hilux 2.8 turbos
Submitted: Saturday, Aug 21, 2004 at 23:49
fisho
Like about every other hilux diesel owner I would like to turbo my 2.8 but dont want to spend $3000 plus to do it. I understand it is possible to fit a unit off a 2LT, does anyone have any info on whats involved? I imagine if it is possible then it would have been done a few times before. Im a marine engineer, so only work with bigger stuff than this!! Making parts etc is no prob, but I dont want to spend heaps of time doing it only to find it is useless.
thanks!
Reply By: snow - Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 13:56
Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 13:56
Gday Fish,
I have the earlier 2.4 LN65 Hilux but I picked up a 2nd hand unit from the wreckers complete with manifold and header pipe for $500 odd. I contacted a few wreckers and there was an abundance of them around and all around the same price also. That was a couple of years ago now and I haven't looked back.
Took me half a day on my own to fit and then zipped down to an exhaust
shop who fitted a 2.5 inch pipe right thru for $150- odd.
No dramas whatsoever and the ute is much easier to live with especially in the hills and in the sand also.
Follow Up By: fisho - Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 15:23
Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 15:23
gidday snow, thanks for that. I went thru the archives here looking for info and one of the messages I found said that the stud pattern on the turbo model manifold is different but you can drill and tap the head ok. I take that to mean that the head is the same but that the studs are just mounted in a different spot? What concerns me more is that the 2.8 will require a bit more wind than the 2.4 and whether the 2.4 can supply it? Also what did you do about an oil cooler? Cheers for your help!!
Reply By: snow - Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 16:16
Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 16:16
Hi Fish
Most of the turbos I was offered from the wreckers apparently came off Surfs, I've never looked at a Surf so I couldn't confirm that. Consequently the first unit I brought home had the stud "issue" and yes it would have been simply a matter of drilling & tapping the head for 2 (I think) studs. However I was told that this was only an issue for the 2.4 and that the 2.8 was a bolt on affair, once again I can't confirm the accuracy of that particular bit.
For my part, I took the unit I bought back to the wrecker as he had told me it was "all bolt on and no drill work to be done". He found me another with the correct manifold within a day. The 2nd turbo unit was manufactured by ARB some 10 years ago and was a much larger unit than the original CT20 unit that they had sold me.
If you would like anymore info or pics feel free to drop us an email: gd2001au@yahoo.com.au
Reply By: EXTREME1 - Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 07:35
Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 07:35
I put a 2LT onto my old 2.8 diesel hilux a couple of years ago, all I had to do was get two more holes tapped for the manifold and a new exhaust, it was the best thing I ever did to that car!!
Follow Up By: fisho - Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 09:51
Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 09:51
thanks for that extreme1, where did you feed the turbo oil return to? and the oil feed for that matter? what other parts did you need to get? how long did you drive it for, and more to the point is it still going ok? did you fit an oil cooler ( what part of aus are you in?)
thanks!!