So much has been written on the internet and if fitted correctly, of good quality , the right size and cleaned as recommended there can only be benefits..
FollowupID: 928433

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Monday, Feb 17, 2025 at 15:50

Monday, Feb 17, 2025 at 15:50
Sorry b1b...my comment was aimed at Kazza055..So much has been written on the internet and if fitted correctly, of good quality , the right size and cleaned as recommended there can only be benefits..
FollowupID: 928434

Follow Up By: RMD - Monday, Feb 17, 2025 at 15:57

Monday, Feb 17, 2025 at 15:57
Kazza
A few years ago, ie many years ago it is really , Turbos DID NOT HAVE WATER COOLING and solely relied relatively cooled oil flow to prevent them from becoming TOO HOT. If you drove, UNDERLOAD and HIGH HEAT developed in the TURBO, if SHUT OFF suddenly there was NO COOLER OIL FLOW and the REMAINING oil in the Turbos sump/bearing area became CRYSTALLINE CARBON in many cases. Upon startup, the turbo bearings BECAME DESTROYED within seconds of the start.
Now with water cooled turbos which use COOLER OIL flow AND COOLANT flow, the IMMENSE HEAT SOAK from the turbo case and vanes etc, which does happen, is NOW unlikely to destroy the bearings.
SO, TURBO timers WERE a necessity and not a FAD at all.
Now, if they didn't have the water cooling, which is now a NORMAL turbo feature, most cars and all the Hoons cars would be dead on the side of the roads as they stop to take their IMPORTANT SELFIE.
FollowupID: 928436

Reply By: IvanTheTerrible - Saturday, Feb 15, 2025 at 21:10

Saturday, Feb 15, 2025 at 21:10
Cons - In my opinion they are a con.
300,000 on the clock and still pulls like a train. Mechanic quoted me 150-200 dollars to clean the inlet but told me it probably be a waste of his time and my money,
AnswerID: 647402

Follow Up By: RMD - Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 15:31

Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 15:31
I bet he cannot clean the intake unless removing the manifold.
FollowupID: 928398

Reply By: qldcamper - Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 07:31

Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 07:31
Dam, put it in the wrong place again,
Roy, the questions were for you mate.

Cracked pistons can't really be contributed to intake restrictions, the combustion mixture will remain the same on common rail engines so how does it over heat pistons.
The real killer on 1KDs is performance enhancers mixed with towing, trying to make a boy do man's work.
The build up in your engine is not caused by oil vapour, it is a mix of nice slippery oil vapour and nasty abrasive carbon exhaust particals. The answer is to get rid of one or the other, so why choose to get rid of an upper cylinder lubricant and keep the abrasive stuff, doesn't make sense to me.
There are a couple of ways to get rid or minimise the soot.
Can you please answer a question truthfully, was your car fitted with a throttle controller or have a performance tune?
And just out of curiosity, was cylinder #3 one of the cracked one?
AnswerID: 647404

Follow Up By: Member - Happy Explorer - Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 11:08

Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 11:08
Hi qldcamper
I know it is pure conjecture. The point I was making for the OP's benefit was that there is no doubt that carbon build up is a real and possibly damaging thing. You may be right, but a seriously restricted air intake could well be problematic when towing. That is getting way off topic now so will leave it at that.
You are right about the problem being the mix of the oil vapour and the returned exhaust gas. That is exactly what I had originally said so in agreement there. In agreement too about the fix options.
Yes, I can answer your questions truthfully, I do not tell lies. Again way off topic now but will answer since you asked.
1. No, I did not have a throttle controller fitted and never will do.
2. No, I did not have any performance tune on that original motor.
3. Yes, it was #3 and #2. #3 being the most predictable one to crack.
There is a lot more I could add to the conversation about my finding on the usefulness or otherwise of modifications and add ons I have fitted for towing, but off topic so will not elaborate here. Also I am trying to stay on relatively safe ground so I don't get bagged out to much by others.
Roy
FollowupID: 928388

Follow Up By: qldcamper - Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 11:17

Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 11:17
Thanks Roy.
I asked what number cracked as you say # 3 is the most predictable which shoots down a popular influencers theory on worn injectors causing cracked pistons.
Haven't seen a case of cylinder 1 or 4 cracking yet. But he is making a fortune selling injector kits.

