Shockers

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 11:46
ThreadID: 15650 Views:3077 Replies:8 FollowUps:9
I've checked the archives and note that most people who've used TJM's XGS shockies seem to be happy with them.
Could I ask if this is still the case please? They're asking $145- a-piece for these units. As much as I would love to have Tough Dog Ralphs (the really big bore jobbies), I can't see that the $260- price tag is justified.
I'm not trying to start another "mass-debate" here, just checking to see if XGS users are getting good results.
Catchya y'all

Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 11:52

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 11:52
What was it you were not trying to start??
AnswerID: 73086

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 14:08

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 14:08
Andrew,
Just trying NOT to start anything with the Mass-debaters who hang around this and other similar sites...LOLOL
FollowupID: 333298

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 12:04

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 12:04
I had them on mine, they went to another GQ up inbleepney. They have done 2 capes, on Grahams car, but think they are gone now.

The ride is harsh, but they are respectable value.. I had the 3inch/heavy duty ones.

Have a look at OME Nitrochargers, just put them and LTRs on mine (also 100%rebuilable). LTRs are lots o $, but only have on front, Nitros on rear, lowered down to 4inch, and has transformed the car TOTALLY... Its comfortable now on the road!

Again, maybe payin bit more now may save hassles later, since you do some remote travel, might be worth paying more for something better.

Also check Koni's. VERY GOOD
AnswerID: 73087

Follow Up By: Savvas - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 12:58

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 12:58
Not bad the Nitrochargers, eh?

I just got them on mine, what a transformation from stock. And the big bonus is how much more comfortable it is on-road, over the stock setup.
FollowupID: 333289

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 14:07

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 14:07
Thanks Truckster, I'll give 'em a go and try to bust 'em on the upcoming Cape York trip. If they're fubar, I'll be putting the acid on TJM for a new set!!!
FollowupID: 333297

Reply By: mr diamond - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 12:36

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 12:36
what are tough dog ralphs if it pedders ill get you a better price than that.
AnswerID: 73089

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 14:11

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 14:11
G'day Diamond,
No the Ralphs aren't from pedders; although I know the Pedders ad's use the name "Ralph" as well.
The 53mm bore Ralphs, I'm talking about are from the Tough Dog stable and the company is "4-Way". Auto Alliance (aka: Rancho) also sell the Tough Dog range.
FollowupID: 333299

Reply By: Savvas - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 13:02

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 13:02
Roachie,

AutoAlliance now have a 41mm big-bore foam cell shock, the RockCrawler. About $160 a piece if I recall correctly.

Not as big as Ralphs, but another shock to get confused over nonetheless.
AnswerID: 73090

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 14:14

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 14:14
Savvas,
Yeh, mate, I reckon they're the new adjustables. I was initially thinking of getting adjustables, but it seems there are just too many reports of them not going the distance over the endless corrogations; so for the money, I'll stick with the non-adjustable style for the time being.
FollowupID: 333301

Follow Up By: Savvas - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 14:21

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 14:21
Nope ... the Rockcrawlers aren't adjustables. Just big bore foam cell non-adjustable shocks.
FollowupID: 333304

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 13:55

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 13:55
Roachie I have had the same shocks on both my 60s and are now going to get new ones they have done 7 cape trips 1 simpson 2 high countrys and 1 flinders trip and 1 cameron crn trip in 5 years and are now had it.

They seem to last ok.

AnswerID: 73095

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 14:16

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 14:16
Thanks Eric....I presume you're talking about the XGS's??
FollowupID: 333302

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 16:44

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 16:44
Sorry roachie I for got to say they were ome skocks.
For what they have done I cant fault them to date.

FollowupID: 333327

Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 15:02

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 15:02
similar cars, similar corrugated roads, similar loads, the TJM shocks dont seem to fade as fast as the ARB OME units, and I certainly think thye are worth the extra few $ over OME. [though I dont think much of OME shocks either]

The tough dogs are great for grossly overloaded vehicles, and justify the bigger price in that application.
AnswerID: 73103

Reply By: KO2004 - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 15:47

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 15:47

We just put OME suspension in our GQ and included the nitrochargers. The ride is fantastic with the BF Goodrich tyres which we used to travel to Cairns and then through the Cape. I have to say that the car was loaded up with four adults and enough stuff to keep us fed and watered for a period of 3 weeks. We also had a roof rack and a howling moon roof tent. We carried 2 spare wheels including tyres. I guess I don't need to say it but we had a %$^& load of stuff both in and on the car and it was very very heavy.

We had just left home at 4.00am in the morning in pitch black and heavy fog on a very narrow and winding section of road near a town called Boorowa and some idiot jumped out onto the road in front of us. Can you imagine the fear we had travelling at 100km per hour and this happened. Well I tell you the guy is lucky to still be alive. For one reason or another and I'm not sure if god was looking out for the lot of us ... the car skidded over to the right side of the road where thebleep's mate was standing.... we skidded over to the left side of the road and continued on our way.

The upshot of this is that we were still able to control the car in this situation. I would recommend the OMEs with the nitrocharger - They saved someone's life

We're now back home and put our original Desert Dueller Tyres back on the car. The car's handling is now quite a bit sloppier. I think if those tires had been on the car when this all happened there would be another road statistic.

Cheerio
AnswerID: 73109

Reply By: Member - Rick (S.A.) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 22:59

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 22:59
Roachie,

maybe consider RidePro shocks? They are usually advertised in the fourby mags, and they have a website. I recall they are distributed by Aetco

big bore - 41 mm
61 mm outer diameter
look to be better welds than TJM brand
cast iron piston rod (Vs sintered steel)
low pressure gas filled

they go well for me on my 3.2 tonne GU. I think I paid $ 125 from Alltrac on South Rd Mile end. Sure tightened the bus up when they went on.

Never had fade (yet?)
AnswerID: 73188

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 09:46

Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 09:46
Thanks Rick,
I ordered the TJM late yesterday....they seem to have a reasonable reputation.
I'm running Konis at present and will get them re-built in due course. If the TJMs don't last through the Cape York trip, I'll be seeking a replacement set/unit. If they do outlast their warranty period, then I'll eventually replace them with the re-built Konis.
Cya mate
FollowupID: 333385