Portable Power Units for fridge

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 17:13
ThreadID: 15633 Views:3128 Replies:7 FollowUps:5
Apologies in advance if this has been covered (I have trawled but have not found an answer to my question).

I am wondering if any of the learn-ed people out there have had any experience with the standalone battery/power systems around. From reading the forum I am understanding that the general view is that the dual battery system is the way to go for your fridge, however I will be selling my car soon after my next trip and along with a couple of other reason view the portability of the standalone systems as being suitable for my needs.

The question is has anyone had any experience (secondhand is okay too of course) with these systems. Good, bad reports? Anything I should be aware of? I have looked at the Waeco range as a starting point.

Thanks for any feedback!!

Reply By: flappan - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 17:20

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 17:20
I have heard quite a number of very good reports of the power packs except for one very common thing . . .

$$$$$$$$$$

very expensive.

You could make your own pack (DC Battery, and Batt box ) for FAR less then a commercial one . . . but . . . won't look nearly as "pretty".
AnswerID: 72966

Reply By: Vince NSW - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 17:28

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 17:28
Super Cheap have Battery Boxes set up with external terminals ang power plug for $80. Add a good deep cycle battery and you have your own for under $300. Most of the units I have seen are way above this Price.
Vince
AnswerID: 72968

Reply By: Arran - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 17:30

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 17:30
Thanks Flappan,

The ones I saw in a couple of shops a while back were bloody expensive, I just looked on FridgeShop.com however, and they are selling reconditioned power units starting at $149 for the most basic one with "Genuine 24 amp hours" without engine cranking terminals, or for one in brand new condition starting at $240 with 24 amp hours and engine cranking terminals.

Seemed much more reasonable than the $500 price tags I have seen previously, but perhaps I'm overestimating the cost of doing it yourself.
AnswerID: 72969

Reply By: Arran - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 17:32

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 17:32
Cheers Vince, that's a good tip, i'll go and check out Super Cheap.
AnswerID: 72971

Reply By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 17:46

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 17:46
i have a home built one and it work just dandy..as good as the bought ones...if i paint it yellow it would look just as pretty
AnswerID: 72974

Follow Up By: Arran - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 08:42

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 08:42
Cheers Nudenut, i'm more of a green man myself, but we'll have to agree to disagree on that one.

One further question though, would I be right in assuming that by using a home built job would allow you select a battery for an equivalent price which will provide more amp hours - and consequently longer running time? Is that a further advantage? If so, I assume asking the blokes at the battery shop for an apropriate deep cycle battery will be the way to go.

FollowupID: 333238

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 10:05

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 10:05
yeah...you can select a battery of your choice...small or big just as long as its what you think er know you need...
me I went for the biggest that i wanted to lift and carry about..nz70 or something like that........they're get bloody heavy if you have to carry them too far...if wieght is not a factor get one that you know will suit your needs or more
FollowupID: 333257

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 20:17

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 20:17
Gday Arran,used a Urban Waeco Power Pack for three months last year to run our 40l fridge,charging it from a 12v cigarette plug.From memory it has a 24a/hr battery in it,would run the fridge on no 1 setting for three days alone.Think I paid about $230 for it.Putting a duell batt. in for next years trip,not because of the P/P but now have a winch and need extra power for that.We use the Portable Pack heaps around home and overall was very happy with it.
AnswerID: 73000

Follow Up By: Solar Panel - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 17:49

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 17:49
mate I do not know what temp number 1 setting is but a 40l fridge uses more than 24aH a day
Simple Solar Mathematics
FollowupID: 333339

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 21:32

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 21:32
Gday Solar Panel,dont care what Simple Solar Mathmatics says ,we ran two ARB 40lt fridges off two Urban Power Packs in differant vehicles for three days on a number of occasions(set on 1),these were unplugged from the main battery.Like I said,I believe they are 24A/HR,If bigger there not by much. Cheers Nick
FollowupID: 333357

Follow Up By: R.E.P.C.O. - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 19:47

Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 19:47
Nick technically impossible IMPOSSIBLE IMPOSSIBLE
only way you would be in sub 10 conditions and fridge hardly switched on.
you need to realise there are a lot of people a hell of a lot smarter than Tasmanians and know the odd thing or two or three about simple basic electrics

R.E.P.C.O. Rip Every Poor Customer Off
FollowupID: 333447

Reply By: Member - Ross P (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 09:51

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 09:51
I had a bad experience with a 24 AH Blue Apple ( they make the Engel and Waeco units). Wasn't able to supply enough power for an overnite stay. I believe it was a charging problem.
Like all batteries, their perormance largely depends on your charging/maitaenance routine. If you go this way make sure you have the right setup to charge the power pack on the run. At least, this will need heavy duty wiring to te accessory plug you use for the power pack.
AnswerID: 73064