Blue Tounge Air Compressor

Submitted: Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 13:55
ThreadID: 15765 Views:5276 Replies:8 FollowUps:15
After a fun day of driving through the dunes and sand tracks north of Perth we ended up having to jack the car up waiting 45 minutes to pump up the tyres as the Air compressor I fitted under the bonnet (one of these Pro Air, Supercheap, Repco, 160PSI jobbies) packed it in (again, for the second time the first was replaced under warranty).
So ok, for the $79 on special price it was worth a shot, and it has given me a fair amount of joy, but even though I can get it replaced again, I just can't be bothered as it's a mission to keep removing it from under the bonnet and putting back it back in again.
I've read the archives, and looked aorund on the net and although the Blue Tounge is not the cheapest or the fastest it does seem to be the most reliable looking unit. It's also quite small which is important as there's not much room where I want it to go. (behind the airbox under the cruise control).
I've been quoted a price of $349, is this ok for a blue tounge?
Are there any other options I should be considering?
I like the idea of it being fan cooled as under bonnet temp's here in WA after beech driving in summer can be very high.

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 14:09

Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 14:09
G'day Jeff,
My Bushranger Max Air gets used every day to keep my 3Lt air receiver tank pumped (for air horns and front diff locker etc). It lives in the cargo area, above a drawer system....area that would otherwise not be usable. Could also mount under a seat.
I don't like under bonnet for a couple of reasons:
Heat as you said
Dust ingress....(if I did mount under bonnet, I'd be putting a hose from the truck's air cleaner box, to the air intake on the compressor)
Access; you have to lift bonnet to get to it (unless you run a hose to bullbar etc , which i've done anyway)
Water/moisture during creek/river x'ings
The MaxAir was about $390- (from memory....18 months ago) and pumps as quickly as a Twin Tongue. It's at least twice as fast as the ARB unit it replaced.
Just my experiences.
AnswerID: 73679

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 14:15

Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 14:15
Yeah it sits right next to the snorkel and air box so running it from there is no problem. I don't want it inside as I have a 7 year old and a -1 month year old and of course the missus who don't like standing around in the 40c heat while I pump the tyres up and would prefer not to deafen them! LOL This pump has been submerged before (Even though it sits right up high on top of the wheel arche) but because it's a sealed system and it was going at the time it didn't seem to effect it.
I hear what your saying, but I just don't know about it.

I also have an airline permantly connected with a quick relear air connector that is mounted to the front grill, so I don't have to pop the bonnet.
FollowupID: 333777

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 14:14

Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 14:14
Jeff,

I bought a Mark III bluey, and its been good, for the little use I've given it. Wouldn't mount under the bonnet because of dust, as Roachie said. Have ours in a plastic tool box, was about $350 or so, from memory. Can take it anywhere there's a battery, and it resides in the cargo drawers.

hooroo...

AnswerID: 73685

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 14:29

Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 14:29
Hi Jeff,

My brother-in-law has the Max-air (same as Roachies) while I have an ARB. After seeing the Max air perform, would not hesitate to buy one. Just wish Max-air were around when I bought the ARB, the difference in performance is huge.

But I have had my ARB one for 10 years (its one of the early models) and has never let me down. But have had to replace the valve nozzle on the hose due to wear (but thats due to amount of use - not a critisism).

Also, my brother bought the Max-air copy (looks identical to Max-air) for $130 from memory. Has only recently got it so I cannot report on relaibility yet. But to date has performed the same as the genuine Max-air and it appears to be a cheap alternative to the genuine max-air.

I am still trying to find out if they are the same or whether cheaper parts are used in it (neither my brother or brother-in-law will let me strip it down to find out !!!). Externally, there are no differences at all and even the instruction manual looks virtually the same. I think they probably come out of the same factory but import by different importers, but cannot confirm for sure.

AnswerID: 73689

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 14:31

Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 14:31
Yeah everyone ravesa bout them, but they are just too big to fit where I want it to go... Bugger.
FollowupID: 333778

Reply By: Martyn (WA) - Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 14:43

Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 14:43
Jeff,
I've got an ARB compressor, like others I've had no problems it's served well. But's the next accessory I'm buying is one of these Bushranger compressors. _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx 30 amps and does 74 litres of air per minute in comparison to 24 litres per minute and about 18 amps out of the ARB compressor, I've always mounted mine (doesn't sound to good) this time I'm going to keep it in the bag and use it as and when I need it. I don't have experience of Blue Tongue they are a re badged unit, mate has one, yes it does the job but the same as the ARB compressor hasn't got a huge capacity. My opinions
Keep the shiny side up

AnswerID: 73690

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 17:07

Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 17:07
Yeah no worries, I mounted mine under the bonnet because when we go away there is so much stuff packed in the truck and you need to put so many things in a place that is easy/quick to access, when I had the unit stored in it's bag it was a mongral to try and get it out all the time, esepecially on treks like D'Entracuasto where you are on the beech, then on tracks, then on highway, then on beech again etc etc all in the same day.
How come you are not going to mount it this time? The Max air also seems to have a duty cycle of 40 minutes only. Now this I can only imagine is probally measured @ 30psi at 22c. Reality is if I'm away from home fully loaded, I want at the very least 35psi all round and the temps in WA are very very often above what these units ratings are measured at. (especially under bonnet).
I'd be interested to see what the duty cycle of the Max Air is when in say 60c ambiant to help make my mind up, I could probally always move my cruise control gizzo box and maybe fit a max air if I was confident it was going to do the job in that environment and last.

