Submitted: Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 19:15
Member - Browny (VIC)
Interested to hear oppinions from those of you lucky enough to have a second set of tyres just for off road use.
I was thinking today after visiting a few different tyre outlets, that if I was to go to the trouble of getting a second set of tyres and rims purely for weekend work/fun then I may as
well go for a more agressive tread pattern than your normal BFG type Muddy, seems that the BFG "type" Muddy is ideal as a crossover tyer that still performs reasonably on the black stuff but falls behind the more aggresive muddy such as Your Simex/Mongrell configuration when off road.
Has anyone used or own those Mongrell tyres, I know there a retread type of set up but I'm hearing some pretty good reports as a purely off road tyre?? and they are affordable for such an extreme off road tyre.
I'm thinking of forgoing a bit of comfort and performance for the couple of hours (tops) to my offroad destinations and get better performance in the dirt!!
What do you reckon.
Happy Days...........Browny
Reply By: Member - Matt H (SA) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 19:57
Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 19:57
Did all of the above got the second set better than the ones I had on now
I have got a spare set I cant be botherd putting back on (cost me a set of rims)
Reply By: Bitsumishin - Mike (WA) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 21:05
Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 21:05
About 5 people in our club have the Mongrels. They are bl00dy noisy on the road but over rocks and through the mud they are great. I did a trip with and without and theres just no comparison. Not only do they give better grip but with my AllTerrains, once they were full of mud the grooves just didn't clear and were like slicks. With the Mongrels, the grooves are so wide, they clear easily & so you still have good traction. You do need to consider the time & effort taken in swapping 4 tyres over each time; a decent trolley jack & ratchet gun certainly help. I use a 12 volt job that I picked up for around $44- at Strathfield, but some of the others have gone for the Air compressor style.
Follow Up By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 21:56
Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 21:56
Thanks Mike,
In regards to swapping them over each time, I reckon I'd just take them to my local tyre mob $20 should just about cover it I reckon.
Browny
Follow Up By: Bitsumishin - Mike (WA) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 22:03
Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 22:03
You either don't get out much or have far too much money. Will he store them for you as
well when not in use or will you have to fill up the back of your car taking them there & back?
Follow Up By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 22:21
Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 22:21
Mike,
1/2 a dozen times a year max for a trip requiring those sort of tyres,day or weekend trips only not a tyre to take on holidays with the family, the allterains will sufice for anything else.My local tyer bloke would'nt mind holding them overnight!!! and yes I'd cart'em down on the roof racks I reckon.
Drive in have a 10 min chat while they put the truck on the hoist and drive out, no need for trolley jacks rattle guns and busten me gut.
Browny
Reply By: Member- Peter & Mrs Peter, Lez - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 21:09
Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 21:09
Just bought a set of Bridgestone Dueler M/T D673 tyres today, pretty agressive, worth a look. Cost $230.00 in 235/85/16. Cant wait to try them out.
Cheers Peter
Follow Up By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 21:59
Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 21:59
Cheers Mate, I'll have a look.
Browny
Reply By: NissanofOld - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 21:10
Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 21:10
Depends much on what sort of driving you want to do and how much you might wish to modify your 4WD (ie size of tyre). I've got a second set of tyres (MTRs) of the same size as my main BFGs, as I'm not really into major bog holes and gumbo mud (way too much long-term angst and repair bills).
I've been there and done that and much prefer the rocky terrain nowadays, rivers and high country stuff where the MTRs work very
well (they were not designed as a mud tyre and don't work all that
well in these conditions). Wear factor, noise, handling and ride comfort is great though (and pretty damn good on ice and snow as
well).
I believe the Mongrels are rebuilt tyres (AKA retread type but done differently) and may not have quite the durabilty of originals, though the price is inviting. Others may have more knowledge.
Reply By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 22:06
Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 22:06
Thanks NOO,
285's would be my size of choice, I currently run 275 all terrains so size isn't a great deal of change, your right about the pros and cons though the Mongrell type tyre is more suited to low range stuff.
Browny
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 23:07
Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 23:07
MOngerls good on light trucks, but not so much on large ones.
I run Simex JT2's on second set of rims.
Check outerlimits4x4.com theres always second hand tires forsale in there.
If you go to the effort of second set of tires, go swampers, JTs, or Extreme trekkers, but remember, most are illegal on road. Also none are really cheap.
YMMV.
Follow Up By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 09:51
Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 09:51
Thanks Truck,
I see next months 4wd Monthly has an extreme Muddy comparison, I'll check it out.
Browny.
P.S. "Your Mates" down at Procomp higher a set of Mongrells for the weekend for $200 wich they then take off the price if you decide to buy!
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 15:13
Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 15:13
Dont be offended, but dont believe what you read in mags.. remember, without sponsors $ they are out of business.
Your also better off to ask people in your state, conditions, about what they use.
Follow Up By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 15:50
Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 15:50
Yeah I know where your coming from, but I reckon that 4wd Monthly have been pretty honest in there "comparos" on a variaty of products, they have given ARB a whack in relation to there snatch straps and praise most of there other stuff, also I don't see to many forums such as this one criticise there findings, seems most people tend to agree with there results, but your right in relation to local conditions and such.
