Patrols vs LC?

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 10:30
ThreadID: 15649 Views:5481 Replies:7 FollowUps:8
Hi all, currently looking at replacing my '98 4.5GU Patrol with another low k's 2001/2002 vehicle. All that I'm considering ($35,000 limit) is the 4.8l Patrol, 3.0l Patrol and HZJ105 Standard Cruiser. I can get all for around the same price.

I will be spending a lot of time behind the wheel of this vehicle doing plenty of WA city, country and gravel k's with only a small proportion of real blood and guts 4WD'ing required. 50% city, 30% country, 15% gravel and 5% low-range 4WD. Any trailer towing fuel costs will be paid for by someone else. Probably wont be doing Simpson Desert / Antarctic crossings etc. (and Truckster, I'm sure I'll regret whatever I buy when I'm 30 foot below sea level in an uncharted Nullabor Cave, rockcrawling backwards through radiactive mud using 398litres per km, being shot at by the Taliban and chased by 'devil bee's'. Know about the 54km/l thing too. Just thought I'd get in early;-) Seriously mate, I do value your opinion and dip my hat to your experience, but I'm seeking opinions on a general purpose 4WD vehicle for general use)

This is a 'real world' question and I am just chasing a bit of feedback or FIRSTHAND experiences on any of the above vehicles. Here's what I'm thinking so far.....

Patrol 4.8l petrol
GOOD:fast, quiet, reliable(?) and smooth (BIG plus at the moment) and my existing accessories fit it.
BAD: fuel economy however I currently own a petrol and I haven't really worried about it that much. Anything else to look for?

Patrol 3.0l diesel
GOOD: economy, diesel, my accessories fit it
BAD: reliability issues (huge concern), can't get past the 4 cyl thing either

Landcruiser HZJ 105 Standard Wagon
GOOD: simple and basic, good on fuel, parts available everywhere, I trust the HZJ75 engine completely
BAD: drivetrain strength issues? (worrying), very slow, poorly equipped - no CD, no cruise control (I like these very much)

Any opinions based on what it's actually going to be used for? (also not going to spend extra $'s for the 6cyl turbo diesels, not going smaller and not considering other brands)

BTW I've extensively viewed the archives too.

I'd be very interested in all constructive viewpoints and would like to say thanks in advance.

Reply By: NissanofOld - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 10:41

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 10:41
They're all good vehicles. I'd suggest that you consider the one that is in the best condition, lowest km, amybe offers extras and has a good service history (and previous owner is contactable).
AnswerID: 73075

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 10:58

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 10:58
Mate, I reckon you've hit the nail on the head.
If the particular make of 4x4 isn't a real issue (either Nissan or Toyota), I would simply suggest test driving various units that may be available and see which one you "fall in love with". The series III model 3L you're talking about has (apparently) cured the initial dramas, so that shouldn't be a factor...I mean there have been no reported failures of this motor and it is good at what it does.
If it was me, I'd be sticking with the Nissan (either 4.8 or 3L in your case) purely because you know the brand well and you (apparently) have a lot of stuff that will fit straight in from your current truck.
Good hunting.
Cya mate
FollowupID: 333265

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 11:26

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 11:26
Hi V8 diesel,

I used to have a 1HZ 80 std 80 series and this is very similair to the 105 series std. And as you know I have the 3.0TD GU. So as you are after 1ST HAND experience here, I feel qualified to speak for 2 of the vehicles.

My 80 series (105 equivalent) was a fantatstic vehicle and took me to many out of the way places. I never had a problem with the drivetrain (did have a front lokka though) and the only time it let me down was when the glowplugs didn't let it start on a cold day (an easy work around). I really loved my 80 series and would have no problems in buying one again EXCEPT they are S...L...O....W.... I used to tow my 1.6T offroad van and it was a real chore. While it would cruise confortably on 100km/hr on the flat, show it a hill and start changing the gears!!! But without the van behind, I never had a problem but overtaking was a hit and miss affair. But I did fit extractors and 2 1/2" exhaust to try and get more power. Overall perhaps still my sentimnetal favourite.

My series III GU 3.0TD is a very nice capable 4WD. It is far quieter than my old 80 and both have relatively similair handling (both big and heavy - not a sports car;-). While I have only done 20,000kms so far, you cannot compare the comfort factor of the ST vs the std cruiser (power windows/mirrors, cloth/carpet etc...) the GU is simply MUCH nicer to drive everyday.