Apologies to the OP.
FollowupID: 928390

Follow Up By: qldcamper - Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 11:19

Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 11:19
Just one other thing, a catch can is the only legal way of preventing the build up.
FollowupID: 928391

Follow Up By: Member - Happy Explorer - Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 11:26

Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 11:26
I know, however Toyota also chose to blame it on injectors. I can't see that was the problem. Has got to be faulty designed pistons and that is why Toyota apparently had four goes at improving the design before abandoning the motor altogether.
I also agree about catch cans being the only legal fix and stated that above also, but not 100% effective. The cheap ones probably are not very effective at all.
FollowupID: 928392

Reply By: Dunworkin - Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 07:51

Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 07:51
I have fairly limited knowledge of diesel engine mechanics but there was a catchcan on my 2014 Pajero when I brought it.
I have noticed that the oil looks very clean on the dipstick between services unlike my previous Holden Rodeo, the new oil in it seemed to turn black immediately after oil changes.
When I first got the Pajero and checked the oil level I initially thought there was no oil on dipstick as it was as clean as when it came out of the bottle.
As stated I have limited mechanical knowledge but reckon clean oil has to be better for the longevity on my engine .
AnswerID: 647405

Follow Up By: RMD - Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 15:33

Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 15:33
Most oil when fresh in the engine has some colour and so should be easily seen IF present. Not going black simply means cleaner burn ie, Common rail being cleaner and not contaminating the oil s quickly.
FollowupID: 928399

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 16:22

Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 16:22
My pajero oil at 3000klms after an oil change is still clean and reasonably clear. I,ve had a catch can since brand new. Mates with newer pajeros have oil go black after 1000klms. Very black. My manifold at 120000 is also very clean. Bugger all sign of crud with just a little black coating.
FollowupID: 928404

Follow Up By: RMD - Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 18:05

Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 18:05
If the oil goes black after 1000km there is few possible reasons. The lube oil being used is rubbish and not providing any effective sealing of the rings on the cylinder wall. That allows plenty of blowby and oil.mist being forced out of the engine positive crankcase breather
Another is, the oil.is not good and besides the sealing action, it DOES NOT CLEAN THE INTERNALS, so new oil is quickly contaminated by residues ALREADY INSIDE, where there should BE NO BLACK RESIDUE.
Engine wear can also cause fast contamination of the oil as the rings are largely stuffed and not sealing as they should. So black carbon is being fed to the sump oil.
Using a GOOD QUALITY engine oil solves a lot of problems and dealers often Do Not Use good oil. Ok to get out of warranty, but not for long life.
Although expensive ,I have been using Mobile 1 diesel. A local.B double owner near me changed to Mobil 1 diesel and it provided less servicing/ down time and doubled the interval time. I may change to Nulon Full synthetic diesel soon.
FollowupID: 928413

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 18:38

Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 18:38
I,ve seen oil go black on a vast array of diesel motors. Mileages vary anywhere from nearly new to old. . Over the last 5 years or so I have been keeping an eye on vehicles with and without catch cans. The services I do always includes premium quality oils. There is a big difference in oil colour from engines with and without a catch can. EGR delete also helps with cleaner oils. My Triton always had black oil when I first purchased it. I did an engine cleanse involving about 15 litres of new oil and 2 litres engine cleaner. Fitted a catch can. Now, like the Pajero the oil stays cleaner. Something the previous owner said never happened before he sold me the car. I also do my engine oil changes at around every7500klms. Oils cheap when bought in bulk. I dont think I have taken a car to a dealer for a service in over 40 years. A properly installed catch can will only add life to your motor with absolutely no bad side effcts.
FollowupID: 928414

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 18:38

Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 18:38
I,ve seen oil go black on a vast array of diesel motors. Mileages vary anywhere from nearly new to old. . Over the last 5 years or so I have been keeping an eye on vehicles with and without catch cans. The services I do always includes premium quality oils. There is a big difference in oil colour from engines with and without a catch can. EGR delete also helps with cleaner oils. My Triton always had black oil when I first purchased it. I did an engine cleanse involving about 15 litres of new oil and 2 litres engine cleaner. Fitted a catch can. Now, like the Pajero the oil stays cleaner. Something the previous owner said never happened before he sold me the car. I also do my engine oil changes at around every7500klms. Oils cheap when bought in bulk. I dont think I have taken a car to a dealer for a service in over 40 years. A properly installed catch can will only add life to your motor with absolutely no bad side effcts.
FollowupID: 928415

Follow Up By: Bricky - Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 19:31

Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 19:31
A little off topic re catch cans. I've had a lot of cars over the years and have noticed with some of the diesels the oil does get very black quickly. Recently I bought a Chinese tractor, very basic with not a lot of tech. Nearly 50 hours and all oils are as clean as new oil.
FollowupID: 928416

Follow Up By: qldcamper - Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 19:31

Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 19:31
What's the theory behind a catch can keeping the sump oil cleaner?
Every time I change my oil I wonder how many more km it would have been good for being just a darker shade of brown than when it went in and it's done 350k without a CC.
FollowupID: 928417

Reply By: Peter J4 - Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 07:55

Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 07:55
So if they are a waste of time and money why does Toyota now fit one to the 2.8 TD in the 70 series.
Then think of all the poor bods that fitted one over the years only to have Toyota deny warranty claims because one was fitted.
AnswerID: 647406

Follow Up By: RMD - Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 15:36

Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 15:36
Isuzu fit a Catch Can on their 4jj1 engines in their light trucks and also on engines used in forklifts and excavators etc. Other makers do too! I wonder why!
FollowupID: 928400

Follow Up By: Matthew G3 - Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 16:20

Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 16:20
The Rangers V6 has one built in already.
Matt
FollowupID: 928403

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 16:24

Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 16:24
Come on you guys the anti catch can brigade don't want facts. Having never fitted one they are just armchair experts!!!. So much info on the web about them that I,d be embarressed if I publicly went on a forum and said they don't work... Of course they work./
FollowupID: 928405

Follow Up By: qldcamper - Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 16:35

Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 16:35
I don't think anybody here has said they don't work have they?
FollowupID: 928407

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Monday, Feb 17, 2025 at 11:53

Monday, Feb 17, 2025 at 11:53
b1b says they are not needed because Mazda didnt fit one. Implying that their use is no required . We all know that millions of dollars are spent every year on people having maniflds and intercoolers cleaned due to a gunk build up that be nearly eliminated by installing a quality catch can. So much info on the web about the benefits.
FollowupID: 928423

Follow Up By: b1b - Monday, Feb 17, 2025 at 12:08

Monday, Feb 17, 2025 at 12:08
where did i say "b1b says they are not needed because Mazda didnt fit one."
FollowupID: 928425

Follow Up By: qldcamper - Monday, Feb 17, 2025 at 12:19

Monday, Feb 17, 2025 at 12:19
Big fish,
Where exactly does b1b say they don't work?
After your response to his post I doubt he will have any more input to his thread at all.
I'm still waiting on your explanation on how a CC keeps sump oil cleaner.
FollowupID: 928426

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Wednesday, Feb 19, 2025 at 18:11

Wednesday, Feb 19, 2025 at 18:11
Sorry mate. It was Kazza who made that statement.
FollowupID: 928464

Follow Up By: Tony W - Monday, Feb 24, 2025 at 07:30

Monday, Feb 24, 2025 at 07:30
Toyota doesn't fit a catch can from the factory. You can still buy one from a snake oil sales company if you feel the need.
FollowupID: 928521

Follow Up By: Batt's - Tuesday, Feb 25, 2025 at 12:55

Tuesday, Feb 25, 2025 at 12:55
Tony what do you actually mean in your statement you must know a bit about catch cans due to your experience with them.
My old 1979 torana has a factory fitted gauze filter mounted inside the air filter housing to trap the oil from the crank case vent before it enters the engine so there must be a reason why they don't want the oil contaminating the engine. All a catch can does is filter the air better to remove contaminates so not sure why there snake oil.
FollowupID: 928526

Reply By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 08:00

Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 08:00
Berrima Diesel have for a long time been the gurus for Diesel engines, a family business in Berrima and now also in the Philippines. They have many YouTube vids on this subject and it may be worth a search to settle what is heresay and what is not on this subject.
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

AnswerID: 647407

Follow Up By: Batt's - Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 14:51

Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 14:51
You could simply tell us the end result.
FollowupID: 928395

Follow Up By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 15:24

Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 15:24
Hello Batts,
I have a catch can on our 2007. 70 series ute after seeing the results of not having one at a local mechs work shop. A manifold decoke on a 70 series cost thousands. After viewing identical YouTube vids from Berrima Diesel on all makes of vehicles why would'nt you fit a catch can. Further more after seeing some of the problems that come into Berrima Diesel's doors I will be booking a place with them for a pump check and tune even if I have to travel over twelve hundred kilometres to get there.

