Forester Snorkel

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 13:23
ThreadID: 15575 Views:4015 Replies:5 FollowUps:4
Saw this in Brisbane today.

Looks like a good homemade one or crap factory one.

[ View Image]

Utemad

Reply By: Ian Bee - Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 13:34

Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 13:34
3 Things.......

I am so much going to make one for the Honda!

Is your car out of rego?

Is that a defect notice on your windscreem?

Wolfie
AnswerID: 72679

Follow Up By: Utemad - Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 14:06

Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 14:06
Wolfie,

Car is registered to 6/05 in Qld. Thanks for your concern though lol.

The bit of paper is a Fraser 4WD permit. Been there since January. I might scrape it off one day. Looking at it just brings back so many good memories :-)

Utemad
FollowupID: 332831

Reply By: schevchenko - Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 14:08

Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 14:08
a couple of empty xxxx tinnies, tube of silicone, tube of liquid nails, bit of toily paper = ace home snorkel actually. You heard it here first - don't forget that.
(xxxx tinnies must be used as they consist of a superior aluminium).
AnswerID: 72681

Follow Up By: Member - Rohan K - Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 15:30

Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 15:30
"they consist of a superior aluminium"

They'd need to schevchenko since they don't have anything else "superior" in them! LOL
FollowupID: 332913

Reply By: Alex Callaghan - Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 15:08

Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 15:08
G'day Utemad,
It looks good to me. Looks pretty much factory.

Is it made of ABS plastic?

Also, Love the blu-tac look on ya tweeters mate. ;-)
Do you have the fastening brackets that fit onto the back of em and the plastic moulds that give them different angels etc?

I used Araldite to fasten a pair in one of the work ute the other day. It had been attached with double sided tape for years and the tape gave up the ghost.
AnswerID: 72685

Follow Up By: Utemad - Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 15:30

Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 15:30
Alex,

Didn't now you could get a factory one. It did have the Forester name on it but it just looked all rippled and dodgy. I wouldn't spend my money on it if it was a factory one. Not sure what it was made out of but it looked plasticy.

Those tweeters were put there with blue tac 3 years ago. It worked so well I never worried about fitting them properly. I can angle them anyway I want :-) It is actually Yellow Tac as the Blue Tac used to melt in the Brissie heat. Yellow stuff has never had a problem.
I do have plastic angle mounts that came with them but not the custom pods. Did in my last car but never bothered in the Rodeo.

Used to do car audio for a job. One of those things like a mechanic with a crappy car or builder with unfinished house.

See ya.

Utemad
FollowupID: 332834

Reply By: Bob H - Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 19:37

Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 19:37
dunno about anything. maybe it is an undercover cop car with a camoflarged high mount radar.
AnswerID: 72709

Reply By: Member Colin - NSW Bungendore - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 12:46

Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 12:46
I have contacted the Qld Club - they will get back to me to confirm it is being made by a member.
AnswerID: 73241

Follow Up By: Utemad - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 14:05

Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 14:05
ok
FollowupID: 333414