Shockers finally changed

Submitted: Saturday, Aug 28, 2004 at 08:49
ThreadID: 15883 Views:2399 Replies:9 FollowUps:10
G'day everybody,
Those who have been hanging around here for a year or so might recall that I've been bleating-on about wanting to change my shockers for about that long.
The Konis were put on from new and the odo currently shows 133,000. The GU had been handling like a elephant lately, so I bit the bullet and bought a set of TJM XGS shocks.
With the help of a mate, we got em on last night.....
WHAT A HUGE BLOODY DIFFERENCE!!!!!!
I didn't realise just HOW STUFFED the Konis had become. When I took the front ones off and compressed them it, they just stayed like that, even after half an hour!!!
The back ones weren't quite as bad; they did at least rebound eventually.
Anyway, only time will tell if they were a good buy.......Cape York in 3 weeks, might be a bit of a guide, eh?

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Aug 28, 2004 at 09:48

Saturday, Aug 28, 2004 at 09:48
Roachie,

Good one! So what part of Annette's housekeeping budget did you raid...hahahaha

I see that my truck has genuine Nissan shocks on the back but I doubt if they are the originals. Will have to make a change soon.
AnswerID: 74340

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Aug 28, 2004 at 16:49

Saturday, Aug 28, 2004 at 16:49
Just the "cleaning" part of the budget was attacked Willie.

So far I'm happy with the XGS's....time will tell.

Went down to Freeling today to return the SAAFWDC's trailer to the president. Took some back roads as i didn't have an electrical coupler to match my GU. The new shocks handled it all very well.

Cya mate....when do you leave for Melbourne?
FollowupID: 334276

Reply By: Crocbit (NT) - Saturday, Aug 28, 2004 at 10:27

Saturday, Aug 28, 2004 at 10:27
G'day Roachie,

I am also looking at the TJM XGS shockies for my GQ, did you do anything with the coils too? TJM here (Darwin) say you should change to new coils, however I think is just their marketing ploy for their package, existing coils seem ok, price comes up at $1080 for coils, xgs, and steering damper (fitted), would that be reasonable with down south prices??
AnswerID: 74344

Follow Up By: Puddin & Gumnut (Sydney) - Saturday, Aug 28, 2004 at 12:31

Saturday, Aug 28, 2004 at 12:31
I was quoted that without damper.
FollowupID: 334268

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Aug 28, 2004 at 16:42

Saturday, Aug 28, 2004 at 16:42
G'day Don,
Nah mate, I already have a good set of Lovells which has raised the GU up by 3" front and back.
The Konis had been on since new; mated to a set of OME springs initially, but the 2" lift they originally provided was starting to sag with all the extras i've added.
The Lovells are actually 4" front and 5" rear, but have settled down to give me the 3" all round.
Cya mate
FollowupID: 334273

Reply By: Member - Raymond - Saturday, Aug 28, 2004 at 11:16

Saturday, Aug 28, 2004 at 11:16
Hi Roachie
Did you keep the Koni's as they are rebuildable and 133000 seems very little klms for the Koni's
Ray
AnswerID: 74345

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Aug 28, 2004 at 16:43

Saturday, Aug 28, 2004 at 16:43
Yes Ray, I've kept them and will eventually see about getting them rebuilt, but cost could be a deciding factor.
FollowupID: 334274

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Saturday, Aug 28, 2004 at 11:24

Saturday, Aug 28, 2004 at 11:24
The corrugations in september will give them a work out remmember to lower the trye pressures and take it easy.

Wish I was comming with you.

AnswerID: 74347

Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Saturday, Aug 28, 2004 at 15:59

Saturday, Aug 28, 2004 at 15:59
On my Cape last year we got to Weipa and drove over the speed hump in the caravan park and it felt like I was on springs - our marital bed has more damping than those old shocks. They didn't have IFS Landcruiser front shocks and got some in Seisa - flown up from Brisbane.

The improvement in handling was unbelievable. On the way up to Weipa before the new rear shocks, the rear would dance around on the corrugations particularly on the corners and my shorts became brownish in color.

With new front shocks the trip home was fantastic - just like driving a cruiser should be.... hahahaha

AnswerID: 74356

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Aug 28, 2004 at 16:46

Saturday, Aug 28, 2004 at 16:46
Sounds like you were having rear end problems both inside and outside the cruiser on that trip....hahaha
FollowupID: 334275

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 28, 2004 at 19:58

Saturday, Aug 28, 2004 at 19:58
Roachie,

You lucky bugger, going off to the Cape and I have to work.
I took the Cell X 9 shocks off to day and they were very second hand. In fact when I had the top nut removed I was able to push the shock down with my finger, that would explain why the Cruiser was driving like a dog on polished lino.
XGS shocks are next to go on and I will see how they go on my next trip. 24th September I am off to do the Simpson Desert again.
I have heard some good reports about the XGS shocks so they should last the trip and a lot more.

