aftermarket seat

Submitted: Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 21:14
ThreadID: 15695 Views:2529 Replies:4 FollowUps:6
i am looking to buy a good aftermarket seat for my 75 series trayback.anyone know any special places in the perth or geraldton area where i could check them out. cheers sparra.

Reply By: Member - Murray C (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 22:49

Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 22:49
G'day sparra,
Yeah I understand your problem, when I changed over my 79 series seats I went down the same path of looking at aftermarket jobs and there are quite a few to choose from. One of the issues important to me as that I wanted folding armrests. The prices seem to range from $600-$1000+, however thats not so much the problem, its the cost of fitting and some of the mods that have to be made to make them fit.
My solution was to buy a pair of Range Rover bucket seats from a specialist RR wrecker. I think I got a very good solution to the problem.
All leather all electric seats $600 the pair.
Minimum adjustment needed to fit them, retained the fore & aft slider and simply mounted the RR seats on an adapter frame. The RR seats mount the seat belt from the seats. Total fitting cost $380. Easy to remove the whole lot and put back the Toyota originals if I want to when it is time to sell this truck.
I now have plenty of room between the seats into which I have fitted a large locking centre console.
Hope this helps,
Murray
AnswerID: 73348

Follow Up By: V8troopie - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 00:07

Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 00:07
That sounds like a good alternative Murray.
About 3 years ago I went through this exercise, the driver seat of my troopy was giving me knee cramps on long trips.
The imported bucket seats looked very good but their price was a little outside my budget. So I bought a bucket seat made in Melbourne from the local ARB dealer. It came with an armrest, it had a lumbar spine bladder that could be pumped up for the best comfort and it also had the appropriate mounting frame to fit my Toyota.

The seat felt great, gave good support and no fatigue on long trips.

However, the foam padding inside must be of poor quality as it wore through on the door side of the seat after about 2 years. I glued it together and fitted a seat cover but that fix only lasted a short time. Now I have taken the seat out and I will send it shortly to the manufacturers for repair. Hopefully they will use some longer lasting materials this time.
Klaus
FollowupID: 333472

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 09:32

Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 09:32
Remember if you change seats you need to get them engineered to be legal.. if you have a smash, thats the last thing you want in the back of your mind.

Other option is go to a Jap import wrecker, I got a pr of Recaro replicas for my ute yrs back, $300pr, and they still had plastic on them! Full wrap around style 'race' seats...

Worth checking out
FollowupID: 333490

Reply By: Troopy Travellers (NSW) - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 09:56

Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 09:56
Where does one find these people that give you an engineering certificate for newly installed seats? Are they the local licensed mechanic or a qualified professional engineer?
Sparky
AnswerID: 73374

Follow Up By: Ian(Qld) - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 10:19

Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 10:19
Sparky,

I installed secondhand Japanese car bucket seats in my troopcarrier myself ten got them engineered by a specialist professional in Brisbane. $130 for the certifucate and blue plate fixed to the bodywork. Then had them registered by the Dept of Main Roads, but that is Queensland.
Hope that assists.
FollowupID: 333501

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 12:18

Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 12:18
Contact RTA, and ask for a list, or check their website.

If your stuck, call Jason Parkin at Jays Engineering 9540 3434 if I remember, hes in Kareena road (right into kareena comin from the nell). he is not an engineer, but will know of one, tell him I said he smells too... Known Jason since about 85 when he was a little apprentice... ;)
FollowupID: 333517

Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 16:20

Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 16:20
I got the original seats re stuffed in my 78 series troopy, to make them more comfortable, especially the passenger 1.5 seat.

I then got them to do the front in cloth inserts to cover the extra bulk where it was needed to bolster them, and use the rest of the original vinyl cover for the rest of the seat given the car was new.

Cost $350 and made the seats much better.
AnswerID: 73415

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Saturday, Aug 21, 2004 at 14:14

Saturday, Aug 21, 2004 at 14:14
G'day Sparra

My step father fitted aerotech seats to his 75 nearly 240k ago, no mods as they make them an a tojo base. Had the seat part of the driver side recovered a couple of months back. Reckons he'd never have another seat... I think they come in at around $500 each these day's.

Blue
AnswerID: 73494

Follow Up By: Member - sparra - Saturday, Aug 21, 2004 at 21:22

Saturday, Aug 21, 2004 at 21:22
thanks for that blue,i found the aerotech website and they have an agent in northern suburbs of perth,i will check them out. by the way ,what part of vic are you from,i was born in bairnsdale. cheers sparra.
FollowupID: 333659

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Saturday, Aug 21, 2004 at 21:35

Saturday, Aug 21, 2004 at 21:35
born in bairnsdale myself sparra. state school in morwell then moved to melbourne... ferntree gully at the moment.
FollowupID: 333660