Isuzu SWB NLR series as tow vehicle - how has it been

Submitted: Tuesday, May 20, 2025 at 16:01
ThreadID: 150435 Views:2179 Replies:10 FollowUps:16
We are joining the caravan world and I am researching several areas - one being tow vehicle - shocked yes I can tell.

We are down to two vehicles at opposite ends of the spectrum - Landcruiser 300 and Isuzu NLR45-150 SWB

We will have at 500Kgs on the tray of the Isuzu, we are taking my bike with us.

What has your experience been with an Isuzu light truck?

Reply By: RMD - Tuesday, May 20, 2025 at 17:18

Tuesday, May 20, 2025 at 17:18
mbkitmgr
If using the caravan on an Isuzu truck I would make sure the HITCH has a SHOCK ABSORBING FEATURE which reduces or nullifies the sudden rear road shocks which the hitch on the van would be experiencing ALL THE TIME. Being a short wheel base truck that could be very important for life of van A frame.
AnswerID: 647952

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Tuesday, May 20, 2025 at 18:40

Tuesday, May 20, 2025 at 18:40
Forget the caravan :)
Put super singles, parabolic springs and a slide-on on the 4WD Isuzu and go places the caravan would never go.
OKA196 motorhome
AnswerID: 647955

Follow Up By: mbkitmgr - Wednesday, May 21, 2025 at 12:08

Wednesday, May 21, 2025 at 12:08
That's what we originally intended - a Jayco RV body on a heaver Isuzu, required truck license which the chief cook didnt want to obtain - and I dont want to be the one doing the driving all of the time.
FollowupID: 929089

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Wednesday, May 21, 2025 at 14:23

Wednesday, May 21, 2025 at 14:23
With extra care and effort it is possible @ 4.5T.
OKA196 motorhome
FollowupID: 929093

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Thursday, May 22, 2025 at 08:18

Thursday, May 22, 2025 at 08:18
I agree with Peter.
I would revisit the idea with the cook, it is much easier to be driving a truck than towing a caravan in practical terms if she can get her head around the idea
FollowupID: 929111

Follow Up By: mbkitmgr - Thursday, May 22, 2025 at 09:52

Thursday, May 22, 2025 at 09:52
Do any of you know of any aftermarket installers/certifiers that can offer an upgraded passenger seat and Eng Cert in NSW. I've been given some details of someone in QLD, but it would be handy to find someone closer.

I didn't realise the passenger seat was so basic, and I'd like to have it replaced before initial rego so that it is modded the right way with paperwork etc.
FollowupID: 929112

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Thursday, May 22, 2025 at 10:20

Thursday, May 22, 2025 at 10:20
In SA, the RTA provides a list of approved certified engineers.
Is the seat belt attached to the vehicle or the seat?
If you choose a seat with approval somewhere else then it is a minor job unless it needs floor mounting mods. in which case it is a tad more complicated.
Talk to the dealer.
OKA196 motorhome
FollowupID: 929113

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Thursday, May 22, 2025 at 10:35

Thursday, May 22, 2025 at 10:35
The two common seat upgrades are Recaro or Sheelman seats for those trucks. Another good option is to keep your existing seat and have it reshaped with better support and trimmed
Proseat is one company that does it but most motor trimmers will do it and there isno modification certificate required
FollowupID: 929114

Reply By: axle - Wednesday, May 21, 2025 at 10:53

Wednesday, May 21, 2025 at 10:53
G/Day Mbkitmgr

I have had a lot to do with tippers in the light Isuzu range and have found clutches, front springs and terrible notchy gear shifts to be a very annoying problem with them.
For your intended use with that model it maybe ok ,we all have a different view, especially with. vehicles.

AnswerID: 647957

Follow Up By: mbkitmgr - Wednesday, May 21, 2025 at 12:05

Wednesday, May 21, 2025 at 12:05
Thanks for the info
FollowupID: 929088

Reply By: mbkitmgr - Thursday, May 22, 2025 at 10:39

Thursday, May 22, 2025 at 10:39
I've emailed Gilbert and Roach in our area with my list of Questions and your combined suggestions.

