1984 hilux

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 20:09
ThreadID: 15755 Views:2037 Replies:7 FollowUps:5
Hey guys,

I was just after some info regarding a purchse I am thinking of.
Its for a 1984 Hilux D/cab ute (1 tonne - I think), asking $4500.
Any info on what to look for would be very apprciated, small words please I'm just a beginner at this! Infact any info at all would be apreciated!!!

Thanking you in advance,

Thom.

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 20:17

Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 20:17
diesel or petrol?
AnswerID: 73601

Reply By: navaraman - Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 20:27

Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 20:27
It's probably been a tradies truck so expect a fair amount ot rust, scratches and scrapes and the likes. the suspension's prably had a fair old work out too, so look at that area. How many Kms, has it been well serviced. Like they say in the ads, the Hilux is pretty unbreakable, spares available anywhere, modifications galore. Good truck usually.
AnswerID: 73604

Reply By: Thom - Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 20:32

Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 20:32
yaeh i cant remember how many kms - well its 20 y/o so I expecting much, it a deisel I was just after info for when I go and see it. As far as rust is concerned - is it an easy fix - anything that will make repairs just too hard? My budget is about 5k for the beast so any alternatives?

Its just going to be a second car for me - I was after a doer uper - but not a complete rebuild.

Thanks guys.
AnswerID: 73609

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 20:43

Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 20:43
A mate of mine had one and whilst it couldn't pull a 6x4 down a hill,(slight exag) was very happy with his. It would have done a few k's being that age. Not sure how many k's the 2.4 is good for.
FollowupID: 333720

Reply By: rolande- Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 20:46

Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 20:46
Stay away from the 2.2 diesel, the 2.4 is much better
AnswerID: 73613

Reply By: Bob H - Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 20:47

Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 20:47
Hi Thom,
you dont say if its a 4wd or 2wd. From the price i would presume it is a 2wd as 4wds diesels that vintage are still getting about twice that price. it would be a 2.4l diesel. apart from the usual things, body-suspension-interior-etc check on the colour of the smoke out of the exhaust on start-up and when warm. If any bluish smoke be prepared to overhaul motor or better still upgrade to the later 3ltr motor. excessive black smoke could mean pump and injectors and a good tune. Hope this is of some small assistance.
AnswerID: 73614

Follow Up By: Bob H - Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 20:54

Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 20:54
P.S.
the 2.4 goes really well with a 2 1/4 inch exhaust and should be good for around the 400thou mark or better. As with all things mechanical clean..........AIR
OIL
FUEL

and regular servicing are the secrets to a good long life. If all check out OK then go for it and many happy miles motering.

FollowupID: 333721

Follow Up By: Thom - Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 21:56

Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 21:56
Hi Bob,
I checked the redbook value and it seems right on the money for a 4x4 truck of that vintage - does that sound right - or did I read it wrong?
FollowupID: 333733

Reply By: Thom - Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 21:52

Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 21:52
Thanks alot guys for all your very helpful advise, yes it is a 4x4 - so would that make it alot better value? Its just for getting me to work and a little bit of fun on w/ends.

Just curious, but what would an upgrade to the 3.0l cost and is it just a straight swap?
AnswerID: 73631

Follow Up By: Bob H - Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 22:05

Sunday, Aug 22, 2004 at 22:05
Day Thom,
Oooops its really nite time, isnt it. The red book value is about right so i guess you have a good deal. Dealers here in qld are asking more for good ones though. Check a few wreckers for prices on 2.8l and 3ltr motors. be careful to get any computers with motors if they are comp controlled. Best of luck and many happy 4wding miles.
FollowupID: 333735

Follow Up By: fisho - Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 00:03

Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 00:03
as I understand it, 3 litre (5L) is electronic but 2.8 (3L) is definitely not. Forget about putting the 3 litre one in, not worth it, but I think the the 2.8 and 2.4 can be swapped but you will be WELL outside your 5K budget by then. Better to get the next model which is more likely to have powersteer etc, or else get a 2LT to put in.
FollowupID: 333739

Reply By: Utemad - Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 09:08

Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 09:08
Check inside the chassis rails for rust. My mate had one and it rusted right through one of the rails and cracked through at Double Island Point. Athough we just unloaded it into other vehicles and he drove it home to Brisbane like that :-)
AnswerID: 73653