Submitted: Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 16:42
Bundy
Can anyone help?
I am in early stages at looking for a new vehicle. It will be a dual cab but I am seeking some actual fuel consumption figures forumites may be able to share.
Two vehicles in question are 3.0L TDs...Nissan or Toyota.
Can anyone help with actual figures, especially when towing camper, van or boat?
I know Nissan has most power and Toyota the name...
Some fuel figures wouyld be a great help.
Bundy
Reply By: marklynn - Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 17:56
Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 17:56
Bundy,
I have the Nissan & love it.........Have been keeping fuel figures since I bought it new & it averages out to 8.5 ltrs per 100 k's...this is loaded & sticking to the speed limits....Don't believe Toyota have the name as the Nissan is far & away the better vehicle & also about 8k cheaper.
Just my opinion
Follow Up By: Bundy - Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 19:48
Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 19:48
Thanks mate!
I have been pretty (Toyota) one-eyed but seem to be looking towards the Nissan dual cab. Price and economy have interested me.
Are these figures including some towing?
Bundy
Reply By: Jimbo (WA) - Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 18:11
Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 18:11
Bundy,
I have the Hilux 3.0 td and have also been keeping fuel figures since I got it. I'm averaging (in the last 18 months) 11.83 ltrs per 100 km. That's the total for all types of driving -on and off road - and my vehicle weighs in at 2.43 tonne in normal trim.
Has the same torque as the Navara, but less power. When looking at my purchase, I would have been happy with the Navara except for lack of rear leg room and the inside finish. I think the series II Navara's fix up some of the fit "stuff" - so, if leg room in the rear seats isn't a concern for you I don't think you'll go wrong with either of your choices.
P.S. Just LOVE my Hilux though!
Reply By: Bundy - Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 19:51
Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 19:51
Thanks for the info.
I think the $ difference and a feeling that the economy of the Nissan may be a little better may be swaying me...Can I really have a non-Toyota in the garage?
Bundy
Reply By: marklynn - Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 20:09
Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 20:09
Bundy,
Sure you can............Have you driven either of them yet?...The Nissan is much better to drive..more comfortable..
suspension is not so harsh....Yes those fuel figires do include some camper towing, around town work & also just general holiday trips on the black top
Follow Up By: Bundy - Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 19:16
Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 19:16
Nah. haven't taken that step yet but will be shortly. I am just (possibly) broadening my list of possible vehicles...to include thew Nissan DC TD.
Thanks for your info...Fuel is important and you keep paying for it!
Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 11:58
Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 11:58
You may wish to bear in mind that navara is also having engine fixes done to the 3.0 like the patrols have had in recent times, with piston issues.
Follow Up By: Bundy - Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 19:18
Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 19:18
Thanks GO Offroad
Had been folowing the threads on the Nissan Patrols but hadn't gleaned much info on the Navaras! Can you offer any more info?
Bundy
Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 20:08
Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 20:08
Shop in Melb that does the nissan rebuilds on the 3.0 also rebuilds the navara engines that have/are failing.
Reply By: warthog - Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 12:37
Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 12:37
I just spoke to a fella driving an S.A Govt GU 3lt and he said there is an issue with the cams wearing out prematurely at around 100,000. It doesn't appear that regular servicing will avoid this (though its got to help). Apparently the metal is poorly hardened.
Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 13:03
Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 13:03
Also the 5L motor and 1KZ-TE motors are HEAPS quiter than the rumbley, rattley Nissan 3.0L.
The Nissan get's better fuel economy by running a lower compressions (approx 17:1) instead of 21:1 like the Tojo, the nissan uses some kind of variable pre-ignition and run a hell of a lot hotter at normal running tempeture. That's why when you stick the boot into the Nissans they rattle almost like a pinging petrol motor that's got the timing all out of whack, then when you back off they go back to a normal diesel sound.
More heat in the engine at running temp and noisy motors, vs quiet motor, similar power and reliability.
Either would be a good bus, just depends what your after.
PS I like a little rumble from the engine as much as the next guy, but the Nissan I drive at work (series III 3.0L GU) sounds likes someone theres a bloody 5c coin rattling around in one of the cylinders and itbleeps me!
Follow Up By: Bundy - Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 19:21
Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 19:21
Thanks Jeff.
I have been a Hilux fan but am looking at other possibilies. Hadn't heard much on the grapevine about the Hilux 3.0TD and was concerned that the fuel consumption may have been a little disappointing, especially whehn compared with the Nissan.
Have you any other copmments on the 3.0L TD Hilux Dual Cab?
Bundy
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 10:56
Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 10:56
Obviously my 3.0td is slightly outdated as far as the new ECU's etc are concerned, it's also done over 100,000k's now too and is 7 years old, however it's an absolute dream to drive on and off road. It's very quiet (
well it was until yesterday when the mandral bent lukey sorts exaust went on) LOL
My 3.0TD is an absolute drinker though, fuel economy is pretty poor for a 4 cylinder diesel, but in saying that it does go like a bullet outa a gun. The surfs (as far as I'm aware) don't have a manual trim on the electronic fuel pumps and because the technology was brand new when they were built they made them run a little rich on purpose, hence a lot of 3.0TD surf's blowing black smoke under power.
I'm sure you would get better economy out of a new 5L or 1kz-te tojo motor. Dtronic's etc are also around for those too.
Gotta remeber that driving style has the most impact on fuel economy and the figures you get from forums like this are not always 100% accurate as everyone is different. I know for a fact that I absolutally thrash my poor girl and hence I don't get great economy, you here people getting magical figures from their vehicles and I sometimes wonder if they have a straw hat on the parcel shelf and a freight train of cars behind them while they tootle along at 75km/h on the highway.
Reply By: time waster - Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 20:23
Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 20:23
I bought new an 03 hilux and dad bought an 03 new navara he gets 10.5kms to the ltre and i get 9.2 kms to the lt,also the nissan says it has more power but you need to drive them to see that the hilux is much more responsive and more powerful
he has had to have the leaf springs re worked as they would bottom out with 300kg in
the tub we have heard that nissan have done
suspension changes in the lattest model.also no central lock motor in drivers door and no rear speakers in those holes in the rear doors just a support bar through the middle.
He loves the car as i do with the luxy
There is a new hilux being released march 05 new shape plus new td with auto
Reply By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 20:51
Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 20:51
G'Day Bundy,
The 1KZ-TE in my 120 Prado is consistantly doing 11.8 to 12.1 litres/100 kays seemingly regardless of wahat I am doing (town/highway/4wd'ing). Very happy with it so far.
Hope it is of use!
Muddy 'doe