FollowupID: 928396

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 16:25

Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 16:25
You can lead a horse to water but you can't make him drink...
FollowupID: 928406

Follow Up By: Batt's - Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 17:17

Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 17:17
Thanks Pinko just wanted to know what they said without having to watch another video I expect there are others interested in just the end results.
I've been using catch cans for over 10yrs and not sure about the relevance of comment above you can't put a catch can on the intake of a horse. Also people are not always convinced straight away about items they like to research things for a while before making their mind up about spending a reasonable amount on an item they know little about.
FollowupID: 928408

Reply By: Batt's - Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 15:15

Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 15:15
From what I've read over the yrs they are a benefit in several ways no matter how minor it helps it can be a benefit like stopping oil coating the inside of the inter cooler which has an effect on it's cooling air. It can play up with the air fuel mixture and even add to build up in the intake also helps to remove any contamination like condensation that might be present in the blow by oil vapour.
So lots of people use the Provent brand I've had 2 on 2 different vehicles and have a small section of clear hose with a ball valve tap and drain it when changing the engine oil.
AnswerID: 647410

Follow Up By: RMD - Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 15:29

Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 15:29
Batts.
I can't see how it can affect the air fuel ratio since the airflow is measured and also the injected amounts. Diesels run lean, it is the way they operate, less fuel, less power. Normally there is far more air in there than is needed for the amount of fuel injected. It is simply burnt as it is injected for the proportional amount of output power. Totally different to a PETROL engine. The whole idea of a PC ventilation is to remove any oil mist and perhaps condensation.
Yes, oil does condense in an intercooler and it is seen when travelling behind a Ranger. They puff a bit of smoke at regular intervals and it has to be the small drops exiting the intercooler and entering the cylinders. So for a split second they are overfuelled, by that particular oil droplet.
FollowupID: 928397

Follow Up By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 17:27

Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 17:27
Relating to the intercooler. When I fitted my catch can I removed the intercooler and rinsed it out many times using about six litres of petrol.

FollowupID: 928410

Follow Up By: RMD - Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 17:45

Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 17:45
Pinko. Unless you can stop, or restrict the mist flow through the system and into the turbo and intercooler, it is absolutely pointless to start and continue to wash it out. The oil condensate can only build up to a certain amount and because of the torrent of airflow through the intercooler, it simply picks up and carries small amounts through to the engine intake. ie, perfectly normal operation. Waste of time washing it.
FollowupID: 928412

Reply By: RMD - Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 15:52

Sunday, Feb 16, 2025 at 15:52
b1b
I would fit one to reduce the amount of oil mist which can coagulate with the EGR gasflow and cause build up in part of the intake. Usually most engines have the EGR flow nearer one end and that end suffers the most.
Having the EGR flow restricted by a plate still allows some EGR flow but lessens the volume of hot gas which can turn the mist into a semi solid GOOP which loves to deposit on intake internals and where it enters the INTAKE PORTS.
Many oils are crap and DO NOT SEAL rings very well and that allows for EXCESS oil vapour/mist to be exiting the engine and going to the intake via the turbo intake and through the intercooler. A dealer is UNLIKELY to use a good quality oil in your engine. If dealer serviced, check and ask what they use.
My engine has a catch can I made, and also has an EGR restrictor plate of 13mm dia instead of a 30mm dia port. It is positioned BEFORE the EGR valve so the VALVE runs cooler and less actual EGR flow gets to the engine intake in a given time. Too small a plate hole causes an ERROR fault.
AnswerID: 647411

Follow Up By: Batt's - Monday, Feb 17, 2025 at 13:56

Monday, Feb 17, 2025 at 13:56
My neighbour was told by his mechanic yrs ago you don't need the egr block if you fit a catch can.
FollowupID: 928427

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Monday, Feb 17, 2025 at 15:52

Monday, Feb 17, 2025 at 15:52
I deleted the EGR and put a catch can on. I went into all the pros and cons very seriously and long before I actually purchased my Pajero. Result is the engine runs like a dream and oil stays cleanish for 5000klms (cleanish, not jet black like mostdiesel cars).
FollowupID: 928435

Follow Up By: Batt's - Monday, Feb 17, 2025 at 20:50

Monday, Feb 17, 2025 at 20:50
I think most diesels will end up black oil once the mileage gets up over the years. When I drain my oil I usually pour in some new oil to help flush a bit more of the old oil out. A bypass filter would help as well but I haven't fitted one maybe on my next 4wd I look into it more.
FollowupID: 928438

