We two will always be here Al :-)

FollowupID: 928757

Reply By: Stephen L (Clare) SA - Thursday, Mar 27, 2025 at 07:50

Thursday, Mar 27, 2025 at 07:50
Still here Alan, but sadly the forum is not like the “Good Old Day” and social media has certainly taken over.
Who has been here

AnswerID: 647671

Follow Up By: Member - nick boab - Thursday, Mar 27, 2025 at 10:22

Thursday, Mar 27, 2025 at 10:22
Yeah... bring back Friday funnies ;))))

I'm still.after about 14 stickers.
Cheers Nick

FollowupID: 928752

Follow Up By: Alan McCall - Thursday, Mar 27, 2025 at 21:10

Thursday, Mar 27, 2025 at 21:10
Agree Social Media has drawn lots of attention, special topic groups etc..
D&M use to promote more on the forum, and have competitions etc. everynow and then too - but I can empathise with them.

FollowupID: 928758

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Friday, Mar 28, 2025 at 09:14

Friday, Mar 28, 2025 at 09:14
Agree with you nick boad...bring back the Friday Funnies. Too many wowsers, snowflakes and "I,m offended" tossers ruined a section that gave anyone a laugh. Cannot remember it being compulsory readin...you have self censorship!!! Site will always change and move on. No different to anything else in life. I,m 71 and get a bit sick of people saying.."it,s not like the good old days"!...of course not but then againg our memeories often only remember the good and tend to forget the not so good. Every trip I do now I count as a blessing and treat it as a great moment in my life. The good ol days were good...but so are the presnt days.
FollowupID: 928760

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Friday, Mar 28, 2025 at 11:20

Friday, Mar 28, 2025 at 11:20
Hi Bigfish, Friday Funnies was not closed because of "wowsers etc." It was closed because Google objected to some unacceptable expressions being made.
At the time, David & Michelle said…...

"It's a bit complicated, but our site earns revenue from Google adwords right? Well they have "policies" and they have no humans so when the "algorithms" detects a policy violation you have to fix it or you get no money. Friday funnies keeps triggering their "censorship" and its just impossible to manage."

p.s. I'm one of the newer members….. I only joined in 2009.

FollowupID: 928761

Follow Up By: Member - nick boab - Friday, Mar 28, 2025 at 14:44

Friday, Mar 28, 2025 at 14:44
Hi Alan re ..Google objects to some unacceptable expressions being made ...
Well that's pretty much a
wowzer snowflake . Haha ;)))

that's pretty lame of goooogle in the scheme of things ,
but I do remember David and Michelle explaining why at the time..
Cheers Nick

FollowupID: 928763

Follow Up By: Gramps - Friday, Mar 28, 2025 at 14:49

Friday, Mar 28, 2025 at 14:49
I just noticed Motherhen was in the Thanks ticker. Glad you're still around keeping an eye on things.

FollowupID: 928764

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Friday, Mar 28, 2025 at 17:08

Friday, Mar 28, 2025 at 17:08
Motherhen is not just ticking the Thanks box. She is in full flight in another Thread here.

FollowupID: 928765

Follow Up By: Member - nick boab - Friday, Mar 28, 2025 at 17:56

Friday, Mar 28, 2025 at 17:56
Cheers Nick

FollowupID: 928770

Follow Up By: Gramps - Friday, Mar 28, 2025 at 20:41

Friday, Mar 28, 2025 at 20:41
Hahaha thanks Al. That's not a thread that would get my attention.

FollowupID: 928774

Follow Up By: b1b - Sunday, Mar 30, 2025 at 12:37

Sunday, Mar 30, 2025 at 12:37
another that's MIA - the Sunday history because of the snowflake rules and regulations of borrowing other articles.
FollowupID: 928804

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Sunday, Mar 30, 2025 at 13:08

Sunday, Mar 30, 2025 at 13:08
Well the "other articles" were copyright and that's legally naughty rather than just "snowflake".

Although I do wonder what happened to "Where is This?" threads.

FollowupID: 928806

Follow Up By: b1b - Sunday, Mar 30, 2025 at 15:41

Sunday, Mar 30, 2025 at 15:41
Gday Allan - Yes, you're right but can't we still try and accept that the intention was to be educational and interesting and nothing else ?
regards - b
FollowupID: 928807

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Sunday, Mar 30, 2025 at 15:55

Sunday, Mar 30, 2025 at 15:55
That would be nice but the law deals with actions, rather than "intentions".
The proprietors of this site can bear some responsibility for what is posted here.
It is what it is.

FollowupID: 928808

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Sunday, Mar 30, 2025 at 17:33

Sunday, Mar 30, 2025 at 17:33
b1b posted:

"another that's MIA - the Sunday history because of the snowflake rules and regulations of borrowing other articles."

