Patrol Leg room

Submitted: Saturday, Aug 21, 2004 at 20:19
ThreadID: 15728 Views:4054 Replies:7 FollowUps:7

On a previous post a member pointed out that he found the patrol leg room to be too small. Are there any other patrol drivers out there over 6 foot tall? If so do you find the patrol hard to drive because of your height.

I have a 2004 Patrol and i am 6' 3" and find it ok. But i also drive a defender 110 which has a shocking driving postion. Because the patrol is 1000 times better than the defender i might be over looking the leg room issue as i never looked at any other cars.

So please any comments from those tall patrol drivers are welcome.

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Aug 21, 2004 at 22:52

Saturday, Aug 21, 2004 at 22:52
I'm 6'1" and find it okay.....I have a trailer brake controller above my left knee and it comes close to hitting. I've removed the footrest which lets my left foot extend a little bit. I've also read here that you can get a bit more room for your right foot by removing the plastic bump stop under the GO pedal and bending that one down towards the firewall a bit; but i haven't tried it myself.
AnswerID: 73534

Follow Up By: Michael - Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 21:27

Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 21:27
Hey Roachie, remove the plastic stopper,, just 25 mm makes a huuuuggggee difference, take one hour max, remove the stopper and the pedal, bend at the lowest bend about 25 mm back and replace, check for full throttle, dont adjust the cable just the pedal.. you will love it after a couple of days... best regards michael.
FollowupID: 333729

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 10:05

Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 10:05
Thanks Michael,
Will look into doing that too.
Cya mate
FollowupID: 333758

Reply By: snowman - Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 08:26

Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 08:26
I'm 6'2" and have woolen seat covers fitted to my Patrol. I find that my left knee ends up resting on the dash. It doesnt make it hard to drive,just not very comfortable after driving the car for a few hours. Has anyone tried remounting the seat on the runners to get more leg room?
AnswerID: 73549

Follow Up By: Michael - Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 21:29

Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 21:29
just look under the seat,, its not so easy,,,, its a nightmare.........
FollowupID: 333730

Reply By: V8Diesel - Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 09:36

Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 09:36
My seat is rooted in the GU so I went to Foam Sales Myaree and bought a wedge which I stuck under the seat cover. Gives about another 2" padding under the bum, but tapers off at the front of the seat (behind knees). More of a flat seat now instead of a bucket or scoop shape.

I like it, the bit of fluff dosn't. Knees don't hit dash either. Cost about $10.
AnswerID: 73557

Follow Up By: rolande- Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 20:39

Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 20:39
I don't want to be alarmist but from what you describe there is a good chance that in the unfortunate circumstance someone runs up your rear you will find yourself "submarine-ing" under the seatbelt and possibly sustaining more serious injuries than would otherwise be the case. Please, Please visit someone who has expertise in repairing seats and spend the cash, not only will you be safer but you will find how comfortable a cusotmized seat can be.
Rolande
FollowupID: 333718

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 10:21

Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 10:21
Scott I have probably just as great a problem or more so as 6'4" fellow in a ute GU 03 model. I have looked at aftermarket ones to some extent but they would want to be thinner to advantage me.

I have removed the foot rest to make it easier to stretch my legs and get my feet behind the pedals. Among the members there are bigger guys than me and driving Landcruisers but obviously I like some comfort in the way I sit and for my passengers. LOL
AnswerID: 73561

Follow Up By: Michael - Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 21:23

Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 21:23
Hi John, I said in this post that the clutch pedal is too close to the footrest,, i might remove it to give me more room, i have removed the plastic stopper behind the acc pedal and bent it 25 mm towards the fire wall, huge difference, 25 mm allowed me to straighten my leg, feels weird for a few days and then feel really good. but you have to make sure that you are getting full throttle when you modify it.. michael.
FollowupID: 333728

Reply By: Michael - Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 10:25

Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 10:25
Gday, Yes i find my Gu very cramped, I'm 6' tall and i found the Gas pedal very close and quite upright. I have removed the plastic stopper under the pedal and removed the pedal and bent it about 25 mm back towards the firewall. I need to stretch out or my leg goes to sleep. I find the footrest for my left foot is ok but really not a lot of room there either, the clutch pedal is very close to it. When they bring out a totally new model they should look at the whole driving position. I still could do with another 2" in the seat backwards adjustment. I have three nephews, 6'3", 6'5" and 6' 6", I bet none of the guys could drive my Patrol for any length of time. If they dont adress this cramped position, the next generation tall guys wont be able to fit into them. Thank god for the cruise control. But then, its japanese and just like the Rodeo and all the little jap utes, they all have the same problem.... made in a country full of little people.
AnswerID: 73562

Reply By: schevchenko - Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 15:19

Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 15:19
I'm 6'5" and find there isn't enough rear seat travel. whats so hard about giving us that? I bet adjusting our own runners would require an engineers cert too. Mind you, I sat in a Jimny the other day... It was so narrow - you wouldn't want to be claustrophobic.
AnswerID: 73577

Reply By: scottcamp - Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 19:33

Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 19:33

Are the land cruisers any better?
AnswerID: 73598

Follow Up By: rolande- Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 20:41

Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 20:41
No
FollowupID: 333719

Follow Up By: fozzy - Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 07:30

Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 07:30