Thoughts, Comments, Suggestions..... RTT on Modified trailer ?

Submitted: Friday, Sep 25, 2026 at 10:01
ThreadID: 153926 Views:1226 Replies:15 FollowUps:43

We currently have a 2022 Dmax with Bushcompany RTT and awning attached to canopy.

As we mature getting up and down ladder is getting harder. :-)

Looking at getting a Heavy duty trailer 8 x 6 or similar with matching tyres/rims to mount the RTT on hinge so storage under can be used or rear access drawers and possibly a Jerry Can mount at each corner and gas bottle storage?

Looking for type model/price of trailer recommendation.

Would this type of trailer hander off road/gibb corrugations....

We would still like to do some off roading.

We are Northside brisbane if any recommendation's.
Mature Couple - waiting to make the BIG STEP to go travel this big country of ours.
Background of Military Service, Medical and IT

Back Reply Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Friday, Sep 25, 2026 at 10:25

Friday, Sep 25, 2026 at 10:25
Trailers traditionally have poor suspension.
I would have your chosen trailer fitted with exactly the same springs as the rear of the D Max, including the dampers.
I would also have it fitted with electric over hydraulic disc brakes for better reliability and performance.
You could also fit some water tanks under the trailer floor. Always useful.
OKA196 motorhome
AnswerID: 649597

Follow Up By: Member - Mark B68 - Friday, Sep 25, 2026 at 11:12

Friday, Sep 25, 2026 at 11:12
We have 60lt Water tank on DMAX but I suppose more is better and a pump....

Mature Couple - waiting to make the BIG STEP to go travel this big country of ours.

FollowupID: 931433

Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Friday, Sep 25, 2026 at 11:46

Friday, Sep 25, 2026 at 11:46
Is budget a factor driving this idea rather than buying a dedicated offroad camper trailer? Have you looked at Ultimate or Track for example?
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2026

AnswerID: 649598

Follow Up By: Member - Mark B68 - Friday, Sep 25, 2026 at 11:54

Friday, Sep 25, 2026 at 11:54
Ultimate Trailers seems to be for big rigs ??

TVans look good but $$

We already have the Bushcompany RTT so playing with options.

FollowupID: 931435

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Friday, Sep 25, 2026 at 17:56

Friday, Sep 25, 2026 at 17:56
We tow an Ultimate Offroad Camper Trailer new 2023 model - tarre 990kg about 1200 with water etc. Go anywhere. Tow with a 200 series cruiser but designed so even an AWD can tow due its low weight. New cost around $80K
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2026

FollowupID: 931438

Reply By: Member - Jim S1 - Friday, Sep 25, 2026 at 12:40

Friday, Sep 25, 2026 at 12:40
Ultimates are fibreglass and light. Ours is about 1100kg loaded. Newer ones with more gear would be a bit heavier , but not that much. Very easy for a ute to tow.
Jim
"If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need", Cicero

AnswerID: 649599

Reply By: Member - Duncan2H - Friday, Sep 25, 2026 at 13:18

Friday, Sep 25, 2026 at 13:18
Towing really sucks when you want to explore.
AnswerID: 649600

Reply By: Member - peter g28 - Friday, Sep 25, 2026 at 17:19

Friday, Sep 25, 2026 at 17:19
That seems a simple set up..but you are looking for an 8x5 trailer..that will put you in moderate size camper trailer territory and with this you will get some extras..
So with a moderate budget $15 - $20k or less you could get yourselves some very good camper trailers..
Here is just a couple of choices..
1/. Pre 2010 Kimberly Kamper..
2/. Pre 2015 Aussie Swag
3/. Pre 2015 Cub campers..various models..offroad
4. Pre 2015 Australia Offroad Campers..
5/. Pre 2016 Mountain Trial MDX..with standard remote opening..
6/. Complete Campsite..various hard floor models..

