Forum Stuff

Submitted: Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 19:43
ThreadID: 15543 Views:2534 Replies:19 FollowUps:7
In the last week I have had 2 people visit my workshop here in Adelaide because of a question raised on this forum.

The first visit was from Alan Mac’s son, who is also the owner of a Mitsubishi Delica 4 x 4. He gave me some advice on the EGR valve.

The second visit was from a forum visitor “Mattie”, from the South East of South Australia, who wanted to know more about building his own camp trailer.

Now, I am writing this to let all know that some good things do happen as a result of this forum, such as me meeting these people personally.

What I wish to know is this..............

Now that the dust has settled, is the camaraderie going to return here, or are some of the regular posters, who are absent, going to be moderated, unless they have a 4 x 4 or related specific question?

I have suggested to other members perhaps utilizing a rolling post section, 7 days, for idle posts & chat. Has this been forwarded? Is it under consideration?

Wolfie

Reply By: Allan Mac (VIC) - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 20:01

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 20:01
Hi Ian,
Would be nice for that to happen. I myself have met some great people on here and it would be a shame that we cant pass the time of day during our quest for more information
AnswerID: 72521

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 20:08

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 20:08
Welcome back Wolfie, Sorry I wasn't around at work the other day when you called in.....
I'm not sure what your last paragraph means (don't forget I'm just a bit of a d*ck-head).
However, even though I don't know/understand what a "rolling post section, 7 days, for idle posts & chat." actually is, I doubt whether it could be added to this site until David returns.
I've tried to stay right out of this whole debacle over the past week or so.
I believe it would be a real shame if the "family" we have built up cannot be allowed to continue in a similar form to the way it used to be. Okay, so somebody putting up a post with only one letter in it (eg: "a"....and then somebody else saying "b") is a bit silly and I reckon the moderator should just delete without any comment. If the person who posted it was trying to be a smart alec then they would soon get sick of having their drivvle deleted. If it was a genuine error and somebody hit the "send" button too soon, then I'm sure that person would not mind having their error deleted.
No big deal, I would have thought.
Anyway, hope you can stick around.....I, for one, certainly value your comments and contributions.
Cya mate.
AnswerID: 72522

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 20:22

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 20:22
I must have missed something....... :-)

I don't get to post here everyday, but I do try to read the posts daily. I have visited other forums and have since stopped visiting them.... ExplorOz has, IMHO the best bunch of people on the internet. (Even if there is the odd "tosser", you get tossers everywhere!!)

Recently our club was doing a driver awareness day for another club, and there on one of the Patrols was the E.O sticker. I got talking to this guy, we immediately had common ground, apart from both loving 4bys and owning Patrols.

There is a tremendous camaraderie about this place, something sadly lacking in other forums! Let the "idle" posts and "not-4-wheel-drive-specific" posts roll on! They provide great entertainment!!!!

Just my 2c worth!!!
AnswerID: 72527

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 20:24

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 20:24
Hi Wolfie,

Good to see ya back. I for one certainly hope you stick around and hopefully the moderation will sort itself out.

AnswerID: 72528

Reply By: mr diamond - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 20:32

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 20:32
welcome back wolfie.
there are times on this forum where something dosnt suit every one and we all go of in one way or another but thats just part of the site.i did a wolfie once but it only took me a few weeks to come back.
i have met at least 1-2 dozen people from e/o and all a great bunch of people.
just remember its only a web site so dont get to stressed about it.
so come on we need a post when your bored lol.
AnswerID: 72529

Reply By: CUM800 - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 20:46

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 20:46
Gday Wolfie

Good to have you back.

I am just about over the forum thing. There are tossers and "experts" on every forum it appears and I only now read the posts which I have an interest in, which is a shame, as I am not sure what I am missing out on. Anyway hang in there as things must get better.

I am positive that there are items to which I could give assistance but the thought of being dumped on from a great height by those in the know makes me reluctant to post. I am sure there are others of the same mind, and I suppose that this will be met with the usual reply but so be it.

