Oodnadatta & Borefield track

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 04, 2004 at 21:07
ThreadID: 15306 Views:2636 Replies:4 FollowUps:4
G'day. We have recently moved to SA and I would like to know if the Oodnadatta & Borefield track are suitable for our Subaru Forester (2003 model). I have read many articles in different forems that seem to give different opinions. I would really like to hear from someone that has been along the track in the last 12 months. Thanks Philta.

Reply By: Member - Stillthinkinaboutit - Wednesday, Aug 04, 2004 at 21:28

Wednesday, Aug 04, 2004 at 21:28
The Oodnadatta track is typically a very well graded road and suitable for most 2wd vehicles unless just after extreme rain. A Forester should have no problems. Can't comment on the Borefield Track.
AnswerID: 71325

Follow Up By: Member - Stillthinkinaboutit - Wednesday, Aug 04, 2004 at 21:33

Wednesday, Aug 04, 2004 at 21:33
I should add that we just returned from doing the Oodnadatta track as a part our trip in Mid July and found it in excellent condition, ourNissan Patrol could sit on 100-120 kmh on most of the track without any problems.
FollowupID: 331523

Follow Up By: Phil G - Wednesday, Aug 04, 2004 at 23:00

Wednesday, Aug 04, 2004 at 23:00
Wouldn't be encouraging people to travel at those speeds on those roads. There's been enough 4wd rollovers, deaths etc from top-heavy 4wds travelling too fast on SA outback highways. A chat to the folks inthe Pink Roadhouse about rollovers would be very sobering.

You'll also greatly increase your chance of punctures, as these well maintained roads have a lot of sharp rock from being graded. We'd normally travel at 80-90 max with 25psi in the tyres.
FollowupID: 331530

Follow Up By: Philta - Saturday, Aug 07, 2004 at 22:27

Saturday, Aug 07, 2004 at 22:27
Excellent info, thanks heaps. We still have a couple of months before we go, and picking up the tips like the road condition reports from the web are a bonus. Thanks also for the tip on the speed, we are in no hurry so we will keep it safe.
FollowupID: 331873

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Wednesday, Aug 04, 2004 at 21:32

Wednesday, Aug 04, 2004 at 21:32
Borefield track is another well graded road normally but if it rains it can be closed in a flash because of the damage vehicles cause in the wet....But when i went through there last month it was an easy ask of a standard family car...
AnswerID: 71331

Reply By: Garbutt - Thursday, Aug 05, 2004 at 12:02

Thursday, Aug 05, 2004 at 12:02
Yes, no worries unless it's wet, and if it's very wet nothing will go through.
AnswerID: 71387

Reply By: Banjo - Thursday, Aug 05, 2004 at 13:43

Thursday, Aug 05, 2004 at 13:43
Amen to the above constributions - just check prior to travel (link on the vks737.on.net ROADS page (and here at EOz) will connect you with Transport SA site - they have current status of Outback roads in SA. Even when in good nick, these roads can have ultra stony sections ! Whole regions are often stone city - therefore, tyres are the issue - tyres with sturdy walls, reduced to 25-28psi and a second spare wheel are the go. Then look out for the bigger stones, give them a miss - and enjoy the trip !
AnswerID: 71394

Follow Up By: Philta - Saturday, Aug 07, 2004 at 22:31

Saturday, Aug 07, 2004 at 22:31
Thanks Banjo. What a great site this is and this forum in particular is a wealth of info. I hate chaging tyre so I'll take your good advise and give the big rocks a miss. Thanks again.
FollowupID: 331874