Yes, these are all rear hard floor camper trailers...all these campers are very capable off-road units and some are optioned up for off grid camping.
You will be surprised..
AnswerID: 649602

Follow Up By: 2517. - Friday, Sep 25, 2026 at 21:31

Friday, Sep 25, 2026 at 21:31
20 years ago I was at the 4WD show looking at either a AussieSwag or a Campamatic trailer and independent suspension were in fashion ,anyhow this fellow came over and we starting talking he said I own this company and we have trailers with independent suspensions coming back to the workshop all the time with something bent or broken,the problem is they tow them behind the Landcruiser at 100 kmh and forget about the trailer so if you are buy one get one with springs as you can all find a old spring and get a center bolt.It amuses me when I see these people on the Gibbs River with 4 ton caravans ,this has broken and all the problems they have nothing to do with weight and speed,it was pretty easy 25 years in a 80 series.
FollowupID: 931439

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Saturday, Sep 26, 2026 at 08:38

Saturday, Sep 26, 2026 at 08:38
In my view, there is no value in having independent suspension on a 2 wheel trailer.
And having it on a tandem caravan is a serious backwards step because load sharing becomes difficult and rare.
It is simply a fashion.
OKA196 motorhome
FollowupID: 931443

Follow Up By: Member - Mark B68 - Saturday, Sep 26, 2026 at 09:05

Saturday, Sep 26, 2026 at 09:05
Looking at Ultimate Campers .. they look nice,,, starting at $85k......

FollowupID: 931444

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Saturday, Sep 26, 2026 at 09:53

Saturday, Sep 26, 2026 at 09:53
For that sort of money, I would be looking for a 4WD camper/motorhome.
OKA196 motorhome
FollowupID: 931449

Follow Up By: Member - peter g28 - Saturday, Sep 26, 2026 at 10:33

Saturday, Sep 26, 2026 at 10:33
When you look at the RTT, the biggest issue is getting changed, there is simply not enough room to stand up in them...so people have been putting on side annexes etc.
There is another issue is getting up and down the step ladder, yes when you are younger, there was hardly any issue..but as the years get on...
The attachment of the RTT to a trailer is a good idea, it negates the climbing issue but again, space for changing etc still comes into play.
I came across this little gem...Mountain Trail MDX hard floor camper trailer

FollowupID: 931450

Follow Up By: Member - Mark B68 - Saturday, Sep 26, 2026 at 11:15

Saturday, Sep 26, 2026 at 11:15
That camper would probably do the job... didnt see Suspension setup...

Looks good.

FollowupID: 931451

Follow Up By: North 200 - Sunday, Sep 27, 2026 at 13:49

Sunday, Sep 27, 2026 at 13:49
https://youtube.com/watch?v=nJbqF_neroM&si=TrDpHZm7CPxV_68j
FollowupID: 931468

Follow Up By: Member - Mark B68 - Sunday, Sep 27, 2026 at 16:41

Sunday, Sep 27, 2026 at 16:41
Not sure what that vid was supposed to show ??

FollowupID: 931471

Reply By: Member - Bigfish - Saturday, Sep 26, 2026 at 07:30

Saturday, Sep 26, 2026 at 07:30
I bought a second hand 8x5 heavy duty trailer. Put 4wd rims and tyres on a good spring suspension set up. Put 3mm ally sheet on a frame. Mounted with 3 heavy duty hinges. Telescopic/air rams for the lift. Mounted a roof top tent. Installed gas bottle, 200 lithium battery and associated charging /outlet gear. Used plastic fish crates with lids. Off road hitch and electric brakes. Roof top tent mounted to lid. All up under $10k. Had it for 5 years and was 100 times better than a roof top tent on a vehicle. Carried all my camping gear in the trailer. Jerry cans behind each guard. Spare wheel on drawbar. Put a second hand swing out kitchen on the tail gate. 3 x 20 litre drums for water. Simple yet very easy to maintain and effective. I've had 3 camper trailers in my travels and they are heavy, slow to set up and cost a hell of a lot more than the basic trailer set up...which can also be converted back to trailer quite easily if designed correctly.
AnswerID: 649604

Follow Up By: Member - Mark B68 - Saturday, Sep 26, 2026 at 08:32

Saturday, Sep 26, 2026 at 08:32
I dont suppose ya got pics ??

