Beach driving under scrutiny

Submitted: Monday, Mar 24, 2025 at 11:21
ThreadID: 149995 Views:2765 Replies:10 FollowUps:20
"Queensland study prompts calls for 4WD ban on beaches being 'pummelled to death'."
Read the ABC report here.
There can be little doubt that the 4WD activity in Australia, and particularly on the coastal zones, is increasing exponentially. So if you are planning to visit K'gari, (or even Fraser Island), maybe you should do so soon….. before you cannot!

I am no longer part of the parade, but it is perhaps somewhat shaming that I have contributed to the problem. Roz on the other hand could boast that her first visit to Fraser in 1966 was on foot with a backpack. There were no vehicle barges at that time.

Back Expand Un-Read 3 Moderator

Reply By: Mikee5 - Monday, Mar 24, 2025 at 11:30

Monday, Mar 24, 2025 at 11:30
We first went to Fraser Island in 1978 in a bog standard FJ40 on 7.50x16 cross ply tyres. Went as often as we could for years. Then you would see less than 5 vehicles a day. After a hiatus in the NT we returned in 1998. What a difference. At that time we said there must be limits on the numbers. To us it was chaos with hoons speeders and fools. There were usually rollovers, we saw the wrecks which were often held at Eurong or Happy Valley. That was our last visit, preferring our memories to the present reality.
AnswerID: 647631

Reply By: qldcamper - Monday, Mar 24, 2025 at 12:37

Monday, Mar 24, 2025 at 12:37
Don't feel too ashamed Allan, the planet will fix the damage you did once mankind has gone. Not long to go now. How much time will banning vehicles from beaches buy man kind?
AnswerID: 647633

Follow Up By: Richard M29 - Monday, Mar 24, 2025 at 12:48

Monday, Mar 24, 2025 at 12:48
We have never driven on a beach, in all our 67 years, for one reason only, the wildlife use of those beaches especially turtles, and birds, their is no justification for it at all today or in the past. When you do it your murdering wildlife.
FollowupID: 928715

Follow Up By: Member - McLaren3030 - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2025 at 08:07

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2025 at 08:07
Richard M29,

Wow, and yet you will happily drive everywhere else in the country, “murdering wildlife”.

Don’t get me wrong, I do not condone reckless or irresponsible driving by anyone. However, whether it is on the beach, outback track, desert or our massive road network throughout the country, before roads and tracks are built, wildlife was there first.
Macca.

FollowupID: 928720

Follow Up By: Batt's - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2025 at 11:01

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2025 at 11:01
So Richard the wildlife doesn't use our roads or do they not count in your eyes. All those ants, frogs, rabbits, roos, many many species of bugs that smash into the front of your car and windscreen and birds etc.
Apparently if you care that much about the planet and it's creatures Richard you wouldn't be driving a fuel guzzling polluting 4wd in the first place.
Most of us are responsible and careful when driving yes there are some idiots but if you have never driven on a beach how do you really know what's there ?
FollowupID: 928723

Follow Up By: Richard M29 - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2025 at 11:11

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2025 at 11:11
I don't drive a 4wd anymore, nor do I offroad in the bush anymore, I do mostly travel by pushbike, , or by motorbike, but not remote anymore, stay on formed roads. All the beaches I have been to, have parked in a parking area and walked onto the beach.

Their is no safe way of driving on a beach anymore, their is no reason, why you can't just walk on one instead.
FollowupID: 928724

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2025 at 12:49

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2025 at 12:49
So Batts you assume Richard drives a fuel guzzling polluting 4wd because he doesn't care about the planet?? What sort of fuel guzzling 4wd does Richard M29 drive? I don,t believe he has one!! I,ve driven on beaches only because I had to reach remote aboriginal communities for communications work. I also agree with the need to limit beach access. Every year there are more and more tracks made by idiots in 4wd,s . Many people are now too bloody lazy to walk to an area. I,d love to see Fraser shut down and hopefully the great grand kids might have something to see in the future..at the moment the earth is turning to shite thanks to greed, self entitlement and pure stupidity. You dont have to actually drive or visit somewhere to know whats there.
FollowupID: 928726

Follow Up By: Batt's - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2025 at 14:38