When I was at Rabbit Flat a road train pulled up. It had 86 tyres.The prime mover had 12 tyres on the back and all three axels were driven.

Have a good trip up to the Cape and try not to drive over too many corrugations.

AnswerID: 74374

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 09:48

Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 09:48
G'day Wayne,
What made you decide to change from Konis mate?
I remember you were always reminding others how good they were; the same as me.....now I'm not so sure they are as good as I've been saying.
What were your initial thoughts about the adjustables (before they failed)?
I've seen those prime movers with triple driven axles (often on heavy tow trucks) They look the goods.....It'd take the driver an hour just to do a "proper" tyre check (wear and pressures) on 86 tyres.
I'll be trying my best to have a good cape trip.....thanks mate
Cya later
FollowupID: 334392

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Sunday, Aug 29, 2004 at 08:38

Sunday, Aug 29, 2004 at 08:38
Roachie,

We have XGS shocks, along with TJM springs on our "Limo", a 100 series dual cab. It's done about 10K clicks with no sign of any deterioration. Did have a look yesterday to check that they were XGS, and noticed the rear ones are coping a fair bit of stone damage. Will have to put some poly pipe on this week.

Most of this work is on station roads, so work is often severe. In fact it rides so well, I wonder why people would bother with the GXL/Saharas packs. All it needs is a turbo, very sluggish after driving a 79 series turbo most of the time.

You'd be counting down the sleeps now, eh?

Hooroo...

AnswerID: 74410

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 09:43

Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 09:43
Thanks Bob,
18 sleeps to go......
Glad to hear your happy with the XGS's. I thought they would only be a compromise, but it starting to sound like they might be the way to go anyway.
Cya mate.
FollowupID: 334391

Reply By: ianmc - Sunday, Aug 29, 2004 at 22:23

Sunday, Aug 29, 2004 at 22:23
Your Koni shocks stay compressed when yoiu compress em as they are NOT gas pressure units.
Did you try pumping them by hand to see if they are OK?
Did you ADJUST them using any of the 5 or so settings?>?
Probably not by sound of it. They usually lasy longer than 133000!
AnswerID: 74469

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 09:40

Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 09:40
Thanks Ian,
Yes, I tried pumping them by hand.....one finger actually!!!
No I didn't bother changing the settings on the base....didn't seem to be much point, cos I'd already got the new ones.
They are a mongrel to get off (at least the rear ones, upper bolt) so I wasn't gunna go through the effort of taking them off, finding that they WERE indeed stuffed, have to muck around putting them back on (even though they were stuffed, wait a week for a new set to turn up, pull em off again and then put the new ones on. .........All too hard for this old bugga I'm afraid.
Please be aware that the 133,000 klicks these shocks have covered have been pretty hard. I am not a city slicker.....I live in the bush and drive on a lot of 2nd rate roads. The Patrol tips the scales @ 3050kg before I load it up for a trip, so there's a bit of work expected of the shockers that the average hack might not be expected to handle.
Cya mate
FollowupID: 334389

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 08:56

Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 08:56
Roachie,

I reckon you just didn't tell the missus at all! She'll look at the credit card statement in a week or so and go W.T.F, he's at it again!

And I'd reckon the koni's did ok considering the weight you carry/tow. I'm not a koni user but hear they are quite good.

Cheers mate,

Chris.

P.S - you'll have to give us a report on the way you went up to the cape, heading up july next year. Your a lucky bar-stool heading up in three weeks!
AnswerID: 74482

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 09:51

Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 09:51
No worries Chris,
The c/card is in my name and I pay the bills.....she doesn't want to know, as long as there's food on the table etc. I hit the jackpot when I met Annette!!! She even loves mowing the lawn. She doesn't drive; rides a treddly everywhere, so we only have one vehicle too. The money I save on running a 2nd car, gets spent on the GU.
Works for me!!!
Cya mate
FollowupID: 334393

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 09:55

Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 09:55
Talk about DeJaVu or however you say it.

My wife doesn't care either, as long as she gets a few of her own luxuries ie. renos etc.

My wife doesn't drive, I bought her a ride on that she calls 'Tracey' that she loves to use, she runs a bookkeeping business with all her client's within 20 minutes walking distance, and loves our fourby high and shiny...well I say, if I have to!

My business owns my fourby so all accessories are a tax deduction. As long as there's enough money in there to pay my wage and the necessary bills, it's all good!

Roachie, I think you and I are in an elite club, I think what some may call us are LUCKY BUGGARS!

Chris.
FollowupID: 334394