I still receive marvellous help, tips and ideas jsut by reading the appropriate posts.

Good luck, good health and all that goes with it.

AnswerID: 72531

Reply By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 20:59

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 20:59
Hi Wolfie,

Good to see that a smart wolf always returns to comfy den!

Someone has to test the boundries now and then. You just need to take care they are not guarded by an electric fence!

Anyhow, that should be all behind us now and we can enjoy some informative chat.

I like the idea of the chat posts that will expire after 7 days or so. To me it does not have to be a separate section. When posting a new post there could be an option for the original poster to mark a post as "Chat" or "not to go to the archives". They would just be normal posts but would disappear after a set time. Friday funnies would be a perfect example.

Many people enjoy the sprinkling of humourous and even facetious posts among the real 4x4/caravanning/exploring aust type posts. I think it keeps people interested. If it was all dry and factual it would not be as fun.

I am sure that evolution will take it's course!

In the meantime, good to see the lupis back baying at the moon!

Muddy 'doe
AnswerID: 72535

Reply By: Member - Michael- Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 21:29

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 21:29
Welcome back Wolfie, your smiling face was missed. You're going to get tossers wherever you go. I've been a member on other forums and newsgroups where instances like what happened here have occurred and the end result is distruction of the forum or newsgroup.
May the fleas of a thousand afghan camels infect the crutch of your enemy and may their arms be too short to scratch.

AnswerID: 72543

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 22:18

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 22:18
told ya the drama queen would be back!
AnswerID: 72552

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 22:50

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 22:50
He's back............must have been my call for bringing back the wolf.
AnswerID: 72558

Reply By: Tripp'n Around - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 23:09

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 23:09
Hi Wolfie

So the Wolf is back.

Being a "newbie" it was not only you but the others with your infectious friendliness and wit that got me interested in this site from the beginnning. not excluding the great info gained from it either.

I thought this was a great site to test the water and maybe become a part of.

I felt sadened by the events that occured.

Frankly in my opinion, if no one likes what someone posts, then don't read it or reply to it, simple as.

So welcome back "Wolfie" and let's all enjoy this great Forum.

Cya
Tripp'n
AnswerID: 72561

Follow Up By: Michelle from ExplorOz - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 14:29

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 14:29
Thanks Tripp'n - your comment

"if no one likes what someone posts, then don't read it or reply to it, simple as... "

is how we wish people would use the site. However in reality, it appears some people cannot help themselves and have to post to everything, which is the problem.
ExplorOz

Business Member
My Profile  My Blog

FollowupID: 332773

Reply By: Uncle Kerry - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 23:36

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 23:36
Wolfie, I can only echo the majority of the other's sentiments, Welcome back
AnswerID: 72565

Reply By: Chaba - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 23:37

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 23:37
Wolfie,

I'm also a "newbie".

I've observed many contributions over the past couple of months, and have refrained from joining and contributing up until this point, only because of the issues that I am guessing you've encountered (some goose who gets off on interfering with constructive conversation?). To be honest, I didn't observe the incident that is being refered to here.

I cheked Brian's comments in this thread and say "ditto". Some idiot will always stumble into a forum and have the urge to stir things up, but the most important thing to realise is that you and your comrades, without doubt, acknowledge that this is just a case of some idiot stumbling into a forum. I'm sure that I don't need to tell you that. You're obviously a smart guy.

Now down to business.....

How the hell do I get a snap of my rig in this thread? HELP!!

Chaba

AnswerID: 72566

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 23:54

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 23:54
First thing to do Chaba is to Join the site as a Member. Costs you $50 for 12 months.

Once registered you can access a personal Home page where you can upload your rig photo and other info. Hopefully it is a Toyota!!!

Muddy 'doe
FollowupID: 332735

Reply By: Chaba - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 00:57

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 00:57
Thanks Muddy 'Doe

Thanks for your reply.