Am I right in saying that the mongrel tread design is basically a rip off of your Simex jt 2's
Browny
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 18:33
Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 18:33
I dont understand how one magazine out of the big 2 can have a spotlight test in 2 mags one after the other, and have totally opposite results.. Could one have got it that wrong?
1 had 240 LF winner, the other had them downthe list, and the $2
shop Narvas as winners. I have had both of them, and I Can tell you, LF $HIT$ no narva hands down.
Noting that the winners both had 2 page spread ads and YOU CAN WIN OUR LIGHTS deals with them..
call me sarcastic.
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 23:13
Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 23:13
Browny I am going through the same thought process as you.
For the same reasons, I have BFG Allterains and like the tyre in most situations but as you say in the real mud they turn to slicks.
I have not decided as to which way I will go on this, At the moment I was thinking BFG Muddies but could go as aggressive as a Simex, just not sure as yet.
Follow Up By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 09:45
Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 09:45
John,
I've got an idea, you go ahead and get the more aggresive tyre and let me know if you think you've done the right thing...............:-)
Browny
Reply By: 2ndLow - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 00:27
Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 00:27
Mate, i think you are suffering from common 4wder sydrome which all of us must experience on the track..............."Tyre Choice" ...............
I would recommend you to get a set of muddies either BFG or MTR. I would rather to comprise (comfort, quiet, speed) to get better traction in mud. When you lost traction, there are nothing you can really do. But comfort, quietness and speed are some factors which I would put in my secondary consideration.
I had BFG AT,MT before and they are great......I have considered to get a set of JT2 as they are similar price to my MTR for 32' .......but when I consider I can use the MTR as normal tyre when they wear out and much more saver when driving on bitumen, i would definitely choose MTR.
Mongrel are good tyre but it is a short term investment only. They wear out pretty quick and the construction quality vary. It all depends on the previous tyre condition which it was being remoulded (can see tyre brand from inside sidewall).
I have just sold me other set of HT as it took me too much work to change 4 tyres without any rattle gun..........i think if you run a correct tyre pressure, Muddies wear reasonably
well when comparing to AT....
Ok, it is a endless topic............it's up to you........... good luck
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 09:29
Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 09:29
"a set of JT2 as they are similar price to my MTR for 32' ......."
where? new 34inch JT2 on a rim is over $340..
Follow Up By: 2ndLow - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 09:59
Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 09:59
Yes...
Canterbury Tyres
172 Canterbury Rd Bayswater VIC 3153
They have tons of 2ndhand offroad tyres too.......
When i bought my MTR, i was also quoted the Centipede 32' x 9.5 x R15 for around $270........ and MTR was about 265...........about 3 months ago
I was also quoted by another big tyre
shop near chadstone about similar price......... i was so surprised as I thought they may be dearer.........
But I think yours may had better deal as rim cost around $50...and your tyre was 34...........
Follow Up By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 10:04
Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 10:04
Thanks Kelvin,
I guess watching you play around in the mud last weekend was part of my learning/thought process, the BFG Muddys you had on certainly out performed my AT's but there's no way I could use them as an everyday tyre, as I tow a heavy trailor around all day every day for work and would need a better road tyre than the Muddy, the AT is enough compromise for me.
My thought process is if I'm to spend $1500 minimum on a second set of "off road" tyres to only use for weekend work then maybe the aggresive tyre is the way to go???
Browny
Follow Up By: 2ndLow - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 12:49
Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 12:49
Right.....AT would be more suit you for daily work. Also, it is a big money to spend on a whole new set of tyre just for playing in mud.
Alternatively, you may consider to run 2 muddies at the back and 2 AT at th front......i use to run like this and it is a good combination. AT handle better that's why they are put in front .....muddies have better traction and can take advantage of your LSD....put them at the back....so you just spend mony on 2 muddies at the beginning....then after few months if you find it is better to have all muddies on...then buy them later...........
I used to run like this on my previous pajero.......work great......
Follow Up By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 13:14
Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 13:14
Kelvin,
Must admit I've never thought of doing that, but a good way of spreading the cost.
Browny
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 15:22
Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 15:22
2 AT's on front 2 mts on rear.
so what are you better off without , steering or drive.. cause you still have the issue of clogging up AT's even if you have 2 on rear or 2 on front.
You can buy used MT's anywhere, EG, Procomp in Narre Warren, outerlimits4x4 trader, Trading post, Ebay etc.. You would be better off with them over 2 ATs anywhere..
YMMV
Follow Up By: flashnick - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 23:29
Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 23:29
Why not check out (and for that matter Support) ExplorOz's Trader - theres heaps in there - just about to advertise some in there myself,
Nick
Follow Up By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Saturday, Aug 21, 2004 at 11:49
Saturday, Aug 21, 2004 at 11:49
Flash,
I've checked out the trader section here, nothing that suits me, I've also supported EO by becoming a member!
Browny
Reply By: Wheelerdog - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 11:39
Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 11:39
K-Mart has MTR's on sale at the moment
mine get fitted tomorrow, i was running 2 sets, but i think the MTR will provide me with one set of tyres that will do most things for me. given the excellent reports they get from those who are running them.
Follow Up By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 13:20
Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 13:20
Thanks Dog,
I'll have to pay them a visit as
well.
Browny