Generators.

Submitted: Thursday, Aug 26, 2004 at 09:09
ThreadID: 15836 Views:5070 Replies:12 FollowUps:8
I purchased a Bunnings generator a few months ago for $198 it was rated at 850w peak & 650 continuous. The exact same is now selling for $98 but is now rated at 750w & 550w continuous & the Millars Falls gen set which is the same and sold elsewhere is rated at 950w & 750 continuous. Does any one know the true output of the same as there seems to be some rubbery figures around. I have had 2 X 500w lights running off mine without tripping the breaker. Any knowlegable electricians out there.

Reply By: CHRIS - Thursday, Aug 26, 2004 at 09:13

Thursday, Aug 26, 2004 at 09:13
I must apologise, I have posted the same question twice as it did not show up the first time on the forum so I went through the motions again. Sorry.
AnswerID: 74024

Follow Up By: allblack55 - Thursday, Aug 26, 2004 at 21:09

Thursday, Aug 26, 2004 at 21:09
Hi Chris,
I have done some test fiqures on a Millers Falls "chinese genset" for voltage/load, frequency/load re the 230vac outlet and voltage /load for the 12volt charger outlet.
If you would like a copy then mail me :-sunelec@netcon.net.au so I can post same to you.

Leigh.
FollowupID: 334125

Reply By: Michael - Thursday, Aug 26, 2004 at 10:29

Thursday, Aug 26, 2004 at 10:29
I think that a 50% discount is fair with just a 100 watt reduction! LOL.. But does it start first tome and run properly????? what about the rest of the guys who have bought the same type?? Do they work?
AnswerID: 74033

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Aug 26, 2004 at 11:18

Thursday, Aug 26, 2004 at 11:18
Got one of the $98 buck specials from Bunnings. Works great. Don't think I'd hook anything too valuable up to it like computer / phone etc but for lighting it should be all the go. Had my drill, angle grinder running of it no worries.

Got stung $140 to rent a gennie for 1 x day in Kalgoorlie a couple of weeks ago. At $98 I could have just unplugged from the running gennie and walked away. Look at them as a disposable item.

Common sense would dictate that would not rely on something like this to charge the batteries on your pacemaker whilst doing a Simpson crossing of course.
FollowupID: 334047

Follow Up By: Member - Ken - Thursday, Aug 26, 2004 at 23:40

Thursday, Aug 26, 2004 at 23:40
Michael

I have one of those $198 '850'mothers.

Normally starts first pop and runs drills, angle grinders and al ight or three if I need it.

Totally agree with V8Diesel - they are disposal items.

Flog it to death over the 2 yr warranty period and you have had your moneys worth from the sucker. Anything else is just a bonus.

Just don't hand your life dependency on it.

I never take mine bush, just rely on twin batteries and solar.

If you are looking for anything more/else then let the moths out of your wallet and go for a rated up market item.

Have a nice one.

Ken Robinson
FollowupID: 334138

Reply By: David T - Thursday, Aug 26, 2004 at 10:47

Thursday, Aug 26, 2004 at 10:47
Have absolutely no experience with these or any other generators, but if you look on the Overlander Forum, someone is making some a fairly concerning claim. I was considering one of these generators as an emergency backup for the Brisbane Storm season given the potential for problems with the QLD power grid.

The following is a direct quote from that forum

"The Bunnings store told me that the unit was only fit for 12 volt applications. They were instructed to warn all buyers NOT to use it for 240 volt items, as the power fluctuated to such a degree it could damage the item and /or the generator. If this happened, there was no warranty and Bunnings could not be held resposible for any damage to your appliance or the generator.

I can assure I was not putting it down - I was going to buy one until the Bunnings rep told me not to because it was NOT a good 240V genny. I complained why would they advertise a 750W 240V Generator in their catalogue. The representative showed me the advert and asked me to point out where it says 240V generator. It didn't. "Now you know why" I was told. It will generate 240 volts, but I was told it fluctuates between 190 to 260 volts, which can destroy a lot of appliances. (When it does destroy the appliance, it will often destroy itself, I was told)

I am just passing on their warning. If you buy it and it works for you, great. If it destroys your TV, computer or whatever and itself, that is your problem."