"Gday Allan - Yes, you're right but can't we still try and accept that the intention was to be educational and interesting and nothing else ?
regards - b"

All the person in question had to do was reference sources as opposed to copying and pasting and giving everyone the impression the photos/words were their own creation when they were effectively "stolen". It's illegal in the real word ..and here.

FollowupID: 928809

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Sunday, Mar 30, 2025 at 18:53

Sunday, Mar 30, 2025 at 18:53
I just re-read what I posted above and realised that it could be wrongly interpreted.

I said….. "The proprietors of this site can bear some responsibility for what is posted here."

I did not mean that they supported any particular posting. I meant that they could be accused of permitting a breach of copyright when in fact they were entirely guilt-free.

FollowupID: 928812

Reply By: Member - Jim S1 - Thursday, Mar 27, 2025 at 09:53

Thursday, Mar 27, 2025 at 09:53
Only been here for 8 years , but feel the difference. Many more members than there used to be. Still plenty of useful info and plenty to just ignore.
Jim
"If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need", Cicero

AnswerID: 647673

Follow Up By: Alan McCall - Thursday, Mar 27, 2025 at 21:15

Thursday, Mar 27, 2025 at 21:15
I think my first post was back in 2004 - more people interacted back then without all the knockers so much.

Still technology moves quickly - I used to read aus.rec.travel in user groups prior to EO.

FollowupID: 928759

Reply By: Phil B (WA) - Thursday, Mar 27, 2025 at 11:20

Thursday, Mar 27, 2025 at 11:20
Hi Alan,
Like you, I've been a member forever.
Safe travels.
There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 647674

Reply By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Thursday, Mar 27, 2025 at 16:27

Thursday, Mar 27, 2025 at 16:27
There's 1/2 dozen members over here whose join date ranges from 2004 to2008 and we all meet and have a coffee. No need to look at forum as most things discussed are on the forum and would probably be moderated for our opinions at times. Yes things have changed, the good old days are just that and today they don't cut the mustard.

Murray
Another Mexican

AnswerID: 647676

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Thursday, Mar 27, 2025 at 21:42

Thursday, Mar 27, 2025 at 21:42
Sunday(30th) marks my 25th year of membership of EO.

As others have said, there’s been many changes, many good, some not so good. Many members were great raconteurs, leading to some lively exchanges.

AnswerID: 647677

Reply By: Member - Ups and Downs - Friday, Mar 28, 2025 at 09:10

Friday, Mar 28, 2025 at 09:10
A member, on and off, since 20th March 2006.

Used to be some very interesting characters giving great advice on all matters.

There are still some very helpful people here. My thanks to them.

I originally was Banjo (WA) but that name got up someones nose so changed to Ups and Downs
AnswerID: 647679

Reply By: Life Member - Duncan W (WA) - Friday, Mar 28, 2025 at 12:56

Friday, Mar 28, 2025 at 12:56
Think I joined in 2004, when I bought my first 4wd and was looking at doing the lap. Very few still here from back then or no longer post or comment. Miss the old banter and the closest you get to that these days is the grammar correctors.

AnswerID: 647680

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Friday, Mar 28, 2025 at 13:24

Friday, Mar 28, 2025 at 13:24
Garn Duncan, get with the times. Grammar correction is old hat. It's battery & electrical these days.:)

FollowupID: 928762

Follow Up By: Member - Ups and Downs - Friday, Mar 28, 2025 at 17:22

Friday, Mar 28, 2025 at 17:22
Allan,

Electrical has always created tension.

There were a number of contributors in the past that understood those things that were driven out.

A pity as they gave good advice, as you do, to the poor electrical illiterates such as me.

Thank you.
FollowupID: 928766

Follow Up By: Member - Ups and Downs - Friday, Mar 28, 2025 at 17:24

Friday, Mar 28, 2025 at 17:24
I’m guessing that people who complain about the grammar checkers are the types who reckon school kids shouldn’t have to do exams.

If I’m wrong, I appreciate being educated.

FollowupID: 928768

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Friday, Mar 28, 2025 at 17:27

Friday, Mar 28, 2025 at 17:27
Ups and Downs,
"Electrical has always created tension."…. LOL…. both low and high.

FollowupID: 928769

Follow Up By: Member - McLaren3030 - Saturday, Mar 29, 2025 at 08:41

Saturday, Mar 29, 2025 at 08:41
Ha ha, I see what you did there.

Macca.
Macca.

FollowupID: 928778

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Saturday, Mar 29, 2025 at 14:54

Saturday, Mar 29, 2025 at 14:54
I have resisted getting into discussions regarding electricity. Don't have the capacity for it and find it rather draining.

