Metal canopy L/cruiser trayback.

Submitted: Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 16:38
ThreadID: 15559 Views:5747 Replies:5 FollowUps:4
Looking at fitting a metal telstra style canopy/storage to the tray of our Land Cruiser trayback. Can anybody help with the name of a manufacturer/supplier in Qld or northern NSW. Thanks.

Reply By: 1 Mark - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 17:50

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 17:50
Are you refering to the type fitted to the GU Nissan,s that Telstra use ?
AnswerID: 72619

Reply By: Bros - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 18:47

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 18:47
All i have ever seen on them is XL. Try a google search for that.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 72623

Reply By: Alex Callaghan - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 20:01

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 20:01
G'day Katee,
Creative Conversions in Coopers plains, north Brisy should be able to sort out a metal canopy for ya Cruiser, they make trays and steel boxes etc . I recently had a 100series tray back conversion (chop job) done by them and they do a bloody good job and are top blokes to deal with. www.creativeconversions.com.

If you have no joy with Creative Conversions I'd suggest ya go and ask Frank from Opposite Lock in Ballina who to see about it.

XL bodys come in 3 or 4 styles and don't do custom jobs.They are made for tradesmen and the way they are made sacrifises a decent amount of departure angle. Good if you want a tradesmen tray body though.

Good luck.
AnswerID: 72628

Reply By: Katee - Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 07:56

Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 07:56
Thanks for the info guys. Looking for a lock-up canopy/body that can be bolted to the tray back and removed when not required. Would like to incorporate a 200 lt diesel tank and compartments for a generator and assorted travelling odds and ends. Accept that the telstra style is more restrictive/permanent and bolts straight to the chassis.
AnswerID: 72657

Follow Up By: Phil G - Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 10:58

Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 10:58
Katee,
Best one I've seen comes from Candy Canvas at Tintinara in South Australia, called a carry-me camper.

Its nicely made and finished. The tent on top is optional - last 4wd show, they quoted me $6,600 for the standard version with tent, and a bit over $3000 just for the basic shell. Either option, you can fit out the inside yourself. When you want to take it off, just stick the legs in, wind them up and drive the vehicle away.

FollowupID: 332824

Follow Up By: Member - Rick (S.A.) - Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 11:31

Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 11:31
G'day Phil G

Are you returned from your trip?

How did it go? How much fuel did you use - or more specifically, were there any petrols with you & what was their consumption?

C ya in the sticks - Im off to the northern Flinders for a week in early Sept.

FollowupID: 332825

Follow Up By: Phil G - Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 11:49

Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 11:49
Hi Rick,

Madigan Line is a hard trip but it was a challenge I thoroughly enjoyed. I'll hit you with a write up offline, but briefly:

All went well. TD Prado was faultless. I used 179 litres. 993km. I average 12 l/100km on the dirt tracks, and 24l/100km over the spinifex moguls on the Madigan Line.
No petrol vehicles.

Have fun in the Flinders!

FollowupID: 332826

Follow Up By: Alex Callaghan - Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 14:54

Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 14:54
Katee,
For what your looking for I would give Creative Conversions a call.
They should be able to do a custom job for you with all the bits you want incorperated.

Creative Conversions
PH:07 38810577
Brendale, QLD

FollowupID: 332833

Reply By: glenmac - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 18:13

Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 18:13
Katee

The canopies that a lot of the telstra vehicles have are called Roscoe Trade Mate.
Their website has all the styles available and they will customise them for you.

Glenmac
AnswerID: 73290