FollowupID: 931440

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Saturday, Sep 26, 2026 at 09:12

Saturday, Sep 26, 2026 at 09:12
Nah..Sorry mate. It was easy to make if you can use a pop riveter, electric saw and socket set. 12 volt electrics were a breeze and unlike the commercially available units you can keep it simple and cheap whilst building a good unit to suit your needs. Best thing was only having to get into a tent less than a meter off the ground!
FollowupID: 931447

Reply By: Member - McLaren3030 - Saturday, Sep 26, 2026 at 07:52

Saturday, Sep 26, 2026 at 07:52
Hi Mark B68,

What is your budget?

Are you looking for something new or secondhand?

Do you want a complete camping set up, or just a bare trailer that you want to fit out yourself?

How wide is your RTT?

If you put your RTT on top of a trailer, it needs to be on some sort of hinge arrangement so that you can lift it to access what is in the trailer, or on a rack above the trailer which means you still need a ladder to access it, albeit a shorter ladder.

There are a number of trailer companies that build off road trailers suitable for a camping set up. Tradesmen Trailers is one that I have seen advertised. They are located in Pakenham, South East of Melbourne. They will build custom trailers. I cannot speak to their quality, but the do look pretty good.

Macca.
Macca.

AnswerID: 649605

Follow Up By: Member - Mark B68 - Saturday, Sep 26, 2026 at 08:34

Saturday, Sep 26, 2026 at 08:34
As stated at start we have RTT on DMAX just want to put on a Trailer with suitable options...

Looking at cost to do and what is involved...

FollowupID: 931441

Follow Up By: Member - McLaren3030 - Sunday, Sep 27, 2026 at 07:21

Sunday, Sep 27, 2026 at 07:21
Mark B68,

You ask for information, but you have not answered questions in order to help give you that information.

What is your budget? —- So that we know what sort of money you are willing to spend on a trailer.

Are you looking for something new or secondhand? —- Self explanatory.

Do you want a complete camping set up, or just a bare trailer that you want to fit out yourself? —- There are purpose built camping trailers on various online camping and caravan sales platforms both new and secondhand that might be ideal for you to mount your RTT on top of.

How wide is your RTT? —- In order to recommend an appropriate sized trailer. There may be better options than the size you have stated.

Macca.

Macca.

FollowupID: 931454

Follow Up By: Member - Mark B68 - Sunday, Sep 27, 2026 at 07:31

Sunday, Sep 27, 2026 at 07:31
Budget under 20K but depends what is on offer .. not the price of a caravan.

New if can can move RTT to trailer conversion or second hand if something is available and suitable.....

So many options with trailer camping.....

All self Explanatory really....

FollowupID: 931456

Follow Up By: Stephen L (Clare) SA - Sunday, Sep 27, 2026 at 08:13

Sunday, Sep 27, 2026 at 08:13
Mark you can get older, very reliable Ultimate Campers well within your price range without all the bells and whistles of the new ones
Who has been here

FollowupID: 931457

Follow Up By: Member - Mark B68 - Sunday, Sep 27, 2026 at 08:26

Sunday, Sep 27, 2026 at 08:26
Ultimate seem to be the way to go but getting away from using the RTT :-(

FollowupID: 931458

Follow Up By: Member - Mark B68 - Sunday, Sep 27, 2026 at 10:01

Sunday, Sep 27, 2026 at 10:01
Some of these look to be 'In Scope'

Not too sure what the canvas would be like 2006 ?? would need to fit DO35 and get electronic braking wired into DMAX.

