F 250 Manual 7.3L Diesel

Submitted: Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 18:38
ThreadID: 15540 Views:4243 Replies:7 FollowUps:18
I am thinking of buying one of these big mothers. Has anyone any feedback on them.

Reply By: pjd - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 18:47

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 18:47
why do you need one
AnswerID: 72509

Follow Up By: Salmon - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 18:49

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 18:49
Comfort on a long haul, ease of pulling a large van, the extra power.
FollowupID: 332685

Follow Up By: Member - Bob - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 08:35

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 08:35
Bugger 'need', I 'want' one.
FollowupID: 332745

Reply By: pjd - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 19:10

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 19:10
if you dont plan to do any real 4wdriving & need something that big & can afford one then i supose its your only option
AnswerID: 72510

Reply By: Utemad - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 19:41

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 19:41
My work has 2 XLT 4wd dual cabs. They are Auto though. Manual only in single cab I think.

I personally wouldn't waste my money on one. They are VERY susceptible to dirty fuel and have a filter in the tank so you cannot clean it without removing the tank.
Too big to take anywhere fun except the beach (where they really are awesome, don't know if manual would be as good though).

Gets about 550km to tank around town and 900km on highway.

Build quality is not too flash. we have had lots of small things go wrong with them. You need to put your foot on the brake pedal to take it out of park, but one day out on a very large worksite the brake light switch failed and it wouldn't go out of park. not your normal switch either so had to be towed away.

If you need to tow big heavy stuff with ease then it is only option but don't be thinking you will get to all the offroad destinations as some places just won't accomodate their bulk.

I could go on forever if you like so if you want to know anything more just ask me.

They do have a lot of good points but for the cost and reliability I wouldn't buy one.

Utemad
AnswerID: 72518

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 22:20

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 22:20
Dirty fuel - very correct...

The bloke that did my injectors, told of many 100's PER injector.. cant remember how much, it was all up in the thousandS.
FollowupID: 332714

Follow Up By: Salmon - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 23:09

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 23:09
I am looking at the manual XLT single cab/Chassis, so figured bulk is not too bad. I am in the West where farmers are buying a lot of them. In fact they are getting hard to buy. Re dirty fuel. Can you put another more accessable filter in them.
FollowupID: 332730

Follow Up By: Salmon - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 23:21

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 23:21
I just found a note you wrote to Cliff and it appears then that apart from the dirty fuel you were not against them. Have you changed your mind.
FollowupID: 332732

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce (San Diego) - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 01:54

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 01:54
FYI

All auto cars and trucks in the USA require that you have your foot on the brake while engaging drive.

Highway safety over here recons it saves thousands of accidents every year, and I have to agree with them.

Bruce
FollowupID: 332740

Follow Up By: Utemad - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 09:46

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 09:46
I remember talking to someone about them but as to whether I am against them or not is up to what you want to use it for. I mean for a big comfy truck that does a lot of towing and highway work they are fantastic. On the beach they have no competition. I can also assure you they will carry 1 tonne or tow with ease. However if you want to do any 4wding that sees you folding a Patrol or Landcruisers mirrors in then it just isn't going to happen. Well we have actually taken them down some tight tracks but some we have had to reverse all the way out and the sides get very scratched. Although the paints must be quite thick as you can cut and polish them quite well. Most scratches have been removed this way.

I would also imagine that the reason the F250 does so well in the States is it costs ableepload less over there. We only get the XL and XLT here but over there that is the 2 base models. They also get models equiped to the likes of a Ti Patrol.

I am not against having to have your foot on the brake pedal to pull it out of park but it would be nice if the brake switch was reliable. They didn't even have one in the country so ours was replaced with a switch from another new F250.

The interior is also below par. How can a vehicle so big not have a glovebox? Sure it has a large centre console but so do most other vehicles. The dash is made of poorly cut cheap plastic.

One of our vehicles handbrake levers needs to be lifted up and down a few times if you want the light and chime to stop when you take the handbrake off. Many services but never fixed.

The airconditioning cannot keep pace with the Summer heat in Brisbane. Up North it is almost non existent. The aircon almost switches itself off when stationary but does get better once you have been moving for a little while. But not much better.

One of them arrived missing trim parts and some malformed trim parts.

They are quite softly sprung and can bottom out easily.

The headlights are so bad they border on dangerous.

You will need to get aftermarket tie down points if you want to put anything into a styleside tray. There is only one in each corner and it is a BIG tray. The rear two are also almost totally covered when a Ford tray line is installed.

A lot of these things can be fixed by either your warranty or the aftermarket. However we are still waiting on some warranty claims (pretty crap since one is August? 2003 and the other Febuary 2004 model) and the company has spent money on headlight upgrades and spotlights.

It might be possible to remove the filter in the tank (its a gauze sock type thing for coarse contaminants) and it is something we want to try however we have been told that removing the in tank filter would void the warranty. The 7.3litre also does not have a lift pump so we are dubious as to whether or not it would cope with a real 2nd filter.

If you want decent tyres as the standard Goodyears aquaplane VERY easily on wet roads then there is very little to choose from due to the 16x7 rim size and the high load rating. If you get aftermarket 16x8 rims then you can get a huge selection. In the standard size and load rating (this is for dual cabs so singles may be different as they are short and much lighter) there were 3 tyre choices 6 months ago and none were decent A/T.

Ours do spend most of their time on the highway somtimes very loaded or towing heavy trailers so we get the use out of them. However for a privately owned car that spends a lot of time in the city I would think they would not be very good at all.