What day can you all attend for a Team Purchase, squeeze the salespeople, and Beer and food afterwards :)
AnswerID: 647967

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Thursday, May 22, 2025 at 17:33

Thursday, May 22, 2025 at 17:33
It would be worth asking Brisbane Isuzu as well as they sell a lot of modified trucks so know all the ins and outs with these vehicles
FollowupID: 929122

Reply By: Member - McLaren3030 - Friday, May 23, 2025 at 07:37

Friday, May 23, 2025 at 07:37
Hi mbkitmgr,

I just noticed on the paid ads that appear at the bottom of the page, that there is a company called The Seat Shop. You might want to search this forums ads and see if you can get a contact number.

Macca.
Macca.

AnswerID: 647972

Reply By: Member - Happy Explorer - Thursday, May 29, 2025 at 07:16

Thursday, May 29, 2025 at 07:16
Hi mbkitmgr
I too have considered this option in the past as an alternative to my Prado. You would certainly gain with load/towing capacity with the truck but if you are still stuck with a typical twincab/SUV motor then are you really going to be much better off.
I feel you need to be looking at an actual small truck motor but then you are probably looking at a vehicle needing a truck license too.
I have a heavy vehicle license and I do all the driving so not a real problem for me but costs can quickly add up and get out of hand with all this especially if you start looking at 4WD options.
Just my thoughts.
Roy
AnswerID: 648022

Follow Up By: mbkitmgr - Thursday, May 29, 2025 at 09:49

Thursday, May 29, 2025 at 09:49
You make some good points there Roy.

The aim of the SWB tray is to be able to load the bike on the back (it ways just under 500KG's) and the van we will tow is just over 2800kg.

Also, so many seem to buy a van, after a few years want to upgrade to Buckingham palace on wheels, and have to upgrade the tow vehicle. I hope that If I could make the Suzi comfortable, we can have the best of both worlds by only having to upgrade the van (by we I mean "she" :) )

The 4x4 option is a maybe, really only for those times where we need to get off wet ground and want the extra traction.

As a side note I emailed our Isuzu Dealership last week with a few questions - must all be asleep as no one has responded so.

What led to the decision to not go with a light truck?
FollowupID: 929184

Reply By: tonysmc - Friday, May 30, 2025 at 13:18

Friday, May 30, 2025 at 13:18
Hi mbkitmgr,
Sorry I am not answering your specific question and I realise you must have done a bit of research to come to your final decision of the 2 vehicles; however I am a little curious why the Isuzu NLR45-150 when you don’t seem to be carrying or towing much? I do like the idea suggested of a slide-on, as I have been using one for over 40 years now but I also see the benefit of a caravan.
You have said your van is “just over 2800kg” and you want to carry a load of “just under 500kg”, You have also said your partner doesn’t want to get a heavy licence and are already talking about replacement seats.
I just had a quick look at the specs of the Isuzu D-max (only because you looked at Isuzu) Single cab and Space cab Utes have a payload 1310 & 1235, well above the 500kg you want to carry and a 3500kg tow capacity. GCM is 6000kg. They can be auto or manual, your partner can drive it on current licence and would surely be a lot more comfortable than the NLR45. Also plenty of aftermarket accessories for the D-max. Not sure what I am missing here, but given the weights you want to carry/tow, I’d get a single cab/extra-cab ute, put an aluminium tray with short gullwing canopy and room for the bike.
AnswerID: 648028

Follow Up By: mbkitmgr - Friday, May 30, 2025 at 13:42

Friday, May 30, 2025 at 13:42
Hi Tonysmc, thanks for the information. You make some good points about comfort and ability , but the bike wouldn't fit in the area of a D Max/Ranger/Hilux tray.