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2025 at 14:38
Well he said he's never driven on one didn't say he wasn't able to because of the type of vehicle he had. Also it seems he has no doubt whatsoever that all of us who drive on a beach is a murderer of animals did you read that or turn a blind eye ? Is that a correct statement for him to make or just general perception from one who doesn't know what he's saying or is very misguided and has come to a point where there is no convincing him otherwise it just has to be that it is always an act of murdering animals when driving on a beach and I thought I had issues.
The fuel guzzling polluting thing I just threw in because that's been the general perception of 4wd's for a lot of years it's aimed at all uf us so it wasn't actually a personal attack but you may see it differently.
On the Fraser Island thing I believe I have mentioned on a previous thread that one day you won't be able to drive yourself you'll be on a tourist bus for example. If people drove sensible there wouldn't be a problem but it's not going to happen due to human some self centred individuals who #uck things up for everyone else.
Sometimes government departments stuff things up like restricting the amount of beach access points to only a couple a places till the tracks get flogged out then they have generated their own ammo.
As an example Stockton beach use to have multiple access tracks when I lived in Newcastle untill I left in the late 90's My brother told me yrs ago the limited beach access and the wear on the track became ridiculous to a point where he stopped going there many years ago. That's the sort of beach you generally drive on because of the distance from the tarmac to the shore line but yes there are heaps of beaches that we all walk to and don't necessarily drive on it good to just stroll along them.
FollowupID: 928727

Follow Up By: Batt's - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2025 at 16:36

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2025 at 16:36
Not sure Richard how you know there's no way to safely drive on a beach considering you have no experience in that area as you said you haven't driven on a beach not sure how that works.
Most of the time it would probably be the individuals poor judgement of the conditions a lack of experience or reckless driver etc etc.
Or they could have tears in their eyes thinking about all the animals they are killing while casually cruising up the beach to catch a fish so they can add that to the daily death toll.
You are obviously unaware of the length of some of the beaches in Australia and that there are huts or villages on some. Good luck carrying building materials in by hand or walking 100km or so up a beach to camp for a night and walk back. Tarmac warriors dream a lot and think if they don't have any interest in exploring quiet remote ares no one should.
If people don't like my response then too bad I'm only replying to stupid comments.
FollowupID: 928728

Reply By: Member - silkwood - Monday, Mar 24, 2025 at 14:20

Monday, Mar 24, 2025 at 14:20
The response of "Bundaberg 4WD Club president Brett Lynch" is both disingenuous and an embarrassment. To suggest private 4wds are necessary to provide environmental activities is a good example of a self-interested oxymoron...
AnswerID: 647635

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Monday, Mar 24, 2025 at 15:48

Monday, Mar 24, 2025 at 15:48
Yes, there is no beach driving in Victoria at all - Portland Dunes: Victoria - Beach Driving in Victoria - They seem to get on fine without it.

FollowupID: 928716

Follow Up By: Member - nick boab - Monday, Mar 24, 2025 at 21:01

Monday, Mar 24, 2025 at 21:01
Peter : yeah but.. The Victorian Cross the border into SA & some to run a muck , apparently sa parks, SAPOL now are chasing them & other with choppers driving illegally according to news stories ...
Cheers Nick

FollowupID: 928717

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2025 at 11:39

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2025 at 11:39
Bloke made a complete idiot of himself. He even started to glow red from embarressment. When he said they are necessary for metal destressing, he was really clutching at straws.
FollowupID: 928740

Reply By: Member - nick boab - Monday, Mar 24, 2025 at 21:20

Monday, Mar 24, 2025 at 21:20
Aldinga beach SA. Council charging $ 12.p/car for non residents over the summer xmas holidays

Cheers Nick

AnswerID: 647640

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2025 at 15:14

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2025 at 15:14
I spent 10 years, EVERY holiday and many week-ends on that beach for over 10 years from about 1949/50.
The sand is like concrete. There was no road and the only access to the shacks was via the beach at low tide.
There are no pipis there and never have been.

OKA196 motorhome
FollowupID: 928744

Follow Up By: Member - nick boab - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2025 at 19:55

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2025 at 19:55
Hi Peter : They still run the the motor bike event on the beach every other year , it was on about 2 weeks ago much to many locals dis like .

The picture is take from a FB page , that said 50 years ago . It's a great beach & spot ,
any wander they flock here .

Cheers Nick

FollowupID: 928746

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2025 at 23:04

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2025 at 23:04
Hi Nick, there was a time, long ago, when I thought that I was the only person in Adelaide that knew where Aldinga was!

