GU 4800 TO replace my gq

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 17:55
ThreadID: 15477 Views:1863 Replies:8 FollowUps:11
Hi guys ,I saw a gu 4800 in the auction .It has 35000,ks on it ,its manual,2002.what i would like to know is what kind of money should i pay out for this,also has anyone on this forum owned one , and what are the genral comments regarding these wagon.I currently own a petrol 4.2 efi.Im not worried about petrol as this is what suits me
...the school bus,still gets us there

Reply By: Dave - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 19:05

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 19:05
Hi Uppy,
if the GU is in good condition I would say a fair price at auction would be about $43000 to $45000. The 4800 gets a good review but through desert sand it will suck fuel, but as you say this is not a worry!!??

If it suits your needs go for it!

cheers,

Dave.
AnswerID: 72170

Follow Up By: Uppy - Member - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 22:01

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 22:01
Hi Dave thanks for the reply .At the moment it is alittle out off my price range.Im not worried about about the cost of petrol as Ive had a petrol patrol for years and before that i had a desiel gq so i know what i want.My desiel patrol also sucked the fuel in sand ,it was non turbo
regards uppy

FollowupID: 332408

Reply By: Frank R - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 19:16

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 19:16
G'day Uppy
If you live in Sydney, at Pickles Auction in Belmore last week there was a 2003 TI with 27600kms in immaculate cond which was passed in at $44,000. I know it did'nt sell and it was still there earlier this week.
AnswerID: 72171

Follow Up By: Uppy - Member - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 22:05

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 22:05
Hi FrankR I would love to buy a Ti ,but its out of my price range .I will wait a while
regards uppy

FollowupID: 332409

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 20:08

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 20:08
THIRSTY AS HELL... One magazine (not that I believe it), stated they got 54ltrs/100klms in a test they did in Deep sand work.

Ask Robin on the Patrol4wd forum, he has a lightweight 4.8 GU...
AnswerID: 72182

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 20:51

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 20:51
whats a lightweight 4.8?

FollowupID: 332393

Follow Up By: Uppy - Member - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 22:15

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 22:15
Hi Truckster,I wouldnt believe also .my gq sucks it in sand as would any wagon.As i say i prefer a petrol wagon .I believe it got a 4x4 award last year.I will replace the gq with a 4800 as soon as i can.Have you sold your ti gq?
regards uppy

FollowupID: 332413

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 22:33

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 22:33
Not sellin mine...

Remember BMW X5 also got 4wd of yr.
FollowupID: 332417

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 23:25

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 23:25
Hey Truckster, how many actual DEEP SAND k's have you travelled this year?
FollowupID: 332431

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 09:31

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 09:31
Does Robe count?
FollowupID: 332460

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 10:41

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 10:41
Also if you plan desert tripping, you need economy... you dont want to be Willem with 200 Jerrys on the trailer.
FollowupID: 332479

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 13:42

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 13:42
Truckster, probably not, but in a worst case scenario you'd still be looking at a total investment of maybe $30 worth of fuel for the beach run. Still leaves a bit of change from $10,000.

I'm not having a go at you, it's just a theory and practice thing in alot of cases. Each to his own I say. As long as you're gettin' out there, who cares?
FollowupID: 332509

Reply By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 20:15

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 20:15
Uppy, Redbook lists private sales of GU 4.8 as $38,600 to $44,000. Here'e the link

http://www.redbook.com.au/Vehiclesearch/price.asp?key=NISS02BB

Let us know how you go as I'm thinking of replacing my GU 4.5 soon with an '02 4.8 GU. My 4.5 has covered 160,000 faultless km's so far and feels like it's just run in. The GU's are a great vehicle I reckon.

And don't worry about the diesel zealots mate, there's nothing wrong with a petrol engine. Anyone who gets that worked up over fuel costs should probably be riding a bicycle or horse anyway. As you say, what ever suits you is all that matters.
AnswerID: 72185

Follow Up By: Uppy - Member - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 22:25

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 22:25
Hi v8 ,Yep Im not worried about the zealots.I prefer to do my own thing i do find this forum a bit bias when it comes to fuel.Ive read the answers to my question,and i well need to wait awhile until i can afford a 4800.My gq as just done 160,000 ks and is still going great.Keep in touch as its nice to know other people like petrol patrols
regards uppy

FollowupID: 332416

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 23:20

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 23:20
Yeah, many of the advantages diesels used to have are no longer relevant in my opinion now they've become turbocharged, intercooled, electronically injected, multivalved, alloy, overstressed rice burners. May as well have bucket loads of power and smooth running with a pocket full of cash left over for fuel and accessories. Diesel's require twice as many services for at least three years if you want to keep your warranty too.