Ultimate Vans Queensland

Would have to keep checking wheel nuts to make sure we don't loose a wheel like some :-)

FollowupID: 931460

Follow Up By: Stephen L (Clare) SA - Sunday, Sep 27, 2026 at 15:42

Sunday, Sep 27, 2026 at 15:42
Looks a good unit Mark and bet you would be able to pick it up for $30k
Who has been here

FollowupID: 931469

Reply By: Stephen L (Clare) SA - Saturday, Sep 26, 2026 at 08:01

Saturday, Sep 26, 2026 at 08:01
Mark why did you make the silly comment regarding Ultimate Campers “ Ultimate Trailers seems to be for big rigs ??”

Please do more research, they are so light, you do not known you are even towing it.

Of the suggestions above, how many of them have the following….

King Size Bed

Full kitchen inside

Comfortable lounge

100% Australian Made in New South Wales

More importantly, the only limiting factor of Ultimate Campers is the drivers ability.

Your DMax will tow it with absolute ease and there are many older ones available for under $20k

Now you will ask why have I said this, we have had our Ultimate for over 12 years and it has been everywhere and for the last 4 years has been towed by our Isuzu DMax.
Who has been here

AnswerID: 649606

Follow Up By: Member - Mark B68 - Saturday, Sep 26, 2026 at 08:37

Saturday, Sep 26, 2026 at 08:37
I did a search for ultimate Track and got a link to some trailer builds for Semis...

Obviously wrong link...

FollowupID: 931442

Follow Up By: Stephen L (Clare) SA - Saturday, Sep 26, 2026 at 09:12

Saturday, Sep 26, 2026 at 09:12
Mark, Ultimate and Track are 2 very different units.

As an example on one of our trips, we had a good dump of rain overnight and it was still raining in the morning when we were at Cloncurry.

It was not cold, so we had the door open and we were sitting inside on the lounge and had toast on when a chap walked past with an umbrella.

He stopped and we chatted and he said, I wish his camper had inside cooking, as his was outside like many do and was getting wet boiling the kettle and cooking

You can see what they look like in my profile photo, alongside our Isuzu
Who has been here

FollowupID: 931446

Follow Up By: Member - Mark B68 - Saturday, Sep 26, 2026 at 09:16

Saturday, Sep 26, 2026 at 09:16
Looking at Ultimate Campers Explore GT from Website...

XPLOR GT

FollowupID: 931448

Reply By: Member - shane r1 - Saturday, Sep 26, 2026 at 09:03

Saturday, Sep 26, 2026 at 09:03
We have a Jackson carry me camper (JCMC) . I know they are expensive but so good! Previously used a RTT and same as you weren’t liking the ladder climbing.
Recently spent a bit over 3 months in WA , Kimberley etc. . So quick and easy to set up pack down . No towing! We travel fairly light , simple things like 12 volt shower in a bucket just heat the kettle and 2 of us use less than 10 L of water.
Link JCMC
AnswerID: 649607

Follow Up By: Member - Mark B68 - Saturday, Sep 26, 2026 at 09:08

Saturday, Sep 26, 2026 at 09:08
The Norweld canopy is Excellent for what we want to do so dont think will change that just getting the up/down the ladder bit sorted....

Problen with putting RTT on Trailer would be Suspension, Dust and rocks?

FollowupID: 931445

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Monday, Sep 28, 2026 at 06:40

Monday, Sep 28, 2026 at 06:40
I had my RTT on the trailer for 4 years and mainly off road use. Suspension will handle the weight easily. Never had a rock or dust issues at all. The lid on the trailer had a 8mm neoprene rubber type gasket to keep dust out of contents in trailer (same as on tailgate).
FollowupID: 931472

Reply By: Batt's - Saturday, Sep 26, 2026 at 15:22

Saturday, Sep 26, 2026 at 15:22
What about a 2nd hand Trayon slide on camper no towing required.
AnswerID: 649608

Reply By: Member - nick boab - Saturday, Sep 26, 2026 at 21:45

Saturday, Sep 26, 2026 at 21:45
Hi Mark
From what you are describing sounds much like the old style fold out soft floor camper trailer but with a rooftop tent on top rather than the fold out .

