Beware Nissan Parol 1998 turbo diesal owners

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 29, 2004 at 17:12
ThreadID: 15119 Views:13971 Replies:6 FollowUps:10
After owning my Patrol from new and covering over 200,000 kilometers, I did think my truck was "bullet Proof". Alas this is not the case, as I have just discovered while changing the timing belt that the rocker cover has developed a hair line crack next to the Vacum pump which is mounted on it, unlike the older models, where the alternantor combined the pump.
Oil is leaking from the crack which I think the stress created from the very powerfull return spring in the vacum pump has fatigued the alloy in this area of the rocker cover causing it to open.
I contacted Nissan who have advised me that they do not want to know about it - I suppose they are busy with their 3litre saga!!
So if you have a similar model to mine, don't go through the chore of changing the rocker cover gasket if you see an oil leak around the rocker cover - do yourselves a favour and check for cracks in the rocker cover near the vacum pump first!!

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jul 29, 2004 at 17:16

Thursday, Jul 29, 2004 at 17:16
Peter,
What motor are you taliking about? 2.8litre or 4.2litre?
AnswerID: 70234

Follow Up By: Peter Guy - Thursday, Jul 29, 2004 at 17:22

Thursday, Jul 29, 2004 at 17:22
Sorry Roachie it is the 2.8 TD (RD28). 6 cylinder turbo intercooled.
I wish I had bought the 4.2!! One day!!!
FollowupID: 330446

Follow Up By: Michael - Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 08:11

Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 08:11
Hey Roachie,just reinforces to me one more time,getting a 4.2 is the way to go..peace of mind......hhhhmmmmmm
FollowupID: 330567

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 10:07

Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 10:07
G'day Michael,
Yeh mate, you're right......however, as I've said before, Nissan really did go a bit soft on the GU, even with the 4.2 donk. 5th gear was dodgy (I've had mine fixed under warranty before if "went"). The cooling system leaves a lot to be desired.....(I've just spent $1100- on a new PWR radiator with double the thickness) and like other makes, there is far too much plastic.
The basic strong motor and chassis are there though and I'm still a happy chappy.
Seeya mate
FollowupID: 330575

Reply By: locallaw - Thursday, Jul 29, 2004 at 18:00

Thursday, Jul 29, 2004 at 18:00
Gidday,When I bought my GU 2.8 TD(The worst heap of junk I have ever owned)the alloy cover had been welded completly around one side to the other.
All up It cost me approx $10.000 and was still not fixed.Vibration in engine at 1500 rpm(clutch,flywheel and computer replaced)did not fix.Turbo xploded $1.500.Bad vibration in front wheels(balanced many times, new tyres,susp checked)did not fix.
Plus many other small items.
I am glad I got rid of it and bought a Landcruiser.
Just my little whinge.
Seeya Locallaw
AnswerID: 70245

Follow Up By: Peter Guy - Thursday, Jul 29, 2004 at 18:25

Thursday, Jul 29, 2004 at 18:25
After reading about your woes I think I have gotten off lightly. Apart from a leaking rear wheel bearing this is the only other problem experienced!
FollowupID: 330465

Reply By: Member - David C (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 29, 2004 at 18:56

Thursday, Jul 29, 2004 at 18:56
Hi Peter,

I have a 99 GU 2.8 with 250,000 km on it and it still going strong. She has been very reliable despite having a Motsons on and running 16 PSI boost, 35" tyres on for 40,000km (now running 285's), Gearmaster gears, 4.88's and giving it a general hammering, I couldn't be happier with it (read I would love something with better low down torque though).

I have a engine vibration as well at around 1800 RPM (common fault and is the fuel pump cavitating - you'll never get rid of it completely), hard starting at one stage (fixed with a Motson's pump shim), oil leak at the back of engine head (still living with it), rear diff vibration (loose bolts on pinion uni now fixed) and blows heaps of black smoke due to Motsons.

We pick up a Aussie Swag camper soon so watch this space to see if I decide to do engine change or upgrade vehicle.
AnswerID: 70263

Follow Up By: rolande- Thursday, Jul 29, 2004 at 19:07

Thursday, Jul 29, 2004 at 19:07
David,
I had the rear engine leak at 160,000k's. Two main possibilities, one cheap, one expensive. Rear seal leak $1100, tappet cover gasket, (which mine was), $100. Pays to get several opinions before fixing, mine were 1- seal, 2 - seal, 3 - seal, 4 - gasket, repaired here, no more leak.
Rolande
FollowupID: 330474

Follow Up By: Peter Guy - Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 17:21

Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 17:21
David my patrol has towed our off road trailer all over Oz on numerous trips and the truck has performed beautifully apart from this cracked cover.
The advantage of the 2.8 over the 4.2 motor is the 2.8 has a smaller engine oil capacity and has just 1 oil filter. I think it is more economical on fuel too, being a smaller capacity motor.
So overall it is a cheaper engine to run and maintain.
The engine pulls well under load and the only down side is it is not good at uphill starts with a heavy load- but you learn to compensate for this.
FollowupID: 330645

Reply By: rolande- Thursday, Jul 29, 2004 at 18:58

Thursday, Jul 29, 2004 at 18:58
Peter,
Cracks in alloy rocker covers are not that uncommon on all types of vehicles. Go to a reputable repair centre and have it TIG welded. Manufacturers repair new ones this way before they ever go on an enigne. Its an expensive part to throw away for an easily fixed problem.
Rolande
AnswerID: 70264

Follow Up By: Michael - Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 08:13

Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 08:13
Rolande, how much could a new rocker cover be???
FollowupID: 330568

Follow Up By: rolande- Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 18:10

Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 18:10
It is not a part Nissan would expect to sell very often so it would probably come down to the supply-and-demand thing. Either way, a good TIG welder should be able to do it for under $100, cheaper than new and as good as new, as I said, many are repaired before they even go on a vehicle. Boat builders / repairers often will do this type of work at a good rate.
Rolande
FollowupID: 330655

Reply By: awill4x4 - Thursday, Jul 29, 2004 at 21:53

Thursday, Jul 29, 2004 at 21:53
Peter, I don't know where you are based but if you're in Melbourne I could Tig weld it for you if you need it. I'm a specialist tig welder working in the motorsport industry.
Regards Andrew.
AnswerID: 70319

Follow Up By: Peter Guy - Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 17:23

Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 17:23
Thanks mate for your kind offer-but I'm in Perth WA!
FollowupID: 330647

Reply By: gumagoo93 - Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 13:16

Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 13:16
My GU 2.8tdi had 110,000km on the clock and then the head cracked, luckily the fix was cheap @$600.00 to have the crack welded & the valves ground & re-seated & new valve guides(I took the head off & re-asembled it myself)...then at 114,000km I sent the the injector pump to Melb for a rebuild that cost $1,100.00.....I was very cranky for a while after the two disasters occured!....now after 150,000km and with the 2 mishaps behind it the vehicle is still nice to drive and so far (touch wood & I probably will end up regretting saying this!) it hasn't missed a beat....am I lucky that this is all that's happened?....or will the sky fall on my shiny head in the near future?....guess i'll know when it happens..
AnswerID: 70403

Follow Up By: Peter Guy - Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 17:25

Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 17:25
It appers then that your motor has settled down and it should now be OK for quite some time. I'm lucky as my problem appears to be insignificant now!!
FollowupID: 330648