FollowupID: 928788

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Saturday, Mar 29, 2025 at 16:26

Saturday, Mar 29, 2025 at 16:26
Greg, Watt are you are trying to say? Do you have some impedance for its potential?

FollowupID: 928791

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Saturday, Mar 29, 2025 at 16:34

Saturday, Mar 29, 2025 at 16:34
Thanks for your concern

My doctor said I have an unidentified parasitic discharge so I am a little embarrassed to talk about it. He said there was a danger I will become disconnected but still need to take charge.

FollowupID: 928792

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Saturday, Mar 29, 2025 at 17:19

Saturday, Mar 29, 2025 at 17:19
Greg, I'm shocked at your divulgence and becoming exhausted with this current thread so with reluctance I'm switching off.

FollowupID: 928794

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Saturday, Mar 29, 2025 at 17:37

Saturday, Mar 29, 2025 at 17:37
No worries - Agree, don't want to sound negative but the current conversation was alternating too much for my liking and the jokes were getting a bit revolting, Plus, think I just had a brownout, time to move on. Bye

FollowupID: 928795

Follow Up By: John Baas - Monday, Mar 31, 2025 at 03:08

Monday, Mar 31, 2025 at 03:08
Listen up Dunc, I think you need a comma after 'then' and another after 'post'... Just saying... :-). Cheers.
FollowupID: 928814

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Mar 28, 2025 at 20:00

Friday, Mar 28, 2025 at 20:00
I pop in every now and then.

I enjoy your videos on Youtube, Alan.

AnswerID: 647682

Reply By: Joe Fury - Friday, Mar 28, 2025 at 20:03

Friday, Mar 28, 2025 at 20:03
G'day Alan and good day Explorers

Interesting thing, to think back over the past decades, regarding ExplorOz and then trying to remember certain aspects/subjects or posts on which I felt compelled to reply too, one in particular that still burns very deeply within me, is 'History and historic fact' or more to the point 'Accuracy' .

With so many of today's adventurer most of who like to document their skills at boiling water and cooking a sausage, along with their wanderings, then quickly upload said wandering to their social media/YouTube channel mostly without having done any research regarding their content which we voluntarily view, but should you dare to reply and point out any inaccuracies you run the risk of being bashed (verbally) by their loyal followers.

Many of the original ExplorOz adventurers have moved on, or simply don't bother responding to what is on offer these days ~ can't blame them really.

Much respect to the 'Old School Adventurers'

Safe travels: Joe Fury
AnswerID: 647683

Follow Up By: axle - Saturday, Mar 29, 2025 at 16:52

Saturday, Mar 29, 2025 at 16:52
Willem , always comes to mind when' Old school Adventures'are mentioned, what a character he was!

Axle.
FollowupID: 928793

Follow Up By: Joe Fury - Saturday, Mar 29, 2025 at 23:51

Saturday, Mar 29, 2025 at 23:51
G'day Axle
Yes indeed, Willem, Judith Kempen, genuinely nice people who travelled widely yet still found time to simply just sit back and have a yarn, I spent an hour or so with them ~ and their snarly black dog!

Mick Olsen is another decent bloke who spent a huge amount of time wandering the Western Deserts, he even spent considerable time documenting his desert adventures in Mick O video form.

This is going to come across as 'Big Noting' ~ but honestly I am not a big noter at all, because it is absolute fact, I spent time with the late Mike Leyland and his wife, way back in the early 1990's when they were travelling and filming their adventures through the East Pilbara, I've also spent time with Toni Collette during the filming of the movie 'The Japanese Story' in which various locations such as Kalgan Pool ~ Mount Robinson ~ Newman Airport and even the Mount Whaleback Mine was used as 'film sets'.

I am rather Chuffed to remember the nice moments along with the nice people too, also rather chuffed that at 75 years ~ I can still clearly remember yesterday, not sure if tomorrow will be important enough to remember though.

Safe travels : Joe Fury
FollowupID: 928800

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Mar 28, 2025 at 22:04

Friday, Mar 28, 2025 at 22:04
Do any members know if Dave Beharrie is still with us?

AnswerID: 647685

Follow Up By: Stephen L (Clare) SA - Saturday, Mar 29, 2025 at 00:04

Saturday, Mar 29, 2025 at 00:04
When he last dropped in to see me, they had sold up in Broken Hill and were going to live in a Retirement Village in the Northern suburbs of Adelaide.

He sold his Toyota and camper but that’s all I know unfortunately.
Who has been here

FollowupID: 928776

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Mar 29, 2025 at 00:22

Saturday, Mar 29, 2025 at 00:22
Thanks, yes, I knew they went to Adelaide but that was some time ago.

Nice couple. I hope all is well with them.

