GQ... LEAKY AXLE SEALS

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 01, 2004 at 13:46
ThreadID: 15191 Views:2010 Replies:5 FollowUps:12
My GQ ute is on its 3rd set of rear axle seals, and I have been advised to get housings machined.
My question is this the best option or should I look at replacing housings?
Vehicle only done 198k. Hope our GU Wagon lasts longer,40k on that one
Thanks in advance
Regards Poppy

Reply By: Flash - Sunday, Aug 01, 2004 at 14:01

Sunday, Aug 01, 2004 at 14:01
I'd be checking for a bent housing??
I've never heard of anyone having such problems before.
A good mate is on his 4th GQ/GU ute-he works them hard and trades them in with 350-400k on them, and has never replaced ANYTHING other then routine oil, filters, tyres & brake pads etc.
AnswerID: 70728

Follow Up By: Poppy - Sunday, Aug 01, 2004 at 14:19

Sunday, Aug 01, 2004 at 14:19
Hi Flash
My mechanic thinks that the housings may be bent and that machining them may be the answer
Cheers Poppy
FollowupID: 330922

Reply By: locallaw - Sunday, Aug 01, 2004 at 14:42

Sunday, Aug 01, 2004 at 14:42
Gidday,Just a thought 'you have ckecked the breather properly have as I have seen them blocked.Do you have extensions on them if so try and blow into the diff but first take the filler plug out.It may not be the housing.Is it one seal or two.One seal could be a incorrectly machined hub and if two could be blocked breather.
Just my bit
Seeya Locallaw
AnswerID: 70732

Follow Up By: Poppy - Sunday, Aug 01, 2004 at 14:48

Sunday, Aug 01, 2004 at 14:48
Gday Locallaw
Mate I haven't checked the breathers, thought my mechanic would have done that.
First 2 seal changes were left side only but 3rd change was both sides.
Plus brake linings contaminated by gear oil as they would be.
Starting to get a bit expensive.
Cheers Poppy
FollowupID: 330923

Follow Up By: Poppy - Sunday, Aug 01, 2004 at 14:52

Sunday, Aug 01, 2004 at 14:52
Forgot to mention that I don't have extensions on the breathers
Cheers Poppy
FollowupID: 330924

Follow Up By: locallaw - Sunday, Aug 01, 2004 at 14:57

Sunday, Aug 01, 2004 at 14:57
Gidday Poppy,As having worked in the motor game for many years I know that there are mechanics and mechanics (oops technicans).Check them yourself.It is not hard to do and the more i think about the oil leak the more I think it is the breathers.I just received your reply (no extensions).I reckon if you go out and check them you will find them blocked with gunk.
Seeya Locallaw
FollowupID: 330926

Follow Up By: Poppy - Sunday, Aug 01, 2004 at 15:10

Sunday, Aug 01, 2004 at 15:10
Just went and checked breathers in the hot Nth Qld sun and they are free from any blockage, so I reckon we are back to the bent housing theory
Cheers Poppy
FollowupID: 330930

Follow Up By: locallaw - Sunday, Aug 01, 2004 at 15:19

Sunday, Aug 01, 2004 at 15:19
Gidday Poppy,How did you check them.
Seeya Locallaw
FollowupID: 330934

Follow Up By: Poppy - Sunday, Aug 01, 2004 at 15:26

Sunday, Aug 01, 2004 at 15:26
Mate.. I found a rubber tube attached to top of diff, so disconnected it and blew through into diff.
Am I a gumpy or what? LOL
Just a dumb fencing contractor
Cheers Poppy
FollowupID: 330937

Reply By: mr diamond - Sunday, Aug 01, 2004 at 16:18

Sunday, Aug 01, 2004 at 16:18
who is fitting your seals you or your mechanic.
the axle housing should have been measured after the first replaced seals were leaking.if you fitted them your self did you grease them before fitting it dosnt take much of a nick for them leak.
have you had the gq long or have the seals been leaking just after you bought it then it might be a bent housing.
AnswerID: 70746

Follow Up By: Poppy - Sunday, Aug 01, 2004 at 18:29

Sunday, Aug 01, 2004 at 18:29
Hi Fellas
My mechanic has fitted all the replacement seals.
Started leaking after I had vehicle for some years.
Will mention to him about changing wheel bearings, but he seems to think housing may be bent.
My question is can it be machined successfully?
Cheers Poppy
FollowupID: 330979

Reply By: missed placed - Sunday, Aug 01, 2004 at 16:19

Sunday, Aug 01, 2004 at 16:19
To your axle seal problem, I have a DA Maverick (GQ) which has done 370k and had axle seal leak (LH side). A dealer recommened replacing wheel bearing with the seal, on the third one after doing what you have done I replaced the seal and changed the diff oil. Also keep in mind that brake shoes can be cleaned, all has been good since.Good luck.
AnswerID: 70747

Follow Up By: mr diamond - Sunday, Aug 01, 2004 at 16:47

Sunday, Aug 01, 2004 at 16:47
how do you clean your brake shoes?
FollowupID: 330955

Follow Up By: missed placed - Sunday, Aug 01, 2004 at 17:52

Sunday, Aug 01, 2004 at 17:52
There are products on the market ,one is simply called Brake Kleen put out by CRC ( I think) all you have to do is spray it on the shoes and allow to dry, that may have to be repeated but it worked a treat on mine. If you are doing it yourself and can take the shoes off an old method was to soak them in metho then burn them off (a little dangerous though). Check out Repco or simlar store.
FollowupID: 330971

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 01, 2004 at 22:57

Sunday, Aug 01, 2004 at 22:57
Talkin to Cheezy of cheezy racing he has a stack of old housings for GQ's there from comp dudes that are bent, he said not worth straightening as they weaken lots.

theres usually second handers on www.outerlimits4x4.com for sale, quite a few sets at the moment too... but very sought after.

Good luck.
AnswerID: 70819

Follow Up By: Poppy - Monday, Aug 02, 2004 at 08:53

Monday, Aug 02, 2004 at 08:53
Thanks Truckster for the outer limits web site .
I never knew it existed, looks like a great site.
I can see that GQ housings are in demand, if I don't have any luck may try replacing wheel bearings as suggested by "Missed Placed"
Thanks for you help
Cheers Poppy
FollowupID: 331074

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 02, 2004 at 09:59

Monday, Aug 02, 2004 at 09:59
Glad to help.

Let us know how you go with it too...

Also ask on the Nissan list on outerlimits,Bazzle is a guru also Wendle is too on Patrols.
FollowupID: 331093