Definitely a site worth joining. Will fish out the credit card tomorrow.

"Snap", 'tis a Toyo, and 'tis a Prado. Last of the previous shape. 2003 GXL.

We love it!!!

It's still stock, but not for long. I'm extremely lucky to have a mate who is in the business of retail and fit of 4WD accessories and solar, so I'm saving my hard earned cash to have him give her a facelift.

I'm also lucky to have a wife and two daughters who love bush camping. As a result, we've taken the Doe on a few good trips through Toolangi, Echuca, and the Grampians in VIC. We came away with plenty of duco scratches on the first trip, but it was all worth it.

Cheers again,

Chaba

AnswerID: 72571

Follow Up By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 08:25

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 08:25
Hi Chaba; Don't rush in membership is good but not necessary.
You can get membership for free if you buy ex$$$ of goods from the shop ( I think its under Rewards) also $5 for someone if you nominate them when joining.

If you like friendly people & a laugh & funny CRAP check out
Recreation4wd on Yahoo

FollowupID: 332744

Reply By: Troopy Travellers (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 06:02

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 06:02
Welcome Wolfie

I know I am fairly new and a female, lol. I have found that most people really like to just go to one posting forum and although for the tidy mind different forums for different subjects seems the answer this hasnt worked well in other groups I have been part of. I think as said by others "if the heading doesnt interest you dont go there" is good advice for those who dont like the bit of variation or socialising part of EO. Also meeting up in real life and putting faces to nics and sharing experiences doing what everyone loves makes for a more friendly group and for those of us who cant always do this the stories and pictures help us feel part of it all.

The information and suggestions in here are priceless especially for us newies to the 4WD world.

Carolyn

AnswerID: 72575

Reply By: Member - Jack - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 06:55

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 06:55
Just get over it !!!!
As a regular "Forum Looker", I can't see anything of any substance has been deleted, and Michelle mentioned the that cost of Server space was the major problem.
Looking at the number of non-members contributing to this debate, she could well have a point.
Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 72576

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 12:55

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 12:55
I could not agree more, however it is the traffic charges that are the real problem. It is great to have a place to go and chat etc however an interesting fact that most of you will not know is that every post in the forum costs us around $1.25 in terms of traffic to render within the first month. So you can see why "I'm bored" or "a......" etc has the effect of upsetting us. We have noticed an increase in these posts over the last few months and decided that these have to go.

Additionally lately we have had advertisers leave the site due to "issues with the forum". So if the advertisers go then I ask where is the revenue to come from. Michelle works very hard to secure the advertisers to help cover the costs of running the system. So when they mention issues with the forum as a reason for not renewing it increases the cost of the forum.

Over the last few weeks we have wanted to start to address the situtation as best we could and to have a vocal minority shoot down Michelle shows a complete lack of respect for the people who conceived, created and pay the bills that make this place work. This will not be tolerated. This site is managed and moderated by Michelle and David - so do not hide behind the words moderater in a dig at us. You may as well say David or Michelle.

It is also interesting to note that over the last three weeks, stats are up, membership is up and shop orders are up so it would appear that not everyone disagreed with the course of action that was and still is to be taken.

ExplorOz is a free standing business not support by a major corporation just two people who most of the time love what we do.

It is unfortunate that we cannot please everyone all the time and this is to be expected when the numbers increase. We endeavour to provide excellent resourses, friendship and a good place to spend some time. If you do not like to rules then please go elsewhere.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

FollowupID: 332763

Reply By: Puddin & Gumnut (Sydney) - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 12:37

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 12:37
A blokes bush working for a few weeks & the place goes to the dogs.:):):)
AnswerID: 72595

Reply By: ianmc - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 12:57

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 12:57
Welcome Troopy Traveller, so your fairly new & female??
Well I am fairly old & a male, what a shame! It would be nice to be fairly new again, knowing what we know now!LOL
AnswerID: 72602

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - David - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 13:28

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 13:28
Nothing has been forwared to me about a rolling post system. I am listening!

