Gravel pits

Submitted: Friday, Jul 11, 2025 at 11:45
ThreadID: 151000 Views:1781 Replies:9 FollowUps:13
Are disused, unmarked gravel pits acceptable for inclusion on rest areas, overnights stops etc?

Reply By: Member - Duncan2H - Friday, Jul 11, 2025 at 12:09

Friday, Jul 11, 2025 at 12:09
deleted...
AnswerID: 648241

Reply By: Member - LeighW - Friday, Jul 11, 2025 at 13:10

Friday, Jul 11, 2025 at 13:10
Don't know wether they are accepted but we have used them to camp in at times.
AnswerID: 648243

Reply By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Friday, Jul 11, 2025 at 16:34

Friday, Jul 11, 2025 at 16:34
Hi Andrew,
If by "pits" you mean a hole from gravel extraction then no, I have shunned them.
But if you mean abandoned road camps which are often flat gravelled areas then yes, I have used them to camp several times. They are a very acceptable location to me.
If you mean "is it acceptable to the authority for someone to stop overnight?" then I dunno but what is the could happen? Probably be advised a it's no-no or at worst be asked to move on. Never heard of it happening.

AnswerID: 648245

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Friday, Jul 11, 2025 at 18:04

Friday, Jul 11, 2025 at 18:04
We use "pits" on a regular basis.
They can provide shelter from the wind and block the view and the noise from the road.
OKA196 motorhome
AnswerID: 648246

Reply By: Member - Andrew W14 - Friday, Jul 11, 2025 at 18:54

Friday, Jul 11, 2025 at 18:54
Thanks. I fully agree with all above comments and realise there may be no definitive answer.
My main reason was not if legal or not (which by the letter of the law (trespass) they are not) and I have used many many times.
My question was that in answer to David and Michelle’s request to contribute more POI’s etc I note many gravel pits are not listed on ExploreOz and was curious as to why not.
AnswerID: 648247

Follow Up By: Gronk - Friday, Jul 11, 2025 at 19:35

Friday, Jul 11, 2025 at 19:35
I think you’ve answered your own question..
Unofficially, people use them, but you couldn’t list them as a designated spot.
We’ve used one a few times between Yunta and Arkaroola, magic spot.
FollowupID: 929458

Follow Up By: Member - nick boab - Friday, Jul 11, 2025 at 22:09

Friday, Jul 11, 2025 at 22:09
Andrew , your post was a bit vague....
But now we know what you were asking . A quick search on the app i found 53 gravel pits listed ,

Edit ps. I think that was only asked by D & M on the Facebook page ?
Cheers Nick

FollowupID: 929463

Follow Up By: Member - David M (SA) - Friday, Jul 11, 2025 at 22:44

Friday, Jul 11, 2025 at 22:44
Think the Dept of Roads refer to them as borrow pits. Good place to camp in the wet weather.
Dave.
FollowupID: 929464

Follow Up By: Member - rocco2010 - Saturday, Jul 12, 2025 at 11:51

Saturday, Jul 12, 2025 at 11:51

Acquaintance in WA’s s environment department said to me once the roads department called them “borrow pits” but funnily they never returned the gravel or dirt!

FollowupID: 929471

Reply By: Member - LeighW - Friday, Jul 11, 2025 at 19:50

Friday, Jul 11, 2025 at 19:50
Also, WIKI camps lists gravel sites/areas as camping areas with no facilities
AnswerID: 648249

Follow Up By: Member - McLaren3030 - Saturday, Jul 12, 2025 at 07:59

Saturday, Jul 12, 2025 at 07:59
Hi LeighW,

As WikiCamps is user updated, I am not surprised that they are listed. Remember, because WikiCamps is user updated, although a useful tool, it is not always accurate.

Macca.
Macca.

