turbo diesel

Submitted: Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 18:31
ThreadID: 15689 Views:2494 Replies:4 FollowUps:8
Hey guys,
I currently have a 89 GQ 4.2 petrol wagon but thinking of upgrading to a late model turbo diesel patrol but not sure which is the better vehicle,3.0lt or 4.2lt for my needs ie,camping on the beach several times a year ,fraser etc and towing my 16ft runabout. Any tips would be a great help.

Reply By: Michael - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 19:21

Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 19:21
Where are you Truckster.... LOL.
AnswerID: 73303

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 23:10

Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 23:10
It could only be 1 of 3 things

1) Diamond pi$$ed again
2) A TROLL
3) a Dunce that cant seach the archives for something asked weekly. Probably more than that...
FollowupID: 333468

Follow Up By: Michael - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 11:49

Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 11:49
Maybe the name 'GOOSY', says it all LOL
FollowupID: 333513

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 20:59

Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 20:59
G'day Goosy
Okay, here we go again..... LOL
I'll declare my interests right up front......I'm a bit like truckster (sorry if that's an insult, mate). The 3L is what I consider a good town car. The 4.2L (which is what I drive), I refer to as an "old banger". It's slow, sluggish and old technology throughout it's engine bay. But I love it cos I've got half a chance of fixing it if something breaks "out there", whereas the 3L is a tow-away job if it's electronic black box goes "phyyysssttt". To me, this doesn't just apply to Nissans; any make that has electronic get up and go, is on the outer with me.
Now, to more practical issues......the GU 4.2 only comes in manual, so if you want or need a slush box, it'll have to be the 4 cyl/3L unit.
The 4.2 would (IMHO) be the better tow vehicle over the long term. I know there are a lot of very satisfied 3L owners who will again howl me down etc and i accept that they are happy and I'm happy for them.
I'm sorry, but I just can't get me old head around a 3L donk in a "full-size" 4by.
AnswerID: 73323

Reply By: NissanofOld - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 21:38

Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 21:38
For what you want to do, either would perform as well. I've had the old non-electronic diesel and well as the electronic diesel (current 3.0lt). I've also had the carby GC, which I converted to an EFI and later exchanged to a full EFI engine and installed and loomed an after-market computer.

Old and bold is not guaranteed to keep you out of trouble, nor does the newest and latest either. The one thing that I can certainly say is that if your mechanically injected diesel bites the dust in the boonies, you are as likely to fix it as if your electronic diesel bites the dust. You do not repair a diesel fuel pump, for example, in the middle of the Simpson with a simple toolkit.

In reality, electronics are the least likely to go wheels up, whereas mechanical components are more prone to do so. The 3.0lt Patrol, for example, has a mechanical fuel pump feeding mechanical injectors, only the pump has electronic solenoids controlling the fuel rate/amount. On the 4.2lt, it's not much different, especially with the later models, which added some electronic controls for emission purposes.

I’m not entirely familiar with the GQ/GU injectors, but from what I’ve heard, they are not the same as the old MQ, which could be easily disassembled, reset and reassembled, which I did with mine for many years and in general were quite robust and tolerant to neglect.
AnswerID: 73332

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 22:16

Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 22:16
G'day Mate,
I should just also have added to my comments about electronic things going bung that I was relying on 2nd/3rd hand anecdotal evidence......it has been reported that the bloke who runs the servo at Birdsville and who does a lot of Simpson recoveries has said that the majority of vehicle failures (not including roll-overs etc) which require his efforts to rescue, are heavily weighted towards electronic failures rather than mechanical failures (excluding tyres).
I know I'd be stuffed if my injector pump or anything else as serious went wrong; and it can. However, the fact that I've never had any mechanical breakdown on any of my old "bangers" over the past 15 years and over 500,000 klm collectively, is evidence enough in my mind to stick with the old technology for as long as I can.
I know the electronic systems are getting better all the time and I realise that the next time I want to update my truck it will almost certainly have to be to a sparky-type controlled donk. I just hope that by then (maybe another 5 years) that the "black-box" gremlins have all be dealt with. There are a lot of advantages to this modern stuff.....I'd love to be able to increase the engine performance by simply whacking in a new $1,500- chip etc.
Cya in the bush some time mate.
FollowupID: 333460

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 00:31

Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 00:31
Just to add further debate to the "reliable dinasour" vs "high tech wonder", the bottom line is outback travel is no longer the life and death risk like yesteryear!!!