When we first started looking at setups we decided on either a Jayco Motorhome on an Iveco Chassis or an Isuzu MUX with a van. It wasn't until my wife asked "where do we put the Spyder?" that got I pretty excited and began looking at alternatives and I wasn't about to disagree with her wanting to bring the bike.

I looked at our options - Towing a Van vs Motorhome vs a Slide-on on a light truck chassis and everything we tested, or discussed we found an issue in what we wanted. Motorhome required a truck license and could tow a trailer big enough to bring the bike, but the missus didn't want to get a truck license.

If we can find a setup in the Isuzu Light Truck that allows
- us to be comfortable
- us to transport the bike
- us tow a van we want now and any upgrade later on
- carry some additional gear that might be desirable in the future
then the light truck on paper ticks the boxes.

I should add - we have test drives arranged for a Nissan Patrol and a Landcruiser 300 Series as plan B. :(

You have given me food for thought though... heading for google now

FollowupID: 929185

Follow Up By: tonysmc - Friday, May 30, 2025 at 15:57

Friday, May 30, 2025 at 15:57
Thanks for the reply, that makes more sense now. I was thinking a trail bike sideways across the tray, but a Spyder is completely different. (Maybe swap the van for a "toy hauler") Well, half the fun is setting up, so good luck.
FollowupID: 929186

Follow Up By: mbkitmgr - Friday, May 30, 2025 at 16:04

Friday, May 30, 2025 at 16:04
I have to tell you, I emailed Isuzu and gave them some details and if the D-MAX with single cab, 4x4, 3.0L is available with the Tour Mate kit and there thoughts on the spyder on a tray.

Your idea may just solve all our objectives. Thanks again for your comments
FollowupID: 929187

Follow Up By: tonysmc - Saturday, May 31, 2025 at 10:23

Saturday, May 31, 2025 at 10:23
I was thinking of a single cab ute or a 79 series with a chassis extension and aluminium tray to fit the Spyder. You do lose some carrying capacity with an extension, but cost involved you are probably best to go with your original thought of the NLR45-150.
Remember your rear overhang of any load can only be 60% of the wheel base of the vehicle. I just measured my old Landcruiser, Tray is 2250mm, Slide on camper is 2680. Given my wheelbase, I am allowed 1788mm overhang from centre of the rear wheels. My camper overhang is 1720. Also, even with a single cab, weight distribution should be considered but your "under 500kg" and the bike design shouldn't be an issue.
You may find this video interesting. Would definitely need a spring upgrade.https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9jJPK_FAsRs
FollowupID: 929191

Reply By: Member - McLaren3030 - Saturday, May 31, 2025 at 08:49

Saturday, May 31, 2025 at 08:49
Hi mbkitmgr,

Did you know that you can get these “Light Trucks” with the suspension derated so that you can drive it on a car licence? They derate them to 4.9 Tonne GVM, and a GCM of 7.9 Tonne.

Macca.

Macca.
Macca.

AnswerID: 648034

Reply By: mbkitmgr - Saturday, Jun 07, 2025 at 10:27

Saturday, Jun 07, 2025 at 10:27
FYI for anyone researching light trucks:

As part of my recent research, I’ve been comparing a number of light truck brands. This week I narrowed it down to Isuzu and Hino. My goal was to test drive the specific models I’m considering — or at least something close in spec (e.g., I’m after a tray, but was happy to test a cab chassis or similar trade-focused variant).

I also needed my wife to do the test drive to make sure she felt comfortable driving a light truck — visibility, size, ease of driving, and so on.

The difference in experience couldn’t have been more stark:
Hino:
I called their head office, explained my “mission,” and within minutes I had a callback with dealership locations nearby that had the right model available. The person had already spoken to the sales managers and gave them a heads-up. She even offered to help further if I needed anything else. Within 30 minutes everything was lined up. Very professional and helpful.