FollowupID: 928749

Follow Up By: Stephen L (Clare) SA - Thursday, Mar 27, 2025 at 07:54

Thursday, Mar 27, 2025 at 07:54
What about Wallaroo Allan, still gets packed out and unlike Aldinga….100% free
Who has been here

FollowupID: 928750

Reply By: Kenell - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2025 at 07:49

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2025 at 07:49
Allan, you are clearly an environmental vandal. It might start with a seemingly harmless run along the beach but before you know it it will be grafitti on city buildings, removing heads from Colonial statues and who knows what's next. It is good that you are repenting but I'm afraid it is too little too late.

You young people of today - I don't know - really I don't !!

Kenell
AnswerID: 647642

Follow Up By: qldcamper - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2025 at 08:20

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2025 at 08:20
Maybe we should blame the first here that claim to have been here 60 thousand years ago. They want everything then they can have the blame, should have took better care of the place.
FollowupID: 928722

Reply By: Member - peter g28 - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2025 at 17:31

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2025 at 17:31
Another study, more dog whistling and "Ban the 4wd's" banter gets the press headlines, makes for good copy and sells.
We 4wders up here on the Far North Coast of NSW have been lined up for the last 20+years and so the "anti whatevers" it is this week, have been chipping away slowly to get 4wds banned for the beach driving.
People have moved into the area and want the pristine look and take umbrage to 4wds being on THEIR beach whilst they are walking.
At present they are now complaining about the fish kill up here and the smell, so they want the local councils to do something, plus throw in the state government to stop pesticides and farming because it contributes to all the "soil run off' that causes deoxygenation of the rivers..hence the fish kill.
Little do some of these twats understand that in their newly built houses in their newly built subdivision contribute to the environmental hard landscape these sub divisions bring mixed in with half of the shite they put on their gardens ain't helping either being washed down the local drains...
These twats won't have a word about stopping over development along the Australian eastern coast.
But see THEIR beach with all these 4wds around..well let's get out the spears and axes!
All this bloody whinging and "we got to do something now!" and stuff the later consequences is really getting on my titts!
Enough to want to make you puke...as someone once said.
Breathe..breathe...
Ok,
I'm back..
Yes the beaches do get "Pumbled to death"..
Alfred just last week did a bang up job of damaging hundreds of kilometres of beach, killed countless wildlife and displaces countless others and what now..are we going to ban cyclones in the future!
FFS!!!!
Breathe..Breath..
Ummmmmmm, Ummmmm,
I'm fine...
I really am..
My meds will be kicking in pretty soon.
Yeh..
4wds..beaches..
Ok..
What should really be happening is grabbing out this "Hoons law" doubling the fines, impounding & crushing all these 4wders morons who disrespect the beach environment, its' vehicles road rules and are dumb enough to get caught.
Then when they get caught..throw the fookn book at them.
Damn it..
We have drones, CCTV up to our wazoo, yet are any deployed in high 4wd movements along some of the beaches for any length of time?
Nah..too hard..
Beach Permits...they will be A4 size and bright yellow, can not miss seeing them a mile away, a 4wder can pick them up in any camping store close to the place they want to drive.
Yep..
Cost per permit.. $300.00 per vehicle on a valid day, plus fill out some paperwork that will make getting rid of your first born simply easy.
The beaches should be "amount vehicle restricted" per day and tightly regulated and monitored.
If they don't have a permit..and are caught..
And they will be.
Remember we have drones, CCTY cameras, number plate recognition camera's, and internet detectives..so if they post that beach drive on that "tick thingy", and there is no permit shown, they will get caught.
If they jump through all the loop holes, pay for the privilege and it will be a privilege.
Well come on down..
A beach drive awaits..
This banning of beach driving..it's all utter bollocks!!!!

AnswerID: 647651

Follow Up By: Member - silkwood - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2025 at 09:27

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2025 at 09:27
I really do hope "the meds kick in", for everyones sake...
FollowupID: 928737

Reply By: Member - peter g28 - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2025 at 11:59