Reply By: Gbc.. - Tuesday, Feb 18, 2025 at 12:24

Tuesday, Feb 18, 2025 at 12:24
I had the 3.2 for over 200k kms without a catch can. They are a pretty clean diesel. Mine got EGR system flushes twice with not much to report. Other brands are quite sooty. The clean involves running cleaner through the intercooler and whole closed loop while the engine runs for 1/2 hr. Was cool to see how dirty some brands are.
Not sure i'd bother with a catch can if I wasn't doing an EGR delete also? Most brands just do a EGR flush as part of a normal service these days. Costs me an extra $100 every few services with my current isuzu mazda. Makes the whole argument moot.
AnswerID: 647418

Follow Up By: axle - Tuesday, Feb 18, 2025 at 13:41

Tuesday, Feb 18, 2025 at 13:41
G/Day Gbc

More like a catch 22 LOL.

Cheers Axle
FollowupID: 928445

Follow Up By: qldcamper - Tuesday, Feb 18, 2025 at 15:03

Tuesday, Feb 18, 2025 at 15:03
Really only need one or the other, I chose to minimise the soot and let the cleaning agents in the oil do the rest.
Has it worked? Who knows, not going to pull it apart just to have a look, if it's not broke don't fix it.
I still get over 1000k per tank when towing a 1 ton camper in third with lowered tyre pressure and no notable compensation in injector values, so not concerned.
FollowupID: 928447

Follow Up By: RMD - Tuesday, Feb 18, 2025 at 16:08

Tuesday, Feb 18, 2025 at 16:08
Gbc
Can you explain how an EGR system can run closed loop and be cleaning out the EGR cooler, and does that include a clean of the intake manifold as well. What you said is very unclear and difficult to see how it can be doing it while running and without component disassembly for access to the EGR etc.
Just very interested to know!
FollowupID: 928448

Follow Up By: Gbc.. - Tuesday, Feb 18, 2025 at 16:19

Tuesday, Feb 18, 2025 at 16:19
Can’t help you too much mate. I’ve seen it done but I’m a builder not a mechanic. They hang up a canister of cleaning fluid, disconnect some stuff, hook up some pressure tubes, start the engine and rev it up. The fluid goes around and turns black. It’s all very enthralling and it lightens my wallet haha. That’s how the PX was done. I don’t know how the Mazda is done, I haven’t watched them do it. I’ve got a pic somewhere I’ll have a look.
FollowupID: 928449

Follow Up By: Gbc.. - Tuesday, Feb 18, 2025 at 16:32

Tuesday, Feb 18, 2025 at 16:32
Found it. One of these doovers.

https://cpsproducts.com.au/product-details/500-0170/
FollowupID: 928451

Follow Up By: b1b - Wednesday, Feb 19, 2025 at 20:39

Wednesday, Feb 19, 2025 at 20:39
Gbc .. - are you sure it'sa doover? It looks more like a thingamajig to me. Could be a brand name though.
FollowupID: 928467

Follow Up By: RMD - Thursday, Feb 20, 2025 at 10:45

Thursday, Feb 20, 2025 at 10:45
b1b
Definitely a Doover, they always have hanging loop at the top!
FollowupID: 928473

Reply By: Member - LeighW - Thursday, Feb 20, 2025 at 08:53

Thursday, Feb 20, 2025 at 08:53
What I found.

I had a catch can fitted, was an upmarket one with membrain filter ahd pressure relief. Yes it collected a fair amount of oil but didn't stop all of it. The inlet manifold and EGR still got covered in carbon and becoming wet goo just took longer.

The oil vapour can act as a persudo upper cylinder lubricant and a mechanic I know who specialises in a particular model indicates he finds more valve seat errosion on vechiles fitted with catch after high milage. In the case with vehicles fitted with swirl control the oil vapour may also lubricate the bearings but not sure on that aspect?

I then tried the EGR plate and have found very little build up, I think the difference is if you reduce the carbon coming into the manifold it gets very diluted with the high air flow through the manifold so less to build up, whereas if you reduce the oil vapour the carbon coating is still due to the high carbon flow and eventually it gets wet even with a catch can fitted and more carbon builds up over time.

Which is actually the problem the oil or the carbon, the oil without the carbon does cause any issues. In my previous cars without EGR I never had an issue with with oil vapour from the breathers. It is the carbon in the EGR flow that causes the issue so it is the logicalto get rid of it.

