Feeling Ripped Off Again.

Submitted: Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 17:26
ThreadID: 15503 Views:2047 Replies:21 FollowUps:5
Fuel has been quietly creeping up for some months now and is holding it seems around the dollar per litre mark.
Diesel is dearer than ulp by a few cents per litre and averaged around $1.02 in Melbourne today.
A question to the 700 current users what are you paying in your State at the moment.
Any possibility of the world starting to run out of oil and will hit $3 per litre in three years or the media trying to sell more papers.
The only fuel they havn't put through the roof and left alone is lpg which is below a third of the other two at 32 cents.
Just my grizzle for the day.
Cheers mark

Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 18:00

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 18:00
$3 a litre! Think I'll hang on to my dual fuel ute for a bit longer. It may even increase in value. yAHOOOO.
AnswerID: 72322

Reply By: Steve - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 18:11

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 18:11
Randwick nsw 1.09/lt, not as bad as the UK, 81p/lt thats 2.07/lt on todays exchange rate.
fill up would cost me 155lt x 2.07 = $320.00
swmbo would have a fit!!!
AnswerID: 72323

Reply By: mr diamond - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 18:13

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 18:13
$1.04 a litre in bendigo today.
lpg 36.9 ill stick with the duel fuel.
AnswerID: 72326

Reply By: SantaAus - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 18:50

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 18:50
In 1998 a few studies were printed stating that with our current usage, oil reserves will run out in 2025. thats not very long when you look at it. And I'm in Rockhampton Queensland, still below the $1 mark, 84.9 Petrol & 94.9 Desiel.
AnswerID: 72337

Follow Up By: Austravel - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 13:26

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 13:26
True, but now it's been revised and the down turn will be in the next decade plus or minus a few years. There is a good article on the plainum web site about the last drops of oil. Turns out we are in for a bit shock in the next decade or two.
FollowupID: 332647

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 19:20

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 19:20
$1.10 for petrol
99c for diesel... :D
AnswerID: 72340

Reply By: Crocbit (NT) - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 19:31

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 19:31
Darwin ULP 1.07 - 1.08, diesel 1.07, gas 55.0 ( out of town maybe 1.20+ per litre) but we have been high for 12 months or more...
AnswerID: 72343

Reply By: Member - sparra - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 19:35

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 19:35
here at useless loop[shark bay w.a.] diesel is $1.18 a litre and petrol $1.15. cheers sparra.
no good being the richest man in the cemetry

AnswerID: 72346

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 19:38

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 19:38
32.9 for lpg today. How can i cope?
AnswerID: 72349

Reply By: ev700 - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 19:44

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 19:44
The Tax is 47%
Thanks to Howard and Costello.

But the oil companies are gouging diesel users by equating the price with petrol.
AnswerID: 72352

Reply By: Member - Michael- Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 20:43

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 20:43
Diesel in Perth I've found to vary between $1.04 & $1.09/L Petrol around $0.98c/L. Why is diesel dearer than petrol? It is easier to refine and therefore should be cheaper. Again it's the oil companies dictating the rules not the govt (Labour or Liberal neither have b*lls to stand up to the large multinationals)
May the fleas of a thousand afghan camels infect the crutch of your enemy and may their arms be too short to scratch.

AnswerID: 72374

Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 21:00

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 21:00
The diesel went up as soon as the emission laws changed, so the consumer gets to pay for oil companies that have to put in infrastructure to provide us with low sulphur diesel.

A new marketing stratergy, and new cost, a new way to put up the price.
AnswerID: 72379

Reply By: Moneypit - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 21:21

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 21:21
1.16 per litre in Karratha [1.12 with a Coles Express Voucher]

1.40 per litre at Nanutarra

Anyone travelling Carnarvon to Karratha the fuel is markedly cheaper at both Fortescue [100K's south of Karratha] and Minilya [150 K's north of Carnarvon]

1.40 is over the top and the place is nothing special believe me.

And don't anyone get on the high horse about remote location, hard to staff, poor cash flow. Same issues confront the other two and Billabong, Overlander Pardoo and Sandfire but they always end up lots lower that this place,

Its as close as you can get to robbery without breaking the law.

25 years of moving through the NW its always been the same. Filled up there once and make a point of never doing it ever again.