I can do it integrated into the current forum system or on the side - I only need to know how we are going to pay for it? As it stands at the moment forum costs are not being meet so before I can commit to more expense in traffic, I need to know how we as a group are going to ensure the costs are covered.

If you guys have not got the point yet the costs of the forum are the driving factor to the current issues. We can do anything here on this system we just need to have it paid for somehow. We are always happy to listen to suggestions and ideas however in the case of forum usage for chatting etc we are unable to see how we can cover the costs of doing it. Any realistic suggestions welcome!

It is very easy for people to sit on the outside and tell us what you think the system should have and how it should be run however it is much harder to try to ensure that the system will be viable and be able to be run for the longer term.

AnswerID: 72604

Follow Up By: Ian Bee - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 17:04

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 17:04
Okay. We have now all learnt that there is a definite monetary issue to consider in regards to posts on the forum.

Michelle has already outlined this, but it was also disguised as graffiti.

Dollars & cents, I’m hearing you, and there is no distortion.

Please don’t think I am also hiding behind the word “Moderator”.

I think it would be worse if I had said one of your names, as a singularity, moderator IS David & Michelle, we all know that. I do not wish to name names..... simple.

I am not grandstanding here David. This may well be my last post.

I simply have watched what has happened, and thought I would have nothing to lose in making a suggestion about rolling posts, which is what I have brought up with other members. After all, I know nothing about 4 x 4s & stuff, so all I know is ..... well..... not 4 x 4 stuff!

I do not wish to discuss the rolling post issue here with you, perhaps email may be better.
Although, now you have mentioned the $1.25 @ post, I don’t know if my idea holds merit.

I wish you both continued success in the forum.....

Thank You

Ian Bee

(Wolfie )
FollowupID: 332791

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 19:12

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 19:12
Well said wolf!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 332797

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 20:05

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 20:05
Thanks Ian,

As mentioned I am very happy to make all posts and chat facilities available it is simply that someone has to pay for it. Currently a lot of it falls back onto us. I have had no problems in covering off a lot of it however there does become a time when we need to get the house/business back inline. If we can fund it then we can do it all - simple (I thought). We have had a huge usage growth and we are trying to ensure that the system has longiviety and can stand up in the long run. If we continue to increase our costs and have less or sustained income levels then the maths are simple. Will it effect our revenue if the forum is scaled down - maybe/maybe not most of our advertisers believe that forum advertising is of less value as in a majority of cases it is read with a very high repeat readership. Hence the much higher level of non forum advertising that exists on the site.

I have seen the email about the rolling post idea however the traffic is the killer not really the server space. In some cases we have been removing threads just prior to archive. So in effect we were sort of manually doing this already.

As mentioned any ideas or suggestions are welcome we are trying to do this for everyones benifit. What is the point in the arguement if we just have to simply turn it all off due to rising costs and lack of revenue. This is not on the cards (as it takes a lot for me to crash 9 years of work) however we need to ensure that we keep moving in the right direction.

Wolfie - I have no problem with you or what you have posted in the past (except once when you told the world I would not give you a sticker). We do not even want to have to clamp down on the posts however a line needs to be drawn somewhere or the system is simply not worth running. Again if it is fundable then I have no problems in doing it.

For those that want to bag and slag us for trying to make it work or threaten us with non renewal then I believe this site is not for you. This is not directed at anyone in particular however the number of threats lately is becoming very boring - just leave if you do not like it. If you think the system here is worth trying to build with the non related posts and for want of a better word CRAP posts then please help us to work out how to fund it instead if sitting at your desks threatening & complaining about us trying to ensure that it will be running for many years.

If anyone wants to comment (off system) or supply feedback or ideas please email me directly david@exploroz.com.

FollowupID: 332800