Spare Tyres

Submitted: Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 06:47
ThreadID: 15138 Views:2132 Replies:9 FollowUps:0
Just wondering what everyones thoughts are on carrying 1 or 2 spares. We are travelling the Strezlecki & Oodnadatta tracks, Cameron corner, Dalhousie, Finke to Kulgera. Have 5 new Goodrich A/Ts on a Patrol, space is at a premium.
ps sorry about the apostophe thingys coz I dont know where they go

Reply By: Well 55 - Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 07:28

Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 07:28
It's always nice to carry a second spare. Why not get a pair of low mount roof bars and put a spare case/spare wheel up there.

It just makes for a bit of peace and mind knowing that you have got a second spare when or if you get a wrecked tyre.
AnswerID: 70365

Reply By: Bros - Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 07:38

Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 07:38
Allan,
I always take two where ever possible.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 70367

Reply By: Mikef_Patrol - Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 08:12

Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 08:12

Just take a spare case. Finding someone to fit it is far easier than trying to get the actual tyre. Take a repair kit as well. Won't hurt and doesn't take up much space.

MikeF
AnswerID: 70369

Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 09:11

Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 09:11
Allan,

Most of those roads are in excellant condition at the moment. I just came back a couple of weeks ago and out of 16 vehicles(64wheels)at 5000Km each approx we only had about 5 punctures. No tyres were destroyed so all were fixed roadside with new tubes or plugs and no one needed the extra wheel. I took an extra because I have an odd size (17") wheel but with the patrol in the worse case scenario you will get a replacement tyree wheel easily. The key is to run lower pressures and watch out when pulling of the road for stakes and also the occassional sharp gibber. If you watch the road carefully you will see the ones I mean in plenty of time to avoid them.Also try to keep the weight down as the weight and speed down as the gibbers will chip the tyres.
AnswerID: 70375

Reply By: Member - Rohan K - Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 15:26

Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 15:26
We always carry 2 plus a tube and repair kit. You could carry just the tyre (no rim) and simply strap it to the existing spare. Ideally you should know how to remove and fit a tyre to a rim. But if you don't, as Mikef mentioned above, you're bound to find someone that can help. Actually sourcing a tyre can be time consuming (days) and expensive. Why suffer the hassle when avoiding it is so easy?
AnswerID: 70422

Reply By: Crocbit - Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 15:49

Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 15:49
G'day Allan,

IMO take one spare, and get a tubeless repair kit (most tyres too hard to fix even with bead breakers & tyre levers etc - especially us old geezers), the old 'murphy's law' is still alive and well. We have done a trip or two to the Gibb, I had a Patrol (GQ RB30) with Kumho AT (a mate had Troopy with BFG all round). We had one flat (Kumho) that was partially repaired ( slow leak) with a tubeless kit, and useable, but being over 100k off the Gibb still felt comfortable with that other spare. The BFG had two flats!!! Those rocks were sharp enough to shave with!!

For your consideration,

Don

AnswerID: 70424

Reply By: Member - Bob - Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 16:29

Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 16:29
see thread 14890
AnswerID: 70436

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 18:51

Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 18:51

One in the spare tyre well.

The other above my beltline on my trousers...... LOL!!

Ready for hibernation Wolf.
AnswerID: 70464

Reply By: Member - Jiarna (SA) - Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 23:27

Friday, Jul 30, 2004 at 23:27
I live in Oodnadatta. Last trip (weekend run to Marree) I shredded 2 tyres - a repair kit would have left me stranded, and the second one happened 80km from a town which was closed for the Sunday. Glad I had 2 spares, when I haven't used one in the 12 months prior to the last trip. The peace of mind is worth it IMHO. If you can't fit the 2nd spare, leave something else behind :-)

Those who say something cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it.

AnswerID: 70525