Navigation unit to be installed...

Submitted: Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 07:43
ThreadID: 15700 Views:2502 Replies:5 FollowUps:7

Another installation headache. Have a VDO in-car navigation unit that I'm going to have fitted to the GU next week. Has anyone attempted to screw a bracket into the dash of the Patrols and/or any car for that matter as a fixed point? Is the rubber material of the dash too malleable? Would the screws just pull out? The bracket will be where the screen mounts. I intend on removing the screen when not in use as it's just a disconnect from the power source affair. Any suggestions or ideas?

Cheers guys and gals!

Chris.

Reply By: Des Lexic - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 09:37

Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 09:37
You could try velcroe to fix the monitor to the dash. Remove any of the dash finishing "Armourall"type products first to get a better stick.
AnswerID: 73369

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 10:09

Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 10:09
Des Lexic,

Thanks mate. That damn protection stuff just doesn't come off, trust me to get all romantic with the car and get interior protection, nothing sticks!

Chris.
FollowupID: 333499

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 09:38

Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 09:38
The material on the dash is just that.. rubbery/plastic. Mate that races one found out that by trying mounting a GPS on his dash.

Double sided tape is something others use for UHF/GPS'. Other option is make up a mount like a dashpod using the same mounts as a pod would use, and screw it to that. would be solid, and you could remove the complete unit, with no holes drilled to cover up when you sell it.

YMMV

Unless you drill down to the metal below that.
AnswerID: 73370

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 10:12

Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 10:12
Howdy Truckster,

Thinking about a dashpod...

Was going to cut hole in dash and screw the screen bracket to a tub recessed into the dash so the screen would lay flush with dash...Got told too hard and $600 was too much for my taste.

Thanks mate.

Chris.
FollowupID: 333500

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 15:17

Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 15:17
What is $600? Dashpods?
FollowupID: 333554

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 10:44

Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 10:44
Hi Chris,

There is actually a lot of room behind the centre dash (around the radio) so you may want to take the exterior surround off to check it out. There are two screws towards the bottom of the centre, you have to bend down to see. Once these are undone, gently prise the centre console surround out (hard to explain but easy to do). I was suprised just how much vacant space was around the radio area.

As for mounting GPS etc off the plastic, if you add a backing plate behind the plastic, should be more than strong enough. As I recently had a phone holder installed, I checked the price to replace the plastic surround - $217, OUCH!!!

I have a Garmin V GPS and it is relatively small. I simply velcro'ed it on the steering wheel column. It sits below the height of the speedo/tacho but is easily seen while driving. Not sure of the shape/size of your unit, but mine is a very convinient location.

Keep having fun with all the "accessorising".

AnswerID: 73381

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 11:02

Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 11:02
Thanks captain!

I'll have a play around on the weekend with a dry run to see where I want stuff to go, I may even mount the screen of the front of the dash somewhere instead of on top...

The G.P.S will be ok, it has it's own holder so that's all good. Will just have to see how I go!

Cheers again,

Chris.
FollowupID: 333511

Reply By: Member - Errol (York WA) - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 15:37

Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 15:37
What i did with my extenal screen is = small disc of steel ( about 2" across ) , light guage steel square tube ( 25x25 ) , cut at near right angle , weld to disc so it comes out about 25mm from disc . Drill three holes around edge of disc . Come up about 200mm and cut off . Find another piece of tube that will fit inside of first piece . Another disc , weld on top of this . Fit together and drill a hole through both , move iner piece up 25mm , drill through , repeat 3 or 4 times or till you get to end of iner piece .This will make it removable and also hight adjustable . Mount screen on top . Then work out best place to mount onto side of gearbox hump . Drill through 3 holes through and place thick piece rubber under carpet with holes in also , bolt on . This is how i did it , but i used a Ram mount between second peice and screen to give me a bit more movemet . I will be in Brisee at xmas if you want to have a look . Hopes this helps . Cheers .
AnswerID: 73409

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 10:21

Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 10:21
Hi Errol,

Thanks for that mate. I've got a couple of guys looking into the best way for me, just don't want it to rattle off when on cape trip early next year! Like your idea though, will print it out and show the dude fitting it!

Keep in touch, your truck looks pretty schmick, so wouldn't mind catching up with you!

Chris.
FollowupID: 333760

Follow Up By: Member - Errol (York WA) - Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 16:29

Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 16:29
No worries Cris . Mine,s been over some quite rough country up north on our last trip , and it hasen,t rattle,d off yet (touch wood ) . When i take it off , all you are left with is a short peice of square tube by your right leg . I will be in Brisbane about the 23rd of December , most,ly over on Koochmudlo island (off Victora Pt )where my brother lives . only there for about 9 to 10 days . Send me a member masage closer to the time . Cheers
FollowupID: 333789

Reply By: rolande- Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 16:56

Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 16:56
Chris,
When you have your play around, go out and buy some 3M Command adhesive strips. They are the double-sided tape thingies that stick like sh^t to a shovel, available in packs from hardware stores, but one quick tug of the little dag thing at the end and they come off - best part is they will not mark the dash. I used 2 small ones to stick a mobile phone holder to the vertical part of the dash next to the heater controls. Drop the phone in-out each day, bumpy roads, etc, don't even look like letting loose. You can then decide on a position a fit a more permanent mount if you like without marking the dash.
Rolande
AnswerID: 73422

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 10:22

Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 10:22
Heard those 3M things are pretty good. Will go and have a look, cheers rolande!
FollowupID: 333761