IMHO, your are FAR more likely to suffer a tyre failure, but lets say whatever problem thats stops you, all you do is simply jump on your sat phone, HF radio or even the EPIRB and tell them your exact location from your GPS. Thats only if someone has already driven by!!!

Very few of us are ever in such a remote place they we don't see another vehicle every few hours. Those of us lucky enough to actually not see a vehicle for a few days would most certainly be well equipped with one or more communication devices.

We all talk about the relaibaility of many vehicles, particularly the Nissan 3.0TD, but how many 3.0TD have ever broken down in a remote location. Of ALL the breakdowns I have heard/read about, they generally involve the freeway type driving at the speed limit (ie. relatively hot engine). I have never heard of one letting go while out on a 4WD type trail (but will certainly stand corrected).

So whats my point, well I think we all over-rate the required reliability of the engine and forget about the 2 cent widgit that we don't carry but will leave us stranded.

PS. Roachie - seen the latest BMW 3.0TD, has peak torque of 480Nm from the factory!!! Makes my Dtronic 420Nm seem low.

FollowupID: 333475

Follow Up By: NissanofOld - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 08:36

Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 08:36
What I find ironic is that my first ever diesel 4WD, an MQ Patrol, died on me within weeks of ownership because of an electronics failure. There was an electronic module that controlled the glowplugs and starting setup and it blew a resistor or such. This thing for quite some time worried me as we did some major high country and outback trips, but it never went on the fritz again.

Many don't realise it, but all diesels have a fair number of electronic bits controlling some function of the engine. The latest 4.2lt Patrol now has an electronically controlled fuel pump because of the emissions regulations.

You'll also find all of the new trucks are going fully electronic (in fact they have led the field) because it improves power and torque, and fuel economy. Whether it's long-haul highway or outback, it's the way things are going.

It'd be interesting to find out what types of electronics failures have occurred and in what vehicles.
FollowupID: 333487

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 09:43

Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 09:43
"Very few of us are ever in such a remote place they we don't see another vehicle every few hours."

remember the old bloke earlier this yr, that rolled his Disco that was saved by Epirb?
The local cop said on the news, that if he didnt have that, chances were nobody would have passed there for '2 weeks', yea a figure he pulled out of his bum, but it can happen.. If he didnt have Epirb, he would now be used for wildlife fertilizer.

The issue I see... is that you are more likely to find someone who can fix an non computerised problem in the middle of nowhere, than computerised... Getting car towed back from middle of nowhere, people have mentioned recovery fees of $3000. yea cheap.

YMMV...
FollowupID: 333492

Follow Up By: Davoe - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 14:24

Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 14:24
Nissan of old, I would just like to correct you on the assumption that most diesals rely on electrics. The older ones sure didnt. They may have them but they dont rely on them. My 2h cruiser crapped out badly the day before I was about to go on a 14k exploreoz trip. The modules that control the edic motor (on/off overfueletc) and the module that controls the glowplugs both died. Didnt even slow me down I didnt notice the glow plugs up north and just took some xta cranking to start when south. as for the edic motor - when I pulled up I just stalled it. The only power these donks need is for the starter motor
FollowupID: 333542

Reply By: Bryan (WA) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 22:17

Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 22:17
As a side option, if your in WA, and your GQ is in very good condition, why not keep the car and chang eit over to a big v8 chevy deisel. Brunswick deisel do an awsome job (my mate has his converted there and it was a very proffessional job).. Cost less than changing th car, but of course your GQ needs to be in very good condition to warrent spending the approx $13k-$15k sort of money...

This is exactly what I am considering, instead up upgrading to the GU deisel, my 92 GQ is in excellent condition, only done 195k kms,so the bearings and alike arnt overly worn as compared to having done more km's, and is the 4.2EFI motor.. so converting is alot cheaper and i know the GQs are renownd as solid and proven....

just an option.......

Bryan
AnswerID: 73339

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 09:45

Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 09:45
EFI motor probably would get you that much $, theres a TD42 forsale on OLimits for $3000
FollowupID: 333494