We have a Sar major camper trailer that are built in South Australia , that we purchased in 2012 very basic but unbelievably reliable. Live axle and leaf springs that has not let us down in all epic adventures over many years
It's about 4ft plus x 6ft inside . We paid $6,500 for it for basic trailer and canvas tent top in 2012. Have made a few modifications to it over the years.
It's a cheap way to get into something that doesn't cost a lot of money and this style of camper might suit your needs .

Cheers Nick

AnswerID: 649610

Follow Up By: Member - Mark B68 - Sunday, Sep 27, 2026 at 07:14

Sunday, Sep 27, 2026 at 07:14
Any Pics? Where have you been with it.......

FollowupID: 931452

Follow Up By: Member - Mark B68 - Sunday, Sep 27, 2026 at 07:26

Sunday, Sep 27, 2026 at 07:26
Looked at website and for sale items but cant see any decent pics?

FollowupID: 931455

Follow Up By: Member - nick boab - Sunday, Sep 27, 2026 at 09:53

Sunday, Sep 27, 2026 at 09:53
Mark, I couldn't find any good photos online just the video on their website but that was just to give you an idea of using a basic camper trailer .

trips we have done in this camper include three times on the Gibb including kalumburu and Mitchell plateau Cape York limmen np tanami Birdsville Oodnadatta etc , you may be able to see some on my profile page .

Cheers Nick

FollowupID: 931459

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Sunday, Sep 27, 2026 at 10:48

Sunday, Sep 27, 2026 at 10:48
Observations/suggestions..... :)
Nice looking trailer.... but.....
Those springs appear to be either overloaded or due for replacement. Look at the hanger angles.
If a BIG bump was encountered, the hangers would hit their limits and there would be a significant risk of breaking a top leaf eye off. And I like longer hangers personally.
No dampers?
No bump stops?
OKA196 motorhome
FollowupID: 931463

Follow Up By: Member - nick boab - Sunday, Sep 27, 2026 at 11:47

Sunday, Sep 27, 2026 at 11:47
Cheers Peter, agree with that , original from 2012 . I can see where the shackles have been hitting when they bottom out . But they have done some work over the years of out back travel. The basic trailer has been very reliable w no cracks or brakes, except shackle nut coming off once .
At the moment the trailer is full up of red wood for our week camping on the river .
Cheers Nick

FollowupID: 931464

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Sunday, Sep 27, 2026 at 12:30

Sunday, Sep 27, 2026 at 12:30
Bit off topic now????
"I can see where the shackles have been hitting when they bottom out."
That is why I would prefer longer shackles, then the springs can be flattened completely (and be at their longest length) without the shackles bottoming out.......BUT it is then possible that they can go inside-out on the rebound and solution to that is bump stops that also act as the last stage of the suspension.
OKA196 motorhome
FollowupID: 931467

Reply By: grunf - Sunday, Sep 27, 2026 at 08:35

Sunday, Sep 27, 2026 at 08:35

I got this. Stupid and simple, but bulletproof concept. No ladder needed, step on mudguards to get in from the sides. Storage can be open with tent fully opened, so can the front box.
Trailer on rebound leaf springs. Lid and tailgate sealed with rubber seals, very minimal dust on lengthy corrugated roads.

Over the years I had number of different setups, camping is my second life. If any information needed please reach out.

AnswerID: 649611

Follow Up By: Member - Mark B68 - Sunday, Sep 27, 2026 at 10:12

Sunday, Sep 27, 2026 at 10:12
Cant see images......

Would it work out to the same cost as some of these ??

FollowupID: 931461

Follow Up By: grunf - Sunday, Sep 27, 2026 at 10:24

Sunday, Sep 27, 2026 at 10:24
No sure why you can't see images. I confirmed that other people can. Maybe try using different device, like mobile phone without logging in etc.
My setup costed me way under $10k and thats including tent (all you can see in photos).