I also tried and EGR defeat module. It worked ok around town totally inhibiting the EGR valve, I found though when towing it casued the engine to surge. Defeating EGR in my model vehicle also affects the Turbo dump as the dumped air path is back via the EGR valve. Before I puchased the module I questioned that aspect with the manufacturer and they said it didn't affect the turbo dump. They either didn't know the product did or they lied.

I have settled on an EGR reducing plate, has solved the carbon build up for me and does cause any other engine issues when towing.

An engine remap to inhibit EGR operation might be the go but make sure it doesn't affect the turbo dump.

The surging I mentioned above I believe is caused by inhibiting the EGR without taking other things into account. When the cars computer opens the EGR valve it lets bad air into the engine to reduce the flame burn temperature and this reduces power. If your sitting on a steady speed the the opening and closing of the EGR will cause surging and I suspect to overcome this the car manufacturers increase the fuel flow as the EGR valve opens to prevent the surging. The EGR defeat module only stops the EGR valve opening it does not contol fuel flow. Driving around town you don't notice anything but driving on a highway while towing a van van I found at certain speeds trailing the throttle or slowing accelerating the surging was evident. At least that's my theory.

AnswerID: 647439

Follow Up By: RMD - Thursday, Feb 20, 2025 at 10:40

Thursday, Feb 20, 2025 at 10:40
Leigh W
What situation are you calling "turbo Dump"? Is it when the throttle is closed suddenly. not sure what you mean!

To me, the amount of HEAT in the EGR gasses is what turns the oily mist to GOO. If the AMOUNT of heat at any given time is reduced, via a restrictor plate, then there is less cooking of oil mist able to be performed. If it is not turned to GOO by EGR GAS HEAT, then it remains "fluid like" and doesn't COOK and get deposited on inner of intake manifold etc.

Good oil quality, less EGR gas heat, less OIL mist via use of catch can or simply less blowby, all helps!
FollowupID: 928472

Follow Up By: Member - LeighW - Thursday, Feb 20, 2025 at 18:54

Thursday, Feb 20, 2025 at 18:54
Turbo dump, yes when throttle is closed suddenly with the turbo spooled up and providing high boost.
When this happens in my car the EGR valve opens and directs the airflow to the EGR cooler. In the EGR cooler and flap operates to allow the airflow to bypass the cooler matrix and let the air flow out via the EGR port. Obviuosly the EGR plate mode restricts the amount of air flowing which isn't desirable but some is better than none.

Not sure regarding the heat aspect, the EGR gases on my unit go through a cooler before entering the inlet manifold. The coating of goo in my manifold when I cleaned it was oily after the EGR valve till it got to the first inlet port of the cylinder head where it was baked on. This would tend to indicate it is the heat from the cylinder head in my case that's doing the baking.

FollowupID: 928477

Follow Up By: RMD - Friday, Feb 21, 2025 at 16:31

Friday, Feb 21, 2025 at 16:31
Leigh W
Yes, it thought the sudden pressure rise is what you meant, but in most engines the throttle plate simply blocks OFF the airflow to a large amount and that cause the POCK noise as the turbo impeller speed is dampened out.
What car do you have which, when throttle closed, directs the airflow to the EGR cooler? The EGR might open, but most simply have the EGR accepting the gas flow, slightly cooled, from the EGR cooler. The EGR and any intake airflow is separate until AFTER the EGR valve and already inside the intake manifold.
Do you really have a FLAP in your EGR cooler,? and does it have a BYPASS of that said cooler. REALLY?
Never hear of this before!
It IS the heat of the EGR gas which cooks the OIL MIST to GOO on the post walls, not any head temp of 85 C. It is the coolness of the head port which condenses the crap there.
FollowupID: 928484

Follow Up By: Member - LeighW - Friday, Feb 21, 2025 at 17:43

Friday, Feb 21, 2025 at 17:43
I have a Prado diesel, there is a throttle butterfly valve only there for shutting down the engine and yes there is a vane in the EGR cooler to bypass it when the turbo boost is being dumped.

I can only go by my observations, from the EGR vale and down stream through the inlet manifold the surface was an oily goo. The top layer came off fairly easily with carburetor cleaner. It was the stuff under the top coating and in the inlet port that was harder to get off.

