Rod E B
I have a 1985 automatic landcruiser ( 200,000km) that performs reasonably
well when I am not towing
however
put my 1600kg van behind it and I am pushing to do 85 to 90 kmh in undulating conditions
It has been
well looked after and has had all the
services . Before my last trip it had a full service , tune up etc
In some
places , steep hills , it would not exceed 40 to 50 kmh at 2000 revs, I seem to be pushing it. It will go faster at 3500 revs , but does not like it
I am concerned that because I do not have any "speed " in reserve I could be unsafe , mind you still plenty of down low torque.
I am happy to do 85 to 90kmh , but would not like to push it
Has anyone had this experience , and it there a fix
Rod
Reply By: CruiserHead - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 16:52
Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 16:52
do you have a diesel, petrol motor, on LPG, maybe?
Reply By: Rod E B - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 17:04
Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 17:04
Petrol
Reply By: R.E.P.C.O. - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 19:54
Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 19:54
the petrol auto Landcruisers of that period were pretty slack
could be a torque converter problem
we used to have a petrol 88 Landcruiser to tow our 1600kg van and bought a 2.8l turbo diesel ute in March uses half the fuel and more power
R.E.P.C.O. Rip Every Poor Customer Off
Reply By: Douglas C - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 08:02
Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 08:02
Dear Rod,
I happened to see your dilemma on the other
forum as
well , and I'm not sure you will be happy with the responses , as most are costly.
I have a similar model , but diesel powered , so even more "doughey" so installed a turbo and received quite some appreciable "grunt" ...but still not happy cruising ( with 2000 kg caravan behind ) at much more than 85 mph ....however....you get to see more of the country ( the driver certainly does ) but , we recently did a trip down to
Lithgow ( with caravan ) , inland , and back to
Brisbane via the coast and our Cruiser certainly gets down to the 45 mph very quickly on anything resembling a steep climb ....so ...I would say that the turbo is not the answer ( plus with the turbo extra heat is generated at the higher revs and a bigger radiator is required) and I am currently envisaging an engine swap to a larger turbo diesel ( very expensive ...but...my Cruiser has only little over 80,000 kms on the clock even though 1986 , and is in "as new" condition .
All the best,
Douglas C
Follow Up By: pathfinder - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 13:06
Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 13:06
I reckon 85mph is an excellent cruising speed with a van in tow...you should be very happy with that kind of performance ;)
Follow Up By: Rod E B - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 14:12
Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 14:12
I am happy with 85 kmh , it just the hills where you get down to 45 kmh that is a pain
Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Saturday, Aug 21, 2004 at 14:38
Saturday, Aug 21, 2004 at 14:38
Gday Doug
There is an old cow cockie saying about 60 series 2h diesels...to get them to go up
hill, you put chaff bags over the headlights, so they dont see em coming.....your 60 sounds like a lovely truck, which will overcome anything that is thown at it......but speed whilst towing.
If you were wanting to go faster, the factory turbo diesel is a completely different motor, with oodles of torque. they share thesame block, so are transplantable.
I had a fairley overdrive in my old 60, and it would tow better/faster, because the motor makes max torque at 1800-2200 with the turbo added (or 85km/hr in 5th)
Now Rod, you must have a motor problem if u were that down on power...the old petrol guzzles fuel, but performance is quite acceptable when all is
well.
I would start by checking the vacuum advance on the dizzy is hooked up to the carbi, and the line is not cracked.
Follow Up By: Rod E B - Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 13:47
Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 13:47
Gday Dozer ,
my knowledge of cars is very limited , but here goes
There is a tube coming from a what looks like a diaphragm on the distributor , it goes to what looks like a solinoid which then has a wire that disappears into a loom .
how do I test it it is working , it looks fairly good , but how do I make sure
what does it actually do
I will go to my mechanic , but forwarned is armed
Rod