I have no idea if the above is true - can anyone else shed any light on the above claim.

Bye
AnswerID: 74036

Reply By: Member - Jack - Thursday, Aug 26, 2004 at 13:30

Thursday, Aug 26, 2004 at 13:30
I was considering one of these generators but am having second thoughts now.

Just a question on the "wildly fluctuating" 240v. Can a regulator or something be attached/fitted that would "even out" this voltage, thereby making the generator a reasonable option, seeing as how I can't afford a Honda? I am a total failure at all things electrical.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 74068

Follow Up By: Indy - Thursday, Aug 26, 2004 at 13:43

Thursday, Aug 26, 2004 at 13:43
Hi Jack and others,
I biought one of the Bunnings generators and checked the voltage output with a voltmeter (I am an electrician). The voltage only fluctuated about 2 or 3 volts under no load which is acceptable for almost any appliance. It was certainly not wildly fluctuating. It ran my drill rated at 550 watts no problems. I ran the unit for about 2 hours after buying it, stopped it and restarted it first pull. Much better than my brand name lawn mower!
Indy
FollowupID: 334066

Follow Up By: David T - Thursday, Aug 26, 2004 at 14:25

Thursday, Aug 26, 2004 at 14:25
Thanks for your comments Indy - I was a bit sceptical about the comments I had seen on the Overlander Forum - Bunnings seem like to reputable a company to be that crafty... I'm feel more confident about these generators on the basis of your qualified opinion.

DavidT
FollowupID: 334070

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Aug 26, 2004 at 15:11

Thursday, Aug 26, 2004 at 15:11
Indy did you by chance test the voltage when it was under load to see how it was coping?
I can't imagine Bunnings selling them if they were not able to at least to the job for the warranty period, it's not fincially to their benifit otherwise. I'm sure before they go and buy 5000 generators they test one out pretty thouroughly.
FollowupID: 334072

Reply By: Magnus - Thursday, Aug 26, 2004 at 16:20

Thursday, Aug 26, 2004 at 16:20
Hi Chris,

I have one of the $98 Gen sets from Bunnings.

Just fished out the manual. It says

" It should also be very clearly understood that output voltage fluctuations will occur when various loads are connected and disconnected."

It then goes on in bold letters no less with the following:

"It is not recommended to connect any electronic equipment to the generator without a voltage or surge protector."

It further says:

"Computers, Televisions and stereo equipment can be very sensitive to the input supply and could be damaged if protective equipment is not used in conjunction with this generator. This also includes Caravans where electronic equipment is incorporated as part of the wiring"

So, I think that is a fair enough warning to the user.

Just pinch one of the protective boards you have installed for your computers when you go camping and you will be all set

At $98 to run some non sensitive gear like some lights or power tools or a small pump, can't go wrong.

Magnus
AnswerID: 74090

Reply By: Member - Foxer - Thursday, Aug 26, 2004 at 17:57

Thursday, Aug 26, 2004 at 17:57
Hi Chris
we got one of these generators and took it out west of Bourke for a two week hunting and camping trip recently, it never missed a beat. We only ran lights at night whilst cooking and charged battery's, as others have said I probably would'nt run a computer or rely on it to charge up the pacemaker battery, but for lighting and charging battery's the best $100.00 I've spent.
Foxer
AnswerID: 74103

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 26, 2004 at 18:34

Thursday, Aug 26, 2004 at 18:34
Got one 2 years back, everyman and his dog have borrowed it, never had so much as an oil change... Try as I might I can't kill the bugger.

Get a good regulator for use with laptop or similar sensitive goods. And at $98 you can afford to have a spare laying around!

Blue
AnswerID: 74110

Follow Up By: Wizard1 - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 10:29

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 10:29
It only goes to show that you sometimes get a lemon.

I bought one a few months ago and it gave up the ghost after 4 days (running time would have added up to 20 hrs). Just stopped and wouldn't re-start.