As I unfortunately have to use my GU mostly as urban transport, it does a better job than the 80, and a lot of that is mainly because of the engine. While we all have read the various issues, I will only comment on how it performs here (but will add it has never let me down!).

The power of the 4 cycl diesel is unbelieveable. I was a true 6 cycl+ only person and am still amazed at the performance of the 3.0TD (with Dtronic I might add). It even outpointed the mighty 4.5 petrol cruiser in a roll-on "drag'" from 80km/hr to 135+. It led all the way and just shows how much torque it has. When towing, I simply engage the cruise control and thats it!!! Rarely do I ever have to change back a gear for a hill, unlike the 80 where it felt like you were rowing!!!

But what I don't like about the GU is the low range ratio of 2:1. The cruiser was noteiceable better with its 2.5:1 and thats not because of better low down torque, the actual low range top speed of the nissan is simply too high compared to the cruiser (both had 33" tyres). I also miss the bigger tanks of the 80 series (145L vs 125L) but the marginally better economy makes the difference minimal (GU 11.5L/100km towing 15.7L/100kms vs Cruiser 12.5L/100kms towing 17L/100kms).

While I really liked the old 80 (and 105series) I am very happy with my GU and am glad I went that way. However one option I did have was to get a 105 and put a turbo in it. I did not do that due to warranty issues (I was buying new), but also because you miss out on the nice confort items like power windows/mirrors, carpet etc... Perhaps the most noteable thing is the ease of everyday driving with more power than I really need. It simply makes driving that much more relaxed, something i didn't realise until after I had the 3.0TD for a while.

Anyway, whatever way you go, all 3 are good vehicles and I am sure you will like whatever you choose. Good luck.

AnswerID: 73083

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 14:06

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 14:06
Captain, the more I read, the more I think I should revise my thinking re the 4cyl's.

Guess I'm still stuck in the past so I may have to take one of the 3.0TD's for a spin. Seems to be a tide of 'converts to the faith' around. The roll on acceleration of the 3.0 has surprised me many times in traffic.

Thanks for the useful info mate.
FollowupID: 333296

Follow Up By: Flash - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 13:59

Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 13:59
Captain,
which cruise control do you have?
Very good friend has an auto 3.0 (which he absolutely loves) and wants to fit one, he has heard negatives about some cruise controls.

We're going on a four week trip in about a weeks time- both towing heavy camper trailers - but my old GQ has cruise control and his doesn't!
Ha Ha.
Any help appreciated, Cheers
FollowupID: 333535

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 19:45

Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 19:45
Hi Flash,

I have the Autron cruise control, its the only one thats "fly by wire" ie. it doesen't have an actuator that moves the accellerator pedal, its all done electronically. It works extremely well, has neat steering wheel buttons and I can recommend it. You should be able to get it fitted for around $650.

FollowupID: 333584

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 11:37

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 11:37
How about bloke in our clubs TD42..

Nissan Patrol GU 1999 ST,
4.2 TD,
140,000kms,
power windows, a/c, cruise control,
Pioneer mp3 player,
Unifilter 2 stage main filter, 3 x unifilter pre cleaners for snorkel,
7 seater (very back seats removed and stored in shed) for 4X4 Storage components full storage system,
fridge slide,
Bushman fridge with highlid, low lid and dairy basket and half cargo barrier with 2 x 20lt jerrycan storage behind back seats,
fold down table on rear door (vehicle used as display for 4x4 Storage at Wandin in 2003 & 2004)
25lt flexi-tank inner-guard water bladder.

In addition there is a second storage module that replaces back seats for long trips,
Milford Cargo barrier for behind front seats and an 80lt flexi-tank floor bladder for long trips.
TJM T15 steel bar,
Ramsey Platinum 9500 with 4.6hp motor low mount winch,
ARB Smart solenoid dual battery kit with two plugs wired to rear of vehicle,
2 new N70ex battery's,
Safari snorkel,
Dept. of interior centre roof console,
Uniden UH100 UHF, Uniden PC122 AM/SSB, mikes have been wired to plug into centre floor console.
Dobinson 5 inch lift kit, EFS Long travel shocks (2 months old),
extended brake lines, extended breathers, front & rear sway bar disconnects,
4way Steering stabiliser,
Opposite Lock rear steel bar and twin wheel carrier,
tinted windows,
CJ 4WD transfer case bash plate,
Lightforce D170 spotlights,
Glind Shower,
4 new cooper STT 285/75/16.
4 jungle trekker 2 34 x 11.5 (worn approx 2mm from new) on Trax II 16 x 8 inch rims,
Serviced every 5,000 kms,
Heavy duty clutch fitted at 70,000kms before 1 month trip up north,
New front wheel bearings fitted at 100,000km's to be sure.
Good condition,
10 months Reg and RWC.
Take base price and add, depending on accessories wanted.

