TD6 4.2 TDI motor in the GU...Wheez Wheez

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 25, 2004 at 10:59
ThreadID: 15807 Views:2860 Replies:7 FollowUps:9
Hi guys,

I've been watching with some interest on other forum posts regarding powering up the abovementioned motor. It has about as much power as suzi running on 1 cylinder and blows more smoke than a van full of hippies in Byron. Dissappointingly, I did not obtain the info I needed.

Unfortunately, my last truck had in my view too much power and was putting strain on clutch etc but has made me more than a little dissappointed in the output of this new motor. I'm assuming that new laws relating to enviromental issues has required Nissan to restrict a few bits and bobs to stay within the limits ie EGR etc.

What is the best way to open this baby up without putting my warranty at risk (some are going to say wait, which I appreciate) but I just don't want to drive an asthmatic vehicle around for 3 years. I hate having to push it up every small incline etc. I was treated by my last vehicle so I'm going to be a little less power hungry this time.

I look forward to your comments.

Chris.

Reply By: TD6 - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2004 at 11:21

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2004 at 11:21
Chris,

I had the same opinion when I purchased mine last year. Admittedly I came out of a GQ 4.2 d running a super charger so I did expect a little difference but not as drastic as it was. I was tempted to throw mods at the vehicle to resolve the problem but was convinced by a diesel mechanic who knows what he's talking about to leave it alone, let it run in and then decide what to do. I've just clicked over 60,000 k's and the car is a totally different vehicle. At about the 35 000 mark it all started to loosen up and from then on has just got better. I originally thought it was just me getting used to it but I recently took a mated out for a run which had less the 5k on the clock and the difference is amazing.
If you can't wait to clock up the k's around town do what I did and go for a run up through the Kimberly and Gulf country. Both you and the truck will love it :)
AnswerID: 73885

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2004 at 12:07

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2004 at 12:07
TD6,

Gday mate, you know what, through all of my silly blurred vision, I forgot about the running in process! I will do as you say, and admitedly, it only has 1400 k's on it...

Thanks for the reminder!

Chris.
FollowupID: 333951

Follow Up By: snowman - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2004 at 12:12

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2004 at 12:12
I agree with TD6. I had a 4.2 turbo GU ute and the motor didnt want to rev past 3000rpm until it had about 30000k's on it. I sold it with 75000k's on it and the motor was still loosening up.
FollowupID: 333952

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2004 at 12:14

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2004 at 12:14
Howdy Snowman,

Thanks for that, don't know why I didn't realise that, just power addicted I guess...and like TD6 said, after stepping out of a loosened up, highly moded truck, it is pretty lame!

Cheers for the reply mate,

Chris.
FollowupID: 333953

Follow Up By: Peter O - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2004 at 22:37

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2004 at 22:37
Have some patience there Chris,

I purchased the 4.2 GU recently and the first couple of weeks I thought the same thing as you. Although mine has only 15000 Kms at this stage it seems to have loosened up a lot. The first 5,000 Kms I thought it was very tight and wouldn't rev. Enjoy the rig mate because it will get better.

FollowupID: 334007

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2004 at 13:02

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2004 at 13:02
If your discription is correct in blowing smoke etc
I would go to another dealer and try again.

Speak to AG Diesel in Melbourne they are claiming 20-30% more power with no turbo mods... IMHO it would be bullbleep
AnswerID: 73894

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2004 at 13:06

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2004 at 13:06
Sounds like bullbleep to me as well!!! But you never know...taken the opinions of others on board, will wait 20 or 30 thou and take it from there...
FollowupID: 333957

Reply By: JamieMac - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2004 at 13:04

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2004 at 13:04
Agree with above posts. Mine feels better every day and has about 6000km on it. Going to Perth in the near future so that should help a lot.

Spoke to a guy with about 40,000km and he was rapt. Rekons the harder he pushes it the better it goes now!!

Jamie
AnswerID: 73895

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2004 at 13:18

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2004 at 13:18
Howdy jamie,

Thanks mate, just calming me down more and more...easy Chris easy...you don't need to put bigger impellers and bigger intercooler and blah blah blah...