FollowupID: 929465

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W14 - Saturday, Jul 12, 2025 at 08:54

Saturday, Jul 12, 2025 at 08:54
Sorry but I hardly think Wiki Camps should be used as a point of reference for anything!
FollowupID: 929467

Follow Up By: Member - LeighW - Saturday, Jul 12, 2025 at 09:33

Saturday, Jul 12, 2025 at 09:33
The question was:

"Are disused, unmarked gravel pits acceptable for inclusion on rest areas, overnights stops etc?"

The simple fact is many use these areas as overnight camp sites especially when its hard to find anywhere else to camp. We have used them quite a bit as many have a large gravelled areas and may be the only suitable site around especially in rainy conditions when it is muddy and you dont want to risk getting bogged. Have never had anyone complain about us stopping overnight.

We also find Wiki Camps and other campsite publication and found them to be very useful at times, it is upto others as to wether they wish to use them. As for Explore OZ, it would be the last place I would check for a campsite as it has nowhere near the following of the other references available, ie we recently camped at a water pumping site out of Longreach, it was a great spot, large flat gravelled area, large lagoon with heaps of wild life, really beautiful and not in shown in Explore Oz as are many many more.

FollowupID: 929468

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Saturday, Jul 12, 2025 at 13:13

Saturday, Jul 12, 2025 at 13:13
Leigh…
ExplorOz Traveller is actively used by around 25,000 people, and every day users are contributing—adding or updating an average of 20 campsites daily. Since the Places database first went live in 2006, it has tripled in size thanks to a combination of user submissions and admin verifications. So it’s strange to judge the reliability of an app with over 105,000 sites based on finding one lovely camp that wasn’t listed.

Out of curiosity—why didn’t you add it when you found it? That’s how this resource grows. Is it still not there?

ExplorOz doesn’t have the same volume of mainstream users as something like WikiCamps, which means fewer generic crowd-sourced listings, fewer influencers, and a lot less noise. Instead, you’ve got a community of genuine travellers—people who value quality over hype and don’t feel the need to post every passing complaint.

Also worth noting—because Traveller includes properly detailed maps, there’s less need for people to fill up the comments with directions. The whole system is designed to work differently—and for many of us, that’s exactly why we trust it.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

FollowupID: 929475

Follow Up By: Member - LeighW - Saturday, Jul 12, 2025 at 16:50

Saturday, Jul 12, 2025 at 16:50
We carry 3 references with us and at times maybe only one will show a specific site so I don't rely on a one definitive reference source.

As for adding sites, unfortunately we have found it is not a good idea these days to add special sites we find as we find when revisting them years later we end up having to cleanup and bury all the toilet paper and rubbish left by uncaring campers. We keep our special sites to ourselves and a few good friends. Yes catch 22 if everyone did the same then there would never be a wikik camps etc but maybe that would be a good thing.
FollowupID: 929478

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Saturday, Jul 12, 2025 at 16:59

Saturday, Jul 12, 2025 at 16:59
You can’t have it both ways: using apps to find locations yet not making any effort to contribute is one thing but then going to a public Forum to quote the app that you wouldn't rely on because it didn't have a site you found, liked, but didn't add to the app!

FollowupID: 929479

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Saturday, Jul 12, 2025 at 18:08

Saturday, Jul 12, 2025 at 18:08
We once spent several weeks full time creating a large data base of our camp spots for a new publication that was for the exclusive use of a group of "Members".
The organisation subsequently transferred all of that data to a "sub contractor" to maintain the system.
Couple of years later, they released a system of their own which included several known errors that I had made.
I no longer contribute usable details of our special places to any publicly available data bases or anywhere else. Nor do we use those data bases as any spots in them that we come across are typically not where we would ever want to stop, despite having been OK in the past.
OKA196 motorhome
FollowupID: 929481

Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Saturday, Jul 12, 2025 at 12:57

