Submitted: Wednesday, May 21, 2025 at 22:16
Member - Andrew M63
G'day
I have a 200 series cruiser that has a GVM/GCM upgrade. It is a lovells GVM upgrade which in NSW allows us to have the cruiser @4200Kg's and still be able to tow 3500kg's. So the 900ish Kg's GVM upgrade also gets added to the GCM given us a GCM of 7700Kg's.
We are currently looking at buying a caravan that has a ATM 4500Kg's. The Tare of the van is around 2800Kg's. Is it legal for us tow this van as long as we don't exceed the our 3500Kg's? I would also assume that we would need to run the DO45 even if thought we do to with a limit of 3500Kg's towing capacity.
The van gives us 700kg's payload @ our 3500Kg's towing capacity so for us it is more than enough payload and to have the option later down the track of perhaps getting something that can tow 3500Kg's+ and having that extra payload available on tap is appealing to us.
If anyone could point me to any information from RMS that would cover off the above I would be grateful. I would also be interested in your thoughts/advice/experience you may have.
Thanks in advance.
Reply By: lkyphl - Wednesday, May 21, 2025 at 23:05
Wednesday, May 21, 2025 at 23:05
Andrew,
Who or what is RMS ?
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew M63 - Thursday, May 22, 2025 at 12:22
Thursday, May 22, 2025 at 12:22
Road Maritime
Services which is NSW's equivalent of Vicroad's or TMR.
Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Wednesday, May 21, 2025 at 23:33
Wednesday, May 21, 2025 at 23:33
"Is it legal for us tow this van as long as we don't exceed the our 3500Kg's?"
Yes.
Provided all the other limits are also met.
OKA196 motorhome
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew M63 - Thursday, May 22, 2025 at 12:22
Thursday, May 22, 2025 at 12:22
Cheers Peter
Reply By: Wayne B26 - Thursday, May 22, 2025 at 00:03
Thursday, May 22, 2025 at 00:03
Yes you can tow a van with a rated higher ATM provided that it isn't at full weight and you don't exceed your towing vehicles rating. It's actual weights that count. Many caravan owners have to commute with empty
water tanks to stay under weight.
Often lower capacity prime movers move empty high capacity trailers in this way.
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew M63 - Thursday, May 22, 2025 at 12:23
Thursday, May 22, 2025 at 12:23
Thanks Wayne.
Reply By: Member - LeighW - Thursday, May 22, 2025 at 09:02
Thursday, May 22, 2025 at 09:02
As others have pointed out its the actual weight that matters.
You should also consider tow ball weight and max axle loadings these get forgotten at times and what appears to be legal from a vehicle and van weight might exceed the max axle load.
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew M63 - Thursday, May 22, 2025 at 12:43
Thursday, May 22, 2025 at 12:43
Thanks. I do understand the limitations of the rear axle in regards to weights when using the extra GVM of an upgrade. Like you say a lot of people think that it is the extra weight the vehicle can carry and don't realize that there are still considerations/limits to axle weights.
Reply By: kgarn - Thursday, May 22, 2025 at 10:13
Thursday, May 22, 2025 at 10:13
Here is a link to the NSW towing weight regulation which basically indicates it is an offence to EXCEED the ratings of the towing vehicle or towed vehicle.
NSW Towing Weight regulation
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew M63 - Thursday, May 22, 2025 at 12:44
Thursday, May 22, 2025 at 12:44
Thanks for the link. Much appreciated.
Reply By: Dean K3 - Friday, May 23, 2025 at 23:22
Friday, May 23, 2025 at 23:22
Suggest you discuss this aspect with your insurance provider
I quizzed DoT heavy tpt inspectors at
Dowerin field days last year similar situation he ws ok with it
My insurance provider stated can only go by figuresxon the vehicle irrespective of load carried even then have to prove trailer didn't contribute towards accident this was club 4x4 !
