GU Dual Battery System - Your comments on best brand of system

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 10:23
ThreadID: 15648 Views:4725 Replies:14 FollowUps:32
Morning Forumites,

Just had a gander through the search list of dual batteries and really didn't find an answer to my question. Now I have space under the bonnett for a dual battery system and have had a bit of a look around for a good system. What I need is enough power for aftermarket sound system (amp, sub etc), handsfree nokia kit, uhf, navigation system, pod mounted 12v Garmin GPS, arb compressor, 240 Lightforce ground melters, 40 L engel, ERPS, twine, with power to spare for other toys and all standard on board equipment on a DX GU (not much).

I have been told that the Piranha setup whilst good, is not suitable for a more loaded setup. ARB has been the recommendation but I thought what the hell, how about throwing it to the people in the know, the ones who have actually used there own personal setup!

Look forward to hearing from you!

Chris.

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 10:30

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 10:30
I have piranha system on mine, I run dual batteries, winch, fridge, 4 radios, 4 spotties, and have no hassles.

Also have a look at
http://www.rotronics.com.au/

Mail them, they will send you a CD with their catalog on it, then work out what you need there.
AnswerID: 73072

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 10:53

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 10:53
Thanks mate. Will reconsider the piranha system!
FollowupID: 333263

Reply By: NissanofOld - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 10:44

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 10:44
I've had an ARB system in my GU now for three years without a problem.
AnswerID: 73076

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 10:55

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 10:55
Thanks mate. Running a lot of gear on that system?
FollowupID: 333264

Follow Up By: NissanofOld - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 12:57

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 12:57
Not quite as much as you indicate (if you intend to run all at the same time), but all the usual stuff - fridge, CB, phone charger, laptop sometimes, charging camera batteries, etc. The CD stacker, driving lights etc run off the main battery and everything else off the secondary.
FollowupID: 333288

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 13:01

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 13:01
I guess I just want to make sure that if for some reason everything got loaded up at the same time that it wouldn't go 'pop'!

Can't imagine having the cd player going with the lightforce on, talking on the mobile, whilst checking the best route on the nav system, all whilst having a shower!

Thanks for your help mate.
FollowupID: 333291

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 10:45

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 10:45
Chris,
My advice, for what it's worth...but it works for me is.....
Buy a suitable battery tray made to fit (say Pirahna/ARB etc)
I use a Exide N70ZZ cranking battery....got sick of dramas with Deep cycle jobbies.
I use a simple solenoid. This is wired so that it WILL NOT "join" the 2 batteries when the ignition is off (I took a wire off the wiper motor....if the wipers won't work, then the solenoid is "off"). However, as an added precaution and so that i can stay in control, I run that wire (ie the 1 from the wiper motor) through a switch next to the passenger's seat belt buckle. This means i can select if I do not want the 2nd battery hooked into the charging/starting system. Why? A couple of reasons....
1) If the truck has been sitting idle for a few days with accessories running off #2 batt, there is a chance it will have run down to a point whereby switching the ignition on may actually "equalise" the 2 batteries, making starting the motor difficult/impossible. I have a dashpod-mounted voltmeter which I can switch between the 2 batteries. I always check the charge of the #2 battery b4 starting and if it's low, I shut the switch off and only start on the #1 batt. I can then turn the switch and start charging #2 as soon as I reckon #1 has got enough charge in it.
2) If I always rely on both batteries to start the donk, then i will have no way of knowing if/when the #1 battery is on the way out. My truck is almost 4 years old and still has the original starting battery in it, but it is getting a bit sluggish and cranking the 4.2 on it's own.
I like to keep things simple (it matches my mind!!! LOL) and prefer to be in control of what is going on under the bonnet. All these computer controlled switching systems are okay for people who leave all their servicing up to mechanics and call the RAA/NRMA/RACV etc every time they've got a slight problem etc.
The way i see it, you only need a simple (but good quality) solenoid, a battery tray, some proper heavy cabling and soldered + crimped ends with heat shrink tubing, some cable ties and a switch + voltmeter (last 2 are optional).
Hope this makes sense.
Cya mate
AnswerID: 73077

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 10:59

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 10:59
Thanks for the detailed response Roachie.

Used to be a sparkie by trade, but never much good at the old auto electrics for some reason, fiddley stuff!

