Polyairs....or should I say Air-Lift Co.

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 31, 2004 at 14:39
ThreadID: 15171 Views:2413 Replies:4 FollowUps:6
I recently purchased a set of Air-Lift 1000 spring assists from www.truckspring.com in Michigan USA for A$160 delivered to Melbourne. I have never heard of the Air-Lift Company name before but as it turns out they must make Polyairs. On the base of the air-bags I received is stamped "Air Lift Co. - Polyair Div." - this is identical to the markings on the Polyairs that we get over here. The kit for the Pathy was USD69.95 +USD48 freight by UPS - all up converted to AUD $160 which is about 1/2 the price you pay here for Polyairs. (quoted $500 fitted to Pathy) I chickened out and paid someone $100 to fit them - so all up cost me $260 v's $500.

Anyone thinking of fitting Polyairs - check out www.truckspring.com - they were excellent to deal with and the delivery took about 2 weeks. Gotta love the internet :)

Reply By: Glenno - Saturday, Jul 31, 2004 at 16:17

Saturday, Jul 31, 2004 at 16:17
Just goes to show how much margin is built into 4wd products here i Australia. Its amazing the difference in price between a product stocked at a ARB/TJM etc store, and the same product at a camping / auto parts shop etc.
AnswerID: 70597

Reply By: mr diamond - Saturday, Jul 31, 2004 at 16:25

Saturday, Jul 31, 2004 at 16:25
gday moggs.
how would you go for a waranty claim.
i know of 4 pollyairs that have failed so its been straight back to the local bloke for no trouble change over.
but mind you still pretty cheap.
polly airs are only about $300 a pair.
AnswerID: 70601

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Saturday, Jul 31, 2004 at 19:27

Saturday, Jul 31, 2004 at 19:27
Had Poly Airs for three years and so far no probs.,cost me $280 and took a couple of hours to fit.(brought from ARB)
FollowupID: 330801

Follow Up By: mr diamond - Saturday, Jul 31, 2004 at 19:44

Saturday, Jul 31, 2004 at 19:44
dont get me wrong nick i think there great.
ive fitted heaps and still recomend them
just ordered some more for a mate.
just interested in what would happen if they do fail.(imported ones)cheers
FollowupID: 330804

Follow Up By: Member - Moggs - Saturday, Jul 31, 2004 at 19:46

Saturday, Jul 31, 2004 at 19:46
I don't think I'd have a problem re: warranty from Truckspring - they seem really good to deal with. I am thinking of carrying some spare bags and airline anyway - spare bags for my set up from them are USD20 or about AUD32 each anyway - so no big expense.

Not sure what the price for other models are - but $500 in Australia fitted for the Pathfinder was average. Maybe other vehicles won't get as much benefit as I did.
FollowupID: 330805

Follow Up By: mr diamond - Saturday, Jul 31, 2004 at 19:59

Saturday, Jul 31, 2004 at 19:59
cant argue with that
FollowupID: 330813

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Saturday, Jul 31, 2004 at 20:11

Saturday, Jul 31, 2004 at 20:11
No worries mr diamond.
FollowupID: 330825

Reply By: Member - Moggs - Saturday, Jul 31, 2004 at 20:24

Saturday, Jul 31, 2004 at 20:24
mr diamond, you may have a good point re: warranty - to be honest I never thought of it. Anyway, ya pay the money and ya take ya chances - hopefully all will be well. BTW, when you talk of warranty claims you have seen - are these related to punctures or faulty bags??
AnswerID: 70651

Follow Up By: mr diamond - Sunday, Aug 01, 2004 at 19:41

Sunday, Aug 01, 2004 at 19:41
i know of 2 where they leak around the fitting.
and a cpl of burst ones 2 on the one car and they wernt that old 3 months or so
FollowupID: 330995

Reply By: Rob/D.Plain - Thursday, Aug 26, 2004 at 22:18

Thursday, Aug 26, 2004 at 22:18
I to have purchased from the states, but the coil-rites I liked the push-to-connect air fittings over the barbed polyair type. Also purchased the air control accessory kit wich has 150psi compressor, 2ltr air tank, 25ft air hose, dual control panel and all fittings. This enables me to manualy adjust the individual air-bags by the control panel inside the cabin.

Took around 6 weeks though, but worth the wait.

AnswerID: 74165