The blue tounge has an unlimited duty cycle with ambiants of up to 60c. There are also plenty of these units mounted under bonnets that get plenty of use without dramas.

Has anyone installed a Max Air under bonnet??
FollowupID: 333791

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 17:25

Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 17:25
Actually I found the exact duty cycle off their website:
Maximum duty cycle time: 40 mins @ 40 psi @ 24°C
But I would still like to know what that is at say 60c?
FollowupID: 333795

Follow Up By: Martyn (WA) - Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 21:01

Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 21:01
Jeff,
I mounted the Rangie one under the bonnet because there was somewhere to put it, in hindsight I should of put it where I have the one in my Nissan, under the passengers seat. The compressor mounted in the Rangie is in the back left hand corner away from any heat sources. Under the passengers seat is a great place as far I'm concerned I just make sure I have the two front doors open for air circulation. the compressor has never cut out through overheating and having the compressor under the seat ensures the environment is clean and also have easy access for the air lines for the air lockers......
I'll keep the Bushranger in the bag so it's portable that's all. the Bushranger is taller than the ARB compressor and can only be mounted upright unlike the ARB compressor, the Bushranger is quite tall. Portable is good in some cases like when the hose won't reach the camper trailer because you forget that's further away, LOL
Keep the shiny side up

FollowupID: 333811

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2004 at 11:09

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2004 at 11:09
LOL, Martyn your truck is obviously very different to mine!
"the compressor under the seat ensures the environment is clean"
I'm scared to put my hand under the seat!!
Plus the seats on the surf are like a hilux, basically sitting on the floor, I can only just squeeze my air hose under there!

FollowupID: 333860

Reply By: biscuits - Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 17:56

Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 17:56
Hi Jeff,

I've been through two of those $79 Supercheap compressors - recently swapped the second one for their new bigger compressor (cant remember the name but it was about $179 and does 72L per min I think). Seems to do the job a lot better than the older and smaller $79 one. I've seen both compressors rebadged in numerous businesses - they all look the same to me - but with prices varying widely.

For $350 I would have to ask - have you considered endless air (or a DIY endless air setup)? I would think a engine mounted pump would 'blow' any electric compressor away any day of the week?

AnswerID: 73703

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 18:30

Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 18:30
I'm not sure, you may be talking about the same compressor I have, it was normally $149 and was on special about 7 months ago for $79. It's the bigger of the two piston style compressors they had at the time. 72L per min is pretty good, but is that with any load?

Yeah the endless air or air con compressor from wreckers has crossed my mind but with an EFI diesel with all the mod cons I would really struggle to get the bastard in their, not a lot of room around the front of the rig there. Plus manufacturing brackets, getting belts to fit, it all seems to hard.
I used to import computer parts and know that even though two items look the same and maybe even made in the same factory does not mean they ARE the same. They might use different graded components and or quality control techniques depending on how much the customer (importer) is willing to pay.
FollowupID: 333796

Follow Up By: biscuits - Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 18:40

Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 18:40
I'd say so. I'm in WA too ... I bought my first one about a year ago for $149, then it went on special for $79 so i went "stuff this, im going to return it for cash back and then buy it again for $79". Then a few months ago they bought out an even bigger model for around (i think) $179 so I bought my old one in and asked if I could pay the difference and get the biggest sized one. Drop down to supercheap sometime and you might see what I mean. I think there are 3 sizes of that compressor overall. The one I have now is I think 30amp / 72L per min off the top of my head. (although they advertised it as a 40amp I think in the catalogue).

Check out endless air anyhow - I do understand what you mean - I can't really be bothered with the hassle either - though it'd still be a great thing to have - you may find that they have fitting kits or instructions for the popular models out there...

FollowupID: 333797

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 19:05

Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 19:05
Ryto, they must have a new big one, I might go have a look, trouble is it takes me about 30 minutes just to redo all the undoing I did to this stupid thing! LOL
Got to put all the plastic bits back on and reqire it all like orig.

Thanks!
FollowupID: 333798

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2004 at 00:49

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2004 at 00:49
Hi Jeff,

The 72 l/min one from Supercheap was the one my brother bought for $130 odd on special. As far as I can tell, it looks identical to the Max-air my brother-in-law has. Given the ~$350 vs $130 (special) price, we thought why not give it a go. With its limited use so far, has been fine.