Although when I go away, I see they are multiplying like rabbits in the regional areas. I would imagine they would make an excellent compromise in these areas as instead of buying a 4x4 ute and a 2wd truck you can have one that does both. This is essentially why we have them.

The USA also has the 6 litre version now which we will not see until the new F250 is released here in about 12 months. Apparently more powerful and efficient than 7.3 (as you would expect with a new engine).

It is your choice if you want to buy one. Just need to weigh up the pros and cons the same as for any purchase. But for my money I wouldn't.

Utemad

FollowupID: 332750

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 15:20

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 15:20
"On the beach they have no competition"

I'll put a zook up against this 3ton thing anyday.
FollowupID: 332778

Follow Up By: Utemad - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 15:47

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 15:47
Truckster,

You're on!!!!!!!

And 3.5 tonne empty thank you :-)

I have personally had one of these doing 80km/h on the soft sand at Double Island at high tide. 5 people 200litres of diesel extra (they are thirsty) plus gear. Yes yes I know it was stupid but I just couldn't believe it. You could stop in the soft stuff (this was summer so very dry) then take off without concern or turn around or do whatever the hell you wanted. It was as if you were driving on bitumen (25 psi in tyres).

We also had an unladen Jimny with 2 people in it that could not even stay in viewing distance let alone keep up !

I would not believe it either had I not done it myself.

Also saw another exact same F-250 loaded up AND towing 3 dirtbikes on a standard car trailer with bleep y little road wheels doing exact smae thing.

They rule on the beach.

Utemad
FollowupID: 332781

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 15:50

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 15:50
Why would you be doing 80ks at high tide to start with?

Stupid is understatement..

I'll still take a zook against it anyday for a normal pair of humans with brains driving......

BRUCE in SD.
Wifes pathy wont go into gear unless the brakes are depressed.
FollowupID: 332782

Follow Up By: Utemad - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 16:29

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 16:29
I know it was stupid. I said it was stupid.

We have already compared to various Suzuki's and it betters them.

We have physically done it.

But I am sure you will still think otherwise.

Doesn't bother me.

Utemad

FollowupID: 332790

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 20:16

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 20:16
Hey truckster, just been driving a 7.3 F250 only a couple of hours ago. Practically idles at 110kmh, no different at 140kmh. No such thing as a hill and it's quiet and smooth.

Driven plenty of zooks in the past and I reckon anyone who'd want to spend more than an hour sitting at the helm of a 1litre Suzuki.......well I'll leave that alone.

The F250 is pure delight to drive, the Suzuki is misery. Truckster, it's my 'theory and practice' argument again.

BTW, the trip we did up to the Murchison a few weeks ago saw the F truck get better than 13km/l. Lots of gravel too.

Even if the Suzuki goes better on the beach, how much time do spend on the sand compared to getting there in the first place. The Suzuki may offer a 3% advantage with the remaining 97% of time in the vehicle being slow torture.

The 'win win' solution - buy a rusty zook and tow it behind the F250.
FollowupID: 332802

Follow Up By: Utemad - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 23:37

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 23:37
Why tow the Zook?

Just throw it in the back :-)

Utemad
FollowupID: 332811

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 09:07

Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 09:07
Utemad, like your thinking mate, but you'd have to tie it down so didn't blow out ;-)

As Magilla Gorilla used to say "always keep a spare spare"
FollowupID: 332820

Reply By: 80scruiser - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 21:01

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 21:01
Hi Salmon
The 7.3L is made by Cummins and if you end up with one expect large service costs especially if you get your parts from Ford. Ford parts are in the vicinity of $85 for an air filter and $65 for an oil filter. They hold 14L of oil. You can source oil filters from truck parts outlets which will relieve the costs abit. A sub contractor of mine has just had a chip put in his and absolutely launches of the mark. If you can afford it good luck.
AnswerID: 72536

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce (San Diego) - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 01:50

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 01:50
I think you will find that the 7.3 is made by Navistar and is used extensively in the International/Navistar truck line here in the USA. The cummins is used in the Dodge range of pick ups.

There are tebs of thousands of the F250/F350 range over here as they are the most popular of the "big" pickups.

I have one friend who constantly puts over 50,000 miles on his every year and trades them in at 4 years, he's never had a major problem.

I would opt for the auto as that is a great combo for touring and towing.

Bruce
FollowupID: 332739

Reply By: Peter 2 - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 21:26

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 21:26
I've got a friend with one, auto though in a crewcab, absolutely loves it, great towing the van, another fella has one with a chip and much bigger tyres.
PM me for the contact details of the owner if you want.
AnswerID: 72541

Follow Up By: Salmon - Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 12:56

Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 12:56

Thanks. yes I would like his contact details.
Barrie
FollowupID: 332893

Follow Up By: Peter 2 - Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 18:23

Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 18:23
email me direct for contact details
FollowupID: 332943

Reply By: Salmon - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 12:02

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 12:02
Yes please. I would like a contact..
Thanks.
AnswerID: 72589

Reply By: 03stgu - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 14:02

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 14:02
I think these trucks are great, but a person i know ho is in telstra told me they had purchased 10 trucks f250 for there maintanance divison the first truck they had a tool box tray built, what would be going on the rest of the trucks same thing you see all the patrol ute have (telstra ). After building the first truck and fitting tray they filled truck with fuel and had it weighed they found truck to be over weight over front axle . Ford lost contract with the trucks, back to patrol ute(Hows that grab you.)
AnswerID: 72607

Follow Up By: Utemad - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 14:07

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 14:07
Seen the new F-550 fire trucks? (Qld)

Utemad
FollowupID: 332771