Cheers again,

chris.
FollowupID: 333958

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2004 at 14:43

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2004 at 14:43
Chris, The other blokes have got it in ONE. Mine also had nearly 40,000 on the clock b4 it loosened up. Bigger exhaust will also help it to breathe and IMHO you could do that now rather than later...up to you. Also, at around 20,000, it would pay to have the injectors done (spray pattern and quantity) and the pump re-calibrated. I had this done at about that many k's by B E R R I M A D I E S E L & it made a helluva difference.
AnswerID: 73903

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2004 at 14:45

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2004 at 14:45
Are you worried about your warranty? Would Nissan have an issue with the recab and the new injectors? Did you get genuine Nissan injectors for 2,000,000.00 each or aftermarket jobbies?

You must regret replying to my posts, you answer 1 question and get 60 in return!!!
FollowupID: 333966

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2004 at 16:36

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2004 at 16:36
Gettign your injectors done and pump would do nothing for warranty, since your not modding it.

and look elsewhere to get it done. Numerous nightmares about a place in NSW's south. Wonder if they will sue the site for me saying this?

YMMV
FollowupID: 333974

Reply By: sean - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2004 at 18:27

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2004 at 18:27
chris

My TD6 is also totally gutless to drive at highway speeds and even worse with a load on. Fuel economy with a load is WOWFUL.

The EGR has certainly stuffed things up, or it seems so, becuase this motor bears no resememblence to what others say with their Non EGR motors.

I had mine put on a dyno. If there is anyone who reckons their TD6 goes great and is economical under load I would be interested to hear because the dyno indicated my motor is as expected and even better than some others that have been tested. Mine has 30,000ks on it and is not better than when it was new.

I really cant see how putting another 30,000ks on it will improve fuel economy 20 to 30 percent.

Sean
AnswerID: 73916

Reply By: Paul from Denco Diesel and Turbo - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 11:22

Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 11:22
Chris M, yours is a problem we commonly strike. Denco offer a TD42T upgrade system which completely replaces the existing turbo. I have included the dyno figures we achieve in one of our recent fitments. The vehicle had done around 80,000 kms at time of fitment and should have well and truly been run in!

SPEED REAR WHEEL HP
BEFORE AFTER

120 83 108
110 79 100
100 77 95
90 70 85
80 59 74
70 50 63

As you can see, the flat spot is virtually non-existent after the Denco system is fitted, with a noticeable increase in power. (can email a graph for those interested sales@dencodiesel.com , not too savvy about how to post the graph on the forum, LOL)

We are also diesel fuel injection specialists, so why have we chosen this pathway for the low power problems? The replacement of the new turbocharger improves the efficiency of the engine using the same fuel. Other modifications increase the fuel to obtain power increases. While in theory the sky’s the limit with increasing the fuel, the longevity and reliability of your vehicle will be placed at stake.

We frequently assess damaged pumps which have been over fuelled. Modifying your pump can impact on warranty as the work still needs to be within manufactures specifications.

Regarding your vehicle warranty, this is a very touchy issue, and you are best to speak to your dealer about what modifications or aftermarket additions or alterations might impact on your warranty.

Something to check which could be affecting your power is the fuel pump timing. This can sometimes be below specifications. Fixing this to within specs would not affect your warranty. Refer to the Association of Australasian Diesel Specialists ( www.aads.com.au ) for your closest diesel fuel injection specialist.
AnswerID: 74495

Reply By: Len52 - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 18:01

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 18:01

Very interesting ( and comforting) to read! I purchased a new TD6 in late July 2004(built June) and have been enjoying it greatly.

I came to it from a 1991 Ti normally aspirated GQ 4.2 oiler with 300,000 on the clock, and was initially very impressed with the TD6. Over the past few weeks, as I became more familar with it, I have decided it is a bit spongy in the get up and go department, although fuel consumption appears at this point not much worse that the GQ.

Mine now has 3600 k's and it makes sense that the new oiler will require time and K's to loosen up some. The idea of a running in session to the Kimberly sounds the go, although a few weekend runs in and around SE QLD will have to do for the tiem being. Anxious to get some K's on it so I can drag the boat with it as well.

Len
AnswerID: 76351

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 14:57

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 14:57
Since this post mate, I have spoken to a lot more people...

The E.G.R system in the 4.2 is one of the main reasons why it is very chuggy, the egr system becomes clogged and restricts flow. If you see my more recent post, this informs you as to what can be done and what I've decided to do...

cheers mate,

chris.
FollowupID: 336277