Whats the best type of fridge connection?

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 18:14
ThreadID: 14967 Views:2259 Replies:6 FollowUps:9
I have a dodgy connection in the back of the Patrol and want to replace it. The type i have now is the hella type which you unscrew the connection to make a smaller plug.(hope this makes sense) Should i replace with the same? This one keeps cutting out. I have 6mm wire run from aux battery to this plug with a 30 amp inline fuse.

Reply By: Jimbo - Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 18:24

Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 18:24
I was going to give you my opinion until I read "Happyness is Essendon losing".
AnswerID: 69428

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 18:27

Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 18:27
I'm not really that touchy.

I got sick of my Engel falling out of the cig lighter socket. When I got the dual battery fitted I had some Waeco sockets and plugs installed. Bloody brilliant, they clip in and do not come loose. They also have a little red adaptor which allows them to fit into a conventional cig socket.

FollowupID: 329745

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 18:36

Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 18:36
Thats the sort i have now..............i don't know how old the socket in the car is, so i just might replace it. And if it makes you feel better i am happy when The Power lose too :)
FollowupID: 329749

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 18:43

Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 18:43
Brew mate, anderson plug is what i use with 6mm wire from the car to the camper and twin charger then to the fridge, we have a 3way though, best connectors ever made i reckon.

AnswerID: 69430

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 18:47

Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 18:47
I have seen them on ebay for $20 or so.....Is this a good price? I am looking at putting the fridge in our camper so i can fit more kids in the car lol
FollowupID: 329751

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 19:01

Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 19:01
Thats a good price, they can be $40, luckly we get them for $12 at AME at Arndell Pk the marine one are good to as mentioned below.
FollowupID: 329752

Follow Up By: Puddin & Gumnut (Sydney) - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 15:14

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 15:14
I also use the anderson plug & it's never failed.
FollowupID: 329823

Reply By: Member - Jack - Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 18:50

Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 18:50
Mine was installed with a 2 pin marine fitting that plugs in and you screw it up tight - and it has never failed.
Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 69432

Reply By: fred a - Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 21:00

Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 21:00
i also use anderson plugs for fridge and trailer- fitted by an auto electrician- he says the'er the best. cost about $20 each from auto electrician-you need 2.

hope this helps

fred
AnswerID: 69448

Reply By: Crocbit - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 09:20

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 09:20
G'day from the "Top End" of NT, just a visitor who has found a very good site... after a trip or three to the kimberleys using a gq and evacool electric esky with solar panels---- I have found that a dick smith connector, 2 pin, screw in type connector works fine, you can purchase male or female for approx 5 bucks. Also if you like the anderson plug refer to www.rsaustralia.com parts #2906124/2906118 refer ---a LOT cheaper than anywhere else...don
AnswerID: 69488

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 11:48

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 11:48
Thanks mate i will check out the dick smith one and the marine ones today.
FollowupID: 329807

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 20:01

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 20:01
The part number 290-6118 does not look like the right part....
FollowupID: 329864

Follow Up By: Crocbit - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 22:23

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 22:23
# 290-6124 is the plastic plug # 290-6118 should be the pins to suit, you need two per plug (or more if you intend to change the plug in future)
FollowupID: 330024

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 22:53

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 22:53
They must have the wrong image linked to that part number coz it aint no pins when I have a look!
FollowupID: 330027

Reply By: Utemad - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 10:14

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 10:14
The ones Engel use on their bigger fridges work great. They screw together. You can unscrew the cigarette plug off the cable on the smaller fridges to reveal this plug and then you can buy the socket and fit that.

As for all Engel stuff though. They aren't cheap.

Utemad
AnswerID: 69493