Am trying now however to ensure that I understand and can repair everything on my truck so when stranded can show off to the missus that I'm useful! The GQ came with a dual battery system and I didn't have a clue what the system was, all I knew was that it worked really well.

Do you have a diagram of your system???
FollowupID: 333266

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 11:04

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 11:04
Chris,
The only diagram I have is buried away inside what little bit of grey-matter I haven't managed to kill off over the years.
However, I would be prepared to draw something out for you and post/fax it if you would like to member message me with your details. I haven't got a clue how other people get these highlighted blue attachments/links to appear in the middle of their posts/responses/follow-ups etc.....
Cya mate
FollowupID: 333269

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 11:06

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 11:06
Roachie, that's my problem, hence the need for a diagram!

Will member mess your shortly!
FollowupID: 333271

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 11:44

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 11:44
If you draw up somethin roachie, I'll up it on my server if you like.. would be valuable to others IM sure.
FollowupID: 333281

Follow Up By: NissanofOld - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 14:47

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 14:47
This is a simple system that can work well if properly set up. Totally agree with the cranking battery as the second battery and make sure the two batteries are of the same capacity with this design. However, there were two things to note that I found to be problematic in my previous Patrol (with this system), that eventually led me to go to a Rotronics system (which I didn't think was all that great) and now the ARB system in my GU.

Firstly, find the best possible solenoid you can -I believe you can get ones with gold contacts or the like. I was paying up to $80-90 a solenoid, but after a while, they'd always begin to short out and had to be replaced. After the third solenoid went, I bought a Rotronics.

Secondly, if you don't have the wiring balanced, you might find that there can be a voltage drop (up to 1 volt) between the batteries, which can lead to under-charging or other problems. My auxilliary battery would over time slowly lose charge and I could do nothing about it. Auto elecs that looked at the system said there was nothing wrong, but I kept losing charge in the second battery anyway. Another reason I went the Rotronics.

Some I know have had good mileage from this setup (and still have it) and I know others who have had the same problem as I did. Don't know why.
FollowupID: 333310

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 09:16

Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 09:16
Nissanofold,

Thanks mate, Roachie faxed me the details last night, I aint no auto lecky but I'm going to have a crack at it. One of the more important systems in the vehicle.
FollowupID: 333378

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 10:51

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 10:51
Hi Chris,

I use a redarc solenoid on my GU. This system is the same as the ARB smart solenoid, but only 1/2 the cost for the solenoid (I paid $99 trade at coventrys vs $219 at ARB).

I have previously used Cole Hearsay switches and ordinary solenoids and this redarc solenoid is by far the easiest and most convenient.

redarc isolator

However, if you want the "best" isolator IMHO, its the Rotronics charge/isolator. It isolates each battery in turn and charges only that battery, that way you get the best charge rate from the alternator. However, due to its very high cost for the top of the range model (over $1,000 for 3 batt charger and in-cab monitor) I do not think its cost effective for most people.

Rotronics isolator selection page

AnswerID: 73078

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 11:04

Captain,

Seems the redarc isolator is the way to go. Would like an in car monitor as the DX only has fuel and engine temp guages. The GQ had everything and I'm used to keeping an eye on oil press, batt volts etc etc. Would like to know if it's overcharging etc but don't really want to spend $1000, go better towards air locker.

See the diagram on the redarc site, will come in handy if that's the way I end up going.

Cheers captain.
FollowupID: 333268

Follow Up By: madcow - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 12:48

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 12:48
I have a Pirahana in mine but woould seriously consider the Redarc if it fails. Not that I would expect it to but having installed one in a mates truck they are a pretty good unit at a good price. You would have seen the pics of it when I emailed you regarding the shower (Twine) setup in the 4.2. The one thing I like about the Pirahana is that you can access it if needed to repair it. I had the solenoids "stick open" coming back from the cape and was not charging the second battery. 5 Mins we had the cover off and out of curiosity we pushed one of the solenoids closed and had no more issues with it after. We put it down to both the corrugations and the dust.

FollowupID: 333284

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 12:59

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 12:59
Madcow,

Seems like redarc is a cost effective way of getting the job done. Going to check out Roachies setup as he is the accessory king by a long way.

