Towing
Submitted: Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 08:05
Member - Brian (Gold Coast)
Hi all, in a couple of weeks we are heading out for a long weekend to a farm stay.... we have hired a camper trailer to test it out... my question is this... I was told ages ago that towing with a GQ 4.2 diesel won't need 5th gear and indeed can damage 5th if it used whilst towing. Anybody here can clarify either way????
Cheers peoples!!
Reply By: Yeah Mate - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 10:17
Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 10:17
Hi Brain
When the load increases it would be advisable to use 4th, as 5th gear drives through the cluster gears and is not a direct hook up on the input to main shaft so less wear on thrusts washers etc. On the cruise/float no worries.
Reply By: Banjo - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 10:41
Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 10:41
Amen - seems that 5th in a lot of fourbies should be regarded as a light duty, cruising gear only - don't ask it to take much load - so many stories have added up to this - seems the same for my Jack - but has not given me trouble to date - just a whine that is diminishing with age - I put that down to a long 'settling-in' period - a being nice to the gear box too !
Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 15:38
Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 15:38
G'day Brian
I've heard the same story and am also a tad confused. We just returned from the top towing a CT and used 5th most of the time. Maybe the Fender is lower geared in this regard as it pulls strongly in 5th from anywhere over about 70.
But then again 90 is flat out in 4th, so it may
well be the ratios are significantly different.
Follow Up By: Member - Camper (SA) - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 19:46
Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 19:46
Yes Rosco that's as maybe but Yeah Mate is right; you will be driving thro cluster gears which will shorten the life of your gearbox.
In most boxes 4th is a direct connection thro the box so the cluster gears are not working at all and all the tow load is taken by everything but the box.
A gearbox repair specialst put it this way: " they give you fifth to save you some petrol but ultimately you pay for over-using it in gearbox repairs"
Camper