Just what you need 8 hrs from civilisation on Coburg Peninsular, there is no Bunnings there to exchange the unit for a new one.

have spent the $2k on a Honda EU20. No amount of discount makes up for the frustration from not having power when you need it.

I'm glad yours is working OK. I should have known, you pay for what you get.........

Wizard
Darwin NT
FollowupID: 334635

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Aug 26, 2004 at 18:36

Thursday, Aug 26, 2004 at 18:36
Only started mine once, but it sounds like i won't be disappointed. 24mnth warranty too.
AnswerID: 74111

Reply By: Blackie - Thursday, Aug 26, 2004 at 19:53

Thursday, Aug 26, 2004 at 19:53
There is a lot of comment on these gereators on the MSN caravanners forum as well.
AnswerID: 74126

Reply By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Aug 28, 2004 at 15:25

Saturday, Aug 28, 2004 at 15:25
I purchased one of these (750W) a week ago. Excellent value! I couldn't make
the box and packing for $98! :)

I've run mine, on various loads from 100W to 500W for about 15 hours on
a fuel/oil mix of 30:1 (the manual says 50:1). At 30:1 it smokes a bit under
load so I'll drop it to 40:1. Use a _quality_ 2 stroke oil. After 15 hours it is
still starting and running well.

I'm an electronics design engineer so have most of the kit to test it.
On a light load (20W) the output is 250V RMS - a little high but won't cause
problems. The frequency is around 48Hz. At a higher load of 500W the
voltage stability is still good at around 245V, the frequency, however, has
dropped to 44Hz. This reduction in frequency _may_ (but probably won't)
cause problems with some items. Sine wave purity is "interesting" :) There
is a kink in the waveform at 180 degree intervals - voltage droops a bit and
then recovers - again that probably won't worry most things. The frequency
is controlled by the speed of the engine which in turn is controlled by a
mechanical? governor so the poorish frequency regulation on my unit may
well be different on another unit and, perhaps, could be improved by tuning
the governor?

With small gens. the bigger issue is that their output voltage and/or frequency
may well jump around quite a bit when you change the load they are
servicing, so when connecting or disconnecting anything with a load over
(say) 50W I would make sure I had previously disconnected anything which
might be sensitive to spikes - electronic stuff mainly, motors, lights etc
won't mind the odd spike.

The 12V output is also "interesting" :)
It's no load voltage peaks at around 25V with return to zero 100Hz ripple.
In short do not use this for anything other than battery charging or a 12V
compressor or similar. When battery charging this supply is inclined to be
a bit on the hight side so _make sure_ you do not leave your battery on
charge too long otherwise you'll cook it. Invest in a cheap digital multimeter
and when the terminal voltage of your battery rises to more than 14.5 volts
consider it well charged.

At $98...? excellent value - providing you understand it's limitations.

AnswerID: 74355

Reply By: arofs1 - Saturday, Aug 28, 2004 at 17:18

Saturday, Aug 28, 2004 at 17:18
Has anyone checked to see how many amps this generator supplies to recharge a flat battery. It says in the specifications 8 amps maximum and 14 volts, but I am interested in how efficient it is as a 12 volt battery charger.

Brian DJ
AnswerID: 74361

Reply By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Aug 28, 2004 at 19:02

Saturday, Aug 28, 2004 at 19:02
I didn't do a specific load test on the DC output although I did draw about
5A in order to do waveform and voltages tests additionally I charged a couple
of batteries (a 50Ah and a 7Ah) and it charged them OK but tended to apply
a rather high voltage once the batteries were fully charged. I suspect this high
voltage may cause a serious reduction in the life of the batteries _if_ they are
left on charge for extended periods after they have reached full charge. My
main use for this unit will be as a battery charger but it does have it's
limitations - then again it only costs $98?

AnswerID: 74370

Follow Up By: CHRIS - Sunday, Aug 29, 2004 at 11:13

Sunday, Aug 29, 2004 at 11:13
Thaks Mike for your very detailed test. You wouldn't be able to test what load they are capable of taking, as there seems to be a fair bit of variation in the outputs of the various machines.
FollowupID: 334323