Surely did see the pics, better than spending 600 big ones on a fitted setup...I guess I may go close with a second battery and tray???
FollowupID: 333290

Follow Up By: Ferret - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 16:57

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 16:57
Captain, is the $99 redarc OK for EFI stuff? Which model redarc was it?
Ferret
FollowupID: 333329

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 17:46

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 17:46
Yeah, its the voltage surge protected model and will stop any issues with voltage spikes, unlike normal solenoids (would not recomend them now for any vehicle with a "black box" - most petrols and many newer diesels).

Check out the link in my original post, I use the 100 amp (400 amp surge) model as its more than enough for my needs, but they also make a 200 amp (600 surge) model if you want.

FollowupID: 333337

Reply By: Member - glenno (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 10:58

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 10:58
My advice for what its worth . Go and ask a few auto electricians what they think plus the forumites advice = good advice .
AnswerID: 73081

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 11:04

your advice for what's it's worth is probably the best way to go. Some auto lecky's don't like to give away too much as it's there lively hood!

Will have a crack however!
FollowupID: 333270

Follow Up By: Member - glenno (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 11:21

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 11:21
Its there livelyhood is correct , thats why i think you should ask them . I think most people will still go out of there way to help out .
FollowupID: 333275

Reply By: TD6 - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 13:47

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 13:47
Chris,

Follow Roachies advice. His system is the most reliable and is exactly the way Auto Electricians set up their own cars. I couldn't even guess how many of those flash isolators I have repaired over the years or pulled out of vehicles to replace with the solenoid system
AnswerID: 73094

Follow Up By: Solar Panel - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 17:40

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 17:40
Auto electricians would usually use a Redarc isolator on their own vehicles. Redarc is safest best and functional system
FollowupID: 333335

Follow Up By: TD6 - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 08:46

Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 08:46
Not this one
FollowupID: 333377

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 09:17

Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 09:17
Hi TD6,

If you don't use Redarc, what do you use?

Chris.
FollowupID: 333379

Follow Up By: TD6 - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 09:55

Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 09:55
Chris,

The same as Roachie described. Ensure the Solenoid you use is of a high quality with Silver contacts and mount it as high as possible under the bonnet to avoid water etc. I put mine next to the wiper motor. It's a good idea to run a switch back into the cabin and a volt meter. This way you can isolate the auxillary battery before starting so you don't run the risk of pulling the main battery down if the auxillary is down on charge.
The down side of this system is that you have to manually keep an eye on the auxillary battery to avoid the scenario above where as the isolator systems you buy generally cater for this and only bring the 2nd battery in once the primary has reached full charge. The advantage of the system is it's simple and fool proof. The only thing that can go wrong is the Solenoid fails in which case it's a simple matter of hard wiring the two batteries together.
It all gets down to individual requirements. Personally I spend a lot of time in remote places alone and I like to keep everything as simple as possible, hence the reason I have a jurassic park style motor as opposed to the fancy electronic version :)
FollowupID: 333388

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 10:07

Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 10:07
Hi TD6,

Thanks mate. I intend on taking the new truck everywhere the old one went so trust me, I need simplicity! My accessory mate has just given me a price for what I need:

Exide Battery 650cca and 80 amp hour $110
Redarc system $120
ARB Tray $110

Seems to be pretty reasonable. Have to pick wiring up myself but estimate that at around $40-$50.

Have I missed anything and do you think I'm saving money from those prices by doing it myself?

Cheers mate,

Chris.
FollowupID: 333391

Follow Up By: TD6 - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 10:35

Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 10:35
Chris,

The prices are good. You're not only saving money but you also have the advantage that if something sh$t$ itself you know how it was wired up etc to be able to fix it yourself.

FollowupID: 333395

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 10:39

Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 10:39
cheers mate!
FollowupID: 333396

Follow Up By: Big Trev - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 13:13

Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 13:13
My auto elec has his batteries in parallel, with an manual isolator on the cranking battery. I have the same system, and it has never let me down, WHY? coz there is nothing to let me down.
FollowupID: 333411

Reply By: tonysmc - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 14:13

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 14:13
Chris, Follow Roachies advice. It is the best setup. As he says, use a starter battery and I have found it best if you use identical batteries. If you don't want to use switches which you may forget to turn off or on. You can put a push button type in the dash,(same as the push buttons that turn on the interior lights when you open your doors) which will disconnect the power to the solenoid as you start the vehicle. Once you start up, take your finger off the button and both batteries are charging. Also put in a low voltage cut out switch between your aux battery and your toys. cheers Tony
AnswerID: 73098

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 09:18

Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 09:18
Cheers mate.
FollowupID: 333380

Reply By: bazzle - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 18:32

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 18:32
Ive fitted a few of these over the years using ARB trays and Seperators. Always fitted, always worked, Use N70zz(x) batts.