Isuzu:
Called the main line — wasn’t even sure I had the right number at first - no "Isuzu", just "Yes". After explaining my request, I was told I’d have to call all the dealerships myself. I suggested they might know which ones had demo stock — eventually they reluctantly checked and gave me the name of a dealership (no location, no contact details, and no confirmation the vehicle was actually there). I rang the dealership myself — nope, no demo units until August 2025. One hour later and I was still no closer.

So.... me starting think I am too much of an inconvenience to one brand. What am I doing wrong??
AnswerID: 648100

Follow Up By: Member - Ups and Downs - Sunday, Jun 08, 2025 at 08:53

Sunday, Jun 08, 2025 at 08:53
I bought a Hilux.
Among other reasons I had a similar experience with Toyota v Isuzu dealerships.
FollowupID: 929247

Reply By: mbkitmgr - Friday, Jun 13, 2025 at 17:50

Friday, Jun 13, 2025 at 17:50
Back-to-Back Test Drive: Isuzu NLR 45-150 Tray vs Hino 300 Series 616 SWB

Today was all about testing two contenders in the light truck space—the Isuzu NLR 45-150 Tray and the Hino 300 Series 616 SWB. The main goal was to see whether the Chief Cook (my better half) would be comfortable both riding in and possibly driving a light truck, as we're considering one for future travel and general utility.

Isuzu NLR 45-150 Tray (AMT)
We had a good intro from the salesman, who walked us through the basics and gave a few tips on driving with the AMT. Our test route had a great mix: 100 km/h highway, rough undulating country roads, and some motorway.

The ride was rough (as expected in a light truck), but surprisingly better than the rental trucks I’ve hired over the years. The suspension seat worked well for both of us, though it occasionally felt like it was just holding on.

The AMT took some getting used to. It’s not a traditional automatic—more like driving a manual without the clutch. You really have to plan your throttle inputs if you want to overtake or pull into traffic—it won’t just “go” when you plant it. Otherwise, very easy to drive and visibility was excellent.

Hino 300 Series 616 SWB (Manual, Cab Chassis)
There was a mix-up at the dealer and we ended up testing a manual cab chassis rather than the tray with auto we were expecting. I had to keep reminding the Chief Cook to focus on the cab ride and ignore the bounce from the unloaded rear.

That said, we both preferred the Hino. It felt more refined to drive and was noticeably quieter in the cabin. Despite lacking a suspension seat, it didn’t seem to need one—the ride in the cab was smoother and less harsh than something like a Hilux. Overall, a very confidence-inspiring drive.

Final Thoughts & Next Steps
After the Hino test, I spoke to the dealer again and explained what we were after: an automatic version with a load in the tray to simulate real-world use (around 500 kg). He’s already arranged another test vehicle and offered to throw some drums in the back to mimic the weight. Great service.

Both trucks offer excellent visibility and practical setups. The Isuzu has the edge in seating options and flexibility, but the Hino feels more refined, quieter, and simply nicer to drive—especially from a passenger’s point of view.

Looking forward to the next test drive and getting a better feel for how the Hino performs under load.

Let me know if anyone wants me to report back after the weighted test!
AnswerID: 648129

Follow Up By: tonysmc - Friday, Jun 13, 2025 at 19:13

Friday, Jun 13, 2025 at 19:13
mbkitmgr, Thanks for the update and I for one would like to hear the report back as well as the final outcome. All too often questions are asked in a forum however we never find out what the final outcome was, or what the issue was and how it was resolved. Thank you.
FollowupID: 929283

Follow Up By: Member - McLaren3030 - Saturday, Jun 14, 2025 at 07:59

Saturday, Jun 14, 2025 at 07:59
Hi mbkitmgr,

Same here as far as a second report on the Hino. I have also been looking at the Isuzu in a 4WD, with single rear wheels.

I have driven a manual Mitsubishi Canter Cab Chassis 4.5 Tonne in the past. It always had a load on it, and although as you would expect, it does not set any 0 to 100 kph records, once under way, it easily cruises along at 100 kph even when loaded up to its maximum.

Macca.
Macca.

FollowupID: 929287