Based on what you described in opening thread, this is exactly something what you are after.
FollowupID: 931462

Follow Up By: Member - Mark B68 - Sunday, Sep 27, 2026 at 12:03

Sunday, Sep 27, 2026 at 12:03
Images work fine on phone just not on PC/Chrome or Edge ? Weird

FollowupID: 931465

Follow Up By: grunf - Sunday, Sep 27, 2026 at 15:47

Sunday, Sep 27, 2026 at 15:47
So is this kind of setup something you had in mind?
FollowupID: 931470

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Monday, Sep 28, 2026 at 06:43

Monday, Sep 28, 2026 at 06:43
Similar set up to mine. Well under hald the price of those in the photos. My trailer was 8 foot. This one looks a bit smaller. The extra distance allowed me to carry some gear on the lid if needed. This looks like a great setup. Simple and cheap.
FollowupID: 931473

Follow Up By: Member - Mark B68 - Monday, Sep 28, 2026 at 06:58

Monday, Sep 28, 2026 at 06:58
That trailer would do the trick I guess... plenty of storage as well....

What was the cost? Is it for sale ?

FollowupID: 931474

Follow Up By: grunf - Monday, Sep 28, 2026 at 22:18

Monday, Sep 28, 2026 at 22:18
I would consider selling it for the reasonable price. Send me an email to grunflovac@gmail.com if interested as I cant send you message here (Im not a paid member).
FollowupID: 931476

Reply By: Member - McLaren3030 - Monday, Sep 28, 2026 at 07:32

Monday, Sep 28, 2026 at 07:32
Hi Mark,

This might just be what you are looking for, not sure of the price, as the website didn’t have any prices listed. The company is called Land Force Defence and Mobility Trailers, I tried to get the link to copy but I couldn’t make it work. If Google landforcedefence.com The one I thought might work for you is the CS-4.1 Reconnaissance Support Trailer. There are various configurations. See photos.

The company manufacturers in Brisbane, Steel chassis, aluminium body. It looks like you should be able to mount your RTT onto it. You would still need a ladder, albeit a much shorter one.

Macca.
Macca.

AnswerID: 649612

Follow Up By: Member - Mark B68 - Monday, Sep 28, 2026 at 11:24

Monday, Sep 28, 2026 at 11:24
Bit over the top unless wrong link :-)

Offroad trailers

FollowupID: 931475

Follow Up By: Member - McLaren3030 - Tuesday, Sep 29, 2026 at 07:41

Tuesday, Sep 29, 2026 at 07:41
That is the company, but it is a different page to the one I went to. The Tactical Support Trailer is the one in the photos I copied into my last response.

Macca.
Macca.

FollowupID: 931477

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Monday, Sep 28, 2026 at 09:38

Monday, Sep 28, 2026 at 09:38
I like this (with appropriate wheels, axle and springs) :)
Polymate trailers
OKA196 motorhome
AnswerID: 649613

Follow Up By: Member - McLaren3030 - Tuesday, Sep 29, 2026 at 07:45

Tuesday, Sep 29, 2026 at 07:45
Hi Pete,

Might be a bit too light, add states “On Road Trailer”.

Macca.
Macca.

FollowupID: 931478

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Tuesday, Sep 29, 2026 at 08:20

Tuesday, Sep 29, 2026 at 08:20
Easily fixed, I reckon. :)
OKA196 motorhome
FollowupID: 931479

Reply By: Gbc.. - Tuesday, Sep 29, 2026 at 08:41

Tuesday, Sep 29, 2026 at 08:41
Personally I'd be looking at changing the canopy to a walk up style and carry on without towing. I don't miss towing.

Tong Boxes on brisbane North side do them similar to the one in the link.

https://tongmetal.com.au/slide-on-camper/

https://www.mwmanufacturingsa.com.au/todays-specal/x-vc/canopies/demo-camping-canopy/

You'll get good $$ for your canopy and tent setup too, so changeover won't be too steep.
AnswerID: 649614

Follow Up By: Member - Mark B68 - Tuesday, Sep 29, 2026 at 09:24

Tuesday, Sep 29, 2026 at 09:24
Very Happy with Norweld setup.

FollowupID: 931480