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew M63 - Friday, May 23, 2025 at 23:27
Friday, May 23, 2025 at 23:27
Hey Dean I didnt think of any issue with insurance...i guess they would have to prove that you were towing at greater than 3500kg's. I will be talking to insurance companies next week if we do end up buying the van...I am sure there wont be a problem....but something to make sure is covered off if and when we do insure it.
Follow Up By: Kenell - Saturday, May 24, 2025 at 17:04
Saturday, May 24, 2025 at 17:04
Dean K3,
I have just read the Club 4x4 PDS (policy). You are right it does throw the onus of proof onto the insured.
ie the exclusion reads "you were carrying more passengers or carrying or towing a load
greater than your car was designed for, unless you can prove that this
did not cause the accident. This includes bent or twisted chassis as
a result of overloading your vehicle or towing a load greater than your
car was designed for; "
In my very humble opinion that wording is unlikely to stand up under challenge. The onus of proof when denying a claim rests with the insurer. If you hit a tree could the insurer tell you that you have to prove you weren't drunk? Its very diffficult to prove a negative position. I think AFCA (the ombudsman) would take a dim view.
Good of you to raise it though - very pertinent to the thread.
Kenell
Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Saturday, May 24, 2025 at 17:23
Saturday, May 24, 2025 at 17:23
An insurance company can not (IMO) put the onus of proof onto you for overloading (and you can be overloaded whatever the ATM is) any more than they could exclude a claim because your vehicle is CAPABLE of breaking the speed limit.
OKA196 motorhome
Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Saturday, May 24, 2025 at 13:36
Saturday, May 24, 2025 at 13:36
Quote. "So the 900ish Kg's GVM upgrade also gets added to the GCM given us a GCM of 7700Kg's."
Is this your assumption, or was it a figure supplied by the engineers certifying the new increased weights for your vehicle? From what I have seen in these forums, if there is no actual figure specified by the authorising engineers, the GCM of the vehicle then the GCM remains that of the vehicle in its original state.
In other words, do you have a new GCM authorised as part of the modification deal. If it was not specified in the documentation you have received, there is no upgrade to the figure.
You will not be the first to find out after you have taken delivery of the new deal that you can not tow a caravan that is big as the ones as your vehicle originally could. Make sure the upgraded GCM figure is actually on your vehicles registered figures before you spend any more cash.
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew M63 - Saturday, May 24, 2025 at 13:57
Saturday, May 24, 2025 at 13:57
G'day Peter, thanks for your words of caution.
Yes, the vehicle has an approved GVM/GCM upgrade that is recognized and legal in NSW as this was done post rego. It is a lovells stage 2 (I think that is what it is called) and it increases the cruiser from oem 3350kg to 4200kg not withstanding the axle weight limits that the upgrade gives you. The increase of 850Kg also gets added to the Gross Combination Mass and is raised from oem 6850kg to 7700kg. I have a signed engineers report stating such and RMS have updated the cruiser's GVM to 4200kg. It is legal and documented as
well as being undertake by an authorized Lovells GVM upgrade installer and signed off by an independent and certificated Automotive Engineer. The installer is one of the bigger 4wd accessories manufacturer/installers so they know their stuff and have done many like this before.
I have double checked and tripled checked to make sure this is all legal and as I say I took the paperwork to RMS and they have updated the GVM of the cruiser to 4200kg. As far as I am aware I shouldn't have a problem with this van provided that I don't exceed the towing ATM (BTC) of the cruiser which is still the oem 3500kg's.
At 3500kgs GVM we will still have plenty of payload. I just wanted to know I was fine towing a van of an ATM 4500kg buy a car (cruiser) with an BTC of 3500kg. based on what I have found out and the above replies as long as i dont exceed the 3500kgs and use the DO45 I should be fine.