Bazzle ;)
AnswerID: 73123

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 09:20

Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 09:20
Hi bazzle,

Thanks for the tip, always used century overlanders with antivibration casing, seemed to protect the battery a little from turbo heat...

Chris.
FollowupID: 333381

Reply By: Utemad - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 20:21

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 20:21
My setup is very similar to Roachies. Except I join the positive terminals together and cut the negative of the starting battery. This way everything runs off the second battery (I use two cranking batteries) when the ignition is off.

I can also flick a switch to drop the relay so it is only charging the 2nd battery when driving so it charges quicker.

I only have a 2.6litre 4cyl Rodeo so doesn't take much to start it. I use two 30amp horn relays in parallel.

Total cost was $0 as I had all the bits in my garage. Except for the tray as that was $80 from ARB + $20 fitting.

I have had this system for 2 years and it hs not missed a beat.

Spiking the computer is said to be a risk with this setup however an auto sparky told me that so long as I put some charge into the 2nd battery after starting before dropping out the starting battery then all will be fine.

Utemad
AnswerID: 73142

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 09:21

Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 09:21
Glad I don't have a computer then!

Cheers mate.
FollowupID: 333382

Reply By: rolande- Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 21:26

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 21:26
ChrisM,
My opinion only!!!!!
I use a Redarc isolator with an ARB battery tray, had leads made by local electrical outlet from 300amp rated arc welding cables. N70ZZ Bond Calcium Starter Battery, switch in handy hole pre-drilled directly under steering column to join two batteries in case the worst happens, pirahna 7 block fuse board - total cost $380 installed myself and works by itself - no need for me to remember to change switches etc. Cost for complete ARB system - $563 without fuse block and in-cabin switch.
Rolande
AnswerID: 73161

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 22:17

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 22:17
2 x N70ZZL 17 plate cranking batteries 700cca $260
1 x Rotronics MH10 Isolator $250
Cables $20

Run all the accessories off the auxilliary battery except the winch which runs off the main battery.

No worries
AnswerID: 73183

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 09:23

Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 09:23
Willem,

Seems pretty simple! Have had some pretty good tips today, Roachie forwarded his plan of his system as well, so I think all said and done, I'm in good hands!

Cheers mate,

Chris.
FollowupID: 333383

Reply By: -OzyGuy- - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 15:52

Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 15:52
Chris M
when you unpack the Redarc, read the instructions in bold on the specifications/instructions sheet, stating you must only use 2 x identical batteries.
AnswerID: 73410

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 17:47

Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 17:47
I haven't got them in front of me but I'm sure my instructions recommended identical batteries, the word must wasn't mentioned. This is for the new model Redarc SBI12. I notice their website hasn't been updated to reflect the new model yet.
FollowupID: 333573

Reply By: -OzyGuy- - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 19:43

Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 19:43
Sory, the instructions state in bold:
"We recommended the use of similar style batteries in the one installation"

So I take it they don't recommend 'different' styles of batteries in the one installation, or they would not print the warning in bold?

The product Warranty sheet with the solenoid states:

"ON CONDITION THAT...
1. The product has been correctly installed in accordance with the product instructions on the reverse side of this sheet...........etc." does that mean if you don't use similar style batteries you will void the Warranty?
AnswerID: 73446

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 10:24

Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 10:24
Hi Ozyguy,

Decided that I'd get an autolecky to fit it, saw that on the sheet, ended up getting an exide 650cca with 80amp hour life. Showed the autolecky everything I had and he was happy, making sure I get all warranty's on this truck!

Cheers for the tip mate,

Chris.
FollowupID: 333762

Reply By: -OzyGuy- - Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 11:52

Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 11:52
Chris,
I took this from the Exide web site, was the only 650 CCA battery listed, so I assume it is the battery sellected by your autoleck to work correctly with the Redarc solenoid?

PASSENGER BATTERIES
CODE- BATTERY- CCA- RC- L, W, H- Weight- Terminal
DIN88- Exide Advantage- 650- 140- 348,173,175- 19.6- RECESSED POST
AnswerID: 73667

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 12:30

Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 12:30
I'd assume so, trusting the dude!
FollowupID: 333770