Saturday, Jul 12, 2025 at 12:57
Hi Andrew, only just noticed this post. Anywhere can be added as a Place provided the information is descriptive and accurate. If the area is a roadside bay its best to assign it as a “Rest Area” which uses the Pbay symbol and select from the Features list to show what amenities, limitations, access, restrictions etc as relevant which also add the icons. If uts an official 24hr rest area then you can put that in the name. If its literally a gravel pit with nothing more you would still treat it the same way as its a place to stop off the road. We just wouldn’t suggest using the Camp POI unless it was a designated camping area or had tracks leading back beyond the rest area away from the road. Eg. Along many Highways theres a Rest Area bay alongside the road (often with a bin) and some do have tracks leading beyond to areas suitable for an overnight stay away from roadside danger/noise. In that case youll put 2 markers - one for Rest Area, one for Free Camp. Being specific is important for filters and search and features to work correctly.

Im actually finalising a newsletter with more tips for adding/editing Places now.

AnswerID: 648254

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W14 - Saturday, Jul 12, 2025 at 19:55

Saturday, Jul 12, 2025 at 19:55
Many thanks for probably the one post that answered my question clearly and concisely.
Albeit that my initial post did not seem clear to some.
Irrespective of other members views on whether to use or not, I will attempt to add suitable ‘gravel pits’ as we come across them.
Perhaps if all took this less selfish attitude the App could become the ‘go to’ tool for many more travellers.
FollowupID: 929482

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Sunday, Jul 13, 2025 at 07:42

Sunday, Jul 13, 2025 at 07:42
Andrew….

If you had responded promptly to my Reply shortly after your original post then you may have received more acceptable replies.

This forum is constituted to the wide subjects of 4WD and exploring the breadths of Australia.
Your post did not identify that you were focussing specifically on the EO Traveller app yet you cast aspersions on people responding with comment on what they understood you to be asking. Thanks very much mate.

FollowupID: 929484

Reply By: Mal58 - Saturday, Jul 12, 2025 at 16:05

Saturday, Jul 12, 2025 at 16:05
I note in the latest 4wd24/7 YouTube video, in the “Off Grid” episode, that Graham Cahill and his fellow travellers camped in a number of “gravel pits” on the Savannah Way when transversing from QLD to NT.

Some of the views from these sites were quite spectacular.

Probably more of a function of being remote in scenic country rather than the fact they were gravel pits.
AnswerID: 648256

Reply By: Member - Cuppa - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2025 at 09:56

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2025 at 09:56
As far as I am concerned 'gravel pits' are fair game to use for overnight stops, & to list. That said (& accepting occasionally 'gravel pits' are very pleasant places to stop) mainly for us they are stops of last resort. ie. it's getting late in the day & we haven't found anything better.

As for listing 'special places' we find, which are not listed anywhere, we like Peter will not risk popularising them only to see them ruined by over-use. Often these are 'local knowledge' places, shared with us by locals. All too often we have seen wonderful spots rendered no longer wonderful (or closed off) as a result of public online listing.

I did add a listing to EO recently, & felt ok about doing so, as I discovered it was already listed on Wikicamps, although that was not how we found it, (& in fact was disappointed with my discovery).

Back in the day 'special camps' were shared among friends face to face, allowing for some discretion to be used as to whom the info was shared with. Whilst public listings are useful, I really feel they are a double edged sword.

One example which comes to mind is a camp on the Gregory River (which I expect a number of folk here will be familiar with as it is marked on EO, albeit not with a 'place icon') not the one down behind the pub where caravans congregate like a swarm of flies, but further south about 20kms (?) out of town. When we were told about it as a 'locals only' spot it was a bissfully gorgeous location. Not long after out first visit it became listed on Wikicamps & last time we visited it was chockers with wall to wall caravans, noise & rubbish. No doubt all in there thought it a great spot, but were oblivious to how it had once been a place of serene & peaceful beauty.
See 'My Profile' (below) for link to our Aussie travel blog, now in it's 8th year.

AnswerID: 648336