FollowupID: 333829

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2004 at 11:07

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2004 at 11:07
Biscuts I went down to supercheap this morning, the one they have for $179 is the one I bought for $79. It's got the guage in inline on the air hose and not mounted to the unit.
I've had two of those now. It looks just like the hurricane or Pro Air by bushranger. They did not have anything that looked like the max air.
FollowupID: 333858

Follow Up By: biscuits - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2004 at 12:15

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2004 at 12:15
hmmm okay - how confusing :)

http://motorcare.com.au/images/maxair.jpg

The above link is a picture of a max-air unit ($390) that looks identical to the one I got from supercheap for ~$179. Hopefully this clarifies it for sure.

Dave.
FollowupID: 333868

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2004 at 12:18

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2004 at 12:18
WTF?? That's not the one they had in their today, they've never had any bigger than the one I've got at the midland store. Where about's are you? It's bloody weird eh?
AutoPro down the road have the Max Air for $385 and another cheaper brand that looks identical for $169. I wonder if I should just go and buy that one. Bloody hell it's confusing.
Maybe I should just save the pennies and go get the blue tounge and be done with it and just wait for the tyres to pump up but be confident that they will get their in the end...
FollowupID: 333869

Reply By: biscuits - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2004 at 12:29

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2004 at 12:29
I go to the balcatta supercheap - or alternatively I think repco (right next door) have the same product but again branded differently for a similar price... It doesnt suprise me that supercheap dont have them in stock...(i wont say anymore there!)

You could get the blue tongue, but wouldnt you kick yourself if later you found out you paid ~$390 for something that a $179 rival equals (or at least comes very close to)? I'd personally jump on the phone and call around the supercheap (etc) stores and ask them if they have the "72L/30amp" compressor in stock and for how much.

AnswerID: 73782

Reply By: D-Jack - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2004 at 14:38

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2004 at 14:38
Jeff

I've got a Blue Tongue III - the IV is all you'd probably get now, even more improvement. I know having one probably makes me biased, but you asked what people thought of the Blue Tongue, here's my honest opinion.

I am the type of person who researches everything pretty well before buying. I understand that there are other compressors out there that are pretty good these days, even ones that will inflate quicker. But some of those figures only relate to when the compressor is cold or warm, not hot. 4X4 did a comparo and the Blue Tongue did not win, but came a close 2nd or third when taking into consideration price, cold inflation times, noise etc. However, they did mention that it was the only true continuous cycle compressor, meaning it will not get so hot that it will effect it's performance. This means each tyre you inflate will take pretty well the same time to inflate, whereas some of the others slow down considerably after 2 or three tyres.

I go away with mates who have got the cheaper compressors, and I always find myself inflating mine back up to about 35 PSI and then help them out with one or two tyres so we are not waiting around as long. I'm no expert but the information I have collected tells me that there are not too many compressors on the market that will stand up to that claim.

My info is about 18 months old, so if there is a new beaut compressor for $180 that is as quick at pumping and will not fade after 2 or 3 tyres then I stand corrected.

Blue tongue is made by Thomas in USA, they have a reputation for quality reliable pumps and compressors used mainly in commercial applications.

To sum up, you will not go wrong with a Blue Tongue. You may get a cheaper compressor out there, but the Blue Tongue is proven.

P.S. $349 is a pretty good price for a Blue Tongue, you will need to add all the hoses and all but if you don't already have them the dealer may discount the Blue Tongue or the accessories even further. I got my hose for 1/2 price with all quality fittings.

D-Jack
AnswerID: 73789

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2004 at 14:49

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2004 at 14:49
D-Jack, mate that's just an awsome reply answering the question asked spot on! And your about the only person who has not bought up the MAx air or it's equivilent cheaper relations. Thanks!
You know that's exactly what I was thinking about, the one I had used to fade like a bastard, first tyre, up, yep, no probs, the second, oooooo, slow, then it's just time to crank the barby up and have dinner while we wait for the other two.
But the figures on paper were awsome, and it never cut out with its thermal protection crap, instead it just melted itself to oblivian! LOL Stupid peice of poo.
You know all these other guys almost had me going down to AutoPro etc and just buying this max air equivilent, and maybe I still will but your the first person to actually put things exactlly how I was thinking before I posted. You've at least given me a little confidence it my origional train of thought.
It the fact the the blue tounge can keep on going on that made pricked my ears up the most about it, I understand thomas make it, I hadn't heard of them before, but I had gone to their website and had a poke around and they seem like pretty hard core blokes.
Oh well, back to the old drawing board, I think for all the hassel I've had so far I might just save the pennies and go the blue tounge, esepcially considering I want it under bonnet mounted, I live in a hot climate, and I'm sick of the products packing it in.
The guys at my local 4wd shop said it was a "special" price, but I've fallen for that line before, I gald he's looking after me, I do try to put most of my business through him.

FollowupID: 333887

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2004 at 09:54

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2004 at 09:54
No problems mate, now let me sell you an Engel over a Waeco!!

Just kidding. Good luck with your decision making
Glad I could be of assistance

D-JAck
FollowupID: 333945

Reply By: Gossy - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 13:28

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 13:28
have a big red. Blows my tyres and a mates tyres in no time at all (8 in total). Never cut out from heat etc yet. Very impressed with it.
AnswerID: 75812