FollowupID: 928777

Follow Up By: MUZBRY- Life member(Vic) - Sunday, Mar 30, 2025 at 08:37

Sunday, Mar 30, 2025 at 08:37
I stayed with Dave and Nora on the way to the Trilby gathering, but not had contact since

FollowupID: 928802

Reply By: Member - Jack - Saturday, Mar 29, 2025 at 10:41

Saturday, Mar 29, 2025 at 10:41
I enjoyed following your posts and adventures.
I joined in July 2003.
I miss Truckster.
Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 647691

Reply By: The Explorer - Saturday, Mar 29, 2025 at 11:10

Saturday, Mar 29, 2025 at 11:10
Greetings Alan et al.

Not sure when I joined, but according to the archives my first post (relating to OziExplorer heaven forbid) was on the 17th March 2005. Fairly certain I was a member a few years before that...

AnswerID: 647692

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Saturday, Mar 29, 2025 at 12:31

Saturday, Mar 29, 2025 at 12:31
Hi Greg,
You joined on the 23rd Sept 2004.
Incidentally, the first thread in the Archives was Thread No 2 on the 29th Sept 2000.

FollowupID: 928783

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Saturday, Mar 29, 2025 at 14:49

Saturday, Mar 29, 2025 at 14:49
Thanks - was trying to find joining date but it alluded me - seen it before somewhere.

FollowupID: 928787

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Saturday, Mar 29, 2025 at 15:41

Saturday, Mar 29, 2025 at 15:41
Greg, if you go to "My Profile" at the bottom of your post then to "About Me" you will see your joining date.

FollowupID: 928789

Reply By: Life Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Sunday, Mar 30, 2025 at 21:27

Sunday, Mar 30, 2025 at 21:27
I'm still here, finally got back in today, technical issue.

Unfortunately for us our 4wd days are well and truly over, we've got one more caravan trip to do, I'm pushing the bar but I think this will be our last then the heart breaking job of selling the 4wd and the van. Hubby deteriorating in health.

We're taking the van up to Coral Bay for a couple of weeks, hopefully I'll still be fine with the towing, I just can't seem to get the reversing thing right but we have another family with us that can do that for me...lol

Glad I can get back in here so I can read all your travels.

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 647712

Reply By: Phil G - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2025 at 18:23

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2025 at 18:23
I've just logged in for the first time in maybe a couple of years but in the words of Monty Python "I'm not dead yet".
I think I first posted on the forum in 2002 and was a member for about 10 years from 2004. I remember well those early gatherings such as Warraweena which Willem organised in June 2007.
Still travelling remote but doing very few swag trips like I used to with the HDJ79. These days got a Troopy and still got a 2003 Tvan and a 2015 Offroad caravan.
Retired in 2016 and Health and family restricted our remote travelling on and off but this year should be a good one with 5 weeks in WA/SA deserts in May/June and a few weeks in GVD/Gammons in Aug/Sept.
AnswerID: 647754

Reply By: dazza0503 - Thursday, Apr 17, 2025 at 16:34

Thursday, Apr 17, 2025 at 16:34
I just logged on for the first time in maybe 6 years,a lot has changed. Not be for the worse just a different vibe about it.
AnswerID: 647795

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Thursday, Apr 17, 2025 at 16:55

Thursday, Apr 17, 2025 at 16:55
I think you are right Dazza…. a lot has changed in recent times.
I feel that we are losing the mateship factor and losing sitting around the campfire yarning
There seems to be a lot of new member names, possibly as a result of the attraction to the Traveller app.
As Dennis Denuto said….. "It's the vibe."…… and alas, we seem to be losing it.

FollowupID: 928894

Reply By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Monday, Apr 28, 2025 at 16:52

Monday, Apr 28, 2025 at 16:52
still here since ( 2/6/2002).
dont travel much these days- to busy at farm
only logged on today because EO membership ship renewal was in the budget
Often wonder what some of the old timers are up too and remember the good times on the road.
Purchased a LC300 last week so may start a new build up .
Howard
Resigned to Retirement

AnswerID: 647847

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Monday, Apr 28, 2025 at 18:43

Monday, Apr 28, 2025 at 18:43
2002 awesome!! Thankyou Howard
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

FollowupID: 928949

Reply By: Member - Jim - Wednesday, Apr 30, 2025 at 13:12

Wednesday, Apr 30, 2025 at 13:12
I'm still here and have been since 20/5/2001.

Still get to travel although seems to be every second year for about 4 months.

Times change, the people change, a new and different perspective and it reflects on the Forum.

Jim

AnswerID: 647855

Reply By: Captain (WA) - Thursday, May 29, 2025 at 19:41

Thursday, May 29, 2025 at 19:41
I only occasionally visit this forum these days, life keeps rolling on and always seem like there is less hours in the day. But good to see some familair names :)
AnswerID: 648025