FollowupID: 928485

Follow Up By: RMD - Friday, Feb 21, 2025 at 19:21

Friday, Feb 21, 2025 at 19:21
Leigh W
Is your vehicle pre CRD by chance? The lack of injection via switching off the injectors stopps most engines!
FollowupID: 928486

Follow Up By: Member - LeighW - Friday, Feb 21, 2025 at 20:49

Friday, Feb 21, 2025 at 20:49
It is a common rail injection system. It is not uncommon for diesels to have a butterfly valve to prevent run on when shutting down. In the Prado it does close when the motor is shut down I image to shut the engine down more quickly and possible to prevent a leaky injector causing issues. It is also used to enhance EGR flow under certain circumstances, ie low engine RPM they partialy close the valve to create a vacuum in the intake manifold to help suck in the EGR gas.
FollowupID: 928490

Reply By: Member - FSH00 - Thursday, Feb 20, 2025 at 20:50

Thursday, Feb 20, 2025 at 20:50
Work to live don’t live to work

AnswerID: 647440

Follow Up By: Member - LeighW - Friday, Feb 21, 2025 at 10:46

Friday, Feb 21, 2025 at 10:46
Some models take the exhaust gas after the particulate filter and feed that back to the EGR valve. More plumbing but seems like a simpler solution.
FollowupID: 928481

Follow Up By: Batt's - Saturday, Feb 22, 2025 at 05:12

Saturday, Feb 22, 2025 at 05:12
All BMW have to do now is come up with a name for this "new" wonder device they can put a patient on.
About time one of the companies admitted there was an issue with the way the system works.
FollowupID: 928491

Reply By: qldcamper - Monday, Feb 24, 2025 at 08:31

Monday, Feb 24, 2025 at 08:31
I wonder how many boomers that swear blindly to the advantages of catch cans installed an upper cylinder lubricant kit in their Valliant when they bought the fluffy dice for the mirror?
AnswerID: 647469

Reply By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Tuesday, Feb 25, 2025 at 18:31

Tuesday, Feb 25, 2025 at 18:31
Are catch cans the new batteries?

AnswerID: 647477

Follow Up By: qldcamper - Wednesday, Feb 26, 2025 at 07:31

Wednesday, Feb 26, 2025 at 07:31
How about a catchcan with Bluetooth.
FollowupID: 928527

Reply By: Member - TroyR - Saturday, Apr 26, 2025 at 21:02

Saturday, Apr 26, 2025 at 21:02
Hi Bruce,

I've been a Diesel Mech for about 35yrs, mostly when they naturally vented to atmosphere, before the EGR and DPF systems came into play.

In the old days Catchcans weren't needed, oil vapour vented out to atmosphere so no oily build up in the intake manifold, these days oil vapour is recirculated back into the engine and can clog or build up in the intake manifold, all this to reduce emmissions.

Now before all of the backyard mechs and my mech collegues start stamping their feet here, remember this is my point of view and based on my experiences. There are varied opinions on catchcans, just watch you tube.

My story:
I do not and have never had catch cans in my cars.
My current 2020 Holden Trailblazer/Colorado has done 205k, all highway country kms so it runs at full engine temp all the time. It's rarely done stop start driving in the cities. It is serviced every 10k, and I change the engine oil every 5k. To date performance is almost as good as it was new. I have removed and checked the manifold and EGR and while there is some carbon build up it isn't worth cleaning out as it is so minor. I put this down to the type of driving I do and regular maintenance.

My view is it really really depends on how you drive your car, quality of maintenance and how long you plan on keeping it for. If it's new and you only want it for a few years I wouldn't bother with a catchcan. If you plan on keeping it for a while longer and working it then it can certainly help in the long run, but that also depends on how you drive it.

Honestly the 4wd Industry is an accessories sport, they all want you to buy the latest thing, but in most cases the latest thing is crap and isn't needed. It's up to you if you want to spend the cash.

Just my twobobs worth.
Living life, one coffee at a time

AnswerID: 647837

Follow Up By: b1b - Saturday, Apr 26, 2025 at 21:16

Saturday, Apr 26, 2025 at 21:16
Thanks Troy, probably the best reply I've had. I haven't gone ahead with the idea yet and haven't ruled it in or out. I intend to hang on to the car for a while, situation has changed since I bought it and unable to get out and about as I had hoped and don't clock up too many K's. I agree with the 4WD industry being a bit mercenary but that's business.
Regards bb
FollowupID: 928936