Base Vehicle
Nissan Patrol GU 1999 ST, 4.2 TD, 140,000kms, power windows, a/c, cruise control, 7 seater 25lt flexi-tank inner-guard water bladder. TJM T15 steel bar, Safari snorkel, 4way steering stabiliser, Dept. of interior centre roof console, Uniden UH100 UHF, Uniden PC122 AM/SSB, mikes have been wired to plug into centre floor console. Serviced every 5,000 kms, Heavy-duty clutch fitted at 70,000kms before 1 month trip up north, new front wheel bearings fitted at 100,000km's to be sure. Good condition, 10 months Reg and RWC
$35,000 negotiable

Vehcile is in Melbourne, pictures will be posted soon

Jason O.
Mobile 0417 351 064
AnswerID: 73085

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 14:18

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 14:18
Strewth!

Thanks for the nod on that one Truckster, probably not exactly what I'm chasing but you've got me seriously thinking none the less.

Like the idea of the 4.2TD a lot, drove one from Broken Hill to Adelaide once and it was great.

Much appreciated.
FollowupID: 333303

Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 15:10

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 15:10
If I were choosing between the 3 vehicles you have mentioned only, I would go the 4.8 patrol, and unichip it to get the extra economy, and performance, as well as your accesories to take into account.

I would also choose a good suspension set up, to maximise the feel of the vehicle on the road, and tyres, and run some slotted cross drilled rotors and some nice material brake pads so it will stop, as well as go.

If driving alot of km, want something that does it easy.

If the type of vehicle was open, then the V6 120 series would be my choice.
AnswerID: 73104

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 15:32

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 15:32
My brakes were weak from the start on the 4.5. I thought Nissan upgraded them with the introduction of the 4.8. Are they still p*%% poor on the newer models?

FollowupID: 333320

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 00:28

Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 00:28
I certainly dont like them, especially after a couple of hard presses on the pedal.

FollowupID: 333364

Follow Up By: Flash - Thursday, Aug 26, 2004 at 07:31

Thursday, Aug 26, 2004 at 07:31
Try changing pads.
Try Bendix Metal King or similar (they make a material for 4WDs).
No comparison with original factory pads, which are inferior.
FollowupID: 334028

Reply By: Member - Michael- Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 22:04

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 22:04
HI V8 Diesel
For my money I'd stick with the Nissans, you are familiar with them, the 3LTD is not as bad as is made out mine has done 158k and even though I've had problems with injector pump sensor, the truck has done everything I've aksed it do do and more
May the fleas of a thousand afghan camels infect the crutch of your enemy and may their arms be too short to scratch.

AnswerID: 73175

Reply By: LPGPete - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 16:25

Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 16:25
G'day V8Diesel,

If you get close to thinking strongly about the 4.8 Patrol and are still worried about fuel economy - then converting it to LPG with dual fuel is an option to be considered. I recently purchased an 8/99 GU Ti at 90K Km for $31.5K as a tow vehicle for a 2T+ van and had it converted with a 92L usable LPG tanks and a 75L long range petrol tank - all underneath. It's about 40% cheaper to run, with little noticeable loss of power with the petrol option at the press of a button for a little extra grunt if needed. It cost $2950 conversion all up with long range petrol tank included, which will pay for itself in 28K Km of normal driving or 17K Km with van - so it's good business - and prolongs engine life. The concern about access to LPG in out of the way places is worthy of mention, but the 75L petrol tank gives 300-400 Km range depending on whether you're towing something heavy or not. The purchase seems to have been vindicated (and it's nice to have those little luxuries like climate control which provides ducts for everyone, cruise control, CD stacker etc. etc.) when I found "JustCruisin" doing the Big One with pretty much the same outfit as I have which is as yet untested outback.

www.justcruisin.bigpondhosting.com is worth a look to see how they're motoring. Started from Adelaide on 24 June and are presently south of Karratha via Alice, Darwin, Broome etc.

Happy hunting

Pete
AnswerID: 73272

Reply By: Uppy - Member - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 17:55

Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 17:55
Hi V8 diesel, I think you know which one I would go for.Anyway mate when you are in Perth look us up and we will have a beer
regards uppy
AnswerID: 73286