80 series alternator 'star socket'

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 29, 2004 at 18:33
ThreadID: 15125 Views:3472 Replies:8 FollowUps:4

On the 80 Series Cruiser, the alternator adjustment clamping bolt has a 'star socket' type centre. The normal hex shape outer of the bolt head is prone to rounding (as I have found). I am after the exact description and size of this 'star socket' so I can get one to keep in the tool box as I think I will definately need it next time I need to change or tighten the alternator drive belt!

Also, anyone know of a supplier and price in Melbourne around the City/Essendon area?

As an aside, I just ordered a 54mm socket for the front wheel bearing nuts ($34). Next on the list is a tread file... Have found that the only way you can afford the build up the tool chest with decent kit is one tool a month. Unless you buy from Bunnings, in which case you have to buy the same tool 5 times to get the job done as they are all rubbish.

Thanks for any info.

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 29, 2004 at 18:39

Thursday, Jul 29, 2004 at 18:39
Hey Wazza, the Explorer is covered in star sockets i went to Bunnings and bought a set for $39.95 from 3mm to 10mm.

AnswerID: 70260

Reply By: Wazza (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 29, 2004 at 19:01

Thursday, Jul 29, 2004 at 19:01
Looks like a 'spline socket' is it's name. Just need the size ... M8, M10, M12 ??
AnswerID: 70266

Reply By: rolux1983 - Thursday, Jul 29, 2004 at 22:23

Thursday, Jul 29, 2004 at 22:23
HI

I think you are talking about torx bits,they look like a star when you look at the end of them, they can be brought in both metric or imperial and you can pick them up from places like auto pro
AnswerID: 70335

Reply By: fourplayfull - Thursday, Jul 29, 2004 at 23:53

Thursday, Jul 29, 2004 at 23:53
Hi Wazza ,
AnswerID: 70351

Reply By: fourplayfull - Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 00:07

Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 00:07
Too many clicks in wrong spot - I'llavanothergo - if that 54mm socket is not a deep type and I pressume you want it for servicing f/w brgs. then you will need to weld on 25mm FMS as i did . Then you can say it is your OWN TOOL !!
AnswerID: 70354

Follow Up By: Wazza (Vic) - Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 10:27

Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 10:27
Yeah thanks fourplay. I got is online at:

http://www.offroadshop.com.au/accessories/tools/

so it should be the one for the job.

Wazza.
FollowupID: 330577

Reply By: Moose - Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 13:24

Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 13:24
G'day Wazza
Sorry mate can't help with the tool but please excuse my ignorance - what is a tread file?
Moose
AnswerID: 70404

Follow Up By: Wazza (Vic) - Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 13:31

Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 13:31
Hi Moose,

A square shaped file and on each face it is patterned to fit the different size and pitched of a thread. So if the thread of an axle or bolt is burred, you can clean it up easily. Usually double ended, so you can clean up 8 different sized threads with the one tool.

I needed this on the road a couple of months back when they wheel bearing lock nut stripped and made a mess of the stub axle thread. A passing motoriset was a deisel mechanic and had a 75 series cruiser. He lent me the 54mm socket, let us stay at his place, fed us and filled me up with his home brews. The next day his wofe drove me into his work and we borrowed a thread file and she then drove us to the parts place and I got a few bits and pieces. Lucky it happened where it did, about 50km out of Bundaberg. We were heading into the middle of nowhere and it was nearly dark. He just happened to be on the way home from work!

Wazza
FollowupID: 330611

Follow Up By: Moose - Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 13:42

Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 13:42
Thanks Wazza
Sounds like a useful tool box addition. Could have used one on the odd occassion in the past. Who sells them?
Have had an experience similar to yours but I was on the way to Cape York (in Lakefield I think). Luckily I was travelling with mates and between us we had all the bits to fix it and keep going.
FollowupID: 330612

Follow Up By: Wazza (Vic) - Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 14:56

Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 14:56
I am going to try All Tools in Melbourne next time I drive past , but most good tool shops will sell them.
FollowupID: 330622

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 19:36

Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 19:36
Anywhere but FX Larkin....they sell cheap tools that dont last and there is no return/warrenty when they break.
R u sure it is a Star socket. I used a 12mm on mine yesterday...it has a funny imprint in tyhe head of the bolt, but a 6 sided 12mm socket would be best (impact socket) This was on my Petrol 94
AnswerID: 70473

Reply By: Member - Jiarna (SA) - Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 23:37

Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 23:37
Mine has the Torx hole in the head of the bolt, but the head itself fits a 12mm socket. If the Torx hole wasn't there it'd just look like an ordinary bolt. If you are rounding off the hex head, try using a Metrinch socket. They are excellent for rounded heads. BTW if the head on the adjuster bolt is getting rounded off, something is wrong. It shouldn't be that tight.
Those who say something cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it.

AnswerID: 70526