I've got a diesel as well for the real hairy stuff, but it is a large displacement, cast iron, pushrod, mechanically injected, lazy lump with a mountain of torque from idle and a Detroit Locker. It doesn't matter if goes for a swim or hits something hard, however there's no way I'd want to spend more than an hour or two at the helm. The diesel argument is perfectly valid for something like a HZJ motor or a 4.2D, but it starts to get blurry from there on I reckon.
FollowupID: 332430

Reply By: GeroBoof - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 21:05

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 21:05
Hi Uppy
I bought a 01 DX 4.2L Turbo desiel with 53000 at auction in perth for $37000 in june this year and could not be happier
Dont know if this helps you at all
Just my 5c worth

Get out and get dirty
Gero Boof
AnswerID: 72197

Reply By: Martyn (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 22:21

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 22:21
Uppy,
Mate bought a 4.8 two weeks, 2003 around 41K I think, normal to just a tad over average klms, stock, no bull bar no tow hitch if you get the idea, he worked hard and got the deal through on the last day of the month when traders are keen to get the stock off the forecourt. Nice motor, very nippy (at a cost), he loves the tiptronic gear change, he's not sure how long he'll keep his license at this time. It's a nice bus, unmarked etc, the tyres look like they'll be due for a change soon.
Keep the shiny side up

AnswerID: 72212

Reply By: sean - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 14:47

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 14:47
Guys

I reckon if you drove the modern petrol with such a light foot that it mimicked the gutless performance of the older indirect injection diesels then you would get just as good economy.

A mate has the new V8 cruiser and gets 8.5 km/l at 90kph and he can do 180 if he is feeling stupid. Show me a diesel with the same performance.

JMHO

Sean

AnswerID: 72296

Reply By: LPGPete - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 15:44

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 15:44
G'day All,

A most interesting range of considerations.

I'm new to all of this but have been watching from afar - and trying to take it all in both here and on the caravanners forum - because have placed an order for a 25 footer van (managed to negotiate a new one (for delivery Q205) for the cost to me of a 9 months old second hand one from Melbourne - I'm in Sydney). As my 235Kw/460Nm 5.7L car wasn't really designed to pull 2-2.5T, I started to look for something to pull it with - and there's 10,000+ 4WDs to choose from at www.autotrader.com.au - and I found an 8/99 Patrol GU Ti at 88K Km in as nearly to new condition with a clean NRMA check, so I couldn't pass it up. But could I afford to "run" it after reading about petrol gusling 4WDs? Advice indicated that conversion to LPG would reduce fuel costs by about 40% Vs ULP, with little loss of power, but also having the "dual fuel" option, a press of a button to switch to petrol and more power straight away. But "outback" a 37L sub petrol tank might give only a range of 100Km or so with a van in tow - so for an extra $600 it could be replaced with a 75L tank - and along with a 92L LPG tank, it was all "underneath" and the LPG would pay for itself in about $28K Km of straight driving or about 17K Km of van driving.

I "did" it and now have an extra toy to play with on weekends while I wait for delivery of the van.

I have been pleased to find in the last number of days that I have a "soul mates" in Sally & Mick from Adelaide who are at this very moment pulling a 21Ft van with an LPG converted GU of the same age and are presently in Port Headland on Day 49 via Uluru, Alice, Darwin, Katherine, Derby, Broome etc. - and they have a simply "awesome" web site at www.justcruisin.bigpondhosting.com which has full daily details plus travel cost/fuel summary. They have only a couple of times had to revert to petrol and have averaged 3.3Km/L of LPG with van where unladen it's 4.0 or so.

It's really worth a look and they are to be heartily congratulated by us who may follow in their footsteps.

Have a safe one.
LPGPete
AnswerID: 72302