Reply By: Member - Bigfish - Saturday, May 24, 2025 at 17:44
Saturday, May 24, 2025 at 17:44
So suddenly a vehicle that was made by a large corporation and designed by engineers can have 800kg added to its body weight but no need to strengthen chassis, diff or even fit larger brakes to cope with the rather large increase in weight. Seems very dodgy to me. Why wouldn't a manufacturer do this in the first place? Especially a mob like Toyota who are very aware of how their vehicles operate in Oz. If its a simple matter of fitting a
suspension only (and a
suspension that anyone can buy over the counter)..why is an engineer needed if its only a
suspension upgrade ( most 4wd owners upgrade
suspension anyway..
Follow Up By: nickb - Saturday, May 24, 2025 at 22:21
Saturday, May 24, 2025 at 22:21
Some GCM upgrades include brake upgrades, diff upgrades, control arm upgrades etc. Looking at Lovells website, it does seem to be just springs and
suspension for the 300 series.
Toyota Landcruiser 300
GVM & GCM Upgrade
The Lovells 4200kg / 7700kg Platinum Remote Reservoir series GVM/GCM shock absorbers feature threaded height adjustable struts and 4 year / 100,000km warranty.
Kit Includes:
Front Adjustable Remote Reservoir Struts
Front Coils (Australian made, with Australian Steel)
Rear Adjustable Remote Reservoir Shocks
Rear Coils (Australian made, with Australian Steel)
Stone deflectors and custom mounting kits for reservoirs
Federal Compliance Plate (pre-registered vehicle) or
State Compliance (registered vehicle)
Engineering
Follow Up By: Member - LeighW - Sunday, May 25, 2025 at 09:50
Sunday, May 25, 2025 at 09:50
A car manufacturer designs a vehicle to appeal to the masses therefore things like
suspension tuning are a compromise, soft enough for the mums bus around town but still with reasonable off road ability.
For those that want a purpose built machine ie off road or towing then things like
suspension can be better tuned for the task at hand, ie heavier springs and shocks for carrying more weight whilst keeping the vehicle level good for travelers but to hard a
suspension for mums and their shopping trollies.
Engineers look at the current vehicle specs and decide what can be done and can't, in the case of my Prado for example he looked at the max axle loading,
the springs, shocks and struts to be fitted and was happy to raise the GVM to the max weight limit of the axles specified be Toyota.
If you wanted to go to extremes then you could have chassis stiffening, stronger axles etc but would be cheaper to buy and vehicle desinged for these loads in the first place.
Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Sunday, May 25, 2025 at 10:41
Sunday, May 25, 2025 at 10:41
This is what I don't understand Leigh...why don't people do due diligence and buy a vehicle that is suitable or even better still...buy a van that is smaller, weighs less, cheaper to run, easier to tow and costs far less? I,ve known a few who took the bigger is better route but it was an ego trip for them...I look at some of the you-tube clips and just shake my head at the ridiculous size of many of the rigs...many undoubtedly would be over weight and thus illegal. Each to their own but a lot of the one upmanship rigs seem like bullshite to me.
Follow Up By: Member - LeighW - Sunday, May 25, 2025 at 15:24
Sunday, May 25, 2025 at 15:24
Again compromise, in my case I needed to extra GVM to keep it legal with all the gear we carry around and the weight of the camper on the back. Other alternative could have been to buy a 200 series but I was not going to pay another 30 to 40 thousand for a vehicle and then go bush bashing in it.
Follow Up By: nickb - Sunday, May 25, 2025 at 18:20
Sunday, May 25, 2025 at 18:20
I am in a similar boat to Leigh. I am not in a position to have a dedicated touring vehicle so my work vehicle doubles as the getaway machine. I don't need a 4x4 for work, nor the 5 seats - I also don't need the extra costs/storage/servicing etc of a separate vehicle so a compromise is needed. A dual cab 4x4 ute suits me perfectly but alas does neither the job of work vehicle or tourer perfectly.
A GVM/GCM upgrade is a great practical solution for someone to stay legal when on holiday.
I too don't understand the need for a massive setup - we (2 adults 3 kids) still travel in our 15.5ft Coromal. But people can do whatever they want with their money!