AnswerID: 72388

Follow Up By: motherhen - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 23:07

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 23:07
Good on Minilya - a few years ago they were about the dearest on the NW run
FollowupID: 332585

Follow Up By: Member - sparra - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 08:10

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 08:10
your dead right moneypit,i never fuel up at nanutara either for that reason as well .used to be able to camp overnight at the river but they stopped that so people would have to use their camp grounds and pay for it. cheers sparra
no good being the richest man in the cemetry

FollowupID: 332609

Reply By: motherhen - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 23:10

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 23:10
Ethanol is a fully renewal source - just made from plant materials - why is it's production "blocked" - coz the oil companies what to get every last $ from us?
AnswerID: 72402

Follow Up By: Member - Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 01:33

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 01:33
You've got something there motherhen

I seem to recall that higher production costs were a factor in the consideration of Ethanol as a viable alternative.

But petrol, at $3.00 per litre may just change all that.

Now how do we get the production to be controlled by Farmers instead of the bl--dy Oil Companies? :)

FollowupID: 332598

Reply By: Utemad - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 13:13

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 13:13
Brisbane.

ULP 89.9c
Diesel 100.9c

Utemad
AnswerID: 72449

Reply By: Member - John C (QLD) - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 14:24

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 14:24
You could win an election just on promising the Australian public a full enquiry into how the oil companies are screwing us.
AnswerID: 72462

Reply By: ianmc - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 15:28

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 15:28
Yukos oil in Russia is one of the worlds largest producers as is Iraq!
Both are history atm with Yukos not producing & Russian govt waiting to bankrupt it then take it over & get it running again no doubt.
Iraq not producing due to terrorists bombing the pipelines continuosly.
Israel has huge oil field yet to produce takes a few years to get up & running,
so seems to depend on all these things happening & all may be OK one day, but when??
Also nothing said about the Falklands Is. Seems the war may have been about oil
as its got out that there is a huge field over there too!
In the meantime, suffer a bit little children!
AnswerID: 72469

Follow Up By: marcus - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 17:09

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 17:09
Thanks ianmc,
What about Australia don't we have interests plugged off in Bass strait or Timor or am i wrong.
cheers Mark
FollowupID: 332668

Reply By: stitch - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 01:59

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 01:59
Does anyone know much about this bio-diesel stuff???? Apparantly it is made from canola oil and other ingredients, all non refined products that can be grown.
AnswerID: 72574

Reply By: ianmc - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 12:32

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 12:32
There were plugged wells in the Otways years ago when the Govt used to do mineral survey drilling. Dont know whether they still do it.
From what I can gather the biodiesel users seem to mix it with pump diesel
anyway & a lot of stuffing around to make it. Less power but sweet running but
a risk of waxing/clogging in the winter. Correct me if I'm wrong.
Isnt one of the major Sth Amer countries using either ethanol or methanol
in a big way.
What about the patented Pogue carb which was said to give 200-300mpg on a vapour petrol. One web site on inventions said that it is enshrined in legislation (in the US of course) that our motors shall run on a 15 to 1 air fuel ratio. If you run
your vehicle with an alternative system your insurance is probably void & the police may put you off the road as no doubt it wouldnt comply with ADR or US design rules.
Until we are held to ransom & the whole transport/food chain etc grinds to a halt
we are very vulnerable in EVERY way because of this issue, at least until the
untapped fields get on stream or govts get out of the pockets of BIG OIL.
A search will show the Pogue Carb and a look at the Aussie "Joe Feul Cell" may
interest some!
AnswerID: 72594

Reply By: Member - Camper (SA) - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 20:12

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 20:12
I got ulp at 97.9 at a Woolies outlet today in Adelaide, but some are at $1.09
Camper
AnswerID: 72629

Reply By: navaraman - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 20:31

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 20:31
$1-09 for diesel in Adelaide. My fuel bill is about $350 a month, no wonder I ain't making any money.
AnswerID: 72630

Reply By: Oz Trekker - Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 09:35

Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 09:35
G'day Marcus,

I do not believe we are hearing the 'full story' in relation to global oil reserves.

Fair enough, the known stocks of the 'good stuff' (light crude) are definitely being depleted at a fast rate, but there are still vast stocks of heavier crude that up until now have been left alone. This is mainly due to the refining costs compared to light crude. As technology advances, it is quite probable that the heavy crude will be refined at a similar cost to light crude.

Jeff
AnswerID: 72663