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2025 at 11:59
This beach driving ban does "wind me up" as I have mentioned before, the "what are we going to whinge about this week" mob, like picking the low fruit in public debate and the 4wd community is one such item...especially on beaches..plus their little "hobby horse" of tracks being closed in National Parks.
Granted that there are some real right "shite heads" out there making it hard for the rest of us 4wders, with them trashing national parks, beaches, leaving rubbish, ruining tracks and just being absolute twats.
Some of them thinking that posting it on "social media"..gets them clicks and viewers which boosts their social media profile...hence more income.
So what are the "legacy media 4wders" going to do about this increase of utter bogan behaviour..are they going to call out these idiots and show on their programmes the damage these morons are doing to our social hobby.
I'm talking to you..Mr 4wding, Matt 4wding, All 4 Adventure, 4wd24/7 and the others...
Are you going to stop roaring through mud tracks, driving up tracks during a wet season, lifting wheels up on rocky tracks and adding to tracks overall erosion?
Are you going to stop dragging your 3000kg+ vans onto remote beaches that should have been left back parked behind the sand dunes on more solid ground?
Are these blokes going to do a piece to camera and say." we are not going to go through this mud hole or this track because it will cause more damage, we will just go around the chicken track?"
Nah..not a chance..because it makes "good TV" to show mud flying, wheels spinning, dust flying and winches getting used, blokes standing around laughing patting each other on the back, because they haven't broken any thing whilst they have added to trashing another "over eroded track".
Now we the general 4wding public are paying the price for this public display of idiocy from some of these legacy media 4wding programmes.
It's a case of Monkey see, monkey do, if these public media blokes can do that..then shite heads out there do by example.
Just today.
There was a person talking on the local ABC radio whom has been studying the "Pippi" population along the beaches up here in the Northern Rivers.
His conclusion is that the Pippi population was thriving 100 years ago, but now the population is struggling and he has "observed" this close to the 4wds entrances onto beaches.
So his conclusion to his observational hypothesis.."ban 4wding on beaches".
There was little mention that 4wd beach driving has become popular over the last 15 -20 years..but no study on the definitive time line of study showing specifically that with the increase of 4wding the Pippi population has decreased.
No proper tested and peer reviewed study.
There are other variables:
A/. have not been contemplated.
B/. Not even considered nor scientifically studied for any great length of time.
Actually has there been long term scientific study done in respect to the following:
1/. The soil chemistry composition changes due to pollution, sand temperatures increasing, water temp increasing which have changed significantly over the last 100 years so the pippipopulation has suffered.
2/. The over fishing of the Pippi population by humans.
3/. Has the Pippi population ebbed and wained over significant time periods and we at present are experiencing a waining Pippi population?.

It took medical scientists studying the effects of smoking over 50 years to come to the definitive scientific conclusion from an general hypothesis that "smoking is bad for your health".

Anyway..I'm off to a Fenldenkris class to chill out for a while.

AnswerID: 647659

Follow Up By: Batt's - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2025 at 14:47

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2025 at 14:47
I could be wrong but I thought they use to use front end loaders to collect pipes years ago. If so that wouldn't have helped.
FollowupID: 928743

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2025 at 12:36

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2025 at 12:36
This whole problem STARTS with the 4WD manufacturers and dealers.
Almost every TV advertisement there is shows a 4WD tearing up the country.
I have a very strong objection to that fundamental attitude.
OKA196 motorhome
AnswerID: 647660

Reply By: Batt's - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2025 at 14:51

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2025 at 14:51
I've always said they should have not made 4wd's any more luxurious than a 40ser cruiser and equivalent land rovers and patrols that would have kept a lot of people out of them and way more less 4wd's off road and on the beaches.
AnswerID: 647665

Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2025 at 14:55

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2025 at 14:55
Many beaches are already closed for the reasons cited in the study so this media reaction is just a beat up on an issue that is already addressed and will continue to be addressed. I suspect some influencers also trying to get some mileage on the latest controversial topic. Nothing new to be seen here except some locations may yet adopt the closures too.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

AnswerID: 647666

Follow Up By: qldcamper - Thursday, Mar 27, 2025 at 08:08

Thursday, Mar 27, 2025 at 08:08
Keeps the focus off of the real destruction using the largest fleets of the largest earthmoving equipment in the world.
Some of those machines have over 16 thousand litre fuel tanks that last only 24 hours of operation loading trucks that carry an average of near 200 tonnes.
But the media go to town on 4WDs that leave little more than footprints in the sand.
Wake up and smell the roses.
FollowupID: 928751

Follow Up By: Batt's - Thursday, Mar 27, 2025 at 16:14

Thursday, Mar 27, 2025 at 16:14
qldcamper as your aware mining is just a small part of the issue but that's the world man has made for themselves it's called progress apparently. But realistically it's all gone in the wrong direction from the day man got his first bright idea.
If we stayed like the animals and lived with the land and the seasons things would have been much better.
FollowupID: 928754

Follow Up By: qldcamper - Thursday, Mar 27, 2025 at 16:59

Thursday, Mar 27, 2025 at 16:59
100% Batts, but unfortunatly no matter what we do now it's too little too late.
Ever since I can remember scientist were ridiculed for trying to warn the world leaders. Don't ever remember one saying don't drive on the beach though until recently.
FollowupID: 928755